$141 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 2, 2014 Check-out: Nov 3, 2014

Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows

3 stars
2253-B Poipu Road, East Entrance, Koloa, HI 96756
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
121 reviews
Fabulous

Great accommodations. The staff was courteous. The place was very clean and beautiful. See full review

  • Maya8Zephyr
  • May 26, 2014
Kiahuna is our family's favorite vacation condo

Our family has been staying at the Kiahuna Plantation for over 20 years. This year we opted to buy... See full review

  • Steve in rainy Seattle
  • Oct 13, 2013
Poipu condominiums cater to golfers and beach lovers
The 35-acre Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows embraces its sugar plantation heritage while adding contemporary touches. Gardens and koi ponds surround a historic home, now the resort's restaurant. Low-rise buildings house one- and two-bedroom condominiums among acres of manicured lawn splashed with vivid hues of plumeria and bougainvillea. Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows is relaxed and breezy with quiet spots for doing nothing at all, but when it is time for fun, Poipu Beach is just steps away.

Castle guests can also have fun at Poipu Beach Athletic Club. Visitors can take a dip in the 82,000 gallon resort-style pool with slide, play lawn tennis at 10 tennis courts, work out at the fitness center with separate weight and cardio rooms, and enjoy relaxing treatments at the 1,600 gallon spa with hydrotherapy jets.

Highlights
  • Beach Activity Center
  • Kiahuna Golf Club
  • On-site restaurant
  • Free high-speed Internet access
Location
Poipu Beach is a Hawaii vacation dream beach.  Within a one-mile stretch you can swim, boogie board, snorkel, scuba and learn to surf, and Poipu Beach Park is the ideal spot for young families. Exploring the west and east coasts of Kauai is easy from here.
Rooms
The Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows resort has 333 one- and two-bedroom condominiums in three-story walk-up buildings. The individually furnished condominiums have Hawaiian-themed decor, and all include a fully equipped kitchen, private lanai, sleep sofa in the living room and daily housekeeping service. Units range from 880 to 1,770 square feet.
Features
This is an excellent resort for families, golfers and beach lovers. Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows has its own Beach Activity Center where guests can rent snorkels, fins and boogie boards by the day or week. Rather not take time away from beach lounging to shop? The Grocery Guys will shop for guests and deliver the goods to their condominium while guests are out having fun. And if the mood strikes to have a family barbecue, fire up the community grills.
Dining
Plantation Gardens restaurant, surrounded by flowering gardens and 60-year-old koi ponds, is on-site at Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows, and open for dinner and cocktails. Set in a former plantation home, the restaurant serves up authentic plantation ambiance with its Pacific Rim and Hawaiian cuisine.
Recreation
  • Resort golf course just down the road
Transportation
  • Lihue Airport (15 mi/24.1 km)
  • Taxis and other transportation services available
Attractions
  • Kiahuna Golf Club (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • Spouting Horn Beach Park (2.6 mi/4.2 km)
  • Kauai Coffee Company Plantation Visitor Center (6.9 mi/11.1 km)
  • Wailua River State Park (19.5 mi/31.3 km)
  • Waimea Canyon (24.7 mi/40 km)
Policies and Fees

  • Poipu Beach Athletic Club is open daily except Mondays from 9 AM to 6 PM.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

21.8792 -159.4628
Area served
Koloa, Poipu Beach, Hawaii
Nearby airports
Lihue International Airport - LIH
Area description
Located in the Poipu Resort area on a beautiful sandy swimming beach. Kiahuna Plantation is situated on 35 acres of landscaped lawns and gardens filled with tropical flowers. Great for families, golfers, and tennis buffs. This condominium resort features a "Super Pool" with water slide and several championship tennis courts. It is across the street from the Poipu Shopping Village which features a variety of restaurants and shops. Poipu Beach was named in the "Top 10 Most Romantic Getaways" from USA Today.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows Rooms

