$164 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 13, 2015 Check-out: Jul 14, 2015

Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows

3 stars
View map of 2253-B Poipu Road, East Entrance, Koloa, HI 96756

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
132 out of 132
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.9

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MissingKailua88
Business
Rohnert Park, CA
Aug 24, 2011

Family with teen boys

We had a one bedroom (#309) that was offered for sleeping four. This condo, while pleasant, could really use wireless internet and some better bedding. There was a nice king bed, a sofabed and a "futon". The futon was similar to a long, thin chaise lounge cushion. We put it on top of the chaise lounge from the lanai instead of the floor. Our very tall teenage sons traded the sofabed and futon/lounge chair every night. They weren't very comfortable on either one. I think this condo is best advertised to sleep three, unless two small children use the sofabed. There is only one wired internet connection in the room, not fun for teens who like to talk online to friends at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Our sons like milk, which is expensive in Hawaii. Stop at Costco for milk after your flight lands.

Review of Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MissingKailua88
Business
Rohnert Park, CA
Aug 24, 2011

Family with teen boys

We had a one bedroom (#309) that was offered for sleeping four. This condo, while pleasant, could really use wireless internet and some better bedding. There was a nice king bed, a sofabed and a "futon". The futon was similar to a long, thin chaise lounge cushion. We put it on top of the chaise lounge from the lanai instead of the floor. Our very tall teenage sons traded the sofabed and futon/lounge chair every night. They weren't very comfortable on either one. I think this condo is best advertised to sleep three, unless two small children use the sofabed. There is only one wired internet connection in the room, not fun for teens who like to talk online to friends at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Our sons like milk, which is expensive in Hawaii. Stop at Costco for milk after your flight lands.

Review of Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Frenchies
Business
Los Altos, CA
Aug 15, 2011

Wonderful setting

We loved the nice spacious grounds just steps from the beach. The rooms were comfortable and contained everything needed for a pleasurable stay (dvd, internet, equiped kitchen - even a full sized oven). The only two drawbacks were the distance to the pool (across the main road) and the lack of privacy in the bedroom (louvered door and window between the bedroom and livingroom).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Buy your groceries in Koloa at Big Save and you will pay less than in Poipu.

Review of Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LeiHali'a
Business
San Diego
Aug 4, 2011

The view to die for!

Castle Kiahuna Plantations was simply amazing. The view from our lanai was just gorgeous!! It was so nice to come home to our home away from home right after spending some time on the beach. It was clean and very spacious. The bed was so comfortable, that I had no trouble falling asleep. Of course, the roosters would wake me up early in the morning, but that's ok because it meant we had more to do that day. What was even perfect was hearing the island music at night. Poipu Shopping Village was right across the street, and Puka Dogs and Keoki's Paradise were so onolicious!! You can't beat the free entertainment either on Tuesday and Thursday afternoon. I really didn't want to come back home. If we have the opportunity again, I'd love to stay in the same condo complex, hopefully the same room even! Beautiful Kaua'i:)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

You could get your Macademia nut pancakes at Poipu Burgers, Puka Dogs for lunch, and yummy seafood dinners at Keoki's Paradise. Oh and don't pass up the Hula Pie. Onolicious!!

Review of Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Portland, Oregon
Aug 2, 2011

Awesome Place

Lovely place. I couldn't have hoped for better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Poipu beach. Snorkeling is awesome.

Review of Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Redwood City, CA
Jul 25, 2011

Very nice, but...

We stayed there for a week during our honeymoon. We had one of the Garden View Paradise units. It was very nice - roomy for the 2 of us. Our patio looked out mostly at trees and lawn, plus other units. The beach was a short walk from there. They had towels & beach chairs handy. The kitchen was fine, though we used it mostly for breakfasts and snacks & drinks in the evening. Several restaurants right nearby. The on-site restaurant only serves dinner, so no breakfasts. Also, no concessions (food/drinks) were available by the beach. Both would have been nice. The only downside was the noise, particularly in the mornings. I expect that this was because there was no air conditioning so we had all the windows open and fans going all the time. The acoustics were such that we could hear everything in out unit. One morning we heard someone cracking an ice cube tray and it sounded like it was in our kitchen. The sprinklers came on early every morning, even when it rained almost every night. We heard children up at 6:30am several mornings. And our bedroom window faced a utility closet that housekeeping went in and out of before 8am. Plus, of course, the rain (which was heavy several nights) and the birds chirping early in the morning. This didn't ruin our stay there, but it did make us laugh about how noisy the place was. Overall, we enjoyed staying there - mostly for the beach. What we wanted was a nice place to relax and enjoy Kauai. But be aware that this is not a full-service hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hong kong
Jul 14, 2011

Paradise!

We really enjoyed the beach, Waimea Canyon and the botanical gardens.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Pukka Dogs hot dogs taste great .

Review of Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Gabriel, CA
Jul 6, 2011

Great place for family fun

Accommodations were perfect for families - fully equiped kitchen, large enough for several family members.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Beach, swimming and tennis were close by. Some restaurants were also a short distance. Large shopping center about 20-30 minutes away.

Review of Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Haole boy
Business
oviedo, fl
Jul 2, 2011

amazing

Hotel was newly renovated with granite counter tops,new appliances two flat screen tv`s and tiled floors rm 421.The grounds were amazing as was the beach where you could snorkle and surf.staff were friendly and helpful.Buy "the ultimate kauai guidebook"by Andrew Doughty and do as much as you can in two weeks, like we did. mahalo

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

shop at costco or walmart in Lihue if you can, food in small food markets is very expensive

Review of Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Thenewlyweds!
Business
Kansas
Jun 23, 2011

Great Kauai getaway

The hotel was very nice, clean and quiet. The nearly constant breeze was nice and made it feel even more tropical. I would stay here again and recommend it anyone wanting a cheaper place to stay than the luxury resorts. We did not have a view of the ocean but were close enough to walk to it. I think we could have upgraded to a room with view but chose not to do so. We enjoyed the deck and made good use of the kitchen. I do wish that the pool & hot-tub did not close at 6pm in the evening, especially since it is located away from the room and would not be a noise problem. Hot-tubs are most enjoyable in the late evening or night so I wish they would keep them open later. I would recommend skipping the sales pitch for tickets to entertainment venues, which is optional, unless you want to pre-purchase those. Overall, we had a very enjoyable time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

We did most activities on our own such as hiking, kayaking, bike riding, etc. There is plenty to do without spending a lot of money for group events with guides.

Back to menu Return to top