Koa Kea Hotel and Resort ★★★★

Best price guarantee!

Find a lower price somewhere else and we'll pay 100% of the difference in Orbucks, plus up to $100 in additional Orbucks for Orbitz Rewards members Learn more

$389
avg/night
Rate based on
Check-in: Feb 17, 2016 Check-out: Feb 18, 2016

Anniversary trip

Would recommend Sat, Dec 1, 2012
This hotel lived up to our expectations. We decided to book our stay at this hotel after reading many positive reviews. The location is great for traveling to all parts of the island. It's on the ocean, which was important to us. It's also in walking distance to the mall. Since we were celebrating our anniversary, it was nice to have a great restaurant on the property, The Red Salt. We had breakfast there every couple of days. To alleviate high cost of drinks, we shopped at Costco in Lihue for wine, which we had on our balcony on a couple of occasions. Overall, we loved the resort, and the staff were super!

Dining

Plantation Gardens was a great restaurant, and not overpriced.

| Vancouver WA Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Memorable stay at the Koa Kea

Would recommend Thu, Nov 15, 2012
We stayed for 4 nights for our birthdays. We were in a garden view room which was surprisingly ideal. The room was on the ground floor with an outdoor patio, and when you go outside, there is a slight ocean view. There isn't really any foot traffic by the garden view rooms which is good - you can easily see into the poolside and ocean view rooms. Staff and concierge were very friendly and helpful. Red Salt a la carte breakfast was delicious.

| Walnut Creek, CA Couples

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Great anniversary trip

Would recommend Sat, Oct 20, 2012
Very relaxing,exceptional personalized service and very well appointed. Exactly what we were looking for a kid free get a away.

| hawaii Couples

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Perfect location!

Would recommend Sun, Sep 23, 2012
Staff was great...especially the valet. Great location if you want to explore the entire island. Beautiful beaches close by. Would definitely return.

| San leandro, ca Couples

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Nice but pricey

Would recommend Sun, Sep 16, 2012
This hotel was really nice, and the staff was warm and friendly. We were on our honeymoon (clearly not the only ones) if I had to do it over again I would have gotten a suite at a less expensive hotel. Our room was nice, but not special enough to justify the price. Amenities were good and service was quick and accurate. No kids, so you can feel like an adult without having to censor yourself.

Dining

The koloa deli made for a great alternative to the Poipu area's expensive fare. Puka dog is a must go, Papalani Gelato next door for desert.

| Mobile, AL Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 3 /5
  • Location: 3 /5
  • Value: 3 /5

Great hotel. Solid.

Would recommend Sun, Aug 26, 2012
The staff was very friendly, extremely helpful. My girlfriend and I got massages at the on-site spa - they were some of the best we've ever had. The food at Red Salt (in-house restaurant) was good. Our one complaint was location - the hotel sits on Poipu beach, not a great beach, but its no biggie compared to the amenities, great hot tub, pool and pool bar drinks, above everything else.

Dining

Savage Shrimp and Living Foods Market. Great island food and grocery/booze shopping respectively.

| New York Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Wonderful couples retreat

Would recommend Tue, Aug 7, 2012
This place is a great alternative to the huge monster resorts. No screaming kids, no crazy crowds. The staff was amazing and bent over backwards to make sure we had everything we needed.

Attractions

Download the Kauai Revealed app on your smartphone for insider reviews of places to eat, things to see, and things to do.

| Central Plains, USA Couples

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Best Hotel in Hawaii

Would recommend Mon, Jul 16, 2012
We stayed here for a week and it was amazing. This is definitely a place for couples/newlyweds/adults. The pool, outside bar, location and staff made this place great. Rent a car. Also, we found the restaurant, Red Salt to be one of the best on Kauai, however it can get expensive. Get wine by the glass instead of getting a whole bottle, they give generous pours.

Dining

There are plenty of great places to eat on the south side of the island. We went to Tavern and another place in the north and it wasn't always worth the drive. Rent a car, but you can definitely reach some great places only a few miles away.

| Chicago Couples

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

great getaway

Would recommend Thu, Jul 12, 2012
My husband and I had a lovely time at this hotel. It was in a great location but quiet and always easy to get a chair at the pool

| Poi Pu, Kaoai Couples

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Great place for a honeymoon

Would recommend Mon, Jun 4, 2012
Came here for my honeymoon and it was perfect. The room itself seemed a little small at first, but we came to love it. We arrived late at night so didn't get to see where we were at but when we woke up in the morning, we were delighted to see that the ocean was really close to the hotel and could be seen from our window. The jacuzzi and pool was also literally 20 steps from our back porch area so we made good use of it every night after a day of adventure on paradise. The staff were all very friendly and went out of their way to help in every way they can. An added benefit was that the restaurant on-site, Red Salt, was awesome. Red Salt had the best breakfast and we normally don't eat breakfast but we made sure we woke up every morning to grab breakfast here especially since everything on the island is expensive and breakfast is the cheapest meal. We tried almost everything on the menu and my personal favorite was the Mac-Nut Belgian Waffles. Their dinner is pretty good too but we preferred the Merriman restaurant that was only 5 minute drive from the hotel. There were no kids here that we saw and everyone was an adult so there were no screaming and kids running around. We thoroughly enjoyed our time here and were sad to leave. The only bad things I can say are that it is expensive, but everything in Hawaii is expensive but we really feel like we got what we paid for here. Their internet access policy was a bit bothersome as it required me to re-authenticate every time I reconnected but that was a minor hinderance.

Dining

For breakfast, eat at Red Salt at the Koa Kea Hotel. For dinner, eat at Merriman's a short drive from the hotel (order the MONCHONG).

| Los Angeles, California Couples

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 4 /5