$299 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 15, 2015 Check-out: Jan 18, 2015

Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows

3 stars
2253-B Poipu Road, East Entrance, Koloa, HI 96756
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
121 reviews
Fabulous

Great accommodations. The staff was courteous. The place was very clean and beautiful. See full review

  • Maya8Zephyr
  • May 26, 2014
Kiahuna is our family's favorite vacation condo

Our family has been staying at the Kiahuna Plantation for over 20 years. This year we opted to buy... See full review

  • Steve in rainy Seattle
  • Oct 13, 2013
Poipu condominiums cater to golfers and beach lovers
The 35-acre Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows embraces its sugar plantation heritage while adding contemporary touches. Gardens and koi ponds surround a historic home, now the resort's restaurant. Low-rise buildings house one- and two-bedroom condominiums among acres of manicured lawn splashed with vivid hues of plumeria and bougainvillea. Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows is relaxed and breezy with quiet spots for doing nothing at all, but when it is time for fun, Poipu Beach is just steps away.

Castle guests can also have fun at Poipu Beach Athletic Club. Visitors can take a dip in the 82,000 gallon resort-style pool with slide, play lawn tennis at 10 tennis courts, work out at the fitness center with separate weight and cardio rooms, and enjoy relaxing treatments at the 1,600 gallon spa with hydrotherapy jets.

Highlights
  • Beach Activity Center
  • Kiahuna Golf Club
  • On-site restaurant
  • Free high-speed Internet access
Location
Poipu Beach is a Hawaii vacation dream beach.  Within a one-mile stretch you can swim, boogie board, snorkel, scuba and learn to surf, and Poipu Beach Park is the ideal spot for young families. Exploring the west and east coasts of Kauai is easy from here.
Rooms
The Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows resort has 333 one- and two-bedroom condominiums in three-story walk-up buildings. The individually furnished condominiums have Hawaiian-themed decor, and all include a fully equipped kitchen, private lanai, sleep sofa in the living room and daily housekeeping service. Units range from 880 to 1,770 square feet.
Features
This is an excellent resort for families, golfers and beach lovers. Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows has its own Beach Activity Center where guests can rent snorkels, fins and boogie boards by the day or week. Rather not take time away from beach lounging to shop? The Grocery Guys will shop for guests and deliver the goods to their condominium while guests are out having fun. And if the mood strikes to have a family barbecue, fire up the community grills.
Dining
Plantation Gardens restaurant, surrounded by flowering gardens and 60-year-old koi ponds, is on-site at Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows, and open for dinner and cocktails. Set in a former plantation home, the restaurant serves up authentic plantation ambiance with its Pacific Rim and Hawaiian cuisine.
Recreation
  • Resort golf course just down the road
Transportation
  • Lihue Airport (15 mi/24.1 km)
  • Taxis and other transportation services available
Attractions
  • Kiahuna Golf Club (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • Spouting Horn Beach Park (2.6 mi/4.2 km)
  • Kauai Coffee Company Plantation Visitor Center (6.9 mi/11.1 km)
  • Wailua River State Park (19.5 mi/31.3 km)
  • Waimea Canyon (24.7 mi/40 km)
Policies and Fees

  • Poipu Beach Athletic Club is open daily except Mondays from 9 AM to 6 PM.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows Rooms

1 Bedroom/ 1 Bath Garden View
View of tropical trees and shrubs; 1 king or 1 queen, and 1 sofa bed; each suite has been individually furnished and designed to create a unique setting.
1 Bedroom/1 Bath Garden View Deluxe
View of tropical flowers, fruit trees, and shrubs; fronting green lawns and cactus gardens; 1 king or 1 queen, and 1 sofa bed; each suite has been individually furnished and designed to create a unique setting.
1 Bedroom/1 Bath Garden View Paradise
Surrounded by plumeria trees, hibiscus shrubs, and bougainvillea vines; located in the middle of 35 acres of landscaped lawns; 1 king or 1 queen, and 1 sofa bed; each suite has been individually furnished and designed to create a unique setting.
1 Bedroom /1 Bath Partial Ocean View
Anywhere from 100 to 200 yards from the ocean; on the top floors with a partial ocean view; 1 king or 1 queen, and 1 sofa bed; each suite has been individually furnished and designed to create a unique setting.
1 Bedroom/1 Bath Ocean View
Horizon ocean views overlooking landscaped lawns or the lagoon; 1 king or 1 queen, and 1 sofa bed; each suite has been individually furnished and designed to create a unique setting.
1 Bedroom/1 Bath Beachfront
White-sand beach right outside your door; 1 king or 1 queen, and 1 sofa bed; each suite has been individually furnished and designed to create a unique setting.
2 Bedroom/2 Bath Garden View Deluxe
View of tropical flowers, fruit trees, and shrubs, fronting green lawns and cactus gardens; split-level with bedrooms and bathrooms on the bottom level, and fully-equipped kitchen, dining area, and living room on top level; 1 king or 1 queen in master bedroom, 2 twins in second bedroom, plus 1 queen sofa bed in living room; each suite has been individually furnished and designed to create a unique setting.
2 Bedroom/2 Bath Garden View Paradise
Surrounded by plumeria trees, hibiscus shrubs, and bougainvillea vines; located in the middle of the property featuring a wide expanse of lawn; split-level with bedrooms and bathrooms on the bottom level, and fully-equipped kitchen, dining area, and living room on top level;1 king or 1 queen in master bedroom, 2 twins in second bedroom, plus 1 queen sofa bed in living room; each suite has been individually furnished and designed to create a unique setting.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Pool
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Restaurant
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking

Dining

Plantation Garden Restaurant
Located within the resort - Open for Dinner/Cocktails.
Casa Blanca Restaurant
Across the street at the Kiahuna Swim & Tennis Club - Open for Lunch and Dinner.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (121)

Ratings and reviews for Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
121 out of 121
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.9

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Shescomeundone9
Business
Mountain View, california
Oct 27, 2014

Nice place for great price.

