$349 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Oct 31, 2014 Check-out: Nov 1, 2014

Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

4 stars
2251 Poipu Road, Koloa, HI 96756
Best In Stay
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.7
out of 5
88 reviews
Comfortable and Romantic Getaway

Hands-down the best hotel I've ever stayed at. This hotel is luxurious without being overboard. The... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Sep 7, 2014
Wonderful 10-Year Anniversary Getaway

Koa Kea is a great location for a Kauai getaway. Although it's located on the south shore at Poipu,... See full review

  • eskimodesign
  • Aug 31, 2014
Intimate resort on Poipu Beach evokes the pleasures of island romance
The antithesis of cookie cutter, Koa Kea Hotel & Resort is an intimate, 121-room boutique hotel on 3 serene acres. It conjures up romance at every turn, offering services and amenities galore so guests can simply sit back and enjoy. Everything here says Hawaii. Spa treatments meld island therapies with native ingredients like Kauai red clay, and chefs at upscale Red Salt flavor fragrant dishes with coconut creme fraiche and lilikoi. Elegant yet utterly relaxed, Koa Kea Hotel & Resort is quintessential island luxury.
Highlights
  • Steps from beach
  • Spa focuses on local ingredients
  • Fine-dining restaurant
Location
Intimate Koa Kea Hotel & Resort sits at the edge of Poipu Beach on the southern coast of Kauai. This is arguably the sunniest region of the island, and the coastline here harbors many of the best beaches on the island for swimming, snorkeling and young families.
Rooms
Accommodations at Koa Kea Hotel & Resort are sleek and elegant with accents that evoke the rich colors of Kauai, from vibrant coral reefs offshore to the deep blues, greens and earth tones of land and sky. Garden view or oceanfront, all rooms have a lanai and wall-to-wall sliding doors to bring the breezy tropics in. Niceties include iPod docking stations, Nespresso machines, air conditioning, mini refrigerators and flat-screen HD televisions. Service includes twice-daily housekeeping.
Features
This resort is about a personalized experience. While relaxing and enjoying the spa may be the choice for many guests, Koa Kea Hotel & Resort is for active vacationers, too. A beach activity hut has snorkel gear and surf and boogie boards for rent, and surfing lessons are available. Workout buffs can maintain their routine in the well-equipped fitness center. Come evening, guests at the resort slip into custom beds for the ultimate in sleep comfort.
Transportation
  • Lihue Airport (15.2 mi/24.5 km)
  • Taxis availabl
Attractions
  • Poipu Bay Golf Course (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Allerton Garden Tours (2.6 mi/4.1km)
  • Spouting Horn Beach Park (2.6 mi/4.2 km)
  • Kayak Kauai Wailua River Paddle (20.4 mi/32.8 km)
  • Kokee State Park (32.1 mi/51.7 km)
Business
Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel and all rooms have Internet access, which is included in the daily resort fee.

Hotel Map

21.875 -159.4576
Area served
Poipu
Nearby airports
Lihue International Airport-14 miles

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Koa Kea Hotel and Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Koa Kea Hotel and Resort Rooms

Garden View
One king or two double beds with premium bedding. Garden views. Furnished balcony. 42-inch high-definition flat-panel television. Internet access. Espresso Machine. L'Occitane Bath Products. Sony clock radio with IPod docking station. Air conditioning,Ceiling fans, Dual shower heads in bath
Partial Ocean View
One king or two double beds with premium beddingPartial Ocean views. Furnished balcony. 42-inch high-definition flat-panel television. Internet access. Espresso Machine. L'Occitane Bath Products. Sony clock radio with IPod docking station. Air conditioning,Ceiling fans, Dual shower heads in bath
Ocean View
One king or two double beds with premium bedding. Ocean views. Furnished balcony. 42-inch high-definition flat-panel television. Internet access. Espresso Machine. L'Occitane Bath Products. Sony clock radio with IPod docking station. Air conditioning,Ceiling fans, Dual shower heads in bath

