$369 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 29, 2015 Check-out: Sep 1, 2015

Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

4 stars
View map of 2251 Poipu Road, Koloa, HI 96756

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Overall score

4.7 / 5
5.01.0
86 out of 86
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.9
Hotel staff:
4.9
Comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Flukebu
Couples
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Oct 21, 2011

A Perfect Getaway

Our overall experience at this hotel was perfect. The food was superb, the staff knowledgeable and friendly, the rooms appeared brand new and the location is ideal. Like much on Kauai, nothing is that far away, but this location in Poipu was extremely convenient to a wide selection of restaurants close by, a few very quaint local areas, and close to some great sightseeing spots. The hotel was nicely laid out, not too large, not to small, with a good central bar, a nice pool and spa, and a great, quiet piece of beach out front. I really can't think of anything that disappointed us. The stay really has motivated us to return to Kauai and I can see of no reason why we won't be staying at the Koa Kea again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There was a little shopping center opposite which had some nice stores and a few good restaurants hidden away.

Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Toolatetomatter
Business
Newman, CA 95360, USA
Oct 11, 2011

LATE CHECK-IN

The 1600 check-in was very inconvenient, I arrived at 11 am and had to wait until 4pm to get into my room to rest. This would have me look else where for future accommodations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

It was possible to walk to a number of minor attractions, but was necessary to take a taxi for any real shopping or attractions.

Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
greeeee
Couples
boston
Oct 11, 2011

amazing

perfect vacation spot, staff was super friendly, hotel was incredibly clean

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
finn909
Couples
Los Gatos
Sep 26, 2011

Extrordinary Service!

From the moment we arrived until we drove off to the airport to return home we were treated better than any other hotel I have ever stayed in. On top of that the hotel design is beautiful and welcoming as well. The rooms are appointed with the most comfortable linens. We even wanted to get the brand name so I can sleep on them at home. The restaurant Red Salt is wonderful and finally Jim the bartender is a pro who know how to make a visitor feel at home. this was the perfect spot to spend our honeymoon. In a word: WOW!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Kauai Outfitters Zip Line Safari

Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cheryl from CA
Couples
Mountain View, CA, USA
Aug 13, 2011

Fantastic hotel for couples

We LOVED Koa Kea Resort. I was on the trip with my boyfriend, so we were looking for a hotel that wouldn't be too crowded with families. This hotel was perfect. The demographic was mostly younger or older couples, and although I saw plenty of people staying there, it never felt crowded. The restaurant and bar were great. Get the breakfast package - the breakfasts are really tasty and it makes waking up and just going downstairs for food in the morning really carefree. Our room had a partial ocean view, and that was plenty for us. We actually liked that we weren't on the courtyard side since it was a bit more private that way. Our room was cleaned twice a day - twice! Maybe that's how it's normally done in Hawaii, but I absolutely loved the turn-down service. The room was always immaculate when we came back to it. The hotel staff did everything they could to make it a really wonderful stay for us. Everyone was helpful and nice the entire time. I honestly can't think of anything bad to say about this hotel. It was perfect for what we were looking for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mdbaumert
Couples
Phoenix, AZ
Aug 4, 2011

