$349 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 29, 2014 Check-out: Sep 30, 2014

Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

4 stars
2251 Poipu Road, Koloa, HI 96756
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.7
out of 5
88 reviews
Comfortable and Romantic Getaway

Hands-down the best hotel I've ever stayed at. This hotel is luxurious without being overboard. The... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Sep 7, 2014
Wonderful 10-Year Anniversary Getaway

Koa Kea is a great location for a Kauai getaway. Although it's located on the south shore at Poipu,... See full review

  • eskimodesign
  • Aug 31, 2014
Intimate resort on Poipu Beach evokes the pleasures of island romance
The antithesis of cookie cutter, Koa Kea Hotel & Resort is an intimate, 121-room boutique hotel on 3 serene acres. It conjures up romance at every turn, offering services and amenities galore so guests can simply sit back and enjoy. Everything here says Hawaii. Spa treatments meld island therapies with native ingredients like Kauai red clay, and chefs at upscale Red Salt flavor fragrant dishes with coconut creme fraiche and lilikoi. Elegant yet utterly relaxed, Koa Kea Hotel & Resort is quintessential island luxury.
Highlights
  • Steps from beach
  • Spa focuses on local ingredients
  • Fine-dining restaurant
Location
Intimate Koa Kea Hotel & Resort sits at the edge of Poipu Beach on the southern coast of Kauai. This is arguably the sunniest region of the island, and the coastline here harbors many of the best beaches on the island for swimming, snorkeling and young families.
Rooms
Accommodations at Koa Kea Hotel & Resort are sleek and elegant with accents that evoke the rich colors of Kauai, from vibrant coral reefs offshore to the deep blues, greens and earth tones of land and sky. Garden view or oceanfront, all rooms have a lanai and wall-to-wall sliding doors to bring the breezy tropics in. Niceties include iPod docking stations, Nespresso machines, air conditioning, mini refrigerators and flat-screen HD televisions. Service includes twice-daily housekeeping.
Features
This resort is about a personalized experience. While relaxing and enjoying the spa may be the choice for many guests, Koa Kea Hotel & Resort is for active vacationers, too. A beach activity hut has snorkel gear and surf and boogie boards for rent, and surfing lessons are available. Workout buffs can maintain their routine in the well-equipped fitness center. Come evening, guests at the resort slip into custom beds for the ultimate in sleep comfort.
Transportation
  • Lihue Airport (15.2 mi/24.5 km)
  • Taxis availabl
Attractions
  • Poipu Bay Golf Course (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Allerton Garden Tours (2.6 mi/4.1km)
  • Spouting Horn Beach Park (2.6 mi/4.2 km)
  • Kayak Kauai Wailua River Paddle (20.4 mi/32.8 km)
  • Kokee State Park (32.1 mi/51.7 km)
Business
Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel and all rooms have Internet access, which is included in the daily resort fee.

Hotel Map

21.875 -159.4576
Area served
Poipu
Nearby airports
Lihue International Airport-14 miles

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Koa Kea Hotel and Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Koa Kea Hotel and Resort Rooms

Garden View
One king or two double beds with premium bedding. Garden views. Furnished balcony. 42-inch high-definition flat-panel television. Internet access. Espresso Machine. L'Occitane Bath Products. Sony clock radio with IPod docking station. Air conditioning,Ceiling fans, Dual shower heads in bath
Partial Ocean View
One king or two double beds with premium beddingPartial Ocean views. Furnished balcony. 42-inch high-definition flat-panel television. Internet access. Espresso Machine. L'Occitane Bath Products. Sony clock radio with IPod docking station. Air conditioning,Ceiling fans, Dual shower heads in bath
Ocean View
One king or two double beds with premium bedding. Ocean views. Furnished balcony. 42-inch high-definition flat-panel television. Internet access. Espresso Machine. L'Occitane Bath Products. Sony clock radio with IPod docking station. Air conditioning,Ceiling fans, Dual shower heads in bath

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Red Salt
Red Salt at the Koa Kea Hotel & Resort on Kauai combines the ideal elements for dining in Hawaii. The beautiful oceanfront setting is enhanced by a contemporary open design, and the large picture windows showcase the ocean and pool views. The diverse menu celebrates the fresh seafood and produce available in Hawaii, while the casual yet sophisticated atmosphere ensures that dining at Red Salt will be a memorable experience. Red Salt offers an ideal setting regardless of time of day. A daily Breakfast Buffet combines traditional American fare with fresh tropical fruit, breakfast bakery selections, assorted juices and an omelet station. The Dinner menu offers contemporary upscale cuisine. Lunch is served poolside and we also offer guest room dining 24 hours a day. Hours Breakfast 6:30 AM - 11:00 AM Lunch Pool 11:00 AM - 6:00 PM Dinner 6:00 PM - 10:00 PM Lounge 5:00 PM - 12:00 Midnight Pool Bar 11:00 AM - 6:00 PM Guest Room Dining 24 Hours

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (88)

Ratings and reviews for Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Overall score

4.7 / 5
5.01.0
88 out of 88
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.9
Hotel staff:
4.9
Room comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BreezyTraveler
Las Vegas, NV
Feb 25, 2012

Quiet, clean, perfect location and best staff!

