$349 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Oct 23, 2014 Check-out: Oct 26, 2014

Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

4 stars
2251 Poipu Road, Koloa, HI 96756
Best In Stay
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.7
out of 5
88 reviews
Comfortable and Romantic Getaway

Hands-down the best hotel I've ever stayed at. This hotel is luxurious without being overboard. The... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Sep 7, 2014
Wonderful 10-Year Anniversary Getaway

Koa Kea is a great location for a Kauai getaway. Although it's located on the south shore at Poipu,... See full review

  • eskimodesign
  • Aug 31, 2014
Intimate resort on Poipu Beach evokes the pleasures of island romance
The antithesis of cookie cutter, Koa Kea Hotel & Resort is an intimate, 121-room boutique hotel on 3 serene acres. It conjures up romance at every turn, offering services and amenities galore so guests can simply sit back and enjoy. Everything here says Hawaii. Spa treatments meld island therapies with native ingredients like Kauai red clay, and chefs at upscale Red Salt flavor fragrant dishes with coconut creme fraiche and lilikoi. Elegant yet utterly relaxed, Koa Kea Hotel & Resort is quintessential island luxury.
Highlights
  • Steps from beach
  • Spa focuses on local ingredients
  • Fine-dining restaurant
Location
Intimate Koa Kea Hotel & Resort sits at the edge of Poipu Beach on the southern coast of Kauai. This is arguably the sunniest region of the island, and the coastline here harbors many of the best beaches on the island for swimming, snorkeling and young families.
Rooms
Accommodations at Koa Kea Hotel & Resort are sleek and elegant with accents that evoke the rich colors of Kauai, from vibrant coral reefs offshore to the deep blues, greens and earth tones of land and sky. Garden view or oceanfront, all rooms have a lanai and wall-to-wall sliding doors to bring the breezy tropics in. Niceties include iPod docking stations, Nespresso machines, air conditioning, mini refrigerators and flat-screen HD televisions. Service includes twice-daily housekeeping.
Features
This resort is about a personalized experience. While relaxing and enjoying the spa may be the choice for many guests, Koa Kea Hotel & Resort is for active vacationers, too. A beach activity hut has snorkel gear and surf and boogie boards for rent, and surfing lessons are available. Workout buffs can maintain their routine in the well-equipped fitness center. Come evening, guests at the resort slip into custom beds for the ultimate in sleep comfort.
Transportation
  • Lihue Airport (15.2 mi/24.5 km)
  • Taxis availabl
Attractions
  • Poipu Bay Golf Course (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Allerton Garden Tours (2.6 mi/4.1km)
  • Spouting Horn Beach Park (2.6 mi/4.2 km)
  • Kayak Kauai Wailua River Paddle (20.4 mi/32.8 km)
  • Kokee State Park (32.1 mi/51.7 km)
Business
Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel and all rooms have Internet access, which is included in the daily resort fee.

Hotel Map

21.875 -159.4576
Area served
Poipu
Nearby airports
Lihue International Airport-14 miles

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Koa Kea Hotel and Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Koa Kea Hotel and Resort Rooms

Garden View
One king or two double beds with premium bedding. Garden views. Furnished balcony. 42-inch high-definition flat-panel television. Internet access. Espresso Machine. L'Occitane Bath Products. Sony clock radio with IPod docking station. Air conditioning,Ceiling fans, Dual shower heads in bath
Partial Ocean View
One king or two double beds with premium beddingPartial Ocean views. Furnished balcony. 42-inch high-definition flat-panel television. Internet access. Espresso Machine. L'Occitane Bath Products. Sony clock radio with IPod docking station. Air conditioning,Ceiling fans, Dual shower heads in bath
Ocean View
One king or two double beds with premium bedding. Ocean views. Furnished balcony. 42-inch high-definition flat-panel television. Internet access. Espresso Machine. L'Occitane Bath Products. Sony clock radio with IPod docking station. Air conditioning,Ceiling fans, Dual shower heads in bath

