$349 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2014 Check-out: Sep 8, 2014

Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

4 stars
2251 Poipu Road, Koloa, HI 96756
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.7
out of 5
85 reviews
Amazing Staff & Great Location

This was one of my best hotel experiences. The rooms were clean & well-appointed. The staff was... See full review

  • VacayNParadise
  • Jun 2, 2014
Romance

Hotel staff was awesome, place was very clean. I like that they had unlimited valet service and... See full review

  • Taekwon
  • May 2, 2014
Intimate resort on Poipu Beach evokes the pleasures of island romance
The antithesis of cookie cutter, Koa Kea Hotel & Resort is an intimate, 121-room boutique hotel on 3 serene acres. It conjures up romance at every turn, offering services and amenities galore so guests can simply sit back and enjoy. Everything here says Hawaii. Spa treatments meld island therapies with native ingredients like Kauai red clay, and chefs at upscale Red Salt flavor fragrant dishes with coconut creme fraiche and lilikoi. Elegant yet utterly relaxed, Koa Kea Hotel & Resort is quintessential island luxury.
Highlights
  • Steps from beach
  • Spa focuses on local ingredients
  • Fine-dining restaurant
Location
Intimate Koa Kea Hotel & Resort sits at the edge of Poipu Beach on the southern coast of Kauai. This is arguably the sunniest region of the island, and the coastline here harbors many of the best beaches on the island for swimming, snorkeling and young families.
Rooms
Accommodations at Koa Kea Hotel & Resort are sleek and elegant with accents that evoke the rich colors of Kauai, from vibrant coral reefs offshore to the deep blues, greens and earth tones of land and sky. Garden view or oceanfront, all rooms have a lanai and wall-to-wall sliding doors to bring the breezy tropics in. Niceties include iPod docking stations, Nespresso machines, air conditioning, mini refrigerators and flat-screen HD televisions. Service includes twice-daily housekeeping.
Features
This resort is about a personalized experience. While relaxing and enjoying the spa may be the choice for many guests, Koa Kea Hotel & Resort is for active vacationers, too. A beach activity hut has snorkel gear and surf and boogie boards for rent, and surfing lessons are available. Workout buffs can maintain their routine in the well-equipped fitness center. Come evening, guests at the resort slip into custom beds for the ultimate in sleep comfort.
Transportation
  • Lihue Airport (15.2 mi/24.5 km)
  • Taxis availabl
Attractions
  • Poipu Bay Golf Course (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Allerton Garden Tours (2.6 mi/4.1km)
  • Spouting Horn Beach Park (2.6 mi/4.2 km)
  • Kayak Kauai Wailua River Paddle (20.4 mi/32.8 km)
  • Kokee State Park (32.1 mi/51.7 km)
Business
Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel and all rooms have Internet access, which is included in the daily resort fee.

Hotel Map

21.875 -159.4576
Area served
Poipu
Nearby airports
Lihue International Airport-14 miles

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Koa Kea Hotel and Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Koa Kea Hotel and Resort Rooms

Garden View
One king or two double beds with premium bedding. Garden views. Furnished balcony. 42-inch high-definition flat-panel television. Internet access. Espresso Machine. L'Occitane Bath Products. Sony clock radio with IPod docking station. Air conditioning,Ceiling fans, Dual shower heads in bath
Partial Ocean View
One king or two double beds with premium beddingPartial Ocean views. Furnished balcony. 42-inch high-definition flat-panel television. Internet access. Espresso Machine. L'Occitane Bath Products. Sony clock radio with IPod docking station. Air conditioning,Ceiling fans, Dual shower heads in bath
Ocean View
One king or two double beds with premium bedding. Ocean views. Furnished balcony. 42-inch high-definition flat-panel television. Internet access. Espresso Machine. L'Occitane Bath Products. Sony clock radio with IPod docking station. Air conditioning,Ceiling fans, Dual shower heads in bath

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Red Salt
Red Salt at the Koa Kea Hotel & Resort on Kauai combines the ideal elements for dining in Hawaii. The beautiful oceanfront setting is enhanced by a contemporary open design, and the large picture windows showcase the ocean and pool views. The diverse menu celebrates the fresh seafood and produce available in Hawaii, while the casual yet sophisticated atmosphere ensures that dining at Red Salt will be a memorable experience. Red Salt offers an ideal setting regardless of time of day. A daily Breakfast Buffet combines traditional American fare with fresh tropical fruit, breakfast bakery selections, assorted juices and an omelet station. The Dinner menu offers contemporary upscale cuisine. Lunch is served poolside and we also offer guest room dining 24 hours a day. Hours Breakfast 6:30 AM - 11:00 AM Lunch Pool 11:00 AM - 6:00 PM Dinner 6:00 PM - 10:00 PM Lounge 5:00 PM - 12:00 Midnight Pool Bar 11:00 AM - 6:00 PM Guest Room Dining 24 Hours

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (85)

Ratings and reviews for Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Overall score

4.7 / 5
5.01.0
85 out of 85
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.9
Hotel staff:
4.9
Room comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hankieladie
Westport,CT
Aug 19, 2014

Small scale upscale

Our 5 night stay began during the recent "hurricanes", So things got off to a slow start. When the pool at the center of this small resort hotel opened after the storm the place came to life....nice lounges , plenty of fluffy white towels , cool pool bar and beautiful views. The restaurant here is expensive, but service was great and the Ono fish was awesome. The hotel caters to couples it's a serene luxurious atmosphere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

La Spezia in KoOla town was great for breakfast and dinner.

Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
VacayNParadise
Menlo Park, CA
Jun 2, 2014

Amazing Staff & Great Location

This was one of my best hotel experiences. The rooms were clean & well-appointed. The staff was very friendly, always helpful & made great recommendations for restaurants & activities. The concierge even managed to get us a last minute reservation at the Beach House, which usually requires a 2-week advance reservation. The resort is right on the water. They must have sound-proofed the walls during the renovation because we could not hear anyone around us. The perfect romantic getaway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dahale
San Francisco, CA
May 13, 2014

Beautiful and Relaxing!

Koa Kea is a beautiful Hotel. Smaller in scale than many of the other options on the Island and that is just perfect! The property is lovely and the staff are very accommodating and friendly. The valet/bell staff are outstanding in their capacity to be helpful! A few tweeks here and there would make the physical Hotel feel just perfect, but nothing that would keep me from coming back again and again. We loved our stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

We timed our stay right to participate in a once Monthly tour called "A Culinary Romp Through Paradise" hosted by Taste Kauai! It was great fun and took us to places we might not have experienced. Check it out!

Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Taekwon
Oahu
May 2, 2014

Romance

Hotel staff was awesome, place was very clean. I like that they had unlimited valet service and they even bought our luggage to our room. Now thats what i call customer service! I would definitely come back to this place again! Highly recommend!:)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Memphis Chick
Lakeland, Tn
Feb 26, 2014

Perfection in Paradise

Our stay at Koa Kea, from beginning to end, was perfect. The ambiance of the location was what was expected for a Hawaiian vacation. The service was impeccable. The Staff were beyond helpful with every question and suggestion. I was not expecting the 100% concierge service, but enjoyed it. The pool area is beautiful, but the snorkeling right in front of the hotel is phenomenal. I felt as if I was in an aquarium. Our room was exceptionally clean, comfortable and beautifully appointed. We had an Ocean view room with a very generous patio. Red Salt, the hotel's restaurant, serves delicious fusion cuisine in resort comfort. My only regret was not having enough time to have a massage at the spa. High end shopping is with in minutes. The southern coast may not be as popular as the north, but for us, it was perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

You may pay a little more to stay at Koa Kea, but the perfect snorkeling is just out side your door. And it's free.

Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
FredCindy
Denver, CO
Feb 5, 2014

Wonderful Quiet Place!

Very nice setting with great ocean views, we saw dozens of whales every day, quiet and peaceful place and not over-crowded or cramped at all (like the Marriot next door), No loud thumping background music! , great beach location for snorkling, Red Salt is an excellent restaurant and bar, great staff and concierge services, walk to small mall with shopping and several restaurants .... small things like over-sized towels....we are definitely going back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out the Plantation Garden Restaurant at the Kiahuna Plantation next door

Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kate62383
Omaha me
Jan 28, 2014

Perfect

Everything was wonderful.. Ground and front desk staff were excellent

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
vikitea2
Albuquerque, NM
Jan 26, 2014

Beautiful, well appointed hotel but its the STAFF that make it great

I was traveling back to Kauai for a conference with my husband. The hosted in hotel was booked full and Koa Kea is within walking distance (beach/neighborhood stroll). Our initial reservation was for a ocean view room. We could see the ocean but I strongly recommend splurging for an ocean FRONT room - you are within 20 feet of the shore - choose a 2nd or 3rd floor for a bit more privacy though the first allows you to walk right out. Short hedge separates property from the beach. The rooms are lovely and clean - the locations is fabulous, 2 bars, fine dining, a nice lawn faces the beach and offers shelter from wind on the less than perfect island days. BUT BY FAR the best part was the friendly, helpful and attentive staff. GREAT for adult only trips. ONLY suggestion is that they replace the bulbs in the "candle" fixtures in the rooms with MUCH dimmer ones - or better yet, a dimmer switch! Aloha

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Several dinning options within walking distance. Roys, Kalapaki Joes - but a real dinning gem is in Koloa town - La Spezia! EXCELLENT.

Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Shahin from Boston
Boston
Jan 25, 2014

the best honeymoon

Fantastic place. We were there for 6 days and we are not going to forget it. Staff were very friendly. Breakfast was wonderful. I recommend it to everyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sharpdprt
Madison, WI
Jan 24, 2014

Wonderful beach location

From the moment we arrived, every staff person was friendly & willing to go the extra mile for anything we wanted. The location is beautiful right on the beach. Room had it's own lanai right by the pool, looking out at the ocean. The room was beautiful with a huge shower and the most comfortable bed ever. If we're ever lucky enough to go back to Kauai, we'll be staying at Koa Kea.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Definitely take a helicopter tour of the island, we used Blue Hawaiian & it was awesome.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search