$369 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 17, 2015 Check-out: Jul 20, 2015

Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

4 stars
View map of 2251 Poipu Road, Koloa, HI 96756

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Overall score

4.7 / 5
5.01.0
98 out of 98
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.9
Hotel staff:
4.9
Comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Terrer
Business
Louisville, CO
Jul 7, 2013

Just what we were hoping for

We stayed at the Koa Kea for one fabulous week. This was our first trip to Kauai and we were celebrating our 20th anniversary. From the moment we arrived until our late-afternoon departure, the staff made every effort to ensure that this was a trip we would want to repeat! We truly appreciated the attention to detail and care they showed on this property...it really was just like the pictures. Though we are parents and understand family vacation needs, we were looking for a quiet adult getaway, which we found at this hotel (drastically different noise level and commotion as compared to neighboring resorts). As first time visitors to the area, we felt that we were conveniently located. While the Koa Kea may not have its own sandy beach walk out, it is just a matter of steps to two other beaches. We enjoyed watching the surfers and paddle boarders and sunsets from the loungers on the manicured lawn. If you are looking for a quiet, relaxing adult-oriented retreat, I would highly recommend this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

After visiting all four sides of Kauai, we felt that we'd made the best choice staying on the south side. Dining, beaches and shopping were within walking distance, and drives to other areas (Waimea, Hanalei, Wailua) were really not bad.

Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
hang ten
Business
Vancouver WA
Dec 1, 2012

Anniversary trip

This hotel lived up to our expectations. We decided to book our stay at this hotel after reading many positive reviews. The location is great for traveling to all parts of the island. It's on the ocean, which was important to us. It's also in walking distance to the mall. Since we were celebrating our anniversary, it was nice to have a great restaurant on the property, The Red Salt. We had breakfast there every couple of days. To alleviate high cost of drinks, we shopped at Costco in Lihue for wine, which we had on our balcony on a couple of occasions. Overall, we loved the resort, and the staff were super!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Plantation Gardens was a great restaurant, and not overpriced.

Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
D Lerp
Business
Walnut Creek, CA
Nov 15, 2012

Memorable stay at the Koa Kea

We stayed for 4 nights for our birthdays. We were in a garden view room which was surprisingly ideal. The room was on the ground floor with an outdoor patio, and when you go outside, there is a slight ocean view. There isn't really any foot traffic by the garden view rooms which is good - you can easily see into the poolside and ocean view rooms. Staff and concierge were very friendly and helpful. Red Salt a la carte breakfast was delicious.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
swmerwin
Business
hawaii
Oct 20, 2012

Great anniversary trip

Very relaxing,exceptional personalized service and very well appointed. Exactly what we were looking for a kid free get a away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BStap
Business
San leandro, ca
Sep 23, 2012

Perfect location!

Staff was great...especially the valet. Great location if you want to explore the entire island. Beautiful beaches close by. Would definitely return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
HneMooney
Business
Mobile, AL
Sep 16, 2012

Nice but pricey

This hotel was really nice, and the staff was warm and friendly. We were on our honeymoon (clearly not the only ones) if I had to do it over again I would have gotten a suite at a less expensive hotel. Our room was nice, but not special enough to justify the price. Amenities were good and service was quick and accurate. No kids, so you can feel like an adult without having to censor yourself.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The koloa deli made for a great alternative to the Poipu area's expensive fare. Puka dog is a must go, Papalani Gelato next door for desert.

Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Joshbo
Business
New York
Aug 26, 2012

Great hotel. Solid.

The staff was very friendly, extremely helpful. My girlfriend and I got massages at the on-site spa - they were some of the best we've ever had. The food at Red Salt (in-house restaurant) was good. Our one complaint was location - the hotel sits on Poipu beach, not a great beach, but its no biggie compared to the amenities, great hot tub, pool and pool bar drinks, above everything else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Savage Shrimp and Living Foods Market. Great island food and grocery/booze shopping respectively.

Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
No Kids
Business
Central Plains, USA
Aug 7, 2012

Wonderful couples retreat

This place is a great alternative to the huge monster resorts. No screaming kids, no crazy crowds. The staff was amazing and bent over backwards to make sure we had everything we needed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Download the Kauai Revealed app on your smartphone for insider reviews of places to eat, things to see, and things to do.

Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Steve Newlywed
Business
Chicago
Jul 16, 2012

Best Hotel in Hawaii

We stayed here for a week and it was amazing. This is definitely a place for couples/newlyweds/adults. The pool, outside bar, location and staff made this place great. Rent a car. Also, we found the restaurant, Red Salt to be one of the best on Kauai, however it can get expensive. Get wine by the glass instead of getting a whole bottle, they give generous pours.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

There are plenty of great places to eat on the south side of the island. We went to Tavern and another place in the north and it wasn't always worth the drive. Rent a car, but you can definitely reach some great places only a few miles away.

Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
xyzxyzxyzxyz
Business
Poi Pu, Kaoai
Jul 12, 2012

great getaway

My husband and I had a lovely time at this hotel. It was in a great location but quiet and always easy to get a chair at the pool

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top