$349 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 5, 2014 Check-out: May 8, 2014

Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

4 stars
2251 Poipu Road, Koloa, HI 96756
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.7
out of 5
81 reviews
Perfection in Paradise

Our stay at Koa Kea, from beginning to end, was perfect. The ambiance of the location was what was... See full review

  • Memphis Chick
  • Feb 26, 2014
Wonderful Quiet Place!

Very nice setting with great ocean views, we saw dozens of whales every day, quiet and peaceful... See full review

  • FredCindy
  • Feb 5, 2014
Intimate resort on Poipu Beach evokes the pleasures of island romance
The antithesis of cookie cutter, Koa Kea Hotel & Resort is an intimate, 121-room boutique hotel on 3 serene acres. It conjures up romance at every turn, offering services and amenities galore so guests can simply sit back and enjoy. Everything here says Hawaii. Spa treatments meld island therapies with native ingredients like Kauai red clay, and chefs at upscale Red Salt flavor fragrant dishes with coconut creme fraiche and lilikoi. Elegant yet utterly relaxed, Koa Kea Hotel & Resort is quintessential island luxury.
Highlights
  • Steps from beach
  • Spa focuses on local ingredients
  • Fine-dining restaurant
Location
Intimate Koa Kea Hotel & Resort sits at the edge of Poipu Beach on the southern coast of Kauai. This is arguably the sunniest region of the island, and the coastline here harbors many of the best beaches on the island for swimming, snorkeling and young families.
Rooms
Accommodations at Koa Kea Hotel & Resort are sleek and elegant with accents that evoke the rich colors of Kauai, from vibrant coral reefs offshore to the deep blues, greens and earth tones of land and sky. Garden view or oceanfront, all rooms have a lanai and wall-to-wall sliding doors to bring the breezy tropics in. Niceties include iPod docking stations, Nespresso machines, air conditioning, mini refrigerators and flat-screen HD televisions. Service includes twice-daily housekeeping.
Features
This resort is about a personalized experience. While relaxing and enjoying the spa may be the choice for many guests, Koa Kea Hotel & Resort is for active vacationers, too. A beach activity hut has snorkel gear and surf and boogie boards for rent, and surfing lessons are available. Workout buffs can maintain their routine in the well-equipped fitness center. Come evening, guests at the resort slip into custom beds for the ultimate in sleep comfort.
Transportation
  • Lihue Airport (15.2 mi/24.5 km)
  • Taxis availabl
Attractions
  • Poipu Bay Golf Course (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Allerton Garden Tours (2.6 mi/4.1km)
  • Spouting Horn Beach Park (2.6 mi/4.2 km)
  • Kayak Kauai Wailua River Paddle (20.4 mi/32.8 km)
  • Kokee State Park (32.1 mi/51.7 km)
Business
Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel and all rooms have Internet access, which is included in the daily resort fee.

Koa Kea Hotel and Resort Rooms

Garden View
One king or two double beds with premium bedding. Garden views. Furnished balcony. 42-inch high-definition flat-panel television. Internet access. Espresso Machine. L'Occitane Bath Products. Sony clock radio with IPod docking station. Air conditioning,Ceiling fans, Dual shower heads in bath
Partial Ocean View
One king or two double beds with premium beddingPartial Ocean views. Furnished balcony. 42-inch high-definition flat-panel television. Internet access. Espresso Machine. L'Occitane Bath Products. Sony clock radio with IPod docking station. Air conditioning,Ceiling fans, Dual shower heads in bath
Ocean View
One king or two double beds with premium bedding. Ocean views. Furnished balcony. 42-inch high-definition flat-panel television. Internet access. Espresso Machine. L'Occitane Bath Products. Sony clock radio with IPod docking station. Air conditioning,Ceiling fans, Dual shower heads in bath

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Koa Kea Hotel and Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Hotel Map

21.875 -159.4576
Area served
Poipu
Nearby airports
Lihue International Airport-14 miles

Dining

Red Salt
Red Salt at the Koa Kea Hotel & Resort on Kauai combines the ideal elements for dining in Hawaii. The beautiful oceanfront setting is enhanced by a contemporary open design, and the large picture windows showcase the ocean and pool views. The diverse menu celebrates the fresh seafood and produce available in Hawaii, while the casual yet sophisticated atmosphere ensures that dining at Red Salt will be a memorable experience. Red Salt offers an ideal setting regardless of time of day. A daily Breakfast Buffet combines traditional American fare with fresh tropical fruit, breakfast bakery selections, assorted juices and an omelet station. The Dinner menu offers contemporary upscale cuisine. Lunch is served poolside and we also offer guest room dining 24 hours a day. Hours Breakfast 6:30 AM - 11:00 AM Lunch Pool 11:00 AM - 6:00 PM Dinner 6:00 PM - 10:00 PM Lounge 5:00 PM - 12:00 Midnight Pool Bar 11:00 AM - 6:00 PM Guest Room Dining 24 Hours

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (81)

Ratings and reviews for Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Overall score

4.7 / 5
81 out of 81
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.9
Hotel staff:
4.9
Room comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
No Kids
Central Plains, USA
Aug 7, 2012

Wonderful couples retreat

This place is a great alternative to the huge monster resorts. No screaming kids, no crazy crowds. The staff was amazing and bent over backwards to make sure we had everything we needed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Download the Kauai Revealed app on your smartphone for insider reviews of places to eat, things to see, and things to do.

Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
mdbaumert
Phoenix, AZ
Aug 4, 2011

The best in Kaua'i

My wife and I recently returned from the beautiful island of Kauai for our Honeymoon and we were thrilled with our choice to stay at Ko'a Kea. We were told when we arrived on the island that it's "always sunny in Poipu" which turned out to be truth for the duration of our stay, especially compared with the rest of the island. Perfectly situated on the south shore, it has access to two beautiful beaches on either side of the resort separated by a 200 meter wide rocky shoreline with excellent access to surfing, snorkeling, or boogie-boarding.When we arrived, we were greeted with the friendly and prompt valet staff who provide complimentary service at each arrival and departure for the duration of the stay and who also provide the valuable service of transporting all luggage up to your room while you check-in. One unanticipated service that we were pleasantly surprised with was that a staff member personally guides new check-ins around the resort and up to the room to point out all of the individual amenities from explaining the two housekeeping services per day (clean-up and turn-down) to how to use the espresso machines (quite easy) conveniently located in each room. All staff from the front desk, to the valet and cabana, at the hotel were knowledgeable of the island and provided an excellent resource for our trip.Since we had booked our reservation through [...], we had breakfast included in our package which turned out to be one of the real gems of the resort! We were treated to our option of either having our complimentary breakfast delivered to our room each morning or the option of eating in the on-site restaurant, Red Salt. We split the options and found both to be appealing. When you choose to eat at the restaurant, they not only give access to their lavish continental breakfast line which included fresh fruit (the papaya was particularly amazing), cheeses and assorted meats, oatmeal, fresh juices, croissants, and our favorite, the blueberry toast, but they also allow you to choose one hot meal breakfast selection from items such as eggs benedict, steak and eggs, waffles, pancakes, etc. The only item which we were not particularly thrilled with were the pineapple soufflé pancakes - it's the only thing we do not recommend. Everything else was delicious and provided us with extremely generous portions to fuel our days exploring the island.As for the rooms, they were very relaxing and comfortable with down comforters and many pillows, and the rooms were extremely well-designed and attractive. The bathroom featured modern amenities and a spacious walk-in shower with over-head and wall-mount shower heads. We loved the view of the ocean and sound of crashing of waves each night from our private lanai.The grounds were well-manicured, and there were always ample lounge chairs either on the great lawn overlooking the ocean or at poolside. Compared with the resort hotels on either side of the Ko'a Kea, it did not feel like there was a mass of humanity to contend with and felt much more relaxed and couples-oriented. There were families there as well, but not nearly as many as at the neighboring hotel which seemed to be swarming with people on the hotel grounds.Overall, it was even better than expected and is now our preferred choice when we revisit the island. The service was consistent from the moment we arrived until we left and the staff went out of their way on numerous occasions to meet even the smallest requests. It's rare when you find a place you'd definitely re-visit without even considering other options, but for us, Ko'a Kea is that place. We hope you similarly enjoy your stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

Red Salt features an incredible breakfast with buffet. When booking, have breakfast added... it's WELL worth it and can serve as your primary meal of the day for additional cost-savings!

Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
Memphis Chick
Lakeland, Tn
Feb 26, 2014

Perfection in Paradise

Our stay at Koa Kea, from beginning to end, was perfect. The ambiance of the location was what was expected for a Hawaiian vacation. The service was impeccable. The Staff were beyond helpful with every question and suggestion. I was not expecting the 100% concierge service, but enjoyed it. The pool area is beautiful, but the snorkeling right in front of the hotel is phenomenal. I felt as if I was in an aquarium. Our room was exceptionally clean, comfortable and beautifully appointed. We had an Ocean view room with a very generous patio. Red Salt, the hotel's restaurant, serves delicious fusion cuisine in resort comfort. My only regret was not having enough time to have a massage at the spa. High end shopping is with in minutes. The southern coast may not be as popular as the north, but for us, it was perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

You may pay a little more to stay at Koa Kea, but the perfect snorkeling is just out side your door. And it's free.

Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
Whakins
Iowa
Feb 19, 2012

Great couple retreat

The whole attitude at this hotel was wonderful! Helpful and pleasant! Clean!!! and dedicated to up-keep inside and out. Twice a day room service, great beds and linens, quick response to any need, friendly and able to make you feel comfortable away from home. Quiet! On the beach! Nice courtyard area with pool, bar/cafe, loungers, snorkeling, and surfing equipment. Interesting variety of ages among the clientele. Great restaurant on site!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
vivianruth
Wisconsin
Mar 6, 2010

Beautiful, comfy, great beach

Staff were always offering help or suggestions about the local area. For instance, one morning we left to walk to the nearby shopping area, and since it was clouding up, the valet gave us an umbrella to take. The bar made great, though expensive, drinks and the ahi appetizer there was outstanding. The king bed was a pillowtop with a down duvet. A ceiling fan over the bed helped make sleeptime perfect. Our room was modern but not uncomfortable. There was only one armchair, though, so we brought in a chair from the lanai. The room was provided with an espresso machine using special capsules, several of which were provided. Others were available for purchase. This would have been an inconvenience, but we brought those little packets of Starbucks instant and used the espresso machine without the capsules for hot water. The huge marble shower, with a built-in bench, had a rainfall overhead sprinkler as well as the showerhead. The hair dryer was better than most. Toiletries provided were L'Occitaine (sp?).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Brenneckes, which can be reached by foot, walking along the beaches, was lively, well-priced, with great food, friendly service, and a beach view.

Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Los Angeles, CA
Nov 15, 2010

Love Supreme

For our first trip to Kauai, we picked Koa Kea for its reputation for quality service and boutique chic on the South shore resort belt. The reviews are right: this tidy hotel is hard to beat. It never felt crowded or hurried, and the staff was engaging and helpful. Rooms were quiet and even the roosters next door at the Marriott were respectful in the AM.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

For a real walk on the gustatory wild side head 1 mile west to Josselin's in the new shopping center at the traffic circle. The Pacific Rim tapas are on a global scale, but the restaurant is casual and informal.

Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
greeeee
boston
Oct 11, 2011

amazing

perfect vacation spot, staff was super friendly, hotel was incredibly clean

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
finn909
Los Gatos
Sep 26, 2011

Extrordinary Service!

From the moment we arrived until we drove off to the airport to return home we were treated better than any other hotel I have ever stayed in. On top of that the hotel design is beautiful and welcoming as well. The rooms are appointed with the most comfortable linens. We even wanted to get the brand name so I can sleep on them at home. The restaurant Red Salt is wonderful and finally Jim the bartender is a pro who know how to make a visitor feel at home. this was the perfect spot to spend our honeymoon. In a word: WOW!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Kauai Outfitters Zip Line Safari

Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
New York, NY
Apr 3, 2010

Perfect Getaway

We had a wonderful time at the Koa Kea. The location was spectacular with a beautiful beach. The pool was very nice, as was the exercise room. There was no bathtub in our room--only a shower, but that was fine for us. The only downside was having next door neighbors with kids who were a bit loud.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
Couple on first trip to Hawaii
Indianapolis, IN
Oct 27, 2010

Great trip

Recently returned from my trip (first week of October '10) and his resort was great as expected. I was very happy that it was somewhat small and quiet. I was worried about being stuck in a large overcrowded resort that was packed full of kids and didn't have a problem here. We stayed in the Garden view king room and thought that was plenty. Very comfortable bed, nice TV, large and well decorated. The maid service was great as were the valet. It was a little weird having the valet park the car a few feet away, but didn't really bother me once I was there. The coffee thing in the room was a little weird, but since they had really good coffee in the lobby I was happy. We also stopped at the local grocery store about 5 minutes away and loaded up on snacks and beer. It was nice to be able to stock the small fridge up (saved a bit of money on beer) and not worry about mini bar stuff. Little hint there is a Wal-mart by the airport, Costco by the mall and two grocery stores within 10 minutes by car. We ate at the resort restaurant (red-salt) once for lunch and once for dinner. Food was good maybe even great. It was expensive but not a lot more than going out to eat. We skipped the buffet for breakfast and ordered off the menu. I think the total bill for breakfast was around $25. The staff at the red-salt was a bit rude (might be better stated as weird – either way something about the red-salt staff just wasn't quite great). The pool was just enough as was the hot tub. We didn't spend much time there but when we did we didn't have any problem. It was fairly quiet the entire time and wasn't really crowded (which was great as I am not a big fan of crowds). We did grab lunch and a few drinks from the pool bar twice. Everything was great there. The beach right in front of the resort was great for snorkeling. In the early morning it was a bit rough for swimming (rocky), but got much better in the afternoon. We rented the snorkeling equipment and ended up keeping it all week. Well worth the $25. We spent almost the entire time on the beaches. We did find a few better beaches for swimming, but kept coming back to this beach (the convenience factor had some influence on that). The island in generally was very nice and easy to get around. Driving was fairly normal (think small town), but the roads got harder to negotiate at night. I would recommend arriving to you hotel during the day, just to get your barring (after that should be fine). This resort shares a drive with a couple of condo's so watch for the turn closely (it might be easier to look up the name of the condo next to it and look for that sign). There was not much in the way of great shopping on the island, mostly touristy shops (none of which I would say where bad, just not our thing). The two strip mall type shopping areas near the resort where actually two of the better ones we found on the island. I haven't been to the other island yet so cannot really compare, but overall we really enjoyed the great beaches (none of which seemed crowded – fairly quiet for the most part). That's what we wanted most and that's what we got. [...]All together a great trip and very happy with the resort. I would say if you're butler service rich (we are not), there might be better options at the higher price ranges. I bumped my review up from a 4 to a 5 just because of how nice the staff was. That might be a bit generous, but several weeks after the trip I am still really happy about it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

A few local grocerys near by. Grab some snacks and beer to save money.

Back to menu Return to top