$349 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 15, 2014 Check-out: Jul 18, 2014

Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

4 stars
2251 Poipu Road, Koloa, HI 96756
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.7
out of 5
127 reviews
Amazing Staff & Great Location

This was one of my best hotel experiences. The rooms were clean & well-appointed. The staff was... See full review

  • VacayNParadise
  • Jun 2, 2014
Romance

Hotel staff was awesome, place was very clean. I like that they had unlimited valet service and... See full review

  • Taekwon
  • May 2, 2014
Intimate resort on Poipu Beach evokes the pleasures of island romance
The antithesis of cookie cutter, Koa Kea Hotel & Resort is an intimate, 121-room boutique hotel on 3 serene acres. It conjures up romance at every turn, offering services and amenities galore so guests can simply sit back and enjoy. Everything here says Hawaii. Spa treatments meld island therapies with native ingredients like Kauai red clay, and chefs at upscale Red Salt flavor fragrant dishes with coconut creme fraiche and lilikoi. Elegant yet utterly relaxed, Koa Kea Hotel & Resort is quintessential island luxury.
Highlights
  • Steps from beach
  • Spa focuses on local ingredients
  • Fine-dining restaurant
Location
Intimate Koa Kea Hotel & Resort sits at the edge of Poipu Beach on the southern coast of Kauai. This is arguably the sunniest region of the island, and the coastline here harbors many of the best beaches on the island for swimming, snorkeling and young families.
Rooms
Accommodations at Koa Kea Hotel & Resort are sleek and elegant with accents that evoke the rich colors of Kauai, from vibrant coral reefs offshore to the deep blues, greens and earth tones of land and sky. Garden view or oceanfront, all rooms have a lanai and wall-to-wall sliding doors to bring the breezy tropics in. Niceties include iPod docking stations, Nespresso machines, air conditioning, mini refrigerators and flat-screen HD televisions. Service includes twice-daily housekeeping.
Features
This resort is about a personalized experience. While relaxing and enjoying the spa may be the choice for many guests, Koa Kea Hotel & Resort is for active vacationers, too. A beach activity hut has snorkel gear and surf and boogie boards for rent, and surfing lessons are available. Workout buffs can maintain their routine in the well-equipped fitness center. Come evening, guests at the resort slip into custom beds for the ultimate in sleep comfort.
Transportation
  • Lihue Airport (15.2 mi/24.5 km)
  • Taxis availabl
Attractions
  • Poipu Bay Golf Course (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Allerton Garden Tours (2.6 mi/4.1km)
  • Spouting Horn Beach Park (2.6 mi/4.2 km)
  • Kayak Kauai Wailua River Paddle (20.4 mi/32.8 km)
  • Kokee State Park (32.1 mi/51.7 km)
Business
Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel and all rooms have Internet access, which is included in the daily resort fee.

Hotel Map

21.875 -159.4576
Area served
Poipu
Nearby airports
Lihue International Airport-14 miles

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Koa Kea Hotel and Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Koa Kea Hotel and Resort Rooms

Garden View
One king or two double beds with premium bedding. Garden views. Furnished balcony. 42-inch high-definition flat-panel television. Internet access. Espresso Machine. L'Occitane Bath Products. Sony clock radio with IPod docking station. Air conditioning,Ceiling fans, Dual shower heads in bath
Partial Ocean View
One king or two double beds with premium beddingPartial Ocean views. Furnished balcony. 42-inch high-definition flat-panel television. Internet access. Espresso Machine. L'Occitane Bath Products. Sony clock radio with IPod docking station. Air conditioning,Ceiling fans, Dual shower heads in bath
Ocean View
One king or two double beds with premium bedding. Ocean views. Furnished balcony. 42-inch high-definition flat-panel television. Internet access. Espresso Machine. L'Occitane Bath Products. Sony clock radio with IPod docking station. Air conditioning,Ceiling fans, Dual shower heads in bath

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Red Salt
Red Salt at the Koa Kea Hotel & Resort on Kauai combines the ideal elements for dining in Hawaii. The beautiful oceanfront setting is enhanced by a contemporary open design, and the large picture windows showcase the ocean and pool views. The diverse menu celebrates the fresh seafood and produce available in Hawaii, while the casual yet sophisticated atmosphere ensures that dining at Red Salt will be a memorable experience. Red Salt offers an ideal setting regardless of time of day. A daily Breakfast Buffet combines traditional American fare with fresh tropical fruit, breakfast bakery selections, assorted juices and an omelet station. The Dinner menu offers contemporary upscale cuisine. Lunch is served poolside and we also offer guest room dining 24 hours a day. Hours Breakfast 6:30 AM - 11:00 AM Lunch Pool 11:00 AM - 6:00 PM Dinner 6:00 PM - 10:00 PM Lounge 5:00 PM - 12:00 Midnight Pool Bar 11:00 AM - 6:00 PM Guest Room Dining 24 Hours

