$349 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 12, 2014 Check-out: Jul 14, 2014

Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

4 stars
2251 Poipu Road, Koloa, HI 96756
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.7
out of 5
127 reviews
Amazing Staff & Great Location

This was one of my best hotel experiences. The rooms were clean & well-appointed. The staff was... See full review

  • VacayNParadise
  • Jun 2, 2014
Romance

Hotel staff was awesome, place was very clean. I like that they had unlimited valet service and... See full review

  • Taekwon
  • May 2, 2014
Intimate resort on Poipu Beach evokes the pleasures of island romance
The antithesis of cookie cutter, Koa Kea Hotel & Resort is an intimate, 121-room boutique hotel on 3 serene acres. It conjures up romance at every turn, offering services and amenities galore so guests can simply sit back and enjoy. Everything here says Hawaii. Spa treatments meld island therapies with native ingredients like Kauai red clay, and chefs at upscale Red Salt flavor fragrant dishes with coconut creme fraiche and lilikoi. Elegant yet utterly relaxed, Koa Kea Hotel & Resort is quintessential island luxury.
Highlights
  • Steps from beach
  • Spa focuses on local ingredients
  • Fine-dining restaurant
Location
Intimate Koa Kea Hotel & Resort sits at the edge of Poipu Beach on the southern coast of Kauai. This is arguably the sunniest region of the island, and the coastline here harbors many of the best beaches on the island for swimming, snorkeling and young families.
Rooms
Accommodations at Koa Kea Hotel & Resort are sleek and elegant with accents that evoke the rich colors of Kauai, from vibrant coral reefs offshore to the deep blues, greens and earth tones of land and sky. Garden view or oceanfront, all rooms have a lanai and wall-to-wall sliding doors to bring the breezy tropics in. Niceties include iPod docking stations, Nespresso machines, air conditioning, mini refrigerators and flat-screen HD televisions. Service includes twice-daily housekeeping.
Features
This resort is about a personalized experience. While relaxing and enjoying the spa may be the choice for many guests, Koa Kea Hotel & Resort is for active vacationers, too. A beach activity hut has snorkel gear and surf and boogie boards for rent, and surfing lessons are available. Workout buffs can maintain their routine in the well-equipped fitness center. Come evening, guests at the resort slip into custom beds for the ultimate in sleep comfort.
Transportation
  • Lihue Airport (15.2 mi/24.5 km)
  • Taxis availabl
Attractions
  • Poipu Bay Golf Course (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Allerton Garden Tours (2.6 mi/4.1km)
  • Spouting Horn Beach Park (2.6 mi/4.2 km)
  • Kayak Kauai Wailua River Paddle (20.4 mi/32.8 km)
  • Kokee State Park (32.1 mi/51.7 km)
Business
Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel and all rooms have Internet access, which is included in the daily resort fee.

Koa Kea Hotel and Resort Rooms

Garden View
One king or two double beds with premium bedding. Garden views. Furnished balcony. 42-inch high-definition flat-panel television. Internet access. Espresso Machine. L'Occitane Bath Products. Sony clock radio with IPod docking station. Air conditioning,Ceiling fans, Dual shower heads in bath
Partial Ocean View
One king or two double beds with premium beddingPartial Ocean views. Furnished balcony. 42-inch high-definition flat-panel television. Internet access. Espresso Machine. L'Occitane Bath Products. Sony clock radio with IPod docking station. Air conditioning,Ceiling fans, Dual shower heads in bath
Ocean View
One king or two double beds with premium bedding. Ocean views. Furnished balcony. 42-inch high-definition flat-panel television. Internet access. Espresso Machine. L'Occitane Bath Products. Sony clock radio with IPod docking station. Air conditioning,Ceiling fans, Dual shower heads in bath

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Koa Kea Hotel and Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Hotel Map

21.875 -159.4576
Area served
Poipu
Nearby airports
Lihue International Airport-14 miles

