$369 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 27, 2015 Check-out: May 28, 2015

Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

4 stars
View map of 2251 Poipu Road, Koloa, HI 96756

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Overall score

4.7 / 5
5.01.0
96 out of 96
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.9
Hotel staff:
4.9
Comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
The phantom
Business
Albuquerque, NM, USA
Apr 7, 2012

Seniors on romantic get-away

Very high class. Staff is amazing. The resort is small, ans the dining room and valet people remembered our names on the first day! Everyone very cheerful and helpful. If you like a smaller, luxurious, well kept property, you will love it here. Only downside- not enough drawer space for your clothes. Minor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Red Salt restaurant one of the best we visited.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Paulinha
Business
San Francisco, CA, USA
May 1, 2012

What a wonderful hotel!

We came to Kauai to celebrate my husband's birthday and after reading all the wonderful reviews, we decided to stay at the Koa Kea. What a great choice! The room was very clean and beautiful, the bed was extremely comfortable and the overall decor of the hotel tastefully done. The L'occitane amenities are definitely a plus! And the free bottles of Fidji water are more than welcome. But what I liked the best about this hotel was the staff. They accommodated every single request of mine: they had a bottle of champagne at our room waiting for us upon arrival, booked our massages over the phone, arranged our helicopter tour of the island as well as the shuttle to and back from the Grand Hyatt luau. Everybody was extremely nice, from the reception desk to the valet drivers. I would come back here in a heart beat and recommend this hotel to any of my friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go and have dinner at the Plantation Garden restaurant, which is located in the same property of the the hotel. Food is outstanding!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TKL77
Business
Los Angeles, California
Jun 4, 2012

Great place for a honeymoon

Came here for my honeymoon and it was perfect. The room itself seemed a little small at first, but we came to love it. We arrived late at night so didn't get to see where we were at but when we woke up in the morning, we were delighted to see that the ocean was really close to the hotel and could be seen from our window. The jacuzzi and pool was also literally 20 steps from our back porch area so we made good use of it every night after a day of adventure on paradise. The staff were all very friendly and went out of their way to help in every way they can. An added benefit was that the restaurant on-site, Red Salt, was awesome. Red Salt had the best breakfast and we normally don't eat breakfast but we made sure we woke up every morning to grab breakfast here especially since everything on the island is expensive and breakfast is the cheapest meal. We tried almost everything on the menu and my personal favorite was the Mac-Nut Belgian Waffles. Their dinner is pretty good too but we preferred the Merriman restaurant that was only 5 minute drive from the hotel. There were no kids here that we saw and everyone was an adult so there were no screaming and kids running around. We thoroughly enjoyed our time here and were sad to leave. The only bad things I can say are that it is expensive, but everything in Hawaii is expensive but we really feel like we got what we paid for here. Their internet access policy was a bit bothersome as it required me to re-authenticate every time I reconnected but that was a minor hinderance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

For breakfast, eat at Red Salt at the Koa Kea Hotel. For dinner, eat at Merriman's a short drive from the hotel (order the MONCHONG).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
xyzxyzxyzxyz
Business
Poi Pu, Kaoai
Jul 12, 2012

great getaway

My husband and I had a lovely time at this hotel. It was in a great location but quiet and always easy to get a chair at the pool

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Steve Newlywed
Business
Chicago
Jul 16, 2012

Best Hotel in Hawaii

We stayed here for a week and it was amazing. This is definitely a place for couples/newlyweds/adults. The pool, outside bar, location and staff made this place great. Rent a car. Also, we found the restaurant, Red Salt to be one of the best on Kauai, however it can get expensive. Get wine by the glass instead of getting a whole bottle, they give generous pours.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

There are plenty of great places to eat on the south side of the island. We went to Tavern and another place in the north and it wasn't always worth the drive. Rent a car, but you can definitely reach some great places only a few miles away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
No Kids
Business
Central Plains, USA
Aug 7, 2012

Wonderful couples retreat

This place is a great alternative to the huge monster resorts. No screaming kids, no crazy crowds. The staff was amazing and bent over backwards to make sure we had everything we needed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Download the Kauai Revealed app on your smartphone for insider reviews of places to eat, things to see, and things to do.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BStap
Business
San leandro, ca
Sep 23, 2012

Perfect location!

Staff was great...especially the valet. Great location if you want to explore the entire island. Beautiful beaches close by. Would definitely return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
swmerwin
Business
hawaii
Oct 20, 2012

Great anniversary trip

Very relaxing,exceptional personalized service and very well appointed. Exactly what we were looking for a kid free get a away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
D Lerp
Business
Walnut Creek, CA
Nov 15, 2012

Memorable stay at the Koa Kea

We stayed for 4 nights for our birthdays. We were in a garden view room which was surprisingly ideal. The room was on the ground floor with an outdoor patio, and when you go outside, there is a slight ocean view. There isn't really any foot traffic by the garden view rooms which is good - you can easily see into the poolside and ocean view rooms. Staff and concierge were very friendly and helpful. Red Salt a la carte breakfast was delicious.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Terrer
Business
Louisville, CO
Jul 7, 2013

Just what we were hoping for

We stayed at the Koa Kea for one fabulous week. This was our first trip to Kauai and we were celebrating our 20th anniversary. From the moment we arrived until our late-afternoon departure, the staff made every effort to ensure that this was a trip we would want to repeat! We truly appreciated the attention to detail and care they showed on this property...it really was just like the pictures. Though we are parents and understand family vacation needs, we were looking for a quiet adult getaway, which we found at this hotel (drastically different noise level and commotion as compared to neighboring resorts). As first time visitors to the area, we felt that we were conveniently located. While the Koa Kea may not have its own sandy beach walk out, it is just a matter of steps to two other beaches. We enjoyed watching the surfers and paddle boarders and sunsets from the loungers on the manicured lawn. If you are looking for a quiet, relaxing adult-oriented retreat, I would highly recommend this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

After visiting all four sides of Kauai, we felt that we'd made the best choice staying on the south side. Dining, beaches and shopping were within walking distance, and drives to other areas (Waimea, Hanalei, Wailua) were really not bad.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top