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Red Salt
Red Salt at the Koa Kea Hotel & Resort on Kauai combines the ideal elements for dining in Hawaii. The beautiful oceanfront setting is enhanced by a contemporary open design, and the large picture windows showcase the ocean and pool views. The diverse menu celebrates the fresh seafood and produce available in Hawaii, while the casual yet sophisticated atmosphere ensures that dining at Red Salt will be a memorable experience. Red Salt offers an ideal setting regardless of time of day. A daily Breakfast Buffet combines traditional American fare with fresh tropical fruit, breakfast bakery selections, assorted juices and an omelet station. The Dinner menu offers contemporary upscale cuisine. Lunch is served poolside and we also offer guest room dining 24 hours a day. Hours Breakfast 6:30 AM - 11:00 AM Lunch Pool 11:00 AM - 6:00 PM Dinner 6:00 PM - 10:00 PM Lounge 5:00 PM - 12:00 Midnight Pool Bar 11:00 AM - 6:00 PM Guest Room Dining 24 Hours

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (88)

Ratings and reviews for Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Overall score

4.7 / 5
5.01.0
88 out of 88
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.9
Hotel staff:
4.9
Room comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
HDM
Business
Concord, NH
Mar 14, 2011

Wonderful Hotel

Lovely boutique hotel, with a 25' walk to the beach. Rooms were SO comfortable, restaurant was really good, but pricy. Staff was terrific - always friendly and quick to help. Valet parking is included! This is a nice treat. Would go back in a minute. It's small and quiet/romantic. Lots of couples and not a party scene.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

A 500 foot walk to a small plaza with shops and other restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Papa Wolfio
Business
Fort Collins, CO
Feb 28, 2011

No Better Honeymoon

Ko'a Kea was beautiful and romantic. Upon arrival, the resort upgraded our room from a garden view to a partial ocean view, free of charge! And that was before they knew it was our honeymoon. The resort itself sits right on the beach and has its own little cove. The modern decor of the rooms is wonderful, yet the beach and the Hawaiian shirts worn by the valets keep the atmosphere laid back. Everyone working at the hotel is incredibly friendly. All in all, Be prepared for a relaxing stay - bring flip flops.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Check out the National Tropical Botanical Gardens!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
chicago
Feb 21, 2011

Swanky hotel,low key,superior service

Room superior to many previous Hawaii hotel stays. Small hotel but all the amenities anyone could want. Red Salt restaurant,in hotel,one of best on island

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Snorkeling in front and next to hotel,better than paid snorkeling tours.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Active ones!
Business
Palo Alto, CA
Feb 20, 2011

Great stay in Kauai

The Ko'a Kea hotel was the perfect destination for us as it provided wonderful amenities while offering privacy and seclusion. We enjoyed the views, the staff and the on site dining. We were very active during our trip, hiking biking, diving and sight seeing. The hotel was a great retreat at the end of each amazing day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Make sure you walk to Lappert's for dessert and coffee!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mr. Romance
Business
Regina, SK
Nov 22, 2010

20th anniverary

The staff was a huge plus. Everyone was accommodating and very friendly. In talking to you, it felt like the staff enjoyed chatting instead of being obligated to do so. The hotel was clean and quiet. The room was always clean. The beds were comfortable. It would have been nice to have a light blanket or sheet as well as the comforter. I was generally too hot or too cold when trying to sleep. Easily accessible swimming beaches Reef with plenty of fish for snorkling Amazing sunsets over the ocean from the main lawn.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Covington, WA
Nov 21, 2010

Wonderful vacation

We picked the hotel thanks to travelers' reviews and it definitely was a wonderful place to stay. The location in Poipu put us close to great restaurants and beaches. Our favorite restaurants were the Beach House and Casa de Amici. We would recommend booking a room with breakfast included. The food was very good and the wait staff delightful and friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The helicopter ride with Blue Hawaiian was fantastic and a highlight of our trip.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Nov 15, 2010

Love Supreme

For our first trip to Kauai, we picked Koa Kea for its reputation for quality service and boutique chic on the South shore resort belt. The reviews are right: this tidy hotel is hard to beat. It never felt crowded or hurried, and the staff was engaging and helpful. Rooms were quiet and even the roosters next door at the Marriott were respectful in the AM.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