Dining

Red Salt
Red Salt at the Koa Kea Hotel & Resort on Kauai combines the ideal elements for dining in Hawaii. The beautiful oceanfront setting is enhanced by a contemporary open design, and the large picture windows showcase the ocean and pool views. The diverse menu celebrates the fresh seafood and produce available in Hawaii, while the casual yet sophisticated atmosphere ensures that dining at Red Salt will be a memorable experience. Red Salt offers an ideal setting regardless of time of day. A daily Breakfast Buffet combines traditional American fare with fresh tropical fruit, breakfast bakery selections, assorted juices and an omelet station. The Dinner menu offers contemporary upscale cuisine. Lunch is served poolside and we also offer guest room dining 24 hours a day. Hours Breakfast 6:30 AM - 11:00 AM Lunch Pool 11:00 AM - 6:00 PM Dinner 6:00 PM - 10:00 PM Lounge 5:00 PM - 12:00 Midnight Pool Bar 11:00 AM - 6:00 PM Guest Room Dining 24 Hours

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (127)

Ratings and reviews for Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Overall score

4.7 / 5
5.01.0
127 out of 127
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.9
Hotel staff:
4.8
Room comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Couple on first trip to Hawaii
Indianapolis, IN
Oct 27, 2010

Great trip

Recently returned from my trip (first week of October '10) and his resort was great as expected. I was very happy that it was somewhat small and quiet. I was worried about being stuck in a large overcrowded resort that was packed full of kids and didn't have a problem here. We stayed in the Garden view king room and thought that was plenty. Very comfortable bed, nice TV, large and well decorated. The maid service was great as were the valet. It was a little weird having the valet park the car a few feet away, but didn't really bother me once I was there. The coffee thing in the room was a little weird, but since they had really good coffee in the lobby I was happy. We also stopped at the local grocery store about 5 minutes away and loaded up on snacks and beer. It was nice to be able to stock the small fridge up (saved a bit of money on beer) and not worry about mini bar stuff. Little hint there is a Wal-mart by the airport, Costco by the mall and two grocery stores within 10 minutes by car. We ate at the resort restaurant (red-salt) once for lunch and once for dinner. Food was good maybe even great. It was expensive but not a lot more than going out to eat. We skipped the buffet for breakfast and ordered off the menu. I think the total bill for breakfast was around $25. The staff at the red-salt was a bit rude (might be better stated as weird – either way something about the red-salt staff just wasn't quite great). The pool was just enough as was the hot tub. We didn't spend much time there but when we did we didn't have any problem. It was fairly quiet the entire time and wasn't really crowded (which was great as I am not a big fan of crowds). We did grab lunch and a few drinks from the pool bar twice. Everything was great there. The beach right in front of the resort was great for snorkeling. In the early morning it was a bit rough for swimming (rocky), but got much better in the afternoon. We rented the snorkeling equipment and ended up keeping it all week. Well worth the $25. We spent almost the entire time on the beaches. We did find a few better beaches for swimming, but kept coming back to this beach (the convenience factor had some influence on that). The island in generally was very nice and easy to get around. Driving was fairly normal (think small town), but the roads got harder to negotiate at night. I would recommend arriving to you hotel during the day, just to get your barring (after that should be fine). This resort shares a drive with a couple of condo's so watch for the turn closely (it might be easier to look up the name of the condo next to it and look for that sign). There was not much in the way of great shopping on the island, mostly touristy shops (none of which I would say where bad, just not our thing). The two strip mall type shopping areas near the resort where actually two of the better ones we found on the island. I haven't been to the other island yet so cannot really compare, but overall we really enjoyed the great beaches (none of which seemed crowded – fairly quiet for the most part). That's what we wanted most and that's what we got. [...]All together a great trip and very happy with the resort. I would say if you're butler service rich (we are not), there might be better options at the higher price ranges. I bumped my review up from a 4 to a 5 just because of how nice the staff was. That might be a bit generous, but several weeks after the trip I am still really happy about it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

A few local grocerys near by. Grab some snacks and beer to save money.

Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Couple on first trip to Hawaii
Indianapolis, IN
Oct 27, 2010

Great trip

Recently returned from my trip (first week of October '10) and his resort was great as expected. I was very happy that it was somewhat small and quiet. I was worried about being stuck in a large overcrowded resort that was packed full of kids and didn't have a problem here. We stayed in the Garden view king room and thought that was plenty. Very comfortable bed, nice TV, large and well decorated. The maid service was great as were the valet. It was a little weird having the valet park the car a few feet away, but didn't really bother me once I was there. The coffee thing in the room was a little weird, but since they had really good coffee in the lobby I was happy. We also stopped at the local grocery store about 5 minutes away and loaded up on snacks and beer. It was nice to be able to stock the small fridge up (saved a bit of money on beer) and not worry about mini bar stuff. Little hint there is a Wal-mart by the airport, Costco by the mall and two grocery stores within 10 minutes by car. We ate at the resort restaurant (red-salt) once for lunch and once for dinner. Food was good maybe even great. It was expensive but not a lot more than going out to eat. We skipped the buffet for breakfast and ordered off the menu. I think the total bill for breakfast was around $25. The staff at the red-salt was a bit rude (might be better stated as weird – either way something about the red-salt staff just wasn't quite great). The pool was just enough as was the hot tub. We didn't spend much time there but when we did we didn't have any problem. It was fairly quiet the entire time and wasn't really crowded (which was great as I am not a big fan of crowds). We did grab lunch and a few drinks from the pool bar twice. Everything was great there. The beach right in front of the resort was great for snorkeling. In the early morning it was a bit rough for swimming (rocky), but got much better in the afternoon. We rented the snorkeling equipment and ended up keeping it all week. Well worth the $25. We spent almost the entire time on the beaches. We did find a few better beaches for swimming, but kept coming back to this beach (the convenience factor had some influence on that). The island in generally was very nice and easy to get around. Driving was fairly normal (think small town), but the roads got harder to negotiate at night. I would recommend arriving to you hotel during the day, just to get your barring (after that should be fine). This resort shares a drive with a couple of condo's so watch for the turn closely (it might be easier to look up the name of the condo next to it and look for that sign). There was not much in the way of great shopping on the island, mostly touristy shops (none of which I would say where bad, just not our thing). The two strip mall type shopping areas near the resort where actually two of the better ones we found on the island. I haven't been to the other island yet so cannot really compare, but overall we really enjoyed the great beaches (none of which seemed crowded – fairly quiet for the most part). That's what we wanted most and that's what we got. [...]All together a great trip and very happy with the resort. I would say if you're butler service rich (we are not), there might be better options at the higher price ranges. I bumped my review up from a 4 to a 5 just because of how nice the staff was. That might be a bit generous, but several weeks after the trip I am still really happy about it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

A few local grocerys near by. Grab some snacks and beer to save money.

Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mandyloo
Portland Oregon
Sep 7, 2010

Hotel Review

Hotel staff very friendly and professional, rooms very nice and comfortable and clean. Did not like the valet parking since everytime an access to the car involved getting the staff involved too. Food availability was low and pricey and had to go next door to the Marriott for some great choices. The outside bar hours were too short and again low snack/food choices. For a Boutique Hotel it was very nice and quiet, great beach access.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Next door to the Koa Kea was the Marriott and it has a very nice Market with great choices for snacks and treats, too bad this resort does not have one. Overall it is very expensive to eat on the island so be prepared to pay up a good amount of $.

Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mandyloo
Portland Oregon
Sep 7, 2010

Hotel Review

Hotel staff very friendly and professional, rooms very nice and comfortable and clean. Did not like the valet parking since everytime an access to the car involved getting the staff involved too. Food availability was low and pricey and had to go next door to the Marriott for some great choices. The outside bar hours were too short and again low snack/food choices. For a Boutique Hotel it was very nice and quiet, great beach access.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Next door to the Koa Kea was the Marriott and it has a very nice Market with great choices for snacks and treats, too bad this resort does not have one. Overall it is very expensive to eat on the island so be prepared to pay up a good amount of $.

Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Krock60
Woodland Hills, CA
Aug 31, 2010

Our Belated Honeymoon at Poipu Beach

You will not find a more friendly and helpful staff. Everyone from the front desk to the valets to the rental booth by the pool could not have been more accommodating in making sure our trip was special. And the extra bonus of walking right onto the beach from the resort only added to our pleasant getaway at Koa Kea. My wife and I were treated like royalty for our special week away from L.A.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Not Applicable

Let me begin by saying that the restaurant inside the resort, Red Salt, was exceptional in its service and food. That being said, Red Salt is pricey and should be treated as a one time treat. Explore the island and the Poipu Village across the street for food that is good and priced right. Joe's on the Green comes to mind for a great breakfast and you cannot go home without trying a Puka Dog as well at Puka Dog. For lunch, give Poipu Tropical Burgers for some tasty burger cuisine (they have food for the vegetarian also).

Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Oahu, HI
Aug 31, 2010

excellent resort!!!

Great service and extremely friendly staff. They remembered our names/faces and greeted us with smiles every day. We were able to book our Na Pali raft ride through the hotel and it was one of our most memorable moments of our honeymoon. Dinner at Red Salt was absolutely delicious! We definitely would recommend this place to our friends and family !!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Oahu, HI
Aug 31, 2010

excellent resort!!!

Great service and extremely friendly staff. They remembered our names/faces and greeted us with smiles every day. We were able to book our Na Pali raft ride through the hotel and it was one of our most memorable moments of our honeymoon. Dinner at Red Salt was absolutely delicious! We definitely would recommend this place to our friends and family !!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago, IL
Aug 30, 2010

Disappointment

We were so disappointed I spent the first night looking for a new hotel. You may wonder how this could be possible given all the great reviews. I too was dumb founded. We were staying for our honeymoon so when we arrived we were hoping for a room upgrade. That never happened. Thanks Koa Kea. But when we got to our room there was a bag of nuts waiting for us (yay), but no shampoo in the shower. The airline treated us better. Our room looked out on the public beach access and was one room away from the hotel dumpsters. Just what I was hoping for on my honeymoon, trash and spectators. Once we left the room I had hoped things would improve. We sat down in the wicker chairs on the lawn, and wondered where the cushions went? They were very uncomfortable and would explain why people need a massage while staying here. The side tables on the lawn where dirty, so flies land on you as you try to relax. The pool was full of kids screaming and running, no parents around, no hotel staff to stop this. This was day one, so I can't imagine what other nightmares Koa Kea has in store. But rather than wait I'm moving to the Grand Hyatt. I suggest you do the same.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago, IL
Aug 30, 2010

Disappointment

We were so disappointed I spent the first night looking for a new hotel. You may wonder how this could be possible given all the great reviews. I too was dumb founded. We were staying for our honeymoon so when we arrived we were hoping for a room upgrade. That never happened. Thanks Koa Kea. But when we got to our room there was a bag of nuts waiting for us (yay), but no shampoo in the shower. The airline treated us better. Our room looked out on the public beach access and was one room away from the hotel dumpsters. Just what I was hoping for on my honeymoon, trash and spectators. Once we left the room I had hoped things would improve. We sat down in the wicker chairs on the lawn, and wondered where the cushions went? They were very uncomfortable and would explain why people need a massage while staying here. The side tables on the lawn where dirty, so flies land on you as you try to relax. The pool was full of kids screaming and running, no parents around, no hotel staff to stop this. This was day one, so I can't imagine what other nightmares Koa Kea has in store. But rather than wait I'm moving to the Grand Hyatt. I suggest you do the same.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
August in Hawaii
NY
Aug 19, 2010

kauai week

Clean and elegant property, friendly staff. Made our stay pleasant and relaxed. However, they haven't updated some of their price lists, so there was some confusion on room service charges and not great clarification on the bill. Also, though they advertise outdoor massages, they actually aren't set up for outdoor services yet. We wish we were told that when we booked the massage instead of when we arrived for the appointment. Regardless, the massage was wonderful. I would definitely come again and recommend this place to couples.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top