$389 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 15, 2015 Check-out: Jan 18, 2015

Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

4 stars
2251 Poipu Road, Koloa, HI 96756
Best In Stay
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.7
out of 5
88 reviews
Comfortable and Romantic Getaway

Hands-down the best hotel I've ever stayed at. This hotel is luxurious without being overboard. The... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Sep 7, 2014
Wonderful 10-Year Anniversary Getaway

Koa Kea is a great location for a Kauai getaway. Although it's located on the south shore at Poipu,... See full review

  • eskimodesign
  • Aug 31, 2014
Intimate resort on Poipu Beach evokes the pleasures of island romance
The antithesis of cookie cutter, Koa Kea Hotel & Resort is an intimate, 121-room boutique hotel on 3 serene acres. It conjures up romance at every turn, offering services and amenities galore so guests can simply sit back and enjoy. Everything here says Hawaii. Spa treatments meld island therapies with native ingredients like Kauai red clay, and chefs at upscale Red Salt flavor fragrant dishes with coconut creme fraiche and lilikoi. Elegant yet utterly relaxed, Koa Kea Hotel & Resort is quintessential island luxury.
Highlights
  • Steps from beach
  • Spa focuses on local ingredients
  • Fine-dining restaurant
Location
Intimate Koa Kea Hotel & Resort sits at the edge of Poipu Beach on the southern coast of Kauai. This is arguably the sunniest region of the island, and the coastline here harbors many of the best beaches on the island for swimming, snorkeling and young families.
Rooms
Accommodations at Koa Kea Hotel & Resort are sleek and elegant with accents that evoke the rich colors of Kauai, from vibrant coral reefs offshore to the deep blues, greens and earth tones of land and sky. Garden view or oceanfront, all rooms have a lanai and wall-to-wall sliding doors to bring the breezy tropics in. Niceties include iPod docking stations, Nespresso machines, air conditioning, mini refrigerators and flat-screen HD televisions. Service includes twice-daily housekeeping.
Features
This resort is about a personalized experience. While relaxing and enjoying the spa may be the choice for many guests, Koa Kea Hotel & Resort is for active vacationers, too. A beach activity hut has snorkel gear and surf and boogie boards for rent, and surfing lessons are available. Workout buffs can maintain their routine in the well-equipped fitness center. Come evening, guests at the resort slip into custom beds for the ultimate in sleep comfort.
Transportation
  • Lihue Airport (15.2 mi/24.5 km)
  • Taxis availabl
Attractions
  • Poipu Bay Golf Course (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Allerton Garden Tours (2.6 mi/4.1km)
  • Spouting Horn Beach Park (2.6 mi/4.2 km)
  • Kayak Kauai Wailua River Paddle (20.4 mi/32.8 km)
  • Kokee State Park (32.1 mi/51.7 km)
Business
Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel and all rooms have Internet access, which is included in the daily resort fee.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Koa Kea Hotel and Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Koa Kea Hotel and Resort Rooms

Garden View
One king or two double beds with premium bedding. Garden views. Furnished balcony. 42-inch high-definition flat-panel television. Internet access. Espresso Machine. L'Occitane Bath Products. Sony clock radio with IPod docking station. Air conditioning,Ceiling fans, Dual shower heads in bath
Partial Ocean View
One king or two double beds with premium beddingPartial Ocean views. Furnished balcony. 42-inch high-definition flat-panel television. Internet access. Espresso Machine. L'Occitane Bath Products. Sony clock radio with IPod docking station. Air conditioning,Ceiling fans, Dual shower heads in bath
Ocean View
One king or two double beds with premium bedding. Ocean views. Furnished balcony. 42-inch high-definition flat-panel television. Internet access. Espresso Machine. L'Occitane Bath Products. Sony clock radio with IPod docking station. Air conditioning,Ceiling fans, Dual shower heads in bath

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Red Salt
Red Salt at the Koa Kea Hotel & Resort on Kauai combines the ideal elements for dining in Hawaii. The beautiful oceanfront setting is enhanced by a contemporary open design, and the large picture windows showcase the ocean and pool views. The diverse menu celebrates the fresh seafood and produce available in Hawaii, while the casual yet sophisticated atmosphere ensures that dining at Red Salt will be a memorable experience. Red Salt offers an ideal setting regardless of time of day. A daily Breakfast Buffet combines traditional American fare with fresh tropical fruit, breakfast bakery selections, assorted juices and an omelet station. The Dinner menu offers contemporary upscale cuisine. Lunch is served poolside and we also offer guest room dining 24 hours a day. Hours Breakfast 6:30 AM - 11:00 AM Lunch Pool 11:00 AM - 6:00 PM Dinner 6:00 PM - 10:00 PM Lounge 5:00 PM - 12:00 Midnight Pool Bar 11:00 AM - 6:00 PM Guest Room Dining 24 Hours

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (88)

Ratings and reviews for Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Overall score

4.7 / 5
5.01.0
88 out of 88
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.9
Hotel staff:
4.9
Room comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
D Lerp
Walnut Creek, CA
Nov 15, 2012

Memorable stay at the Koa Kea

We stayed for 4 nights for our birthdays. We were in a garden view room which was surprisingly ideal. The room was on the ground floor with an outdoor patio, and when you go outside, there is a slight ocean view. There isn't really any foot traffic by the garden view rooms which is good - you can easily see into the poolside and ocean view rooms. Staff and concierge were very friendly and helpful. Red Salt a la carte breakfast was delicious.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
native Kiwi
Business
Mountain View, Ca
Apr 8, 2010

