$349 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 29, 2014 Check-out: Sep 30, 2014

Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

4 stars
2251 Poipu Road, Koloa, HI 96756
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.7
out of 5
88 reviews
Comfortable and Romantic Getaway

Hands-down the best hotel I've ever stayed at. This hotel is luxurious without being overboard. The... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Sep 7, 2014
Wonderful 10-Year Anniversary Getaway

Koa Kea is a great location for a Kauai getaway. Although it's located on the south shore at Poipu,... See full review

  • eskimodesign
  • Aug 31, 2014
Intimate resort on Poipu Beach evokes the pleasures of island romance
The antithesis of cookie cutter, Koa Kea Hotel & Resort is an intimate, 121-room boutique hotel on 3 serene acres. It conjures up romance at every turn, offering services and amenities galore so guests can simply sit back and enjoy. Everything here says Hawaii. Spa treatments meld island therapies with native ingredients like Kauai red clay, and chefs at upscale Red Salt flavor fragrant dishes with coconut creme fraiche and lilikoi. Elegant yet utterly relaxed, Koa Kea Hotel & Resort is quintessential island luxury.
Highlights
  • Steps from beach
  • Spa focuses on local ingredients
  • Fine-dining restaurant
Location
Intimate Koa Kea Hotel & Resort sits at the edge of Poipu Beach on the southern coast of Kauai. This is arguably the sunniest region of the island, and the coastline here harbors many of the best beaches on the island for swimming, snorkeling and young families.
Rooms
Accommodations at Koa Kea Hotel & Resort are sleek and elegant with accents that evoke the rich colors of Kauai, from vibrant coral reefs offshore to the deep blues, greens and earth tones of land and sky. Garden view or oceanfront, all rooms have a lanai and wall-to-wall sliding doors to bring the breezy tropics in. Niceties include iPod docking stations, Nespresso machines, air conditioning, mini refrigerators and flat-screen HD televisions. Service includes twice-daily housekeeping.
Features
This resort is about a personalized experience. While relaxing and enjoying the spa may be the choice for many guests, Koa Kea Hotel & Resort is for active vacationers, too. A beach activity hut has snorkel gear and surf and boogie boards for rent, and surfing lessons are available. Workout buffs can maintain their routine in the well-equipped fitness center. Come evening, guests at the resort slip into custom beds for the ultimate in sleep comfort.
Transportation
  • Lihue Airport (15.2 mi/24.5 km)
  • Taxis availabl
Attractions
  • Poipu Bay Golf Course (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Allerton Garden Tours (2.6 mi/4.1km)
  • Spouting Horn Beach Park (2.6 mi/4.2 km)
  • Kayak Kauai Wailua River Paddle (20.4 mi/32.8 km)
  • Kokee State Park (32.1 mi/51.7 km)
Business
Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel and all rooms have Internet access, which is included in the daily resort fee.

Hotel Map

21.875 -159.4576
Area served
Poipu
Nearby airports
Lihue International Airport-14 miles

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Koa Kea Hotel and Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Koa Kea Hotel and Resort Rooms

Garden View
One king or two double beds with premium bedding. Garden views. Furnished balcony. 42-inch high-definition flat-panel television. Internet access. Espresso Machine. L'Occitane Bath Products. Sony clock radio with IPod docking station. Air conditioning,Ceiling fans, Dual shower heads in bath
Partial Ocean View
One king or two double beds with premium beddingPartial Ocean views. Furnished balcony. 42-inch high-definition flat-panel television. Internet access. Espresso Machine. L'Occitane Bath Products. Sony clock radio with IPod docking station. Air conditioning,Ceiling fans, Dual shower heads in bath
Ocean View
One king or two double beds with premium bedding. Ocean views. Furnished balcony. 42-inch high-definition flat-panel television. Internet access. Espresso Machine. L'Occitane Bath Products. Sony clock radio with IPod docking station. Air conditioning,Ceiling fans, Dual shower heads in bath

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Red Salt
Red Salt at the Koa Kea Hotel & Resort on Kauai combines the ideal elements for dining in Hawaii. The beautiful oceanfront setting is enhanced by a contemporary open design, and the large picture windows showcase the ocean and pool views. The diverse menu celebrates the fresh seafood and produce available in Hawaii, while the casual yet sophisticated atmosphere ensures that dining at Red Salt will be a memorable experience. Red Salt offers an ideal setting regardless of time of day. A daily Breakfast Buffet combines traditional American fare with fresh tropical fruit, breakfast bakery selections, assorted juices and an omelet station. The Dinner menu offers contemporary upscale cuisine. Lunch is served poolside and we also offer guest room dining 24 hours a day. Hours Breakfast 6:30 AM - 11:00 AM Lunch Pool 11:00 AM - 6:00 PM Dinner 6:00 PM - 10:00 PM Lounge 5:00 PM - 12:00 Midnight Pool Bar 11:00 AM - 6:00 PM Guest Room Dining 24 Hours

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (88)

Ratings and reviews for Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Overall score

4.7 / 5
5.01.0
88 out of 88
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.9
Hotel staff:
4.9
Room comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
HneMooney
Mobile, AL
Sep 16, 2012

Nice but pricey

This hotel was really nice, and the staff was warm and friendly. We were on our honeymoon (clearly not the only ones) if I had to do it over again I would have gotten a suite at a less expensive hotel. Our room was nice, but not special enough to justify the price. Amenities were good and service was quick and accurate. No kids, so you can feel like an adult without having to censor yourself.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The koloa deli made for a great alternative to the Poipu area's expensive fare. Puka dog is a must go, Papalani Gelato next door for desert.

Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Joshbo
New York
Aug 26, 2012

Great hotel. Solid.

The staff was very friendly, extremely helpful. My girlfriend and I got massages at the on-site spa - they were some of the best we've ever had. The food at Red Salt (in-house restaurant) was good. Our one complaint was location - the hotel sits on Poipu beach, not a great beach, but its no biggie compared to the amenities, great hot tub, pool and pool bar drinks, above everything else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Savage Shrimp and Living Foods Market. Great island food and grocery/booze shopping respectively.

Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
No Kids
Central Plains, USA
Aug 7, 2012

Wonderful couples retreat

This place is a great alternative to the huge monster resorts. No screaming kids, no crazy crowds. The staff was amazing and bent over backwards to make sure we had everything we needed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Download the Kauai Revealed app on your smartphone for insider reviews of places to eat, things to see, and things to do.

Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Steve Newlywed
Chicago
Jul 16, 2012

Best Hotel in Hawaii

We stayed here for a week and it was amazing. This is definitely a place for couples/newlyweds/adults. The pool, outside bar, location and staff made this place great. Rent a car. Also, we found the restaurant, Red Salt to be one of the best on Kauai, however it can get expensive. Get wine by the glass instead of getting a whole bottle, they give generous pours.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Not Applicable

There are plenty of great places to eat on the south side of the island. We went to Tavern and another place in the north and it wasn't always worth the drive. Rent a car, but you can definitely reach some great places only a few miles away.

Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
xyzxyzxyzxyz
Poi Pu, Kaoai
Jul 12, 2012

great getaway

My husband and I had a lovely time at this hotel. It was in a great location but quiet and always easy to get a chair at the pool

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TKL77
Los Angeles, California
Jun 4, 2012

Great place for a honeymoon

Came here for my honeymoon and it was perfect. The room itself seemed a little small at first, but we came to love it. We arrived late at night so didn't get to see where we were at but when we woke up in the morning, we were delighted to see that the ocean was really close to the hotel and could be seen from our window. The jacuzzi and pool was also literally 20 steps from our back porch area so we made good use of it every night after a day of adventure on paradise. The staff were all very friendly and went out of their way to help in every way they can. An added benefit was that the restaurant on-site, Red Salt, was awesome. Red Salt had the best breakfast and we normally don't eat breakfast but we made sure we woke up every morning to grab breakfast here especially since everything on the island is expensive and breakfast is the cheapest meal. We tried almost everything on the menu and my personal favorite was the Mac-Nut Belgian Waffles. Their dinner is pretty good too but we preferred the Merriman restaurant that was only 5 minute drive from the hotel. There were no kids here that we saw and everyone was an adult so there were no screaming and kids running around. We thoroughly enjoyed our time here and were sad to leave. The only bad things I can say are that it is expensive, but everything in Hawaii is expensive but we really feel like we got what we paid for here. Their internet access policy was a bit bothersome as it required me to re-authenticate every time I reconnected but that was a minor hinderance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

For breakfast, eat at Red Salt at the Koa Kea Hotel. For dinner, eat at Merriman's a short drive from the hotel (order the MONCHONG).

Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Paulinha
San Francisco, CA, USA
May 1, 2012

What a wonderful hotel!

We came to Kauai to celebrate my husband's birthday and after reading all the wonderful reviews, we decided to stay at the Koa Kea. What a great choice! The room was very clean and beautiful, the bed was extremely comfortable and the overall decor of the hotel tastefully done. The L'occitane amenities are definitely a plus! And the free bottles of Fidji water are more than welcome. But what I liked the best about this hotel was the staff. They accommodated every single request of mine: they had a bottle of champagne at our room waiting for us upon arrival, booked our massages over the phone, arranged our helicopter tour of the island as well as the shuttle to and back from the Grand Hyatt luau. Everybody was extremely nice, from the reception desk to the valet drivers. I would come back here in a heart beat and recommend this hotel to any of my friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go and have dinner at the Plantation Garden restaurant, which is located in the same property of the the hotel. Food is outstanding!

Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
The phantom
Albuquerque, NM, USA
Apr 7, 2012

Seniors on romantic get-away

Very high class. Staff is amazing. The resort is small, ans the dining room and valet people remembered our names on the first day! Everyone very cheerful and helpful. If you like a smaller, luxurious, well kept property, you will love it here. Only downside- not enough drawer space for your clothes. Minor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Red Salt restaurant one of the best we visited.

Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
be high
Ann Arbor, MI, USA
Mar 8, 2012

Fantastic Luxury Hotel

As it turned out it rained for 5 of the 7 days we were in Hawaii, which wasn't great, but we enjoyed it nonetheless. A major reason was that the hotel was absolutely fantastic. It was small enough to feel cozy and personal, but had almost all the amenities you would need to feel pampered in style. The food was excellent, the rooms were super comfortable and the staff was highly professional and very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

I like luxury, but I also like to eat at "hole in the wall" restaurants where the locals go. It was very hard to find anything like this in Poipu. However, Savage Shrimp located on Lawai and Poipu Road is close by and I highly recommend it. Simple, Yummy, healthy and cheap!!

Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
bella1215
toronto
Feb 29, 2012

honeymoon/babymoon

We had a great time in Kauai. The hotel is nice and close to the beaches. The staff is very helpful and attentive. Its a smaller resort so nice for honeymooners wanting a little seclusion. The only downside is that the walls are thin and we could hear a baby crying every nite (poor thing) next door to us. We mentioned this to staff and they offered us a different room but not the beach view we paid for so we stayed put. It was our honeymoon so nothing could ruin our trip. The hotel is more pricey and not sure if its completely worth the amount but it was still a nice prperty.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top

Change search