The best in Kaua'i

My wife and I recently returned from the beautiful island of Kauai for our Honeymoon and we were thrilled with our choice to stay at Ko'a Kea. We were told when we arrived on the island that it's "always sunny in Poipu" which turned out to be truth for the duration of our stay, especially compared with the rest of the island. Perfectly situated on the south shore, it has access to two beautiful beaches on either side of the resort separated by a 200 meter wide rocky shoreline with excellent access to surfing, snorkeling, or boogie-boarding.When we arrived, we were greeted with the friendly and prompt valet staff who provide complimentary service at each arrival and departure for the duration of the stay and who also provide the valuable service of transporting all luggage up to your room while you check-in. One unanticipated service that we were pleasantly surprised with was that a staff member personally guides new check-ins around the resort and up to the room to point out all of the individual amenities from explaining the two housekeeping services per day (clean-up and turn-down) to how to use the espresso machines (quite easy) conveniently located in each room. All staff from the front desk, to the valet and cabana, at the hotel were knowledgeable of the island and provided an excellent resource for our trip.Since we had booked our reservation through [...], we had breakfast included in our package which turned out to be one of the real gems of the resort! We were treated to our option of either having our complimentary breakfast delivered to our room each morning or the option of eating in the on-site restaurant, Red Salt. We split the options and found both to be appealing. When you choose to eat at the restaurant, they not only give access to their lavish continental breakfast line which included fresh fruit (the papaya was particularly amazing), cheeses and assorted meats, oatmeal, fresh juices, croissants, and our favorite, the blueberry toast, but they also allow you to choose one hot meal breakfast selection from items such as eggs benedict, steak and eggs, waffles, pancakes, etc. The only item which we were not particularly thrilled with were the pineapple soufflé pancakes - it's the only thing we do not recommend. Everything else was delicious and provided us with extremely generous portions to fuel our days exploring the island.As for the rooms, they were very relaxing and comfortable with down comforters and many pillows, and the rooms were extremely well-designed and attractive. The bathroom featured modern amenities and a spacious walk-in shower with over-head and wall-mount shower heads. We loved the view of the ocean and sound of crashing of waves each night from our private lanai.The grounds were well-manicured, and there were always ample lounge chairs either on the great lawn overlooking the ocean or at poolside. Compared with the resort hotels on either side of the Ko'a Kea, it did not feel like there was a mass of humanity to contend with and felt much more relaxed and couples-oriented. There were families there as well, but not nearly as many as at the neighboring hotel which seemed to be swarming with people on the hotel grounds.Overall, it was even better than expected and is now our preferred choice when we revisit the island. The service was consistent from the moment we arrived until we left and the staff went out of their way on numerous occasions to meet even the smallest requests. It's rare when you find a place you'd definitely re-visit without even considering other options, but for us, Ko'a Kea is that place. We hope you similarly enjoy your stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

Red Salt features an incredible breakfast with buffet. When booking, have breakfast added... it's WELL worth it and can serve as your primary meal of the day for additional cost-savings!

Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
radmsm
Couples
Seattle, WA
Jul 26, 2011

Nice people great service

Nice style. No tub in room, totally unexpected at this price point. Small room, well decorated, clean. Very nice people. Small pool. Hard to find hotel with little signage.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

try 22 degrees North for great food. Allerton Garden tour is beautiful. Poipou Beach Park is great!

Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
kelly8181
Couples
los angeles, ca
Jul 16, 2011

ahhh-mazing

best hotel we have ever stayed at (& my husband worked for years at a 4 star hotel in beverly hills). valet parking all the time at no additional cost for guests-complete with attendants who know kauai well & can offer you directions ANYwhere. they are also there smiling with a warm aloha each time you arrive back "home" at the hotel. all desk agents double as concierge & that makes a huge difference in the level of service they are able to provide. very available/friendly and quick to help and offer suggestions as to where to go and what to do. the property is GORGEOUS, cannot be captured, must see in person. breathtakingly beautiful beach only a few steps from the sliding glass doors to each room. serene immaculately manicured lawn with lounge chairs and teak tables, tiki bar serving up tropical drinks and clean pool/hot tub. sushi night on friday and saturday in the restaurant, beautifully done fresh fresh fresh fish, a lot for the price you pay, very worthwhile. rooms are VERY comfy, we almost couldn't leave ours. huge stonewalled shower and extra large king size bed with luxury linens/down comforter, lovely decor. coming from los angeles where an hour massage costs less than $40, we couldn't bring ourselves to pay the $160/hour plus taxes and tips that their on site spa offers, so we missed out on that sadly. no other downsides that i can think of...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

josselins tapas restaurant was our best "food find" in the area. it was hands down the best service and the best eats we experienced on kauai.

Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Scoobymike
Couples
switzerland
Jun 11, 2011

Nice and Small retreat

The Hotel was at a good Location for those who look for Time to relax. The Room was freshly refurned, spacious and quiet. Breakfast was good vfm, nearby are some good Restaurants like the Beach House.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Beach House, Top location at the Beach, superb seafood and nice selection of wines.

Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tach
Couples
Boston, Ma
May 17, 2011

Great Location

This hotel is great. Close to ocean, shopping and restraunts. The staff is friendly and helpful. There wasn't enough they could do for us. Red Salt is one of if not the best place to eat. You won't be dissappointed. Not as big as the other hotels but much more personal and cozy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

The hotel is great in booking all activities. Also, definitely rent a 4X4 truck instead of a car so you can enjoy all locations on the island.

Back to menu Return to top