$162 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 6, 2014 Check-out: Nov 9, 2014

Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows

3 stars
2253-B Poipu Road, East Entrance, Koloa, HI 96756
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
120 reviews
Fabulous

Great accommodations. The staff was courteous. The place was very clean and beautiful. See full review

  • Maya8Zephyr
  • May 26, 2014
Kiahuna is our family's favorite vacation condo

Our family has been staying at the Kiahuna Plantation for over 20 years. This year we opted to buy... See full review

  • Steve in rainy Seattle
  • Oct 13, 2013
Poipu condominiums cater to golfers and beach lovers
The 35-acre Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows embraces its sugar plantation heritage while adding contemporary touches. Gardens and koi ponds surround a historic home, now the resort's restaurant. Low-rise buildings house one- and two-bedroom condominiums among acres of manicured lawn splashed with vivid hues of plumeria and bougainvillea. Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows is relaxed and breezy with quiet spots for doing nothing at all, but when it is time for fun, Poipu Beach is just steps away.

Castle guests can also have fun at Poipu Beach Athletic Club. Visitors can take a dip in the 82,000 gallon resort-style pool with slide, play lawn tennis at 10 tennis courts, work out at the fitness center with separate weight and cardio rooms, and enjoy relaxing treatments at the 1,600 gallon spa with hydrotherapy jets.

Highlights
  • Beach Activity Center
  • Kiahuna Golf Club
  • On-site restaurant
  • Free high-speed Internet access
Location
Poipu Beach is a Hawaii vacation dream beach.  Within a one-mile stretch you can swim, boogie board, snorkel, scuba and learn to surf, and Poipu Beach Park is the ideal spot for young families. Exploring the west and east coasts of Kauai is easy from here.
Rooms
The Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows resort has 333 one- and two-bedroom condominiums in three-story walk-up buildings. The individually furnished condominiums have Hawaiian-themed decor, and all include a fully equipped kitchen, private lanai, sleep sofa in the living room and daily housekeeping service. Units range from 880 to 1,770 square feet.
Features
This is an excellent resort for families, golfers and beach lovers. Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows has its own Beach Activity Center where guests can rent snorkels, fins and boogie boards by the day or week. Rather not take time away from beach lounging to shop? The Grocery Guys will shop for guests and deliver the goods to their condominium while guests are out having fun. And if the mood strikes to have a family barbecue, fire up the community grills.
Dining
Plantation Gardens restaurant, surrounded by flowering gardens and 60-year-old koi ponds, is on-site at Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows, and open for dinner and cocktails. Set in a former plantation home, the restaurant serves up authentic plantation ambiance with its Pacific Rim and Hawaiian cuisine.
Recreation
  • Resort golf course just down the road
Transportation
  • Lihue Airport (15 mi/24.1 km)
  • Taxis and other transportation services available
Attractions
  • Kiahuna Golf Club (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • Spouting Horn Beach Park (2.6 mi/4.2 km)
  • Kauai Coffee Company Plantation Visitor Center (6.9 mi/11.1 km)
  • Wailua River State Park (19.5 mi/31.3 km)
  • Waimea Canyon (24.7 mi/40 km)
Policies and Fees

  • Poipu Beach Athletic Club is open daily except Mondays from 9 AM to 6 PM.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

21.8792 -159.4628
Area served
Koloa, Poipu Beach, Hawaii
Nearby airports
Lihue International Airport - LIH
Area description
Located in the Poipu Resort area on a beautiful sandy swimming beach. Kiahuna Plantation is situated on 35 acres of landscaped lawns and gardens filled with tropical flowers. Great for families, golfers, and tennis buffs. This condominium resort features a "Super Pool" with water slide and several championship tennis courts. It is across the street from the Poipu Shopping Village which features a variety of restaurants and shops. Poipu Beach was named in the "Top 10 Most Romantic Getaways" from USA Today.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows Rooms

1 Bedroom/ 1 Bath Garden View
View of tropical trees and shrubs; 1 king or 1 queen, and 1 sofa bed; each suite has been individually furnished and designed to create a unique setting.
1 Bedroom/1 Bath Garden View Deluxe
View of tropical flowers, fruit trees, and shrubs; fronting green lawns and cactus gardens; 1 king or 1 queen, and 1 sofa bed; each suite has been individually furnished and designed to create a unique setting.
1 Bedroom/1 Bath Garden View Paradise
Surrounded by plumeria trees, hibiscus shrubs, and bougainvillea vines; located in the middle of 35 acres of landscaped lawns; 1 king or 1 queen, and 1 sofa bed; each suite has been individually furnished and designed to create a unique setting.
1 Bedroom /1 Bath Partial Ocean View
Anywhere from 100 to 200 yards from the ocean; on the top floors with a partial ocean view; 1 king or 1 queen, and 1 sofa bed; each suite has been individually furnished and designed to create a unique setting.
1 Bedroom/1 Bath Ocean View
Horizon ocean views overlooking landscaped lawns or the lagoon; 1 king or 1 queen, and 1 sofa bed; each suite has been individually furnished and designed to create a unique setting.
1 Bedroom/1 Bath Beachfront
White-sand beach right outside your door; 1 king or 1 queen, and 1 sofa bed; each suite has been individually furnished and designed to create a unique setting.
2 Bedroom/2 Bath Garden View Deluxe
View of tropical flowers, fruit trees, and shrubs, fronting green lawns and cactus gardens; split-level with bedrooms and bathrooms on the bottom level, and fully-equipped kitchen, dining area, and living room on top level; 1 king or 1 queen in master bedroom, 2 twins in second bedroom, plus 1 queen sofa bed in living room; each suite has been individually furnished and designed to create a unique setting.
2 Bedroom/2 Bath Garden View Paradise
Surrounded by plumeria trees, hibiscus shrubs, and bougainvillea vines; located in the middle of the property featuring a wide expanse of lawn; split-level with bedrooms and bathrooms on the bottom level, and fully-equipped kitchen, dining area, and living room on top level;1 king or 1 queen in master bedroom, 2 twins in second bedroom, plus 1 queen sofa bed in living room; each suite has been individually furnished and designed to create a unique setting.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Pool
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Restaurant
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking

Dining

Plantation Garden Restaurant
Located within the resort - Open for Dinner/Cocktails.
Casa Blanca Restaurant
Across the street at the Kiahuna Swim & Tennis Club - Open for Lunch and Dinner.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (120)

Ratings and reviews for Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
120 out of 120
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.9

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mimilvx
Business
Royal Oak, MI
Oct 8, 2010

Vacation with a View

The location was beautiful and the grounds were kept up extremely well. However that included being woken up at 6:25 every morning by the sprinklers going off (but who wants to waste daylight in Hawaii anyway?) and there was the one day of the week that the sound of lawnmowers filled the air, but all in all it was pretty and relatively serene. Twice there were other guest who didn't pay attention to the quiet time after 10:00pm & were drinking & partying loudly and when we told the staff at 2:30 in the morning they really didn't do anything about it. I don't think people realize how easily sound travels from your lanai and even regular conversations are amplified throughout the place so if you're looking for peace and quiet, you won't find it here. Cooking smells are extraordinarily strong and travel too. most often this was a wonderful thing but when you had a neighbor using copious amounts of something you don't personally care for, the smell would linger and haunt your area for a day or 2. The location was within walking distance to a great shopping center with a Starbucks(a must), great restaurants, and lots more. The snorkeling in front at the beach was OK, since hurricane Iniki hit the reef is still trying to make a comeback, but there were lots of fish, a couple of large sea turtles and I even saw a sand shark my first day there. I ate at the Plantation restaurant and was sick for 24 hours after so we didn't go back there. The best thing we did (we're in our mid fifties) is fly with Birds In Paradise for an hour trip which takes you through Knudsin pass into the center of the island and into the old volcano cone (awesome and beyond words).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Poipu Shopping Center

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SueWorks
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Sep 23, 2010

Nice But ...

We were in Oahu, staying with friends and thought about a mini-vacation within a vacation. I found a lower priced but Starred hotel - turned out it was condos. The place was clean overall - except for the dead bugs on the bathroom lights. The staff was nice but you got the feeling they were in it for a sale. We just wanted a clean, nice place to rest for two nights. I might recommend this place to others but it would depend. Also, the unit we were in had an almost clinically hard bed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Fish Market in Koloa - if you like local foods, not fancy, try the plate lunches here. They close at 6 so be early.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Santa Clara, CA
Aug 17, 2010

Kauai

Not stuffy in the least. Has a fully equipped kitchen if you choose to use it. Extremely relaxing, easy beach access. Central on the island for day trips. Also the best weather on the island is in the Poipu area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hickory, North Carolina
Jul 10, 2010

Visiting Family

My family and I really enjoyed the place. I was kind of like home away from home. The only thing that we did not like was that their customers had to pay to do laudry and use the internet. I think that for styaing there that these sould be complimentary for their customers. Other than that the veiw was great and the people that worked there was SUPER nice. I would definatly go back!!!!!!!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There was dining, shopping, and entertainment all within short walks of each other.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
VA
Jul 9, 2010

Easy and enjoyable

Restful and relaxing. Nice comfortable place in a great location near the beach and shopping. No extra charges for internet or parking. Felt like home.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Just walk across the road for a selection of great places to eat or stop by the general store for supplies. Also a good place ( brennecke's) down by the beach.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington State
Jun 7, 2010

Fantastic!

The rooms were very clean and well ventilated to allow plenty of air. Nice large tub and great water pressure. Nicely stocked kitchen with all utensils and pans necessary. We even had snoreling gear and an air mattress which helped as the hide-a-bed was not too comfortable. (they never are though)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Definately book with Blue Dolphin for your catamaran/snorkeling trip. The staff are wonderful!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
CO
Apr 6, 2010

Kihuanna

great place, great location, great service! However, when we made our reservations in Dec., we upgraded to ocean view, however our room wasn't an ocean view. The hotel moved us to a great room, with view, after 3 night, with 3 to go. The upgrade was quite epensive ($100) per night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Something for everyone! We like to stay on thebeach!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
So. Calif.
Mar 27, 2010

Great Kauai experience

Very enjoyful, our fourth of fifth stay, and always excellant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chuck and Trudy
Business
Maple Ridge BC
Mar 22, 2010

Our Kauai stay

We upgraded to a Garden View room away from the road so that we were not disturbed by road noise. Thanks to several comments by previous renters. Overall experience as first time condo users,very positive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Allen clan
Business
Anchorage, AK
Mar 12, 2010

Kiahuna Plantation 2/25/2010

Housekeeping staff kept a lookout for our daughter's lost "blankie" that we thought was mistakenly taken with the laundry. We found it under the car seat, but they called back twice checking up on it- very nice service. The grounds were gorgeous, great orchid garden and ponds. We would stay here again if staying in the Poipu area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Snorkeling at Poipu Beach Park and Lawai Beach- better shore snorkeling than paying to go out on a boat.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top