$369 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 17, 2015 Check-out: Jul 20, 2015

Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

4 stars
View map of 2251 Poipu Road, Koloa, HI 96756

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Overall score

4.7 / 5
5.01.0
98 out of 98
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.9
Hotel staff:
4.9
Comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Travel Dogs
Business
Scottsdale, Arizona
Apr 21, 2011

Adventure vaca

I travel a lot, mainly with my dogs, but decided to take a short trip to Kauai by myself for my birthday. The Koa Kea was ideal for singles and couples. It was quiet and upscale. The restaurant, The Red Salt, was amazing, and I enjoyed every part of my stay. The bed was super comfy!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The little town of Koloa was ideal for shopping or grabbing a bottle of wine. If you want adventure try ziplining with Just Live, it was truly an exciting adventure or Hiking with Eric, if you enjoy hiking and sightseeing. Also, the spa at the Koa Kea had great services.

Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
greeeee
Business
boston
Oct 11, 2011

amazing

perfect vacation spot, staff was super friendly, hotel was incredibly clean

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Flukebu
Business
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Oct 21, 2011

A Perfect Getaway

Our overall experience at this hotel was perfect. The food was superb, the staff knowledgeable and friendly, the rooms appeared brand new and the location is ideal. Like much on Kauai, nothing is that far away, but this location in Poipu was extremely convenient to a wide selection of restaurants close by, a few very quaint local areas, and close to some great sightseeing spots. The hotel was nicely laid out, not too large, not to small, with a good central bar, a nice pool and spa, and a great, quiet piece of beach out front. I really can't think of anything that disappointed us. The stay really has motivated us to return to Kauai and I can see of no reason why we won't be staying at the Koa Kea again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There was a little shopping center opposite which had some nice stores and a few good restaurants hidden away.

Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
B.Adams
Business
Fort Wayne, IN, USA
Jan 15, 2012

AMAZING!!!

This hotel was absolutely amazing!!! The Red Salt restaurant in the hotel was some of the best food on the island!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

BeachHouse restaurant nearby was perfect to watch the sunset.

Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kate F
Business
Malibu, CA, USA
Jan 15, 2012

My second visit in THREE months!

My husband and I went to Koa Kea for our anniversary. We love it so much,the week we came home we booked a return trip for just three months later! Our second visit was just as wonderful as the first. We don't have a single thing we would change. Our room was wonderful with all the right small details. We had room service for dinner two nights after long days out on the water. Both times our food was delivered in less than 20 minutes with all of our special requests met. The breakfast buffet was the perfect way to start the day with fresh fruits, cheeses, breads and cereal. Our final night we ate at Red Salt for dinner taking advantage of the weekend sushi night. The rolls were perfect. I had my treat at the bar: a Martini flight, my selection of three different martinis. The staff was always smiling and quick to meet our needs. We took a late night flight home, but our check out was earlier in the day. After spending the day enjoying the beach yet again, the hotel provided a hospitality room for us to shower and freshen up prior to our flight back home. What a nice way to end our trip! We are now planning our third trip for a this summer, taking my parents along to celebrate their 40th anniversary. Three trips in less than a year. Need I say more?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
vern and julie
Business
washington state
Feb 8, 2012

An Exquisite bit of Paradise!!

When we left on this trip, I was looking for some rest and relaxation. The Koa Kea hotel provided us with this, and so much more. The staff was so helpful and friendly. The hotel sits in the most perfect spot on Poipu beach. The food they served was absolutely wonderful. It was a heavenly respite.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Whakins
Business
Iowa
Feb 19, 2012

Great couple retreat

The whole attitude at this hotel was wonderful! Helpful and pleasant! Clean!!! and dedicated to up-keep inside and out. Twice a day room service, great beds and linens, quick response to any need, friendly and able to make you feel comfortable away from home. Quiet! On the beach! Nice courtyard area with pool, bar/cafe, loungers, snorkeling, and surfing equipment. Interesting variety of ages among the clientele. Great restaurant on site!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bunbury26
Business
New York, NY
Feb 21, 2012

Romantic Heaven

There are so many wonderful adjectives I could use to describe this hotel but I think the best one is PERFECT. They took excellent care of us and we felt like a million bucks. The valet guys were the best I've ever experienced. Nice, friendly guys who bent over backwards to help guide and direct us. The maids were friendly and attentive and even knew us by name. We were so sad to leave this perfect and amazing hotel/resort. The only semi-bad thing was that the restaurant in the hotel was severely under-staffed. Other than that, I can't think of one negative thing to say.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Get the breakfast package when you book.

Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BreezyTraveler
Business
Las Vegas, NV
Feb 25, 2012

Quiet, clean, perfect location and best staff!

The staff at Ko'a Kea is warm and helpful, can't say enough good about them. Hotel is in the perfect area, right on the public beach. Designed for relaxing on Kauai, this is a small and QUIET hotel. This hotel is perfect for couples, especially if your willing to spend the money for an amazing trip. The restaurant, Red Salt was incredible. Even the pool bar food was top notch. This is a lovely hotel, with an intimate feel unlike the bigger resorts close by. We will be going back shortly and staying longer than our five night trip. Didn't want to leave and can't wait to get back! Again, thank you to the incredible staff, you make the hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The hotel offers free local coffee and tea at the lobby bar in the morning. Delicious and the perfect way to start your day while reading one of the papers they hang on your door.

Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
be high
Business
Ann Arbor, MI, USA
Mar 8, 2012

Fantastic Luxury Hotel

As it turned out it rained for 5 of the 7 days we were in Hawaii, which wasn't great, but we enjoyed it nonetheless. A major reason was that the hotel was absolutely fantastic. It was small enough to feel cozy and personal, but had almost all the amenities you would need to feel pampered in style. The food was excellent, the rooms were super comfortable and the staff was highly professional and very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

I like luxury, but I also like to eat at "hole in the wall" restaurants where the locals go. It was very hard to find anything like this in Poipu. However, Savage Shrimp located on Lawai and Poipu Road is close by and I highly recommend it. Simple, Yummy, healthy and cheap!!

Back to menu Return to top