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Red Salt
Red Salt at the Koa Kea Hotel & Resort on Kauai combines the ideal elements for dining in Hawaii. The beautiful oceanfront setting is enhanced by a contemporary open design, and the large picture windows showcase the ocean and pool views. The diverse menu celebrates the fresh seafood and produce available in Hawaii, while the casual yet sophisticated atmosphere ensures that dining at Red Salt will be a memorable experience. Red Salt offers an ideal setting regardless of time of day. A daily Breakfast Buffet combines traditional American fare with fresh tropical fruit, breakfast bakery selections, assorted juices and an omelet station. The Dinner menu offers contemporary upscale cuisine. Lunch is served poolside and we also offer guest room dining 24 hours a day. Hours Breakfast 6:30 AM - 11:00 AM Lunch Pool 11:00 AM - 6:00 PM Dinner 6:00 PM - 10:00 PM Lounge 5:00 PM - 12:00 Midnight Pool Bar 11:00 AM - 6:00 PM Guest Room Dining 24 Hours

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (88)

Ratings and reviews for Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Overall score

4.7 / 5
5.01.0
88 out of 88
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.9
Hotel staff:
4.9
Room comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Jun 7, 2010

Terrific Spot

Hotel was in a superb location on Poipu beach with wonderful views. Easy access to beach and location to restaurants made this a terrific choice. Not sure what capacity the property was at, but did receive complimentary upgrade to partial ocean view, which was nice. Jim, the bartender, makes an incredible Mai Tai and was very outgoing! Room was nice size, with terrific shower and a very comfy bed. It was also nice to relax on the lanai in the evenings. Dined at Red Salt for breakfast a couple of times and overall it was amazing, but be cautious if you order a la carte as 2 orders of toast was $7, which I found to be a bit annoying (especially given that we made our own in the toaster). Overall, a relaxing environment, friendly staff too. Not sure why we couldn't get a late checkout (again capacity was definitely low), but we made the best of it. Also, not sure why they need to clean the pool after guests are already using it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Check out the Koloa Rum Factory for a free tasting!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
1 year married
Business
San Jose, CA
May 31, 2010

Ko'a Kea hotel review - May 2010

We decided on this hotel based on a friends comment and follow up research on the web. We were there for a week and the hotel is very peaceful and seemed only partially full the week we were there. Amazing view of the beach and the hotel itself was were beautiful. While staying at the hotel we went snokelling, did a helicopter ride around the island and spend a day or two driving up the road in both directions to see the various waterfalls and the best trip was a paddle boat and hike to a "secret" waterfall with a small lunch. The hotel is great for couples wanting to get away from the big hotels, screaming children and noise. The food was good but was very overpriced for the portions. The weather was also not as cooperative as we wanted as it rained for a bit every day and the wind was really bad the first few days as well. We would recommend this location for couples wanting to get away and have some privacy. We would also recommend getting a convertible and spending some time seeing the entire island as it can very a lot depending on which side you are on. Waimea canyon is also a necessity to see as it can't be defined in words.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
native Kiwi
Business
Mountain View, Ca
Apr 8, 2010

Peaceful Escape

The Koa Kea is a pristine, new resort. Rooms and service were immaculate. Our "ocean view" room afforded wonderful views of the ocean just 50 feet away and also very attractive views of the courtyard lit with tiki torches at night. We slept in a second floor room with the door open at night so we could enjoy the sounds of the ocean and the palm trees. The resort has only about 120 rooms which gives it a more intimate feeling than the large chain hotels. For us, this was a perfect stay-put vacation and we did not see a better option as we traveled about Kauai. I'd go back again in a heart beat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Would recommend breakfast at the Koa Kea. Good dinner options also at the Kiahuna Planatation, Beach House and Brennecke's.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Apr 3, 2010

Perfect Getaway

We had a wonderful time at the Koa Kea. The location was spectacular with a beautiful beach. The pool was very nice, as was the exercise room. There was no bathtub in our room--only a shower, but that was fine for us. The only downside was having next door neighbors with kids who were a bit loud.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Mar 31, 2010

You´ll love the Ko´a Kea !

