$161 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 18, 2014 Check-out: Aug 19, 2014

Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows

3 stars
2253-B Poipu Road, East Entrance, Koloa, HI 96756
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
190 reviews
Fabulous

Great accommodations. The staff was courteous. The place was very clean and beautiful. See full review

  • Maya8Zephyr
  • May 26, 2014
Kiahuna is our family's favorite vacation condo

Our family has been staying at the Kiahuna Plantation for over 20 years. This year we opted to buy... See full review

  • Steve in rainy Seattle
  • Oct 13, 2013
Poipu condominiums cater to golfers and beach lovers
The 35-acre Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows embraces its sugar plantation heritage while adding contemporary touches. Gardens and koi ponds surround a historic home, now the resort's restaurant. Low-rise buildings house one- and two-bedroom condominiums among acres of manicured lawn splashed with vivid hues of plumeria and bougainvillea. Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows is relaxed and breezy with quiet spots for doing nothing at all, but when it is time for fun, Poipu Beach is just steps away.

Castle guests can also have fun at Poipu Beach Athletic Club. Visitors can take a dip in the 82,000 gallon resort-style pool with slide, play lawn tennis at 10 tennis courts, work out at the fitness center with separate weight and cardio rooms, and enjoy relaxing treatments at the 1,600 gallon spa with hydrotherapy jets.

Highlights
  • Beach Activity Center
  • Kiahuna Golf Club
  • On-site restaurant
  • Free high-speed Internet access
Location
Poipu Beach is a Hawaii vacation dream beach.  Within a one-mile stretch you can swim, boogie board, snorkel, scuba and learn to surf, and Poipu Beach Park is the ideal spot for young families. Exploring the west and east coasts of Kauai is easy from here.
Rooms
The Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows resort has 333 one- and two-bedroom condominiums in three-story walk-up buildings. The individually furnished condominiums have Hawaiian-themed decor, and all include a fully equipped kitchen, private lanai, sleep sofa in the living room and daily housekeeping service. Units range from 880 to 1,770 square feet.
Features
This is an excellent resort for families, golfers and beach lovers. Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows has its own Beach Activity Center where guests can rent snorkels, fins and boogie boards by the day or week. Rather not take time away from beach lounging to shop? The Grocery Guys will shop for guests and deliver the goods to their condominium while guests are out having fun. And if the mood strikes to have a family barbecue, fire up the community grills.
Dining
Plantation Gardens restaurant, surrounded by flowering gardens and 60-year-old koi ponds, is on-site at Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows, and open for dinner and cocktails. Set in a former plantation home, the restaurant serves up authentic plantation ambiance with its Pacific Rim and Hawaiian cuisine.
Recreation
  • Resort golf course just down the road
Transportation
  • Lihue Airport (15 mi/24.1 km)
  • Taxis and other transportation services available
Attractions
  • Kiahuna Golf Club (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • Spouting Horn Beach Park (2.6 mi/4.2 km)
  • Kauai Coffee Company Plantation Visitor Center (6.9 mi/11.1 km)
  • Wailua River State Park (19.5 mi/31.3 km)
  • Waimea Canyon (24.7 mi/40 km)
Policies and Fees

  • Poipu Beach Athletic Club is open daily except Mondays from 9 AM to 6 PM.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

21.8792 -159.4628
Area served
Koloa, Poipu Beach, Hawaii
Nearby airports
Lihue International Airport - LIH
Area description
Located in the Poipu Resort area on a beautiful sandy swimming beach. Kiahuna Plantation is situated on 35 acres of landscaped lawns and gardens filled with tropical flowers. Great for families, golfers, and tennis buffs. This condominium resort features a "Super Pool" with water slide and several championship tennis courts. It is across the street from the Poipu Shopping Village which features a variety of restaurants and shops. Poipu Beach was named in the "Top 10 Most Romantic Getaways" from USA Today.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows Rooms

