$164 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 29, 2015 Check-out: May 31, 2015

Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows

3 stars
View map of 2253-B Poipu Road, East Entrance, Koloa, HI 96756

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
122 out of 122
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.9

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tacoma, WA
Nov 15, 2009

Castle Kiahuna Plantation

Requested a ground floor unit as our son is in a wheelchair. Was told we would have to be in a garden view unit and they would provide us with a portable ramp to help get the wheelchair into our unit. The unit was nowhere near the garden, but as far from the beach as possible, in fact, the very back row, next to the main road. There was no ramp available and they didn't seem to know what I was talking about when we checked in. There was no tub, just a shower and we had no way of knowing about that, so bathing/showering our son was very difficult. One bath towel, one hand towel and one washcloth per person for 4 days. Had to go to the laundry room and pay $2.50 to wash and $2.50 to dry a load of towels. Their advertising was very deceiving and I do not feel we got what we ordered or were promised. There were some kind of little bugs or mites in the sleeper sofa, our son had many bites on his legs from them when he slept there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Oct 29, 2009

Wonderful get-away!

This was great for what we wanted! The staff was very friendly and helpful. Terrific location!! Only wish there was a pool on the grounds of the condo units, rather than across the road. But the beach access was excellent and that's where we wanted to spend our time anyway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

For a scenic drive away from the hotel's area, drive east/north rather than west, especially if you want to see lush, jungle-like scenery. Toward the west, the landscape gets drier and does have beautiful canyons views but not as gorgeous just to drive through.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Colorado
Oct 26, 2009

Delightful Visit

The Plantation was located on one of the nicest beaches on the island. The grass lawn extending up to the sand was a comfortable touch. We could hear the couple in the unit above us but recognized they were loud and it was not necessarily related to the Plantation's facilities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Roy's restaurant at the Poipu shopping center was excellent. We had an amazing 25th Anniversary meal with complimentary dessert.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orange, CA
Oct 21, 2009

A Taste of Old Hawaii

We had an amazing 5 days of snorkeling, swimming, eating with the locals and just relazing. When we checked in we asked if we could upgrade to an ocean front room and we got room #5 which was right on the beach. The beach was soft with white sand and we swam for hours at a time. We hardly left the property/room; it was so convenient to the beach and walking distance to the Sheraton and other local bars. The staff was extremely helpful and polite. We thought the room was nicely furnished and the grounds were simply beautiful. We plan to come again in May and hope to get the same room. I can't wait to return!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

We asked the locals where they liked to eat and so we tried a few recommendations. We really enjoyed the combo lunch plate at Koloa Fish House (Lau lau and the seared ahi), Mark's Place (the special plate and Moco Loco), Imu Hut (fried or tery chicken) and the breakfast at Tip Top Restaurant (banana macadamia nut pancakes with guava/pineapple syrup). These were more "local" eateries yet the experience was awesome.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Oahu Resident
Business
Honolulu, HI
Oct 13, 2009

The room was very nice

We had a great time. The beach was within walking distance from our garden view room and there is a great childrens beach, just one street over, where turtles feed and a seal comes out for rest

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

The Plantation Restaurant was excellent. Classy restaurant, beautiful garden, great picture spot..and food is tasty too.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
chicago
Sep 29, 2009

convienient meet grandma house

great location! one block from poipu but vintage circa 1950's also met with a roach upon arrival. Good for large groups, beach access, great restaurants nearby

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
English Teacher and Electrical Engineer
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Sep 14, 2009

Impressive!

I loved that the condo had everything--even a boogie board. It was a short walk to the beach, nearby shopping, and activities in the area. It was also quiet, so it was easy to relax with a book and sleep in the sun! I wish I could live there!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Take the time to see the canyon. It is worth three hours. Make certain you see the last two lookouts. I was able to take the famous cliff-overlooking-the-ocean-with-a-rainbow picture.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Newley Weds Most Wonderful Memories
Business
Westminster, Colorado
Sep 3, 2009

The Best Honeymoon Getaway

To describe this experience in Poipu and this wonderful place they call Kiahuana Plantation and Beach Bungalows is exceptionally hard to do.....we were VERY IMPRESSED with our private, wonderfully decorated room , we were awed by the gardens and the closeness of the beach! We would recommend this hotel to each and every person who asks "where would we find a nice place to stay" while we're in Kauai.....in fact, we are coming back next August along with our daughter and brother......we can't thank you enough for you making our 2009 Honeymoon the best we could of ever asked for! Kiahuana Plantations and Beach Bungalows ROCK!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ESS1&2
Business
Kaneohe, HI
Aug 30, 2009

Very enjoyable. Family loved it!

Our very short (3 days) visit did not allow for the pool/gym because we wanted to sightsee and enjoy the beautiful beach. It was the quality not the quantity of days that mattered. My family and I simply enjoyed the quiet getaway and would definitely consider returning again one day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Colorado
Aug 20, 2009

A great place!

A wonderful place to stay! The beach amenities are outstanding. The location is amazing. Being able to enjoy the ocean from the beach or the lawn is ideal. The only downside for us was that since our condo was not a beach front condo the decor was very outdated and was not as clean as expected. Overall, I still highly recommend this place to everyone!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top