$369 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 27, 2015 Check-out: May 28, 2015

Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

4 stars
View map of 2251 Poipu Road, Koloa, HI 96756

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Overall score

4.7 / 5
5.01.0
96 out of 96
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.9
Hotel staff:
4.9
Comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Modern nomad
Business
Berne, Switzerland
Apr 25, 2011

Relaxing stay in paradise

Very enjoyable stay. Great for simply relaxing at the beach and pool. Quiet and intimate atmosphere with personalized service, quite different from the bigger less-personal hotel chains. Excellent conditions for swimming, surfing and snorkeling. Perfect base for unforgettable trips around the island. Staff was extremely friendly, helpful and knowledgable. Room had a spectacular ocean-view just few meters from the beach. We will miss hearing the crushing of the waves in the morning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Travel Dogs
Business
Scottsdale, Arizona
Apr 21, 2011

Adventure vaca

I travel a lot, mainly with my dogs, but decided to take a short trip to Kauai by myself for my birthday. The Koa Kea was ideal for singles and couples. It was quiet and upscale. The restaurant, The Red Salt, was amazing, and I enjoyed every part of my stay. The bed was super comfy!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The little town of Koloa was ideal for shopping or grabbing a bottle of wine. If you want adventure try ziplining with Just Live, it was truly an exciting adventure or Hiking with Eric, if you enjoy hiking and sightseeing. Also, the spa at the Koa Kea had great services.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Travel Dogs
Business
Scottsdale, Arizona
Apr 21, 2011

Adventure vaca

I travel a lot, mainly with my dogs, but decided to take a short trip to Kauai by myself for my birthday. The Koa Kea was ideal for singles and couples. It was quiet and upscale. The restaurant, The Red Salt, was amazing, and I enjoyed every part of my stay. The bed was super comfy!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The little town of Koloa was ideal for shopping or grabbing a bottle of wine. If you want adventure try ziplining with Just Live, it was truly an exciting adventure or Hiking with Eric, if you enjoy hiking and sightseeing. Also, the spa at the Koa Kea had great services.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC
Mar 30, 2011

Excellent service

Koa Kea staff were excellent - very friendly, helpful and polite - far beyond most hotels. Their recommendations for places to visit and eat were outstanding. Their concern for and care about their guests were amazing. If I go back, I will definitely return to this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Merriman's has outstanding food and service.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
HDM
Business
Concord, NH
Mar 14, 2011

Wonderful Hotel

Lovely boutique hotel, with a 25' walk to the beach. Rooms were SO comfortable, restaurant was really good, but pricy. Staff was terrific - always friendly and quick to help. Valet parking is included! This is a nice treat. Would go back in a minute. It's small and quiet/romantic. Lots of couples and not a party scene.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

A 500 foot walk to a small plaza with shops and other restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Papa Wolfio
Business
Fort Collins, CO
Feb 28, 2011

No Better Honeymoon

Ko'a Kea was beautiful and romantic. Upon arrival, the resort upgraded our room from a garden view to a partial ocean view, free of charge! And that was before they knew it was our honeymoon. The resort itself sits right on the beach and has its own little cove. The modern decor of the rooms is wonderful, yet the beach and the Hawaiian shirts worn by the valets keep the atmosphere laid back. Everyone working at the hotel is incredibly friendly. All in all, Be prepared for a relaxing stay - bring flip flops.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Check out the National Tropical Botanical Gardens!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Papa Wolfio
Business
Fort Collins, CO
Feb 28, 2011

No Better Honeymoon

Ko'a Kea was beautiful and romantic. Upon arrival, the resort upgraded our room from a garden view to a partial ocean view, free of charge! And that was before they knew it was our honeymoon. The resort itself sits right on the beach and has its own little cove. The modern decor of the rooms is wonderful, yet the beach and the Hawaiian shirts worn by the valets keep the atmosphere laid back. Everyone working at the hotel is incredibly friendly. All in all, Be prepared for a relaxing stay - bring flip flops.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Check out the National Tropical Botanical Gardens!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
chicago
Feb 21, 2011

Swanky hotel,low key,superior service

Room superior to many previous Hawaii hotel stays. Small hotel but all the amenities anyone could want. Red Salt restaurant,in hotel,one of best on island

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Snorkeling in front and next to hotel,better than paid snorkeling tours.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Active ones!
Business
Palo Alto, CA
Feb 20, 2011

Great stay in Kauai

The Ko'a Kea hotel was the perfect destination for us as it provided wonderful amenities while offering privacy and seclusion. We enjoyed the views, the staff and the on site dining. We were very active during our trip, hiking biking, diving and sight seeing. The hotel was a great retreat at the end of each amazing day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Make sure you walk to Lappert's for dessert and coffee!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mr. Romance
Business
Regina, SK
Nov 22, 2010

20th anniverary

The staff was a huge plus. Everyone was accommodating and very friendly. In talking to you, it felt like the staff enjoyed chatting instead of being obligated to do so. The hotel was clean and quiet. The room was always clean. The beds were comfortable. It would have been nice to have a light blanket or sheet as well as the comforter. I was generally too hot or too cold when trying to sleep. Easily accessible swimming beaches Reef with plenty of fish for snorkling Amazing sunsets over the ocean from the main lawn.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top