For a real walk on the gustatory wild side head 1 mile west to Josselin's in the new shopping center at the traffic circle. The Pacific Rim tapas are on a global scale, but the restaurant is casual and informal.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cropp
Business
Jordan, Ontario
Oct 28, 2010

Firstclass

Beautiful rooms, nicely appointed. Staff very helpful ,and accomodating. Red Salt restaurant for breakfast is delicious and a hidden gem in Poipu for excellent dinners. Location location location, perfectlly situated on Poipu beach , beautiful pool area that's quiet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Red Salt restaurant in Hotel has some of the finest meals on the island. Don't waste your time at the Beach House restaurant.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Couple on first trip to Hawaii
Business
Indianapolis, IN
Oct 27, 2010

Great trip

Recently returned from my trip (first week of October '10) and his resort was great as expected. I was very happy that it was somewhat small and quiet. I was worried about being stuck in a large overcrowded resort that was packed full of kids and didn't have a problem here. We stayed in the Garden view king room and thought that was plenty. Very comfortable bed, nice TV, large and well decorated. The maid service was great as were the valet. It was a little weird having the valet park the car a few feet away, but didn't really bother me once I was there. The coffee thing in the room was a little weird, but since they had really good coffee in the lobby I was happy. We also stopped at the local grocery store about 5 minutes away and loaded up on snacks and beer. It was nice to be able to stock the small fridge up (saved a bit of money on beer) and not worry about mini bar stuff. Little hint there is a Wal-mart by the airport, Costco by the mall and two grocery stores within 10 minutes by car. We ate at the resort restaurant (red-salt) once for lunch and once for dinner. Food was good maybe even great. It was expensive but not a lot more than going out to eat. We skipped the buffet for breakfast and ordered off the menu. I think the total bill for breakfast was around $25. The staff at the red-salt was a bit rude (might be better stated as weird – either way something about the red-salt staff just wasn't quite great). The pool was just enough as was the hot tub. We didn't spend much time there but when we did we didn't have any problem. It was fairly quiet the entire time and wasn't really crowded (which was great as I am not a big fan of crowds). We did grab lunch and a few drinks from the pool bar twice. Everything was great there. The beach right in front of the resort was great for snorkeling. In the early morning it was a bit rough for swimming (rocky), but got much better in the afternoon. We rented the snorkeling equipment and ended up keeping it all week. Well worth the $25. We spent almost the entire time on the beaches. We did find a few better beaches for swimming, but kept coming back to this beach (the convenience factor had some influence on that). The island in generally was very nice and easy to get around. Driving was fairly normal (think small town), but the roads got harder to negotiate at night. I would recommend arriving to you hotel during the day, just to get your barring (after that should be fine). This resort shares a drive with a couple of condo's so watch for the turn closely (it might be easier to look up the name of the condo next to it and look for that sign). There was not much in the way of great shopping on the island, mostly touristy shops (none of which I would say where bad, just not our thing). The two strip mall type shopping areas near the resort where actually two of the better ones we found on the island. I haven't been to the other island yet so cannot really compare, but overall we really enjoyed the great beaches (none of which seemed crowded – fairly quiet for the most part). That's what we wanted most and that's what we got. [...]All together a great trip and very happy with the resort. I would say if you're butler service rich (we are not), there might be better options at the higher price ranges. I bumped my review up from a 4 to a 5 just because of how nice the staff was. That might be a bit generous, but several weeks after the trip I am still really happy about it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

A few local grocerys near by. Grab some snacks and beer to save money.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mandyloo
Business
Portland Oregon
Sep 7, 2010

Hotel Review

Hotel staff very friendly and professional, rooms very nice and comfortable and clean. Did not like the valet parking since everytime an access to the car involved getting the staff involved too. Food availability was low and pricey and had to go next door to the Marriott for some great choices. The outside bar hours were too short and again low snack/food choices. For a Boutique Hotel it was very nice and quiet, great beach access.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Next door to the Koa Kea was the Marriott and it has a very nice Market with great choices for snacks and treats, too bad this resort does not have one. Overall it is very expensive to eat on the island so be prepared to pay up a good amount of $.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top