$161 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 24, 2014 Check-out: Sep 27, 2014

Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows

3 stars
2253-B Poipu Road, East Entrance, Koloa, HI 96756
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
119 reviews
Fabulous

Great accommodations. The staff was courteous. The place was very clean and beautiful. See full review

  • Maya8Zephyr
  • May 26, 2014
Kiahuna is our family's favorite vacation condo

Our family has been staying at the Kiahuna Plantation for over 20 years. This year we opted to buy... See full review

  • Steve in rainy Seattle
  • Oct 13, 2013
Poipu condominiums cater to golfers and beach lovers
The 35-acre Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows embraces its sugar plantation heritage while adding contemporary touches. Gardens and koi ponds surround a historic home, now the resort's restaurant. Low-rise buildings house one- and two-bedroom condominiums among acres of manicured lawn splashed with vivid hues of plumeria and bougainvillea. Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows is relaxed and breezy with quiet spots for doing nothing at all, but when it is time for fun, Poipu Beach is just steps away.

Castle guests can also have fun at Poipu Beach Athletic Club. Visitors can take a dip in the 82,000 gallon resort-style pool with slide, play lawn tennis at 10 tennis courts, work out at the fitness center with separate weight and cardio rooms, and enjoy relaxing treatments at the 1,600 gallon spa with hydrotherapy jets.

Highlights
  • Beach Activity Center
  • Kiahuna Golf Club
  • On-site restaurant
  • Free high-speed Internet access
Location
Poipu Beach is a Hawaii vacation dream beach.  Within a one-mile stretch you can swim, boogie board, snorkel, scuba and learn to surf, and Poipu Beach Park is the ideal spot for young families. Exploring the west and east coasts of Kauai is easy from here.
Rooms
The Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows resort has 333 one- and two-bedroom condominiums in three-story walk-up buildings. The individually furnished condominiums have Hawaiian-themed decor, and all include a fully equipped kitchen, private lanai, sleep sofa in the living room and daily housekeeping service. Units range from 880 to 1,770 square feet.
Features
This is an excellent resort for families, golfers and beach lovers. Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows has its own Beach Activity Center where guests can rent snorkels, fins and boogie boards by the day or week. Rather not take time away from beach lounging to shop? The Grocery Guys will shop for guests and deliver the goods to their condominium while guests are out having fun. And if the mood strikes to have a family barbecue, fire up the community grills.
Dining
Plantation Gardens restaurant, surrounded by flowering gardens and 60-year-old koi ponds, is on-site at Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows, and open for dinner and cocktails. Set in a former plantation home, the restaurant serves up authentic plantation ambiance with its Pacific Rim and Hawaiian cuisine.
Recreation
  • Resort golf course just down the road
Transportation
  • Lihue Airport (15 mi/24.1 km)
  • Taxis and other transportation services available
Attractions
  • Kiahuna Golf Club (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • Spouting Horn Beach Park (2.6 mi/4.2 km)
  • Kauai Coffee Company Plantation Visitor Center (6.9 mi/11.1 km)
  • Wailua River State Park (19.5 mi/31.3 km)
  • Waimea Canyon (24.7 mi/40 km)
Policies and Fees

  • Poipu Beach Athletic Club is open daily except Mondays from 9 AM to 6 PM.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

21.8792 -159.4628
Area served
Koloa, Poipu Beach, Hawaii
Nearby airports
Lihue International Airport - LIH
Area description
Located in the Poipu Resort area on a beautiful sandy swimming beach. Kiahuna Plantation is situated on 35 acres of landscaped lawns and gardens filled with tropical flowers. Great for families, golfers, and tennis buffs. This condominium resort features a "Super Pool" with water slide and several championship tennis courts. It is across the street from the Poipu Shopping Village which features a variety of restaurants and shops. Poipu Beach was named in the "Top 10 Most Romantic Getaways" from USA Today.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows Rooms

1 Bedroom/ 1 Bath Garden View
View of tropical trees and shrubs; 1 king or 1 queen, and 1 sofa bed; each suite has been individually furnished and designed to create a unique setting.
1 Bedroom/1 Bath Garden View Deluxe
View of tropical flowers, fruit trees, and shrubs; fronting green lawns and cactus gardens; 1 king or 1 queen, and 1 sofa bed; each suite has been individually furnished and designed to create a unique setting.
1 Bedroom/1 Bath Garden View Paradise
Surrounded by plumeria trees, hibiscus shrubs, and bougainvillea vines; located in the middle of 35 acres of landscaped lawns; 1 king or 1 queen, and 1 sofa bed; each suite has been individually furnished and designed to create a unique setting.
1 Bedroom /1 Bath Partial Ocean View
Anywhere from 100 to 200 yards from the ocean; on the top floors with a partial ocean view; 1 king or 1 queen, and 1 sofa bed; each suite has been individually furnished and designed to create a unique setting.
1 Bedroom/1 Bath Ocean View
Horizon ocean views overlooking landscaped lawns or the lagoon; 1 king or 1 queen, and 1 sofa bed; each suite has been individually furnished and designed to create a unique setting.
1 Bedroom/1 Bath Beachfront
White-sand beach right outside your door; 1 king or 1 queen, and 1 sofa bed; each suite has been individually furnished and designed to create a unique setting.
2 Bedroom/2 Bath Garden View Deluxe
View of tropical flowers, fruit trees, and shrubs, fronting green lawns and cactus gardens; split-level with bedrooms and bathrooms on the bottom level, and fully-equipped kitchen, dining area, and living room on top level; 1 king or 1 queen in master bedroom, 2 twins in second bedroom, plus 1 queen sofa bed in living room; each suite has been individually furnished and designed to create a unique setting.
2 Bedroom/2 Bath Garden View Paradise
Surrounded by plumeria trees, hibiscus shrubs, and bougainvillea vines; located in the middle of the property featuring a wide expanse of lawn; split-level with bedrooms and bathrooms on the bottom level, and fully-equipped kitchen, dining area, and living room on top level;1 king or 1 queen in master bedroom, 2 twins in second bedroom, plus 1 queen sofa bed in living room; each suite has been individually furnished and designed to create a unique setting.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Pool
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Restaurant
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking