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (127)

Ratings and reviews for Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Overall score

4.7 / 5
5.01.0
127 out of 127
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.9
Hotel staff:
4.8
Room comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Active ones!
Palo Alto, CA
Feb 20, 2011

Great stay in Kauai

The Ko'a Kea hotel was the perfect destination for us as it provided wonderful amenities while offering privacy and seclusion. We enjoyed the views, the staff and the on site dining. We were very active during our trip, hiking biking, diving and sight seeing. The hotel was a great retreat at the end of each amazing day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Make sure you walk to Lappert's for dessert and coffee!

Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Carol and Mac
Snohomish, Washington
Jan 2, 2010

An extradordinary experience

From the moment we walked into the lobby of the Ko'a Kea until we reluctantly said goodbye, we felt special. The concierage showed us to our room, and spent several minutes pointing out all the amenenties and answering our queries as if there was no such thing as a stupid question. The valet brought up our bags and made a point of commending me for my backpack. He liked it, he said, "because it's been used!Our partial ocean view, which I had expected to be marginal at best, was quite lovely. We didn't have to crane our necks to see it, but were able to comfortably enjoy the expansive view from our balcony.The next morning, when we went down to breakfast, our waitress, [...], told us where we needed to go, and clued us in to the best cheap eats on the island, the local places, that we might have otherwise missed. Throughout the week she gave us tips on what to go. She is an all-timer in our book, friendly in a genuine way, with none of the slick artifice that is sometimes the stock in trade of waiters. [...], one of the valets, also gave us hints about what to see and where to eat each morning as we headed out. Everyone on the staff seemed truly interested in seeing that our stay was memorable. The Mai Tais were absolutely the best and Carol and I enjoyed them at sunset luxuriating on our deck chairs, ah heaven!Carol and I were celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary, our first real trip away from our daughters. and our first trip to Hawaii. The staff knew none of this and yet it seemed like they did. We came away enchanted with Kau'ai and eager to return. We are singing the praises of the Ko'a Kea Resort and will continue to.Absolutely unforgettable.Malcolm Bates and Carol Roorbach

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Not Applicable

If you are on a budget, look for the local spots. A number of places have box lunches and they are quite reasonable. We had big breakfasts, late lunches and the kicked back with Mai Tais, cheese, crackers and vegetables in the evening. You will have to time your eating to coincide with your daily travels, because there isn't much that's cheap around the Poi Pu area.

Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
xyzxyzxyzxyz
Poi Pu, Kaoai
Jul 12, 2012

great getaway

My husband and I had a lovely time at this hotel. It was in a great location but quiet and always easy to get a chair at the pool

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Yungman
Sunnyvale, CA
Jul 22, 2010

Great Honeymoon Destination

Very peaceful and gorgeous hotel perfect for a honeymooning couple. From the time we checked in to the time we left, we absolutely loved our 8 day, 7 night stay at Koa Kea. We received personalized service from the check-in staff that explained every amenity and personally walked us up to our hotel room. We had booked a garden view but were upgraded to a partial ocean view which was great. We loved the location despite getting lost the first time driving to the hotel. Hint: Koa Kea shares the same entrance as the Marriott Vacation Villas and is next to Plantation Villas. We loved every aspect of the hotel from the room to the pool to the location. We were able to walk to nearby restaurants off-site within 15 minutes along the beach and couldn't have asked for a more relaxing atmosphere to spend our honeymoon. We dined at Red Salt one night for dinner and while the food was delicious and very nicely prepared, you would probably spend less money dining elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Before you need to get your call, call down and give them your valet ticket number, and by the time you walk down to the entrance of the hotel, your car will be waiting for you.

Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
swmerwin
hawaii
Oct 20, 2012

Great anniversary trip

Very relaxing,exceptional personalized service and very well appointed. Exactly what we were looking for a kid free get a away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Veronica the Explorer
Phoenix, AZ
Jun 21, 2010

Awesome honeymoon getaway

My husband and I stayed at the Koa Kea for our belated honeymoon and received the best service we've had ever! From the time we arrived to the Koa Kea where they walked us to our room and explained all of their services to the time we left where they helped us take a picture of us and provided directions to where we needed to go, we were treated very well. They made our stay so much more enjoyable. The valle guys always asked where we were going, provided us with towels, directions, etc.... It was like they had read our minds. Very helpful!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

I would recommend doing the hike/kayaking/swimming at the falls through the Walua River. Awesome experience! I would also recommend taking the catamaran ride over to the Na Pali coast and Ni 'ihue. Very beautiful view and some good snorkeling. If you like sea turtles, there are a lot at Lawai beach very close to the Koa Kea Resort. I would not recommend mountain biking through the homsteads. It was rough terrain (slippery clay rock) uphill mostly. We had to walk our bikes most of the way.

Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Ewa Beach , HI
Aug 3, 2010

We LOVED the Koa Kea!

We absolutely loved our 6 day trip from Oahu to Kauai. The Island was gorgeous! Koa Kea Hotel was amazing! The valet service was great, and the rest of the staff did anything and everything to keep us happy. The twice-a-day cleaning service was very good and the showers are insane! Also, for those of you looking for peace and quie, this is the hotel for you! We saw/heard hardly any children, whic we very much liked! We would stay here time and time again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mr. Romance
Regina, SK
Nov 22, 2010

20th anniverary

The staff was a huge plus. Everyone was accommodating and very friendly. In talking to you, it felt like the staff enjoyed chatting instead of being obligated to do so. The hotel was clean and quiet. The room was always clean. The beds were comfortable. It would have been nice to have a light blanket or sheet as well as the comforter. I was generally too hot or too cold when trying to sleep. Easily accessible swimming beaches Reef with plenty of fish for snorkling Amazing sunsets over the ocean from the main lawn.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
houston,tx
Feb 26, 2010

great place

Very friendly staff and great rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mdbaumert
Phoenix, AZ
Aug 4, 2011

The best in Kaua'i

My wife and I recently returned from the beautiful island of Kauai for our Honeymoon and we were thrilled with our choice to stay at Ko'a Kea. We were told when we arrived on the island that it's "always sunny in Poipu" which turned out to be truth for the duration of our stay, especially compared with the rest of the island. Perfectly situated on the south shore, it has access to two beautiful beaches on either side of the resort separated by a 200 meter wide rocky shoreline with excellent access to surfing, snorkeling, or boogie-boarding.When we arrived, we were greeted with the friendly and prompt valet staff who provide complimentary service at each arrival and departure for the duration of the stay and who also provide the valuable service of transporting all luggage up to your room while you check-in. One unanticipated service that we were pleasantly surprised with was that a staff member personally guides new check-ins around the resort and up to the room to point out all of the individual amenities from explaining the two housekeeping services per day (clean-up and turn-down) to how to use the espresso machines (quite easy) conveniently located in each room. All staff from the front desk, to the valet and cabana, at the hotel were knowledgeable of the island and provided an excellent resource for our trip.Since we had booked our reservation through [...], we had breakfast included in our package which turned out to be one of the real gems of the resort! We were treated to our option of either having our complimentary breakfast delivered to our room each morning or the option of eating in the on-site restaurant, Red Salt. We split the options and found both to be appealing. When you choose to eat at the restaurant, they not only give access to their lavish continental breakfast line which included fresh fruit (the papaya was particularly amazing), cheeses and assorted meats, oatmeal, fresh juices, croissants, and our favorite, the blueberry toast, but they also allow you to choose one hot meal breakfast selection from items such as eggs benedict, steak and eggs, waffles, pancakes, etc. The only item which we were not particularly thrilled with were the pineapple soufflé pancakes - it's the only thing we do not recommend. Everything else was delicious and provided us with extremely generous portions to fuel our days exploring the island.As for the rooms, they were very relaxing and comfortable with down comforters and many pillows, and the rooms were extremely well-designed and attractive. The bathroom featured modern amenities and a spacious walk-in shower with over-head and wall-mount shower heads. We loved the view of the ocean and sound of crashing of waves each night from our private lanai.The grounds were well-manicured, and there were always ample lounge chairs either on the great lawn overlooking the ocean or at poolside. Compared with the resort hotels on either side of the Ko'a Kea, it did not feel like there was a mass of humanity to contend with and felt much more relaxed and couples-oriented. There were families there as well, but not nearly as many as at the neighboring hotel which seemed to be swarming with people on the hotel grounds.Overall, it was even better than expected and is now our preferred choice when we revisit the island. The service was consistent from the moment we arrived until we left and the staff went out of their way on numerous occasions to meet even the smallest requests. It's rare when you find a place you'd definitely re-visit without even considering other options, but for us, Ko'a Kea is that place. We hope you similarly enjoy your stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

Red Salt features an incredible breakfast with buffet. When booking, have breakfast added... it's WELL worth it and can serve as your primary meal of the day for additional cost-savings!

Back to menu Return to top