$369 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 11, 2015 Check-out: Aug 12, 2015

Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

4 stars
View map of 2251 Poipu Road, Koloa, HI 96756

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.7
out of 5
86 reviews
Great place for a relaxing stay

Other than spotty wi-fi, this hotel/resort was perfect. See full review

  • Eddie V.
  • May 21, 2015
Quiet, romantic, service oriented!!

Hotel restaurant was fabulous! The hotel service was top notch. Very romantic and quiet. My husband... See full review

  • Angela H.
  • Jan 24, 2015
The antithesis of cookie cutter, Koa Kea Hotel & Resort is an intimate, 121-room boutique hotel on 3 serene acres. It conjures up romance at every turn, offering services and amenities galore so guests can simply sit back and enjoy. Everything here says Hawaii. Spa treatments meld island therapies with native ingredients like Kauai red clay, and chefs at upscale Red Salt flavor fragrant dishes with coconut creme fraiche and lilikoi. Elegant yet utterly relaxed, Koa Kea Hotel & Resort is quintessential island luxury.
Location
Intimate Koa Kea Hotel & Resort sits at the edge of Poipu Beach on the southern coast of Kauai. This is arguably the sunniest region of the island, and the coastline here harbors many of the best beaches on the island for swimming, snorkeling and young families.
Rooms
Accommodations at Koa Kea Hotel & Resort are sleek and elegant with accents that evoke the rich colors of Kauai, from vibrant coral reefs offshore to the deep blues, greens and earth tones of land and sky. Garden view or oceanfront, all rooms have a lanai and wall-to-wall sliding doors to bring the breezy tropics in. Niceties include iPod docking stations, Nespresso machines, air conditioning, mini refrigerators and flat-screen HD televisions. Service includes twice-daily housekeeping.
Property features
This resort is about a personalized experience. While relaxing and enjoying the spa may be the choice for many guests, Koa Kea Hotel & Resort is for active vacationers, too. A beach activity hut has snorkel gear and surf and boogie boards for rent, and surfing lessons are available. Workout buffs can maintain their routine in the well-equipped fitness center. Come evening, guests at the resort slip into custom beds for the ultimate in sleep comfort.
Highlights
  • Steps from beach
  • Spa focuses on local ingredients
  • Fine-dining restaurant
Nearby attractions
  • Poipu Bay Golf Course (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Allerton Garden Tours (2.6 mi/4.1km)
  • Spouting Horn Beach Park (2.6 mi/4.2 km)
  • Kayak Kauai Wailua River Paddle (20.4 mi/32.8 km)
  • Kokee State Park (32.1 mi/51.7 km)
Business
Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel and all rooms have Internet access, which is included in the daily resort fee.
Transportation
  • Lihue Airport (15.2 mi/24.5 km)
  • Taxis availabl

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Koa Kea Hotel and Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Koa Kea Hotel and Resort Rooms

Garden View
One king or two double beds with premium bedding. Garden views. Furnished balcony. 42-inch high-definition flat-panel television. Internet access. Espresso Machine. L'Occitane Bath Products. Sony clock radio with IPod docking station. Air conditioning,Ceiling fans, Dual shower heads in bath
Partial Ocean View
One king or two double beds with premium beddingPartial Ocean views. Furnished balcony. 42-inch high-definition flat-panel television. Internet access. Espresso Machine. L'Occitane Bath Products. Sony clock radio with IPod docking station. Air conditioning,Ceiling fans, Dual shower heads in bath
Ocean View
One king or two double beds with premium bedding. Ocean views. Furnished balcony. 42-inch high-definition flat-panel television. Internet access. Espresso Machine. L'Occitane Bath Products. Sony clock radio with IPod docking station. Air conditioning,Ceiling fans, Dual shower heads in bath

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Dining

Red Salt
Red Salt at the Koa Kea Hotel & Resort on Kauai combines the ideal elements for dining in Hawaii. The beautiful oceanfront setting is enhanced by a contemporary open design, and the large picture windows showcase the ocean and pool views. The diverse menu celebrates the fresh seafood and produce available in Hawaii, while the casual yet sophisticated atmosphere ensures that dining at Red Salt will be a memorable experience. Red Salt offers an ideal setting regardless of time of day. A daily Breakfast Buffet combines traditional American fare with fresh tropical fruit, breakfast bakery selections, assorted juices and an omelet station. The Dinner menu offers contemporary upscale cuisine. Lunch is served poolside and we also offer guest room dining 24 hours a day. Hours Breakfast 6:30 AM - 11:00 AM Lunch Pool 11:00 AM - 6:00 PM Dinner 6:00 PM - 10:00 PM Lounge 5:00 PM - 12:00 Midnight Pool Bar 11:00 AM - 6:00 PM Guest Room Dining 24 Hours

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Overall score

4.7 / 5
5.01.0
86 out of 86
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.9
Hotel staff:
4.9
Comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
D Lerp
Walnut Creek, CA
Nov 15, 2012

Memorable stay at the Koa Kea

We stayed for 4 nights for our birthdays. We were in a garden view room which was surprisingly ideal. The room was on the ground floor with an outdoor patio, and when you go outside, there is a slight ocean view. There isn't really any foot traffic by the garden view rooms which is good - you can easily see into the poolside and ocean view rooms. Staff and concierge were very friendly and helpful. Red Salt a la carte breakfast was delicious.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Shahin from Boston
Business
Boston
Jan 25, 2014

the best honeymoon

Fantastic place. We were there for 6 days and we are not going to forget it. Staff were very friendly. Breakfast was wonderful. I recommend it to everyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sharpdprt
Business
Madison, WI
Jan 24, 2014

Wonderful beach location

From the moment we arrived, every staff person was friendly & willing to go the extra mile for anything we wanted. The location is beautiful right on the beach. Room had it's own lanai right by the pool, looking out at the ocean. The room was beautiful with a huge shower and the most comfortable bed ever. If we're ever lucky enough to go back to Kauai, we'll be staying at Koa Kea.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Definitely take a helicopter tour of the island, we used Blue Hawaiian & it was awesome.

Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
vikitea2
Business
Albuquerque, NM
Jan 26, 2014

Beautiful, well appointed hotel but its the STAFF that make it great

I was traveling back to Kauai for a conference with my husband. The hosted in hotel was booked full and Koa Kea is within walking distance (beach/neighborhood stroll). Our initial reservation was for a ocean view room. We could see the ocean but I strongly recommend splurging for an ocean FRONT room - you are within 20 feet of the shore - choose a 2nd or 3rd floor for a bit more privacy though the first allows you to walk right out. Short hedge separates property from the beach. The rooms are lovely and clean - the locations is fabulous, 2 bars, fine dining, a nice lawn faces the beach and offers shelter from wind on the less than perfect island days. BUT BY FAR the best part was the friendly, helpful and attentive staff. GREAT for adult only trips. ONLY suggestion is that they replace the bulbs in the "candle" fixtures in the rooms with MUCH dimmer ones - or better yet, a dimmer switch! Aloha

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Several dinning options within walking distance. Roys, Kalapaki Joes - but a real dinning gem is in Koloa town - La Spezia! EXCELLENT.

Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
FredCindy
Business
Denver, CO
Feb 5, 2014

Wonderful Quiet Place!

Very nice setting with great ocean views, we saw dozens of whales every day, quiet and peaceful place and not over-crowded or cramped at all (like the Marriot next door), No loud thumping background music! , great beach location for snorkling, Red Salt is an excellent restaurant and bar, great staff and concierge services, walk to small mall with shopping and several restaurants .... small things like over-sized towels....we are definitely going back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out the Plantation Garden Restaurant at the Kiahuna Plantation next door

Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Memphis Chick
Business
Lakeland, Tn
Feb 26, 2014

Perfection in Paradise

Our stay at Koa Kea, from beginning to end, was perfect. The ambiance of the location was what was expected for a Hawaiian vacation. The service was impeccable. The Staff were beyond helpful with every question and suggestion. I was not expecting the 100% concierge service, but enjoyed it. The pool area is beautiful, but the snorkeling right in front of the hotel is phenomenal. I felt as if I was in an aquarium. Our room was exceptionally clean, comfortable and beautifully appointed. We had an Ocean view room with a very generous patio. Red Salt, the hotel's restaurant, serves delicious fusion cuisine in resort comfort. My only regret was not having enough time to have a massage at the spa. High end shopping is with in minutes. The southern coast may not be as popular as the north, but for us, it was perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

You may pay a little more to stay at Koa Kea, but the perfect snorkeling is just out side your door. And it's free.

Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Taekwon
Business
Oahu
May 2, 2014

Romance

Hotel staff was awesome, place was very clean. I like that they had unlimited valet service and they even bought our luggage to our room. Now thats what i call customer service! I would definitely come back to this place again! Highly recommend!:)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
greeeee
Business
boston
Oct 11, 2011

amazing

perfect vacation spot, staff was super friendly, hotel was incredibly clean

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Flukebu
Business
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Oct 21, 2011

A Perfect Getaway

Our overall experience at this hotel was perfect. The food was superb, the staff knowledgeable and friendly, the rooms appeared brand new and the location is ideal. Like much on Kauai, nothing is that far away, but this location in Poipu was extremely convenient to a wide selection of restaurants close by, a few very quaint local areas, and close to some great sightseeing spots. The hotel was nicely laid out, not too large, not to small, with a good central bar, a nice pool and spa, and a great, quiet piece of beach out front. I really can't think of anything that disappointed us. The stay really has motivated us to return to Kauai and I can see of no reason why we won't be staying at the Koa Kea again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There was a little shopping center opposite which had some nice stores and a few good restaurants hidden away.

Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
B.Adams
Business
Fort Wayne, IN, USA
Jan 15, 2012

AMAZING!!!

This hotel was absolutely amazing!!! The Red Salt restaurant in the hotel was some of the best food on the island!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

BeachHouse restaurant nearby was perfect to watch the sunset.

Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kate F
Business
Malibu, CA, USA
Jan 15, 2012

My second visit in THREE months!

My husband and I went to Koa Kea for our anniversary. We love it so much,the week we came home we booked a return trip for just three months later! Our second visit was just as wonderful as the first. We don't have a single thing we would change. Our room was wonderful with all the right small details. We had room service for dinner two nights after long days out on the water. Both times our food was delivered in less than 20 minutes with all of our special requests met. The breakfast buffet was the perfect way to start the day with fresh fruits, cheeses, breads and cereal. Our final night we ate at Red Salt for dinner taking advantage of the weekend sushi night. The rolls were perfect. I had my treat at the bar: a Martini flight, my selection of three different martinis. The staff was always smiling and quick to meet our needs. We took a late night flight home, but our check out was earlier in the day. After spending the day enjoying the beach yet again, the hotel provided a hospitality room for us to shower and freshen up prior to our flight back home. What a nice way to end our trip! We are now planning our third trip for a this summer, taking my parents along to celebrate their 40th anniversary. Three trips in less than a year. Need I say more?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top