$164 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 6, 2015 Check-out: May 7, 2015

Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows

3 stars
View map of 2253-B Poipu Road, East Entrance, Koloa, HI 96756

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
122 reviews
Fabulous

Great accommodations. The staff was courteous. The place was very clean and beautiful. See full review

  • Maya8Zephyr
  • May 26, 2014
Nice place for great price.

We only stayed at the Kiahuana Plantation Hotel for one night at the end of our vacation but it was... See full review

  • Shescomeundone9
  • Oct 27, 2014
Poipu condominiums cater to golfers and beach lovers
The 35-acre Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows embraces its sugar plantation heritage while adding contemporary touches. Gardens and koi ponds surround a historic home, now the resort's restaurant. Low-rise buildings house one- and two-bedroom condominiums among acres of manicured lawn splashed with vivid hues of plumeria and bougainvillea. Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows is relaxed and breezy with quiet spots for doing nothing at all, but when it is time for fun, Poipu Beach is just steps away.

Castle guests can also have fun at Poipu Beach Athletic Club. Visitors can take a dip in the 82,000 gallon resort-style pool with slide, play lawn tennis at 10 tennis courts, work out at the fitness center with separate weight and cardio rooms, and enjoy relaxing treatments at the 1,600 gallon spa with hydrotherapy jets.

Highlights
  • Beach Activity Center
  • Kiahuna Golf Club
  • On-site restaurant
  • Free high-speed Internet access
Location
Poipu Beach is a Hawaii vacation dream beach.  Within a one-mile stretch you can swim, boogie board, snorkel, scuba and learn to surf, and Poipu Beach Park is the ideal spot for young families. Exploring the west and east coasts of Kauai is easy from here.
Rooms
The Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows resort has 333 one- and two-bedroom condominiums in three-story walk-up buildings. The individually furnished condominiums have Hawaiian-themed decor, and all include a fully equipped kitchen, private lanai, sleep sofa in the living room and daily housekeeping service. Units range from 880 to 1,770 square feet.
Features
This is an excellent resort for families, golfers and beach lovers. Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows has its own Beach Activity Center where guests can rent snorkels, fins and boogie boards by the day or week. Rather not take time away from beach lounging to shop? The Grocery Guys will shop for guests and deliver the goods to their condominium while guests are out having fun. And if the mood strikes to have a family barbecue, fire up the community grills.
Dining
Plantation Gardens restaurant, surrounded by flowering gardens and 60-year-old koi ponds, is on-site at Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows, and open for dinner and cocktails. Set in a former plantation home, the restaurant serves up authentic plantation ambiance with its Pacific Rim and Hawaiian cuisine.
Recreation
  • Resort golf course just down the road
Transportation
  • Lihue Airport (15 mi/24.1 km)
  • Taxis and other transportation services available
Attractions
  • Kiahuna Golf Club (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • Spouting Horn Beach Park (2.6 mi/4.2 km)
  • Kauai Coffee Company Plantation Visitor Center (6.9 mi/11.1 km)
  • Wailua River State Park (19.5 mi/31.3 km)
  • Waimea Canyon (24.7 mi/40 km)
Policies and Fees

  • Poipu Beach Athletic Club is open daily except Mondays from 9 AM to 6 PM.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows Rooms

1 Bedroom/ 1 Bath Garden View
View of tropical trees and shrubs; 1 king or 1 queen, and 1 sofa bed; each suite has been individually furnished and designed to create a unique setting.
1 Bedroom/1 Bath Garden View Deluxe
View of tropical flowers, fruit trees, and shrubs; fronting green lawns and cactus gardens; 1 king or 1 queen, and 1 sofa bed; each suite has been individually furnished and designed to create a unique setting.
1 Bedroom/1 Bath Garden View Paradise
Surrounded by plumeria trees, hibiscus shrubs, and bougainvillea vines; located in the middle of 35 acres of landscaped lawns; 1 king or 1 queen, and 1 sofa bed; each suite has been individually furnished and designed to create a unique setting.
1 Bedroom /1 Bath Partial Ocean View
Anywhere from 100 to 200 yards from the ocean; on the top floors with a partial ocean view; 1 king or 1 queen, and 1 sofa bed; each suite has been individually furnished and designed to create a unique setting.
1 Bedroom/1 Bath Ocean View
Horizon ocean views overlooking landscaped lawns or the lagoon; 1 king or 1 queen, and 1 sofa bed; each suite has been individually furnished and designed to create a unique setting.
1 Bedroom/1 Bath Beachfront
White-sand beach right outside your door; 1 king or 1 queen, and 1 sofa bed; each suite has been individually furnished and designed to create a unique setting.
2 Bedroom/2 Bath Garden View Deluxe
View of tropical flowers, fruit trees, and shrubs, fronting green lawns and cactus gardens; split-level with bedrooms and bathrooms on the bottom level, and fully-equipped kitchen, dining area, and living room on top level; 1 king or 1 queen in master bedroom, 2 twins in second bedroom, plus 1 queen sofa bed in living room; each suite has been individually furnished and designed to create a unique setting.
2 Bedroom/2 Bath Garden View Paradise
Surrounded by plumeria trees, hibiscus shrubs, and bougainvillea vines; located in the middle of the property featuring a wide expanse of lawn; split-level with bedrooms and bathrooms on the bottom level, and fully-equipped kitchen, dining area, and living room on top level;1 king or 1 queen in master bedroom, 2 twins in second bedroom, plus 1 queen sofa bed in living room; each suite has been individually furnished and designed to create a unique setting.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Pool
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Restaurant
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking

Dining

Plantation Garden Restaurant
Located within the resort - Open for Dinner/Cocktails.
Casa Blanca Restaurant
Across the street at the Kiahuna Swim & Tennis Club - Open for Lunch and Dinner.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
122 out of 122
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.9

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
May 25, 2007

Well Stocked

I had heard that we were renting condos, but I hadn't realized that everything we could ever want or need would be in there. Dishes, ice chests, football, frisbees - you name it. The rooms were clean, fresh towels daily, and a mere 5 minute walk from the beach. I would definitely recommend this place in terms of comfort, basic amenities, and value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

You're a quick walk from the beach and a quick drive from the Botanical Gardens and Spouting Horn.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Easton wife
Business
Spokane -Washington
Jan 25, 2010

Unforgettable/Amazing family getaway

We fell in love with Kauai. Our condo was amazing building #38 room 316 it overlooked an amazing garden, the landscape of the whole plantation was amazing just walking thru to the beach was beautiful. It was quiet and a short walk to the beach. Hotel staff was friendly and if you needed anything they were helpful.We had a shopping mall and restraunts right across the street.We will be coming back for sure and staying in the same place. Amazing side of the island weather was 80 and walking distance to the snorkel beach were we swam with 2 sea turtles...If you can take a Hilcopter tour you won't be sorry, one of the best things we did seeing the island from the air, seeing parts you would never see because you can not get to them by car or on foot. We also went on hikes and walked many beaches. I can't say enough great things about our trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

I saved up ketchup,mayo, mustard, sugar etc. packets from when you go to fast food and took a zip lock bag full with us.It came in so handy, you don't want to spend a lot of money on big jars of these it costs a lot there. We shopped at costco and did pretty well with our food. we ate pretty much breakfast and lunch in the condo and went out a few nights to dinner. But the packets were perfect with hambergers(there is a BBQ right outside the condo to BBQ) and sandwiches for lunch.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Northwoodviking
Business
Bemidji, Mn.
Jan 15, 2011

Best resort on Kauai

This resort was about as perfect as it can get. The grounds and buildings are highly maintained and the property is beautiful...who could ask for more!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Since you have a kitchen, drive up to Lihue and do your shopping at K-mart or Walmart. The prices are about the lowest on the island. The big store in Koloa also has some of the better bargains.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mrs. Rob
Business
Poipu, HI, USA
Nov 4, 2011

Pefect Honeymoon/Getaway

This place was so nice. It didn't have all the hoopla that surrounding resorts had, but you're in KAUAI!!! You don't need someone bringing you a Mai Tai, just look around. The beautiful upkeep and closeness to the beach is all you need. Plus the have a stand by the beach for many water activities you can set up. It's close enough to many tourist attractions. Also, you get to drive thru the Tree Tunnel most times you leave the Poipu area. Highly recommend to enjoy the comforts of Kauai fro the comforts of Castle Kiahuna Beach Bungalows.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

The whole Island is an attraction. Embrace it.There are botanical gardens throughout the island. Definitel check out Smith's Tropical Paradise. It's by their tour and very beautiful.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Olmsted
Business
Camarillo, California
Jan 21, 2012

Excellent Experience

Had a great time at this hotel, close to ocean. Snorkeling was terrific. Watched whales all day long from the beach at the hotel. Facilities and accommodations were excellent and if I return, I will definitely stay at this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Time4Tiki
Business
Walnut Creek, CA
Jun 21, 2012

Favorite place to stay on the island!

We have stayed there 4 times now and have thoroughly enjoyed every trip. we wouldn't stay anywhere else! Beautiful grounds and easy access to the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Best Mai Tai on the Island is at Kalypso in Hanalei! Ask for the Iniki!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Arellano5
Business
Montrose, Ca
Aug 1, 2013

Awesome Family Vacation

We had a wonderful time while at the Castel Kiahuna Plantation. All of our needs were met and we would definately return!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Steve in rainy Seattle
Business
Seattle, WA
Oct 13, 2013

Kiahuna is our family's favorite vacation condo

Our family has been staying at the Kiahuna Plantation for over 20 years. This year we opted to buy up to an oceanfront condo in building 2. I have never seen anything like the sunset views from the back lanai anywhere else in the world.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

The Koloa farmer's market is every Monday at noon, a short drive from the condo. Since the condos in the Kiahuna Plantation include full kitchens with pots/pans/etc., as well as gas BBQ grills located all around the property, you can save a lot of money by preparing your own meals for your family instead of paying for fine dining service along Po'ipu beach.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Maya8Zephyr
Business
Glendale, California
May 26, 2014

Fabulous

Great accommodations. The staff was courteous. The place was very clean and beautiful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ESS1&2
Business
Kaneohe, HI
Aug 30, 2009

Very enjoyable. Family loved it!

Our very short (3 days) visit did not allow for the pool/gym because we wanted to sightsee and enjoy the beautiful beach. It was the quality not the quantity of days that mattered. My family and I simply enjoyed the quiet getaway and would definitely consider returning again one day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top