$369 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2015 Check-out: Sep 1, 2015

Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

4 stars
View map of 2251 Poipu Road, Koloa, HI 96756

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.7
out of 5
86 reviews
Great place for a relaxing stay

Other than spotty wi-fi, this hotel/resort was perfect. See full review

  • Eddie V.
  • May 21, 2015
Quiet, romantic, service oriented!!

Hotel restaurant was fabulous! The hotel service was top notch. Very romantic and quiet. My husband... See full review

  • Angela H.
  • Jan 24, 2015
The antithesis of cookie cutter, Koa Kea Hotel & Resort is an intimate, 121-room boutique hotel on 3 serene acres. It conjures up romance at every turn, offering services and amenities galore so guests can simply sit back and enjoy. Everything here says Hawaii. Spa treatments meld island therapies with native ingredients like Kauai red clay, and chefs at upscale Red Salt flavor fragrant dishes with coconut creme fraiche and lilikoi. Elegant yet utterly relaxed, Koa Kea Hotel & Resort is quintessential island luxury.
Location
Intimate Koa Kea Hotel & Resort sits at the edge of Poipu Beach on the southern coast of Kauai. This is arguably the sunniest region of the island, and the coastline here harbors many of the best beaches on the island for swimming, snorkeling and young families.
Rooms
Accommodations at Koa Kea Hotel & Resort are sleek and elegant with accents that evoke the rich colors of Kauai, from vibrant coral reefs offshore to the deep blues, greens and earth tones of land and sky. Garden view or oceanfront, all rooms have a lanai and wall-to-wall sliding doors to bring the breezy tropics in. Niceties include iPod docking stations, Nespresso machines, air conditioning, mini refrigerators and flat-screen HD televisions. Service includes twice-daily housekeeping.
Property features
This resort is about a personalized experience. While relaxing and enjoying the spa may be the choice for many guests, Koa Kea Hotel & Resort is for active vacationers, too. A beach activity hut has snorkel gear and surf and boogie boards for rent, and surfing lessons are available. Workout buffs can maintain their routine in the well-equipped fitness center. Come evening, guests at the resort slip into custom beds for the ultimate in sleep comfort.
Highlights
  • Steps from beach
  • Spa focuses on local ingredients
  • Fine-dining restaurant
Nearby attractions
  • Poipu Bay Golf Course (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Allerton Garden Tours (2.6 mi/4.1km)
  • Spouting Horn Beach Park (2.6 mi/4.2 km)
  • Kayak Kauai Wailua River Paddle (20.4 mi/32.8 km)
  • Kokee State Park (32.1 mi/51.7 km)
Business
Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel and all rooms have Internet access, which is included in the daily resort fee.
Transportation
  • Lihue Airport (15.2 mi/24.5 km)
  • Taxis availabl

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Koa Kea Hotel and Resort also booked these hotels.

★★★★★
$368
4.7 / 5 212 reviews
★★★★
$229
4.2 / 5 230 reviews
★★★★
$189
4.0 / 5 515 reviews
★★★★
$419
4.2 / 5 23 reviews
★★★
$168
4.2 / 5 101 reviews
★★★
$233
4.1 / 5 19 reviews
★★★
$339
4.3 / 5 3 reviews
★★★
$337
4.0 / 5 33 reviews

Koa Kea Hotel and Resort Rooms

Garden View
One king or two double beds with premium bedding. Garden views. Furnished balcony. 42-inch high-definition flat-panel television. Internet access. Espresso Machine. L'Occitane Bath Products. Sony clock radio with IPod docking station. Air conditioning,Ceiling fans, Dual shower heads in bath
Partial Ocean View
One king or two double beds with premium beddingPartial Ocean views. Furnished balcony. 42-inch high-definition flat-panel television. Internet access. Espresso Machine. L'Occitane Bath Products. Sony clock radio with IPod docking station. Air conditioning,Ceiling fans, Dual shower heads in bath
Ocean View
One king or two double beds with premium bedding. Ocean views. Furnished balcony. 42-inch high-definition flat-panel television. Internet access. Espresso Machine. L'Occitane Bath Products. Sony clock radio with IPod docking station. Air conditioning,Ceiling fans, Dual shower heads in bath