1 Bedroom/ 1 Bath Garden View
View of tropical trees and shrubs; 1 king or 1 queen, and 1 sofa bed; each suite has been individually furnished and designed to create a unique setting.
1 Bedroom/1 Bath Garden View Deluxe
View of tropical flowers, fruit trees, and shrubs; fronting green lawns and cactus gardens; 1 king or 1 queen, and 1 sofa bed; each suite has been individually furnished and designed to create a unique setting.
1 Bedroom/1 Bath Garden View Paradise
Surrounded by plumeria trees, hibiscus shrubs, and bougainvillea vines; located in the middle of 35 acres of landscaped lawns; 1 king or 1 queen, and 1 sofa bed; each suite has been individually furnished and designed to create a unique setting.
1 Bedroom /1 Bath Partial Ocean View
Anywhere from 100 to 200 yards from the ocean; on the top floors with a partial ocean view; 1 king or 1 queen, and 1 sofa bed; each suite has been individually furnished and designed to create a unique setting.
1 Bedroom/1 Bath Ocean View
Horizon ocean views overlooking landscaped lawns or the lagoon; 1 king or 1 queen, and 1 sofa bed; each suite has been individually furnished and designed to create a unique setting.
1 Bedroom/1 Bath Beachfront
White-sand beach right outside your door; 1 king or 1 queen, and 1 sofa bed; each suite has been individually furnished and designed to create a unique setting.
2 Bedroom/2 Bath Garden View Deluxe
View of tropical flowers, fruit trees, and shrubs, fronting green lawns and cactus gardens; split-level with bedrooms and bathrooms on the bottom level, and fully-equipped kitchen, dining area, and living room on top level; 1 king or 1 queen in master bedroom, 2 twins in second bedroom, plus 1 queen sofa bed in living room; each suite has been individually furnished and designed to create a unique setting.
2 Bedroom/2 Bath Garden View Paradise
Surrounded by plumeria trees, hibiscus shrubs, and bougainvillea vines; located in the middle of the property featuring a wide expanse of lawn; split-level with bedrooms and bathrooms on the bottom level, and fully-equipped kitchen, dining area, and living room on top level;1 king or 1 queen in master bedroom, 2 twins in second bedroom, plus 1 queen sofa bed in living room; each suite has been individually furnished and designed to create a unique setting.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Pool
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Restaurant
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking

Dining

Plantation Garden Restaurant
Located within the resort - Open for Dinner/Cocktails.
Casa Blanca Restaurant
Across the street at the Kiahuna Swim & Tennis Club - Open for Lunch and Dinner.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (121)

Ratings and reviews for Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
121 out of 121
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.9

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Apr 22, 2009

Overpriced

Carpet stained with ripples Bathroom floor with 2 large stains in front of comode Bathroom tub and surround holes and chips some patched some not.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Nice location to watch people and the sunset.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Dissatisfied customer1
Business
San Francisco, California
Jun 17, 2014

Nice property, bad accommodations

The hotel is located in a good area - close to town, shopping areas, and the beach. It is situated on a nicely manicured property with good landscaping and plentiful outdoor areas to enjoy. However, the room was dilapidated and dirty, making our stay uncomfortable and stressful. The room was infested with bugs. We encountered many cockroaches and other large insects that scurried under the cracks between the floor boards and crowning of the walls. There were bugs crawling out of our hand bags and other personal belongings when left anywhere in the room (on chairs, coffee tables, dining table etc.). We found many cockroaches in our bathtub, as the person at the front desk mentioned how they come out to drink water. She explained that cockroaches in Kauai are very common and the siting of these creatures should be compared to seeing lizards and birds. The cleaning crew did the very minimal - only replaced towels. Many times they failed to even make our beds, take out our garbage, or even provide any additional trash bags when we threw out the trash on our own. Overall, I would not recommend this place or stay here ever again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
xmhxmh
Business
Oregon
Dec 2, 2011

Average condo

The hotel is in Poipu beach area, which is a nice area for beach access and local exploring. The hotel itself is pretty average though. Room and furniture are a bit running down and the main office is very small and limited. The swimming pool is on the other side of the road far from the residence area. There are a few ocean front building facing grass and face that look pretty comfortable. We might consider staying there if we come next time. All in all, it is an average hotel in a good location where you sleep and rest.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
donell
Business
Spokane, WA, USA
Mar 17, 2012

Very disapointed, didn't get any sleep or relaxation there.