We only stayed at the Kiahuana Plantation Hotel for one night at the end of our vacation but it was a comfortable and cute place to stay. The room would've been a great place to stay for a few more days with all of the amenities of an apartment (fridge, stove, patio). The room was very clean and had nice updates - beautiful shower!! The grounds are very nice and the location is great. Would recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Travel up to Kapaa for cheaper (and delicious) food options. Kilauea Fish Market is a must!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NEAL22
Business
Moreno Valley, Ca
Oct 5, 2014

Great Stay in Kauai

This resort met all my requirements and more. The condo was larger than expected, provided beach toys, cooler and the kitchen was well stocked. King Bed was comfortable. NOTE: NO AIR CONDITIONING IN ANY UNITS. Fans are in the room to help circulate air and make the room cooler. Temperature was tolerable since we weren't in the room much. Be ready to live with a few bugs. Units were sprayed for bugs while we were there and that helped. Otherwise great value for the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Trever B.
Business
Idaho Falls, Idaho
Aug 16, 2014

Incredible Place

We were here for our anniversary. We loved all the room we had in the condo. It felt like our own little home with beautiful views of gardens and huge trees. Hotel is kept clean inside and the grounds our perfectly landscaped. It was nice having a full kitchen and BBQ to cook on. Can't beat the beach access to Poipu, water is perfect and snorkeling is so fun. This place doesn't make you feel like your in a hotel room because of all the space in the condo and outside. Perfect beaches for kids too. Awesome value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Buy some food at the local grocery, Big Save in Koloa. You can eat in and save a lot of money during your trip. Don't forget bottled water.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Dissatisfied customer1
Business
San Francisco, California
Jun 17, 2014

Nice property, bad accommodations

The hotel is located in a good area - close to town, shopping areas, and the beach. It is situated on a nicely manicured property with good landscaping and plentiful outdoor areas to enjoy. However, the room was dilapidated and dirty, making our stay uncomfortable and stressful. The room was infested with bugs. We encountered many cockroaches and other large insects that scurried under the cracks between the floor boards and crowning of the walls. There were bugs crawling out of our hand bags and other personal belongings when left anywhere in the room (on chairs, coffee tables, dining table etc.). We found many cockroaches in our bathtub, as the person at the front desk mentioned how they come out to drink water. She explained that cockroaches in Kauai are very common and the siting of these creatures should be compared to seeing lizards and birds. The cleaning crew did the very minimal - only replaced towels. Many times they failed to even make our beds, take out our garbage, or even provide any additional trash bags when we threw out the trash on our own. Overall, I would not recommend this place or stay here ever again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Maya8Zephyr
Business
Glendale, California
May 26, 2014

Fabulous

Great accommodations. The staff was courteous. The place was very clean and beautiful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
candislc16
Business
salt lake city
May 20, 2014

great for families, long walk to the beach

It was great to have a kitchen, too far from the beach. Asked about upgrading and nothing was offered or available. Could use some updating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

keeokes

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
travelling4decades
Business
Miss. Canada
May 15, 2014

owner vs. renter

As the renter, we were not as welcome as the owners who own units in this resort. the staff was off-handish. the room was unoccupied when we arrived at 8.30 am and yet we had to wait till check-in time... no regard to the fact that we had been on the road for a while !! similarly, on checkout, they didnt offer a courtesy room to refresh or change into and we needed it as we spent time on the beach and then had to take a flight. carefull about the cleaning charges....no clean up was required (or done) during our 3-day stay, and still charges on per day basis were charged. be aware that there are 2 properties, castle and outrigger...... so make sure that you specify which one you would like to be in, to be picked up at when going on tours, etc. location was good, surroundings were definitely plantation style and very pleasing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

definitely do the movie tour, very entertaining.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Whyly
Business
Nantucket MA
Feb 18, 2014

First Time to Hawaii

Arrived about 4 pm waited in line to check in for quite awhile only to find we had no reservation, so more waiting. I had my itinerary with the reservation on it and they did find us a room, they said they upgraded us but I seriously doubt it.. we were as far from the beach as you could get and next to the road, which could get noisy. The bed was comfortable but the sheets were a strange nylon fabric with plastic covered pillows. The kitchen area was functional but hurting. The location was great and if I were to go back I would find some place else in the area to stay with a view!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
B an C from Wa
Business
Arlington, Wa
Oct 19, 2013

It was alright

The Condo was located in a great spot in Poipu. However no access to a pool was a negative. Also the kitchen could have been stocked a little better with utensils, and the room description would be nice if it included what beach equipment was included like boogie boards, masks and snorkels etc. Boogie boards weren't included, but our friends condo down the street has 3 , and two surf boards for the same price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are a lot of great little places to eat that are fairly reasonable and only a short walk away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Steve in rainy Seattle
Business
Seattle, WA
Oct 13, 2013

Kiahuna is our family's favorite vacation condo

Our family has been staying at the Kiahuna Plantation for over 20 years. This year we opted to buy up to an oceanfront condo in building 2. I have never seen anything like the sunset views from the back lanai anywhere else in the world.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

The Koloa farmer's market is every Monday at noon, a short drive from the condo. Since the condos in the Kiahuna Plantation include full kitchens with pots/pans/etc., as well as gas BBQ grills located all around the property, you can save a lot of money by preparing your own meals for your family instead of paying for fine dining service along Po'ipu beach.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top