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Dining

Red Salt
Red Salt at the Koa Kea Hotel & Resort on Kauai combines the ideal elements for dining in Hawaii. The beautiful oceanfront setting is enhanced by a contemporary open design, and the large picture windows showcase the ocean and pool views. The diverse menu celebrates the fresh seafood and produce available in Hawaii, while the casual yet sophisticated atmosphere ensures that dining at Red Salt will be a memorable experience. Red Salt offers an ideal setting regardless of time of day. A daily Breakfast Buffet combines traditional American fare with fresh tropical fruit, breakfast bakery selections, assorted juices and an omelet station. The Dinner menu offers contemporary upscale cuisine. Lunch is served poolside and we also offer guest room dining 24 hours a day. Hours Breakfast 6:30 AM - 11:00 AM Lunch Pool 11:00 AM - 6:00 PM Dinner 6:00 PM - 10:00 PM Lounge 5:00 PM - 12:00 Midnight Pool Bar 11:00 AM - 6:00 PM Guest Room Dining 24 Hours

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Overall score

4.7 / 5
5.01.0
86 out of 86
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.9
Hotel staff:
4.9
Comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
bella1215
Couples
toronto
Feb 29, 2012

honeymoon/babymoon

We had a great time in Kauai. The hotel is nice and close to the beaches. The staff is very helpful and attentive. Its a smaller resort so nice for honeymooners wanting a little seclusion. The only downside is that the walls are thin and we could hear a baby crying every nite (poor thing) next door to us. We mentioned this to staff and they offered us a different room but not the beach view we paid for so we stayed put. It was our honeymoon so nothing could ruin our trip. The hotel is more pricey and not sure if its completely worth the amount but it was still a nice prperty.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Chicago, IL
Aug 30, 2010

Disappointment

We were so disappointed I spent the first night looking for a new hotel. You may wonder how this could be possible given all the great reviews. I too was dumb founded. We were staying for our honeymoon so when we arrived we were hoping for a room upgrade. That never happened. Thanks Koa Kea. But when we got to our room there was a bag of nuts waiting for us (yay), but no shampoo in the shower. The airline treated us better. Our room looked out on the public beach access and was one room away from the hotel dumpsters. Just what I was hoping for on my honeymoon, trash and spectators. Once we left the room I had hoped things would improve. We sat down in the wicker chairs on the lawn, and wondered where the cushions went? They were very uncomfortable and would explain why people need a massage while staying here. The side tables on the lawn where dirty, so flies land on you as you try to relax. The pool was full of kids screaming and running, no parents around, no hotel staff to stop this. This was day one, so I can't imagine what other nightmares Koa Kea has in store. But rather than wait I'm moving to the Grand Hyatt. I suggest you do the same.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
radmsm
Couples
Seattle, WA
Jul 26, 2011

Nice people great service

Nice style. No tub in room, totally unexpected at this price point. Small room, well decorated, clean. Very nice people. Small pool. Hard to find hotel with little signage.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

try 22 degrees North for great food. Allerton Garden tour is beautiful. Poipou Beach Park is great!

Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Toolatetomatter
Business
Newman, CA 95360, USA
Oct 11, 2011

LATE CHECK-IN

The 1600 check-in was very inconvenient, I arrived at 11 am and had to wait until 4pm to get into my room to rest. This would have me look else where for future accommodations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

It was possible to walk to a number of minor attractions, but was necessary to take a taxi for any real shopping or attractions.

Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Radar F.
Couples
Kensington CA
Nov 5, 2011

Great with an asterisk

Wonderful place. Great location. Perfect size (not a huge resort, not a tiny boutique. Just right.) One caution is if you book the garden view rooms. The lanais are not in any way private--no barriers between rooms on the ground floor. We unfortunately were between two rooms that knew each other and they thought it was totally okay to walk across our lanai, stand in front of our sliding glass doors as if we were not in the room and talk loudly to one another. So we're in Hawaii and have to keep the blinds closed. Yeah, they were clueless guests, but for $300 a night, I expected more built-in privacy: it's not too hard to grow tall plants in Hawaii. The other issue is that the walls are paper thin and the flat-screens huge. So if you're unlucky enough to be next to clueless guests (see above) you're hearing their tv a lot. For such a lovely hotel with such a high priority on quiet relaxation, it was a small bummer that the garden view rooms weren't optimized to meet the standards of the rest of the hotel. Sure, the garden views are the low tier, but hey, $300 is still pretty pricey. I expected better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Zodiac Z -boat tour. Within 10 minutes of leaving the dock we were at our snorkel site, swimming with sea turtles. Amazing. Guides Matt and Chris were terrific. Based right in Koloa (just a few miles north of the roundabout that is close to the hotel.)

Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Joshbo
Couples
New York
Aug 26, 2012

Great hotel. Solid.

The staff was very friendly, extremely helpful. My girlfriend and I got massages at the on-site spa - they were some of the best we've ever had. The food at Red Salt (in-house restaurant) was good. Our one complaint was location - the hotel sits on Poipu beach, not a great beach, but its no biggie compared to the amenities, great hot tub, pool and pool bar drinks, above everything else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Savage Shrimp and Living Foods Market. Great island food and grocery/booze shopping respectively.

Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
HneMooney
Couples
Mobile, AL
Sep 16, 2012

Nice but pricey

This hotel was really nice, and the staff was warm and friendly. We were on our honeymoon (clearly not the only ones) if I had to do it over again I would have gotten a suite at a less expensive hotel. Our room was nice, but not special enough to justify the price. Amenities were good and service was quick and accurate. No kids, so you can feel like an adult without having to censor yourself.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The koloa deli made for a great alternative to the Poipu area's expensive fare. Puka dog is a must go, Papalani Gelato next door for desert.

Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
hang ten
Couples
Vancouver WA
Dec 1, 2012

Anniversary trip

This hotel lived up to our expectations. We decided to book our stay at this hotel after reading many positive reviews. The location is great for traveling to all parts of the island. It's on the ocean, which was important to us. It's also in walking distance to the mall. Since we were celebrating our anniversary, it was nice to have a great restaurant on the property, The Red Salt. We had breakfast there every couple of days. To alleviate high cost of drinks, we shopped at Costco in Lihue for wine, which we had on our balcony on a couple of occasions. Overall, we loved the resort, and the staff were super!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Plantation Gardens was a great restaurant, and not overpriced.

Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tcarriet
Couples
San Diego, CA
Jul 14, 2013

Great Location

The bed was the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. The staff is super friendly and helpful. The location is right in front of the beach which made it easy to go back and forth from the hotel to the beach. Everything was great! We had a wonderful time : )

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kekalu
Couples
Seattle, WA
Feb 27, 2010

Great Kauai trip for a couple

Koa Kea Hotel is a great place to stay while visiting the entire island! You cannot drive all the way around the island because there are no roads along the north west shore, known as the Na Pali Coast. Koa Kea Hotel is essentially located in the middle of the route you'll take to reach either end of the Na Pali Coast, so you can easily go hiking, kayaking, surfing, etc anywhere on the island. The hotel room was very clean and modern, and being on the 3rd (top) floor in the back we had a private balcony with a partial ocean view on which to enjoy breakfast in our room before heading out for the day. The food at the hotel restaurant was excellent, although the menu is small. No worry, since there are many very good restaurants in the area. The staff was all very nice, but being from a large city I sometimes found their casualness to rub me wrong--this wasn't really an issue, just a more casual interaction than what you would see at home. There weren't many kids, if any, at this hotel. It's a great place for couples. I wouldn't consider it an all inclusive hotel...you'll definitely want to get out and explore Kauai...but you could easily spend a day on the hotel grounds, and be comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Bring hiking boots and a camelback! Take at least one day to visit the north coast and hike Kalalau Trail on a sunny day. This is a beautiful hike along a ridge looking out along the coast. Also take a day to visit Waimea Canyon and hike the Nu'alolo/Awa'awapuhi Trail loop, another beautiful hike. Go to Waimea Canyon early in the morning and drive to the end of the road to Pu'u o Kila Lookout for a great vista. Arrive early, before 10 am, because the clouds can roll in and you won't be able to see anything. Holo Holo Charters is a great outfit if you'd like to take a catamaran trip to see the Na Pali Coast and go snorkeling. The day we went, however, there were 10 foot swells, and I was quite a bit sea sick.

Back to menu Return to top