Right from the start, the Ko´a Kea stood out from other hotels. Beautiful lobby and hotel grounds, very helpful staff and spectacular design everywhere. Located on the south shore we found it was convenient to go either to the beaches on the north shore or hiking on west shore. Poipu beach, 20 yards from the hotel, is also great for snorkeling and for beginner surfers. There are a lot of good restaurants close by. The rooms are beautiful like the common areas, my husband especially loved having a Nespresso machine in the room. Red Salt restaurant was also great ! Service was personable and everybody had a smile on their faces. It was so nice coming home to the hotel room after a long day of activities and seeing water bottle on ice at the bedside, a little light by the bed and music on the radio. I can not say enough good things about this hotel !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco, CA
Mar 29, 2010

Peaceful, classy retreat

The facility is new and the decor is tasteful and subdued. The staff was extremely helpful and available. The location was excellent, right on the beach. A lovely peaceful place for couples, would not recommend it to families with kids, though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Christina Webb
Business
Chicago, Illinois
Mar 27, 2010

Great Boutique Hotel!

We loved this hotel. The staff was genuine and friendly. The pool was nice and the property is right on the beach. Great amenities-refrigerator, L'Occitane toiletries, towels for the beach and pool, and comfortable beds. Pack light because the hotel has self-service laundry, which is a huge plus in my book-no more sending shorts out for dry cleaning. Two negatives: (1) This hotel is not great for children. Try the Hyatt. (2) The local surf spots are not good for beginners. The area is rocky. Sandy shores are nearby in Hanalei, but the drive took just over an hour.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Save money by visiting the Kalaheo Cafe for breakfast and lunch. The Cafe also has dinner Wednesday through Saturday.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
vivianruth
Business
Wisconsin
Mar 6, 2010

Beautiful, comfy, great beach

Staff were always offering help or suggestions about the local area. For instance, one morning we left to walk to the nearby shopping area, and since it was clouding up, the valet gave us an umbrella to take. The bar made great, though expensive, drinks and the ahi appetizer there was outstanding. The king bed was a pillowtop with a down duvet. A ceiling fan over the bed helped make sleeptime perfect. Our room was modern but not uncomfortable. There was only one armchair, though, so we brought in a chair from the lanai. The room was provided with an espresso machine using special capsules, several of which were provided. Others were available for purchase. This would have been an inconvenience, but we brought those little packets of Starbucks instant and used the espresso machine without the capsules for hot water. The huge marble shower, with a built-in bench, had a rainfall overhead sprinkler as well as the showerhead. The hair dryer was better than most. Toiletries provided were L'Occitaine (sp?).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Brenneckes, which can be reached by foot, walking along the beaches, was lively, well-priced, with great food, friendly service, and a beach view.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kekalu
Business
Seattle, WA
Feb 27, 2010

Great Kauai trip for a couple

Koa Kea Hotel is a great place to stay while visiting the entire island! You cannot drive all the way around the island because there are no roads along the north west shore, known as the Na Pali Coast. Koa Kea Hotel is essentially located in the middle of the route you'll take to reach either end of the Na Pali Coast, so you can easily go hiking, kayaking, surfing, etc anywhere on the island. The hotel room was very clean and modern, and being on the 3rd (top) floor in the back we had a private balcony with a partial ocean view on which to enjoy breakfast in our room before heading out for the day. The food at the hotel restaurant was excellent, although the menu is small. No worry, since there are many very good restaurants in the area. The staff was all very nice, but being from a large city I sometimes found their casualness to rub me wrong--this wasn't really an issue, just a more casual interaction than what you would see at home. There weren't many kids, if any, at this hotel. It's a great place for couples. I wouldn't consider it an all inclusive hotel...you'll definitely want to get out and explore Kauai...but you could easily spend a day on the hotel grounds, and be comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Bring hiking boots and a camelback! Take at least one day to visit the north coast and hike Kalalau Trail on a sunny day. This is a beautiful hike along a ridge looking out along the coast. Also take a day to visit Waimea Canyon and hike the Nu'alolo/Awa'awapuhi Trail loop, another beautiful hike. Go to Waimea Canyon early in the morning and drive to the end of the road to Pu'u o Kila Lookout for a great vista. Arrive early, before 10 am, because the clouds can roll in and you won't be able to see anything. Holo Holo Charters is a great outfit if you'd like to take a catamaran trip to see the Na Pali Coast and go snorkeling. The day we went, however, there were 10 foot swells, and I was quite a bit sea sick.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
houston,tx
Feb 26, 2010

great place

Very friendly staff and great rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top