$369 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 12, 2015 Check-out: May 15, 2015

Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

4 stars
View map of 2251 Poipu Road, Koloa, HI 96756

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Overall score

4.7 / 5
5.01.0
89 out of 89
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.9
Hotel staff:
4.9
Comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
D Lerp
Walnut Creek, CA
Nov 15, 2012

Memorable stay at the Koa Kea

We stayed for 4 nights for our birthdays. We were in a garden view room which was surprisingly ideal. The room was on the ground floor with an outdoor patio, and when you go outside, there is a slight ocean view. There isn't really any foot traffic by the garden view rooms which is good - you can easily see into the poolside and ocean view rooms. Staff and concierge were very friendly and helpful. Red Salt a la carte breakfast was delicious.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC
Mar 30, 2011

Excellent service

Koa Kea staff were excellent - very friendly, helpful and polite - far beyond most hotels. Their recommendations for places to visit and eat were outstanding. Their concern for and care about their guests were amazing. If I go back, I will definitely return to this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Merriman's has outstanding food and service.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
HDM
Business
Concord, NH
Mar 14, 2011

Wonderful Hotel

Lovely boutique hotel, with a 25' walk to the beach. Rooms were SO comfortable, restaurant was really good, but pricy. Staff was terrific - always friendly and quick to help. Valet parking is included! This is a nice treat. Would go back in a minute. It's small and quiet/romantic. Lots of couples and not a party scene.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

A 500 foot walk to a small plaza with shops and other restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Papa Wolfio
Business
Fort Collins, CO
Feb 28, 2011

No Better Honeymoon

Ko'a Kea was beautiful and romantic. Upon arrival, the resort upgraded our room from a garden view to a partial ocean view, free of charge! And that was before they knew it was our honeymoon. The resort itself sits right on the beach and has its own little cove. The modern decor of the rooms is wonderful, yet the beach and the Hawaiian shirts worn by the valets keep the atmosphere laid back. Everyone working at the hotel is incredibly friendly. All in all, Be prepared for a relaxing stay - bring flip flops.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Check out the National Tropical Botanical Gardens!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
chicago
Feb 21, 2011

Swanky hotel,low key,superior service

Room superior to many previous Hawaii hotel stays. Small hotel but all the amenities anyone could want. Red Salt restaurant,in hotel,one of best on island

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Snorkeling in front and next to hotel,better than paid snorkeling tours.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Active ones!
Business
Palo Alto, CA
Feb 20, 2011

Great stay in Kauai

The Ko'a Kea hotel was the perfect destination for us as it provided wonderful amenities while offering privacy and seclusion. We enjoyed the views, the staff and the on site dining. We were very active during our trip, hiking biking, diving and sight seeing. The hotel was a great retreat at the end of each amazing day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Make sure you walk to Lappert's for dessert and coffee!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mr. Romance
Business
Regina, SK
Nov 22, 2010

20th anniverary

The staff was a huge plus. Everyone was accommodating and very friendly. In talking to you, it felt like the staff enjoyed chatting instead of being obligated to do so. The hotel was clean and quiet. The room was always clean. The beds were comfortable. It would have been nice to have a light blanket or sheet as well as the comforter. I was generally too hot or too cold when trying to sleep. Easily accessible swimming beaches Reef with plenty of fish for snorkling Amazing sunsets over the ocean from the main lawn.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Covington, WA
Nov 21, 2010

Wonderful vacation

We picked the hotel thanks to travelers' reviews and it definitely was a wonderful place to stay. The location in Poipu put us close to great restaurants and beaches. Our favorite restaurants were the Beach House and Casa de Amici. We would recommend booking a room with breakfast included. The food was very good and the wait staff delightful and friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The helicopter ride with Blue Hawaiian was fantastic and a highlight of our trip.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Nov 15, 2010

Love Supreme

For our first trip to Kauai, we picked Koa Kea for its reputation for quality service and boutique chic on the South shore resort belt. The reviews are right: this tidy hotel is hard to beat. It never felt crowded or hurried, and the staff was engaging and helpful. Rooms were quiet and even the roosters next door at the Marriott were respectful in the AM.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

For a real walk on the gustatory wild side head 1 mile west to Josselin's in the new shopping center at the traffic circle. The Pacific Rim tapas are on a global scale, but the restaurant is casual and informal.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cropp
Business
Jordan, Ontario
Oct 28, 2010

Firstclass

Beautiful rooms, nicely appointed. Staff very helpful ,and accomodating. Red Salt restaurant for breakfast is delicious and a hidden gem in Poipu for excellent dinners. Location location location, perfectlly situated on Poipu beach , beautiful pool area that's quiet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Red Salt restaurant in Hotel has some of the finest meals on the island. Don't waste your time at the Beach House restaurant.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Couple on first trip to Hawaii
Business
Indianapolis, IN
Oct 27, 2010

Great trip

Recently returned from my trip (first week of October '10) and his resort was great as expected. I was very happy that it was somewhat small and quiet. I was worried about being stuck in a large overcrowded resort that was packed full of kids and didn't have a problem here. We stayed in the Garden view king room and thought that was plenty. Very comfortable bed, nice TV, large and well decorated. The maid service was great as were the valet. It was a little weird having the valet park the car a few feet away, but didn't really bother me once I was there. The coffee thing in the room was a little weird, but since they had really good coffee in the lobby I was happy. We also stopped at the local grocery store about 5 minutes away and loaded up on snacks and beer. It was nice to be able to stock the small fridge up (saved a bit of money on beer) and not worry about mini bar stuff. Little hint there is a Wal-mart by the airport, Costco by the mall and two grocery stores within 10 minutes by car. We ate at the resort restaurant (red-salt) once for lunch and once for dinner. Food was good maybe even great. It was expensive but not a lot more than going out to eat. We skipped the buffet for breakfast and ordered off the menu. I think the total bill for breakfast was around $25. The staff at the red-salt was a bit rude (might be better stated as weird – either way something about the red-salt staff just wasn't quite great). The pool was just enough as was the hot tub. We didn't spend much time there but when we did we didn't have any problem. It was fairly quiet the entire time and wasn't really crowded (which was great as I am not a big fan of crowds). We did grab lunch and a few drinks from the pool bar twice. Everything was great there. The beach right in front of the resort was great for snorkeling. In the early morning it was a bit rough for swimming (rocky), but got much better in the afternoon. We rented the snorkeling equipment and ended up keeping it all week. Well worth the $25. We spent almost the entire time on the beaches. We did find a few better beaches for swimming, but kept coming back to this beach (the convenience factor had some influence on that). The island in generally was very nice and easy to get around. Driving was fairly normal (think small town), but the roads got harder to negotiate at night. I would recommend arriving to you hotel during the day, just to get your barring (after that should be fine). This resort shares a drive with a couple of condo's so watch for the turn closely (it might be easier to look up the name of the condo next to it and look for that sign). There was not much in the way of great shopping on the island, mostly touristy shops (none of which I would say where bad, just not our thing). The two strip mall type shopping areas near the resort where actually two of the better ones we found on the island. I haven't been to the other island yet so cannot really compare, but overall we really enjoyed the great beaches (none of which seemed crowded – fairly quiet for the most part). That's what we wanted most and that's what we got. [...]All together a great trip and very happy with the resort. I would say if you're butler service rich (we are not), there might be better options at the higher price ranges. I bumped my review up from a 4 to a 5 just because of how nice the staff was. That might be a bit generous, but several weeks after the trip I am still really happy about it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

A few local grocerys near by. Grab some snacks and beer to save money.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top