$369 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 29, 2015 Check-out: Sep 1, 2015

Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

4 stars
View map of 2251 Poipu Road, Koloa, HI 96756

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Overall score

4.7 / 5
5.01.0
86 out of 86
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.9
Hotel staff:
4.9
Comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Taekwon
Couples
Oahu
May 2, 2014

Romance

Hotel staff was awesome, place was very clean. I like that they had unlimited valet service and they even bought our luggage to our room. Now thats what i call customer service! I would definitely come back to this place again! Highly recommend!:)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Memphis Chick
Couples
Lakeland, Tn
Feb 26, 2014

Perfection in Paradise

Our stay at Koa Kea, from beginning to end, was perfect. The ambiance of the location was what was expected for a Hawaiian vacation. The service was impeccable. The Staff were beyond helpful with every question and suggestion. I was not expecting the 100% concierge service, but enjoyed it. The pool area is beautiful, but the snorkeling right in front of the hotel is phenomenal. I felt as if I was in an aquarium. Our room was exceptionally clean, comfortable and beautifully appointed. We had an Ocean view room with a very generous patio. Red Salt, the hotel's restaurant, serves delicious fusion cuisine in resort comfort. My only regret was not having enough time to have a massage at the spa. High end shopping is with in minutes. The southern coast may not be as popular as the north, but for us, it was perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

You may pay a little more to stay at Koa Kea, but the perfect snorkeling is just out side your door. And it's free.

Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
FredCindy
Couples
Denver, CO
Feb 5, 2014

Wonderful Quiet Place!

Very nice setting with great ocean views, we saw dozens of whales every day, quiet and peaceful place and not over-crowded or cramped at all (like the Marriot next door), No loud thumping background music! , great beach location for snorkling, Red Salt is an excellent restaurant and bar, great staff and concierge services, walk to small mall with shopping and several restaurants .... small things like over-sized towels....we are definitely going back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out the Plantation Garden Restaurant at the Kiahuna Plantation next door

Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
vikitea2
Couples
Albuquerque, NM
Jan 26, 2014

Beautiful, well appointed hotel but its the STAFF that make it great

I was traveling back to Kauai for a conference with my husband. The hosted in hotel was booked full and Koa Kea is within walking distance (beach/neighborhood stroll). Our initial reservation was for a ocean view room. We could see the ocean but I strongly recommend splurging for an ocean FRONT room - you are within 20 feet of the shore - choose a 2nd or 3rd floor for a bit more privacy though the first allows you to walk right out. Short hedge separates property from the beach. The rooms are lovely and clean - the locations is fabulous, 2 bars, fine dining, a nice lawn faces the beach and offers shelter from wind on the less than perfect island days. BUT BY FAR the best part was the friendly, helpful and attentive staff. GREAT for adult only trips. ONLY suggestion is that they replace the bulbs in the "candle" fixtures in the rooms with MUCH dimmer ones - or better yet, a dimmer switch! Aloha

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Several dinning options within walking distance. Roys, Kalapaki Joes - but a real dinning gem is in Koloa town - La Spezia! EXCELLENT.

Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Shahin from Boston
Couples
Boston
Jan 25, 2014

the best honeymoon

Fantastic place. We were there for 6 days and we are not going to forget it. Staff were very friendly. Breakfast was wonderful. I recommend it to everyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sharpdprt
Couples
Madison, WI
Jan 24, 2014

Wonderful beach location

From the moment we arrived, every staff person was friendly & willing to go the extra mile for anything we wanted. The location is beautiful right on the beach. Room had it's own lanai right by the pool, looking out at the ocean. The room was beautiful with a huge shower and the most comfortable bed ever. If we're ever lucky enough to go back to Kauai, we'll be staying at Koa Kea.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Definitely take a helicopter tour of the island, we used Blue Hawaiian & it was awesome.

Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
New York Lover
Couples
DC
Oct 2, 2013

Great staff

The room was clean, the staff was very polite and friendly. Great fine dining experience on the premises as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

Red Salt

Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tcarriet
Couples
San Diego, CA
Jul 14, 2013

Great Location

The bed was the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. The staff is super friendly and helpful. The location is right in front of the beach which made it easy to go back and forth from the hotel to the beach. Everything was great! We had a wonderful time : )

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Terrer
Couples
Louisville, CO
Jul 7, 2013

Just what we were hoping for

We stayed at the Koa Kea for one fabulous week. This was our first trip to Kauai and we were celebrating our 20th anniversary. From the moment we arrived until our late-afternoon departure, the staff made every effort to ensure that this was a trip we would want to repeat! We truly appreciated the attention to detail and care they showed on this property...it really was just like the pictures. Though we are parents and understand family vacation needs, we were looking for a quiet adult getaway, which we found at this hotel (drastically different noise level and commotion as compared to neighboring resorts). As first time visitors to the area, we felt that we were conveniently located. While the Koa Kea may not have its own sandy beach walk out, it is just a matter of steps to two other beaches. We enjoyed watching the surfers and paddle boarders and sunsets from the loungers on the manicured lawn. If you are looking for a quiet, relaxing adult-oriented retreat, I would highly recommend this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

After visiting all four sides of Kauai, we felt that we'd made the best choice staying on the south side. Dining, beaches and shopping were within walking distance, and drives to other areas (Waimea, Hanalei, Wailua) were really not bad.

Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
hang ten
Couples
Vancouver WA
Dec 1, 2012

Anniversary trip

This hotel lived up to our expectations. We decided to book our stay at this hotel after reading many positive reviews. The location is great for traveling to all parts of the island. It's on the ocean, which was important to us. It's also in walking distance to the mall. Since we were celebrating our anniversary, it was nice to have a great restaurant on the property, The Red Salt. We had breakfast there every couple of days. To alleviate high cost of drinks, we shopped at Costco in Lihue for wine, which we had on our balcony on a couple of occasions. Overall, we loved the resort, and the staff were super!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Plantation Gardens was a great restaurant, and not overpriced.

Back to menu Return to top