1 Bedroom/ 1 Bath Garden View
View of tropical trees and shrubs; 1 king or 1 queen, and 1 sofa bed; each suite has been individually furnished and designed to create a unique setting.
1 Bedroom/1 Bath Garden View Deluxe
View of tropical flowers, fruit trees, and shrubs; fronting green lawns and cactus gardens; 1 king or 1 queen, and 1 sofa bed; each suite has been individually furnished and designed to create a unique setting.
1 Bedroom/1 Bath Garden View Paradise
Surrounded by plumeria trees, hibiscus shrubs, and bougainvillea vines; located in the middle of 35 acres of landscaped lawns; 1 king or 1 queen, and 1 sofa bed; each suite has been individually furnished and designed to create a unique setting.
1 Bedroom /1 Bath Partial Ocean View
Anywhere from 100 to 200 yards from the ocean; on the top floors with a partial ocean view; 1 king or 1 queen, and 1 sofa bed; each suite has been individually furnished and designed to create a unique setting.
1 Bedroom/1 Bath Ocean View
Horizon ocean views overlooking landscaped lawns or the lagoon; 1 king or 1 queen, and 1 sofa bed; each suite has been individually furnished and designed to create a unique setting.
1 Bedroom/1 Bath Beachfront
White-sand beach right outside your door; 1 king or 1 queen, and 1 sofa bed; each suite has been individually furnished and designed to create a unique setting.
2 Bedroom/2 Bath Garden View Deluxe
View of tropical flowers, fruit trees, and shrubs, fronting green lawns and cactus gardens; split-level with bedrooms and bathrooms on the bottom level, and fully-equipped kitchen, dining area, and living room on top level; 1 king or 1 queen in master bedroom, 2 twins in second bedroom, plus 1 queen sofa bed in living room; each suite has been individually furnished and designed to create a unique setting.
2 Bedroom/2 Bath Garden View Paradise
Surrounded by plumeria trees, hibiscus shrubs, and bougainvillea vines; located in the middle of the property featuring a wide expanse of lawn; split-level with bedrooms and bathrooms on the bottom level, and fully-equipped kitchen, dining area, and living room on top level;1 king or 1 queen in master bedroom, 2 twins in second bedroom, plus 1 queen sofa bed in living room; each suite has been individually furnished and designed to create a unique setting.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Pool
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Restaurant
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking

Dining

Plantation Garden Restaurant
Located within the resort - Open for Dinner/Cocktails.
Casa Blanca Restaurant
Across the street at the Kiahuna Swim & Tennis Club - Open for Lunch and Dinner.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (190)

Ratings and reviews for Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
190 out of 190
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LeiHali'a
San Diego
Aug 4, 2011

The view to die for!

Castle Kiahuna Plantations was simply amazing. The view from our lanai was just gorgeous!! It was so nice to come home to our home away from home right after spending some time on the beach. It was clean and very spacious. The bed was so comfortable, that I had no trouble falling asleep. Of course, the roosters would wake me up early in the morning, but that's ok because it meant we had more to do that day. What was even perfect was hearing the island music at night. Poipu Shopping Village was right across the street, and Puka Dogs and Keoki's Paradise were so onolicious!! You can't beat the free entertainment either on Tuesday and Thursday afternoon. I really didn't want to come back home. If we have the opportunity again, I'd love to stay in the same condo complex, hopefully the same room even! Beautiful Kaua'i:)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

You could get your Macademia nut pancakes at Poipu Burgers, Puka Dogs for lunch, and yummy seafood dinners at Keoki's Paradise. Oh and don't pass up the Hula Pie. Onolicious!!

Review of Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Portland, Oregon
Aug 2, 2011

Awesome Place

Lovely place. I couldn't have hoped for better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Poipu beach. Snorkeling is awesome.

Review of Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Portland, Oregon
Aug 2, 2011

Awesome Place

Lovely place. I couldn't have hoped for better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Poipu beach. Snorkeling is awesome.

Review of Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Redwood City, CA
Jul 25, 2011

Very nice, but...