Peaceful Escape

The Koa Kea is a pristine, new resort. Rooms and service were immaculate. Our "ocean view" room afforded wonderful views of the ocean just 50 feet away and also very attractive views of the courtyard lit with tiki torches at night. We slept in a second floor room with the door open at night so we could enjoy the sounds of the ocean and the palm trees. The resort has only about 120 rooms which gives it a more intimate feeling than the large chain hotels. For us, this was a perfect stay-put vacation and we did not see a better option as we traveled about Kauai. I'd go back again in a heart beat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Would recommend breakfast at the Koa Kea. Good dinner options also at the Kiahuna Planatation, Beach House and Brennecke's.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Krock60
Business
Woodland Hills, CA
Aug 31, 2010

Our Belated Honeymoon at Poipu Beach

You will not find a more friendly and helpful staff. Everyone from the front desk to the valets to the rental booth by the pool could not have been more accommodating in making sure our trip was special. And the extra bonus of walking right onto the beach from the resort only added to our pleasant getaway at Koa Kea. My wife and I were treated like royalty for our special week away from L.A.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Let me begin by saying that the restaurant inside the resort, Red Salt, was exceptional in its service and food. That being said, Red Salt is pricey and should be treated as a one time treat. Explore the island and the Poipu Village across the street for food that is good and priced right. Joe's on the Green comes to mind for a great breakfast and you cannot go home without trying a Puka Dog as well at Puka Dog. For lunch, give Poipu Tropical Burgers for some tasty burger cuisine (they have food for the vegetarian also).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Papa Wolfio
Business
Fort Collins, CO
Feb 28, 2011

No Better Honeymoon

Ko'a Kea was beautiful and romantic. Upon arrival, the resort upgraded our room from a garden view to a partial ocean view, free of charge! And that was before they knew it was our honeymoon. The resort itself sits right on the beach and has its own little cove. The modern decor of the rooms is wonderful, yet the beach and the Hawaiian shirts worn by the valets keep the atmosphere laid back. Everyone working at the hotel is incredibly friendly. All in all, Be prepared for a relaxing stay - bring flip flops.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Check out the National Tropical Botanical Gardens!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Travel Dogs
Business
Scottsdale, Arizona
Apr 21, 2011

Adventure vaca

I travel a lot, mainly with my dogs, but decided to take a short trip to Kauai by myself for my birthday. The Koa Kea was ideal for singles and couples. It was quiet and upscale. The restaurant, The Red Salt, was amazing, and I enjoyed every part of my stay. The bed was super comfy!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The little town of Koloa was ideal for shopping or grabbing a bottle of wine. If you want adventure try ziplining with Just Live, it was truly an exciting adventure or Hiking with Eric, if you enjoy hiking and sightseeing. Also, the spa at the Koa Kea had great services.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
greeeee
Business
boston
Oct 11, 2011

amazing

perfect vacation spot, staff was super friendly, hotel was incredibly clean

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Flukebu
Business
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Oct 21, 2011

A Perfect Getaway

Our overall experience at this hotel was perfect. The food was superb, the staff knowledgeable and friendly, the rooms appeared brand new and the location is ideal. Like much on Kauai, nothing is that far away, but this location in Poipu was extremely convenient to a wide selection of restaurants close by, a few very quaint local areas, and close to some great sightseeing spots. The hotel was nicely laid out, not too large, not to small, with a good central bar, a nice pool and spa, and a great, quiet piece of beach out front. I really can't think of anything that disappointed us. The stay really has motivated us to return to Kauai and I can see of no reason why we won't be staying at the Koa Kea again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There was a little shopping center opposite which had some nice stores and a few good restaurants hidden away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
B.Adams
Business
Fort Wayne, IN, USA
Jan 15, 2012

AMAZING!!!

This hotel was absolutely amazing!!! The Red Salt restaurant in the hotel was some of the best food on the island!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

BeachHouse restaurant nearby was perfect to watch the sunset.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kate F
Business
Malibu, CA, USA
Jan 15, 2012

My second visit in THREE months!

My husband and I went to Koa Kea for our anniversary. We love it so much,the week we came home we booked a return trip for just three months later! Our second visit was just as wonderful as the first. We don't have a single thing we would change. Our room was wonderful with all the right small details. We had room service for dinner two nights after long days out on the water. Both times our food was delivered in less than 20 minutes with all of our special requests met. The breakfast buffet was the perfect way to start the day with fresh fruits, cheeses, breads and cereal. Our final night we ate at Red Salt for dinner taking advantage of the weekend sushi night. The rolls were perfect. I had my treat at the bar: a Martini flight, my selection of three different martinis. The staff was always smiling and quick to meet our needs. We took a late night flight home, but our check out was earlier in the day. After spending the day enjoying the beach yet again, the hotel provided a hospitality room for us to shower and freshen up prior to our flight back home. What a nice way to end our trip! We are now planning our third trip for a this summer, taking my parents along to celebrate their 40th anniversary. Three trips in less than a year. Need I say more?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
vern and julie
Business
washington state
Feb 8, 2012

An Exquisite bit of Paradise!!

When we left on this trip, I was looking for some rest and relaxation. The Koa Kea hotel provided us with this, and so much more. The staff was so helpful and friendly. The hotel sits in the most perfect spot on Poipu beach. The food they served was absolutely wonderful. It was a heavenly respite.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Whakins
Business
Iowa
Feb 19, 2012

Great couple retreat

The whole attitude at this hotel was wonderful! Helpful and pleasant! Clean!!! and dedicated to up-keep inside and out. Twice a day room service, great beds and linens, quick response to any need, friendly and able to make you feel comfortable away from home. Quiet! On the beach! Nice courtyard area with pool, bar/cafe, loungers, snorkeling, and surfing equipment. Interesting variety of ages among the clientele. Great restaurant on site!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top