Dining

Plantation Garden Restaurant
Located within the resort - Open for Dinner/Cocktails.
Casa Blanca Restaurant
Across the street at the Kiahuna Swim & Tennis Club - Open for Lunch and Dinner.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (119)

Ratings and reviews for Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
119 out of 119
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.9

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Orange, CA
Oct 21, 2009

A Taste of Old Hawaii

We had an amazing 5 days of snorkeling, swimming, eating with the locals and just relazing. When we checked in we asked if we could upgrade to an ocean front room and we got room #5 which was right on the beach. The beach was soft with white sand and we swam for hours at a time. We hardly left the property/room; it was so convenient to the beach and walking distance to the Sheraton and other local bars. The staff was extremely helpful and polite. We thought the room was nicely furnished and the grounds were simply beautiful. We plan to come again in May and hope to get the same room. I can't wait to return!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

We asked the locals where they liked to eat and so we tried a few recommendations. We really enjoyed the combo lunch plate at Koloa Fish House (Lau lau and the seared ahi), Mark's Place (the special plate and Moco Loco), Imu Hut (fried or tery chicken) and the breakfast at Tip Top Restaurant (banana macadamia nut pancakes with guava/pineapple syrup). These were more "local" eateries yet the experience was awesome.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Oahu Resident
Honolulu, HI
Oct 13, 2009

The room was very nice

We had a great time. The beach was within walking distance from our garden view room and there is a great childrens beach, just one street over, where turtles feed and a seal comes out for rest

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

The Plantation Restaurant was excellent. Classy restaurant, beautiful garden, great picture spot..and food is tasty too.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
chicago
Sep 29, 2009

convienient meet grandma house

great location! one block from poipu but vintage circa 1950's also met with a roach upon arrival. Good for large groups, beach access, great restaurants nearby

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
English Teacher and Electrical Engineer
Phoenix, AZ
Sep 14, 2009

Impressive!

I loved that the condo had everything--even a boogie board. It was a short walk to the beach, nearby shopping, and activities in the area. It was also quiet, so it was easy to relax with a book and sleep in the sun! I wish I could live there!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Take the time to see the canyon. It is worth three hours. Make certain you see the last two lookouts. I was able to take the famous cliff-overlooking-the-ocean-with-a-rainbow picture.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Newley Weds Most Wonderful Memories
Westminster, Colorado
Sep 3, 2009

The Best Honeymoon Getaway

To describe this experience in Poipu and this wonderful place they call Kiahuana Plantation and Beach Bungalows is exceptionally hard to do.....we were VERY IMPRESSED with our private, wonderfully decorated room , we were awed by the gardens and the closeness of the beach! We would recommend this hotel to each and every person who asks "where would we find a nice place to stay" while we're in Kauai.....in fact, we are coming back next August along with our daughter and brother......we can't thank you enough for you making our 2009 Honeymoon the best we could of ever asked for! Kiahuana Plantations and Beach Bungalows ROCK!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ESS1&2
Kaneohe, HI
Aug 30, 2009

Very enjoyable. Family loved it!

Our very short (3 days) visit did not allow for the pool/gym because we wanted to sightsee and enjoy the beautiful beach. It was the quality not the quantity of days that mattered. My family and I simply enjoyed the quiet getaway and would definitely consider returning again one day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Colorado
Aug 20, 2009

A great place!

A wonderful place to stay! The beach amenities are outstanding. The location is amazing. Being able to enjoy the ocean from the beach or the lawn is ideal. The only downside for us was that since our condo was not a beach front condo the decor was very outdated and was not as clean as expected. Overall, I still highly recommend this place to everyone!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Birmingham, AL
Aug 10, 2009

Kiahuna Plantation

This location is close to a great beach with a large sandy area. The furnishings were a little dated, but the condo was clean and the kitchen was well equipped. We were in a 1 bedroom with a sofa bed; when you have to leave the shutters open between den and bdrm to keep the breeze moving, there is not a lot of privacy or quiet. The staff of the plantation was very friendly and helpful. The pool was not very clean, and it closed at 6:00, with the waterslide shut down at 5:30. There are a couple of local grocery stores nearby, but they are pricey! If there are things you can use a lot of, it is worth the trip by Costco on your way in from the airport. There are plenty of shops nearby for clothes or trinkets. I would stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
santa rosa, ca
Aug 3, 2009

great beach, great condo, great time

Really efficient, attactive condo unit. Beautiful view. Poipu beach is a 5 minute walk and is gorgeous. I think Hanalei or Princeville is probably a better summer destination but Poipu was great. I pool would have been nice since Poipu beaches can be really rough in summer. The "advertised" pool at the tennis club is mediocre at best.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

If you go to Kauai do the Steelgrass Chocolate Farm tour (all ages will enjoy it I guarantee) and the Kauai Backcountry Adventures tubing trip (you must book in advance from home). Its a blast.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Portland, OR
Jul 26, 2009

Hawaii Vacation

*Located close to the beach, restaurants, and shopping *Air conditioning would have helped, especially at night

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search