I was so exited to stay at this condo, I was so disaponted when I saw my unit. We were right next to the highway and they don't have windows only wooden shutters you can hear everything. The roosters wake you up every day at 4am. Our unit was so outdated the bed was extremely uncomfortable, the unit felt like a basement. The pool is across the hwy and has been left unkept, I could not tell the last time it was cleaned. The staff is nice and very attentive, but because of my condo I will never stay there again. There should be standards that the owners should have to update once in awhile.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Roys has amazing food and an superior staff they take care of you

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Love paullywally
Business
Fremont,ca
Jun 28, 2012

Maid service and front desk

Had to call for maid service three times,no clean towels once after maid cleaned room,front desk rude when called for service and info!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Rate this trip
Business
Chesterfield, mo
Oct 30, 2012

Not worth it!!

The rooms were noisy, the walls are paper thin and could hear everything next to you and above you. The room was hot and could not be cooled down since there are no air conditioners in any of the rooms. The pool is not co-located with the hotel and when you do get there, have to cross the main street and walk another 1/4 to 1/2 mile, the pool is old and outdated. Pay a little more and get a place that offers a/c and a pool co-located.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Hyatt has a good luau.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Chris and Nora
Business
Colorado
Jan 18, 2013

A bit disappointed

Location is not quite as described. No pool on property - half mile walk to community pool - so we didn't bother going. Appliances are old, our unit needs a good cleaning, shower/tub needs to be replaced. Though we didn't want to - We had to wear shoes to keep our feet clean, no AC - though the tradewinds are pleasant. Shutter style windows - so you can hear your neighbors. A bit of a walk to the beach from our unit. Some units are owned by Outrigger and some by Castle resorts. Roomy lanai. Beautiful cactus garden to walk through. Grill was a bonus and cleaned every day. Very nice staff!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Foodland and Safeway are best bets for groceries! Look up sales flyer online before going to plan purchases!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tacoma, WA
Nov 15, 2009

Castle Kiahuna Plantation

Requested a ground floor unit as our son is in a wheelchair. Was told we would have to be in a garden view unit and they would provide us with a portable ramp to help get the wheelchair into our unit. The unit was nowhere near the garden, but as far from the beach as possible, in fact, the very back row, next to the main road. There was no ramp available and they didn't seem to know what I was talking about when we checked in. There was no tub, just a shower and we had no way of knowing about that, so bathing/showering our son was very difficult. One bath towel, one hand towel and one washcloth per person for 4 days. Had to go to the laundry room and pay $2.50 to wash and $2.50 to dry a load of towels. Their advertising was very deceiving and I do not feel we got what we ordered or were promised. There were some kind of little bugs or mites in the sleeper sofa, our son had many bites on his legs from them when he slept there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
chicago
Sep 29, 2009

convienient meet grandma house

great location! one block from poipu but vintage circa 1950's also met with a roach upon arrival. Good for large groups, beach access, great restaurants nearby

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Coquitlam
Nov 17, 2008

A reasonable place for a reasonable price

I was not happy when I first arrived. It was not at all what I had expected. I expected much smaller buildings in a quiet location near the beach. My mistake. How satisfied you will be with this hotel will in part depend on your expectations and where you are located within the complex. It is a large property with accommodations ranging from a condo in a three story building about 50 yards from a busy quite noisy road to small three unit buildings with an ocean view and the background lull of the ocean. I personally was very disappointed to find myself in a large building near the road. The interior units were very clean, quite well appointed, and reasonable for the price. I hope they acted on our siting of a little mouse in the first unit. The only restaurant in the resort was quite expensive and we did not eat there, but there were some less expensive restaurants in the small shopping center across the road. Mostly we cooked at home so I can't comment much on the restaurants in the area. The beach was good, and reasonable snorkelling was available just a few minutes walk down to the next beach. The grounds of the complex were quite nice and well kept. The staff were helpful and accommodating. If a pool is important to you this might not be the place to go. The only pool available was located in the tennis club across the busy road. I can't comment on the facility because we did not bother to go to it. I usually do use the pool a couple of times in a resort, but this would have been quite inconvenient. If you are looking for serenity, and quiet this is not the location for you, but it was central and quite close to local shopping - a rental car is a must.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a small shopping center across the road from the resort with an assortment of shops. Mostly fairly expensive. Whaler's general store offered prices comparible and sometimes cheaper on their souvenirs etc. You have to go further afield for groceries.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top