$369 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 12, 2015 Check-out: May 15, 2015

Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

4 stars
View map of 2251 Poipu Road, Koloa, HI 96756

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Overall score

4.7 / 5
5.01.0
89 out of 89
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.9
Hotel staff:
4.9
Comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kate62383
Business
Omaha me
Jan 28, 2014

Perfect

Everything was wonderful.. Ground and front desk staff were excellent

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
vikitea2
Business
Albuquerque, NM
Jan 26, 2014

Beautiful, well appointed hotel but its the STAFF that make it great

I was traveling back to Kauai for a conference with my husband. The hosted in hotel was booked full and Koa Kea is within walking distance (beach/neighborhood stroll). Our initial reservation was for a ocean view room. We could see the ocean but I strongly recommend splurging for an ocean FRONT room - you are within 20 feet of the shore - choose a 2nd or 3rd floor for a bit more privacy though the first allows you to walk right out. Short hedge separates property from the beach. The rooms are lovely and clean - the locations is fabulous, 2 bars, fine dining, a nice lawn faces the beach and offers shelter from wind on the less than perfect island days. BUT BY FAR the best part was the friendly, helpful and attentive staff. GREAT for adult only trips. ONLY suggestion is that they replace the bulbs in the "candle" fixtures in the rooms with MUCH dimmer ones - or better yet, a dimmer switch! Aloha

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Several dinning options within walking distance. Roys, Kalapaki Joes - but a real dinning gem is in Koloa town - La Spezia! EXCELLENT.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Shahin from Boston
Business
Boston
Jan 25, 2014

the best honeymoon

Fantastic place. We were there for 6 days and we are not going to forget it. Staff were very friendly. Breakfast was wonderful. I recommend it to everyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sharpdprt
Business
Madison, WI
Jan 24, 2014

Wonderful beach location

From the moment we arrived, every staff person was friendly & willing to go the extra mile for anything we wanted. The location is beautiful right on the beach. Room had it's own lanai right by the pool, looking out at the ocean. The room was beautiful with a huge shower and the most comfortable bed ever. If we're ever lucky enough to go back to Kauai, we'll be staying at Koa Kea.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Definitely take a helicopter tour of the island, we used Blue Hawaiian & it was awesome.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
New York Lover
Business
DC
Oct 2, 2013

Great staff

The room was clean, the staff was very polite and friendly. Great fine dining experience on the premises as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Red Salt

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tcarriet
Business
San Diego, CA
Jul 14, 2013

Great Location

The bed was the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. The staff is super friendly and helpful. The location is right in front of the beach which made it easy to go back and forth from the hotel to the beach. Everything was great! We had a wonderful time : )

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Terrer
Business
Louisville, CO
Jul 7, 2013

Just what we were hoping for

We stayed at the Koa Kea for one fabulous week. This was our first trip to Kauai and we were celebrating our 20th anniversary. From the moment we arrived until our late-afternoon departure, the staff made every effort to ensure that this was a trip we would want to repeat! We truly appreciated the attention to detail and care they showed on this property...it really was just like the pictures. Though we are parents and understand family vacation needs, we were looking for a quiet adult getaway, which we found at this hotel (drastically different noise level and commotion as compared to neighboring resorts). As first time visitors to the area, we felt that we were conveniently located. While the Koa Kea may not have its own sandy beach walk out, it is just a matter of steps to two other beaches. We enjoyed watching the surfers and paddle boarders and sunsets from the loungers on the manicured lawn. If you are looking for a quiet, relaxing adult-oriented retreat, I would highly recommend this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

After visiting all four sides of Kauai, we felt that we'd made the best choice staying on the south side. Dining, beaches and shopping were within walking distance, and drives to other areas (Waimea, Hanalei, Wailua) were really not bad.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
hang ten
Business
Vancouver WA
Dec 1, 2012

Anniversary trip

This hotel lived up to our expectations. We decided to book our stay at this hotel after reading many positive reviews. The location is great for traveling to all parts of the island. It's on the ocean, which was important to us. It's also in walking distance to the mall. Since we were celebrating our anniversary, it was nice to have a great restaurant on the property, The Red Salt. We had breakfast there every couple of days. To alleviate high cost of drinks, we shopped at Costco in Lihue for wine, which we had on our balcony on a couple of occasions. Overall, we loved the resort, and the staff were super!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Plantation Gardens was a great restaurant, and not overpriced.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
D Lerp
Business
Walnut Creek, CA
Nov 15, 2012

Memorable stay at the Koa Kea

We stayed for 4 nights for our birthdays. We were in a garden view room which was surprisingly ideal. The room was on the ground floor with an outdoor patio, and when you go outside, there is a slight ocean view. There isn't really any foot traffic by the garden view rooms which is good - you can easily see into the poolside and ocean view rooms. Staff and concierge were very friendly and helpful. Red Salt a la carte breakfast was delicious.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
swmerwin
Business
hawaii
Oct 20, 2012

Great anniversary trip

Very relaxing,exceptional personalized service and very well appointed. Exactly what we were looking for a kid free get a away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top