The staff at Ko'a Kea is warm and helpful, can't say enough good about them. Hotel is in the perfect area, right on the public beach. Designed for relaxing on Kauai, this is a small and QUIET hotel. This hotel is perfect for couples, especially if your willing to spend the money for an amazing trip. The restaurant, Red Salt was incredible. Even the pool bar food was top notch. This is a lovely hotel, with an intimate feel unlike the bigger resorts close by. We will be going back shortly and staying longer than our five night trip. Didn't want to leave and can't wait to get back! Again, thank you to the incredible staff, you make the hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

The hotel offers free local coffee and tea at the lobby bar in the morning. Delicious and the perfect way to start your day while reading one of the papers they hang on your door.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bunbury26
New York, NY
Feb 21, 2012

Romantic Heaven

There are so many wonderful adjectives I could use to describe this hotel but I think the best one is PERFECT. They took excellent care of us and we felt like a million bucks. The valet guys were the best I've ever experienced. Nice, friendly guys who bent over backwards to help guide and direct us. The maids were friendly and attentive and even knew us by name. We were so sad to leave this perfect and amazing hotel/resort. The only semi-bad thing was that the restaurant in the hotel was severely under-staffed. Other than that, I can't think of one negative thing to say.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

Get the breakfast package when you book.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Whakins
Iowa
Feb 19, 2012

Great couple retreat

The whole attitude at this hotel was wonderful! Helpful and pleasant! Clean!!! and dedicated to up-keep inside and out. Twice a day room service, great beds and linens, quick response to any need, friendly and able to make you feel comfortable away from home. Quiet! On the beach! Nice courtyard area with pool, bar/cafe, loungers, snorkeling, and surfing equipment. Interesting variety of ages among the clientele. Great restaurant on site!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
vern and julie
washington state
Feb 8, 2012

An Exquisite bit of Paradise!!

When we left on this trip, I was looking for some rest and relaxation. The Koa Kea hotel provided us with this, and so much more. The staff was so helpful and friendly. The hotel sits in the most perfect spot on Poipu beach. The food they served was absolutely wonderful. It was a heavenly respite.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
B.Adams
Fort Wayne, IN, USA
Jan 15, 2012

AMAZING!!!

This hotel was absolutely amazing!!! The Red Salt restaurant in the hotel was some of the best food on the island!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

BeachHouse restaurant nearby was perfect to watch the sunset.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kate F
Malibu, CA, USA
Jan 15, 2012

My second visit in THREE months!

My husband and I went to Koa Kea for our anniversary. We love it so much,the week we came home we booked a return trip for just three months later! Our second visit was just as wonderful as the first. We don't have a single thing we would change. Our room was wonderful with all the right small details. We had room service for dinner two nights after long days out on the water. Both times our food was delivered in less than 20 minutes with all of our special requests met. The breakfast buffet was the perfect way to start the day with fresh fruits, cheeses, breads and cereal. Our final night we ate at Red Salt for dinner taking advantage of the weekend sushi night. The rolls were perfect. I had my treat at the bar: a Martini flight, my selection of three different martinis. The staff was always smiling and quick to meet our needs. We took a late night flight home, but our check out was earlier in the day. After spending the day enjoying the beach yet again, the hotel provided a hospitality room for us to shower and freshen up prior to our flight back home. What a nice way to end our trip! We are now planning our third trip for a this summer, taking my parents along to celebrate their 40th anniversary. Three trips in less than a year. Need I say more?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Radar F.
Kensington CA
Nov 5, 2011

Great with an asterisk

Wonderful place. Great location. Perfect size (not a huge resort, not a tiny boutique. Just right.) One caution is if you book the garden view rooms. The lanais are not in any way private--no barriers between rooms on the ground floor. We unfortunately were between two rooms that knew each other and they thought it was totally okay to walk across our lanai, stand in front of our sliding glass doors as if we were not in the room and talk loudly to one another. So we're in Hawaii and have to keep the blinds closed. Yeah, they were clueless guests, but for $300 a night, I expected more built-in privacy: it's not too hard to grow tall plants in Hawaii. The other issue is that the walls are paper thin and the flat-screens huge. So if you're unlucky enough to be next to clueless guests (see above) you're hearing their tv a lot. For such a lovely hotel with such a high priority on quiet relaxation, it was a small bummer that the garden view rooms weren't optimized to meet the standards of the rest of the hotel. Sure, the garden views are the low tier, but hey, $300 is still pretty pricey. I expected better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Zodiac Z -boat tour. Within 10 minutes of leaving the dock we were at our snorkel site, swimming with sea turtles. Amazing. Guides Matt and Chris were terrific. Based right in Koloa (just a few miles north of the roundabout that is close to the hotel.)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Flukebu
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Oct 21, 2011

A Perfect Getaway

Our overall experience at this hotel was perfect. The food was superb, the staff knowledgeable and friendly, the rooms appeared brand new and the location is ideal. Like much on Kauai, nothing is that far away, but this location in Poipu was extremely convenient to a wide selection of restaurants close by, a few very quaint local areas, and close to some great sightseeing spots. The hotel was nicely laid out, not too large, not to small, with a good central bar, a nice pool and spa, and a great, quiet piece of beach out front. I really can't think of anything that disappointed us. The stay really has motivated us to return to Kauai and I can see of no reason why we won't be staying at the Koa Kea again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There was a little shopping center opposite which had some nice stores and a few good restaurants hidden away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Toolatetomatter
Business
Newman, CA 95360, USA
Oct 11, 2011

LATE CHECK-IN

The 1600 check-in was very inconvenient, I arrived at 11 am and had to wait until 4pm to get into my room to rest. This would have me look else where for future accommodations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

It was possible to walk to a number of minor attractions, but was necessary to take a taxi for any real shopping or attractions.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
greeeee
boston
Oct 11, 2011

amazing

perfect vacation spot, staff was super friendly, hotel was incredibly clean

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search