We stayed there for a week during our honeymoon. We had one of the Garden View Paradise units. It was very nice - roomy for the 2 of us. Our patio looked out mostly at trees and lawn, plus other units. The beach was a short walk from there. They had towels & beach chairs handy. The kitchen was fine, though we used it mostly for breakfasts and snacks & drinks in the evening. Several restaurants right nearby. The on-site restaurant only serves dinner, so no breakfasts. Also, no concessions (food/drinks) were available by the beach. Both would have been nice. The only downside was the noise, particularly in the mornings. I expect that this was because there was no air conditioning so we had all the windows open and fans going all the time. The acoustics were such that we could hear everything in out unit. One morning we heard someone cracking an ice cube tray and it sounded like it was in our kitchen. The sprinklers came on early every morning, even when it rained almost every night. We heard children up at 6:30am several mornings. And our bedroom window faced a utility closet that housekeeping went in and out of before 8am. Plus, of course, the rain (which was heavy several nights) and the birds chirping early in the morning. This didn't ruin our stay there, but it did make us laugh about how noisy the place was. Overall, we enjoyed staying there - mostly for the beach. What we wanted was a nice place to relax and enjoy Kauai. But be aware that this is not a full-service hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Redwood City, CA
Jul 25, 2011

Very nice, but...

We stayed there for a week during our honeymoon. We had one of the Garden View Paradise units. It was very nice - roomy for the 2 of us. Our patio looked out mostly at trees and lawn, plus other units. The beach was a short walk from there. They had towels & beach chairs handy. The kitchen was fine, though we used it mostly for breakfasts and snacks & drinks in the evening. Several restaurants right nearby. The on-site restaurant only serves dinner, so no breakfasts. Also, no concessions (food/drinks) were available by the beach. Both would have been nice. The only downside was the noise, particularly in the mornings. I expect that this was because there was no air conditioning so we had all the windows open and fans going all the time. The acoustics were such that we could hear everything in out unit. One morning we heard someone cracking an ice cube tray and it sounded like it was in our kitchen. The sprinklers came on early every morning, even when it rained almost every night. We heard children up at 6:30am several mornings. And our bedroom window faced a utility closet that housekeeping went in and out of before 8am. Plus, of course, the rain (which was heavy several nights) and the birds chirping early in the morning. This didn't ruin our stay there, but it did make us laugh about how noisy the place was. Overall, we enjoyed staying there - mostly for the beach. What we wanted was a nice place to relax and enjoy Kauai. But be aware that this is not a full-service hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Hong kong
Jul 14, 2011

Paradise!

We really enjoyed the beach, Waimea Canyon and the botanical gardens.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Pukka Dogs hot dogs taste great .

Review of Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Hong kong
Jul 14, 2011

Paradise!

We really enjoyed the beach, Waimea Canyon and the botanical gardens.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Pukka Dogs hot dogs taste great .

Review of Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Gabriel, CA
Jul 6, 2011

Great place for family fun

Accommodations were perfect for families - fully equiped kitchen, large enough for several family members.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Beach, swimming and tennis were close by. Some restaurants were also a short distance. Large shopping center about 20-30 minutes away.

Review of Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Gabriel, CA
Jul 6, 2011

Great place for family fun

Accommodations were perfect for families - fully equiped kitchen, large enough for several family members.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Beach, swimming and tennis were close by. Some restaurants were also a short distance. Large shopping center about 20-30 minutes away.

Review of Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Haole boy
oviedo, fl
Jul 2, 2011

amazing

Hotel was newly renovated with granite counter tops,new appliances two flat screen tv`s and tiled floors rm 421.The grounds were amazing as was the beach where you could snorkle and surf.staff were friendly and helpful.Buy "the ultimate kauai guidebook"by Andrew Doughty and do as much as you can in two weeks, like we did. mahalo

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

shop at costco or walmart in Lihue if you can, food in small food markets is very expensive

Back to menu Return to top