$145 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 2, 2014 Check-out: Dec 3, 2014

Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows

3 stars
2253-B Poipu Road, East Entrance, Koloa, HI 96756
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
121 reviews
Fabulous

Great accommodations. The staff was courteous. The place was very clean and beautiful. See full review

  • Maya8Zephyr
  • May 26, 2014
Kiahuna is our family's favorite vacation condo

Our family has been staying at the Kiahuna Plantation for over 20 years. This year we opted to buy... See full review

  • Steve in rainy Seattle
  • Oct 13, 2013
Poipu condominiums cater to golfers and beach lovers
The 35-acre Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows embraces its sugar plantation heritage while adding contemporary touches. Gardens and koi ponds surround a historic home, now the resort's restaurant. Low-rise buildings house one- and two-bedroom condominiums among acres of manicured lawn splashed with vivid hues of plumeria and bougainvillea. Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows is relaxed and breezy with quiet spots for doing nothing at all, but when it is time for fun, Poipu Beach is just steps away.

Castle guests can also have fun at Poipu Beach Athletic Club. Visitors can take a dip in the 82,000 gallon resort-style pool with slide, play lawn tennis at 10 tennis courts, work out at the fitness center with separate weight and cardio rooms, and enjoy relaxing treatments at the 1,600 gallon spa with hydrotherapy jets.

Highlights
  • Beach Activity Center
  • Kiahuna Golf Club
  • On-site restaurant
  • Free high-speed Internet access
Location
Poipu Beach is a Hawaii vacation dream beach.  Within a one-mile stretch you can swim, boogie board, snorkel, scuba and learn to surf, and Poipu Beach Park is the ideal spot for young families. Exploring the west and east coasts of Kauai is easy from here.
Rooms
The Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows resort has 333 one- and two-bedroom condominiums in three-story walk-up buildings. The individually furnished condominiums have Hawaiian-themed decor, and all include a fully equipped kitchen, private lanai, sleep sofa in the living room and daily housekeeping service. Units range from 880 to 1,770 square feet.
Features
This is an excellent resort for families, golfers and beach lovers. Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows has its own Beach Activity Center where guests can rent snorkels, fins and boogie boards by the day or week. Rather not take time away from beach lounging to shop? The Grocery Guys will shop for guests and deliver the goods to their condominium while guests are out having fun. And if the mood strikes to have a family barbecue, fire up the community grills.
Dining
Plantation Gardens restaurant, surrounded by flowering gardens and 60-year-old koi ponds, is on-site at Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows, and open for dinner and cocktails. Set in a former plantation home, the restaurant serves up authentic plantation ambiance with its Pacific Rim and Hawaiian cuisine.
Recreation
  • Resort golf course just down the road
Transportation
  • Lihue Airport (15 mi/24.1 km)
  • Taxis and other transportation services available
Attractions
  • Kiahuna Golf Club (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • Spouting Horn Beach Park (2.6 mi/4.2 km)
  • Kauai Coffee Company Plantation Visitor Center (6.9 mi/11.1 km)
  • Wailua River State Park (19.5 mi/31.3 km)
  • Waimea Canyon (24.7 mi/40 km)
Policies and Fees

  • Poipu Beach Athletic Club is open daily except Mondays from 9 AM to 6 PM.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows Rooms

1 Bedroom/ 1 Bath Garden View
View of tropical trees and shrubs; 1 king or 1 queen, and 1 sofa bed; each suite has been individually furnished and designed to create a unique setting.
1 Bedroom/1 Bath Garden View Deluxe
View of tropical flowers, fruit trees, and shrubs; fronting green lawns and cactus gardens; 1 king or 1 queen, and 1 sofa bed; each suite has been individually furnished and designed to create a unique setting.
1 Bedroom/1 Bath Garden View Paradise
Surrounded by plumeria trees, hibiscus shrubs, and bougainvillea vines; located in the middle of 35 acres of landscaped lawns; 1 king or 1 queen, and 1 sofa bed; each suite has been individually furnished and designed to create a unique setting.
1 Bedroom /1 Bath Partial Ocean View
Anywhere from 100 to 200 yards from the ocean; on the top floors with a partial ocean view; 1 king or 1 queen, and 1 sofa bed; each suite has been individually furnished and designed to create a unique setting.
1 Bedroom/1 Bath Ocean View
Horizon ocean views overlooking landscaped lawns or the lagoon; 1 king or 1 queen, and 1 sofa bed; each suite has been individually furnished and designed to create a unique setting.
1 Bedroom/1 Bath Beachfront
White-sand beach right outside your door; 1 king or 1 queen, and 1 sofa bed; each suite has been individually furnished and designed to create a unique setting.
2 Bedroom/2 Bath Garden View Deluxe
View of tropical flowers, fruit trees, and shrubs, fronting green lawns and cactus gardens; split-level with bedrooms and bathrooms on the bottom level, and fully-equipped kitchen, dining area, and living room on top level; 1 king or 1 queen in master bedroom, 2 twins in second bedroom, plus 1 queen sofa bed in living room; each suite has been individually furnished and designed to create a unique setting.
2 Bedroom/2 Bath Garden View Paradise
Surrounded by plumeria trees, hibiscus shrubs, and bougainvillea vines; located in the middle of the property featuring a wide expanse of lawn; split-level with bedrooms and bathrooms on the bottom level, and fully-equipped kitchen, dining area, and living room on top level;1 king or 1 queen in master bedroom, 2 twins in second bedroom, plus 1 queen sofa bed in living room; each suite has been individually furnished and designed to create a unique setting.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Pool
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Restaurant
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking

Dining

Plantation Garden Restaurant
Located within the resort - Open for Dinner/Cocktails.
Casa Blanca Restaurant
Across the street at the Kiahuna Swim & Tennis Club - Open for Lunch and Dinner.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (121)

Ratings and reviews for Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
121 out of 121
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.9

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Arellano5
Business
Montrose, Ca
Aug 1, 2013

Awesome Family Vacation

We had a wonderful time while at the Castel Kiahuna Plantation. All of our needs were met and we would definately return!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cali Girl to Island Girl
Business
San Diego, California
Jun 25, 2013

Dream Island Wedding Getaway

My stay at the bungalows was overall fantastic! I came to the island for a friend's wedding and what a getaway it was. The staff at the front desk were very accommodating. I simply requested to be moved to a closer room in order to be next to friends staying on the property not expecting them to comply and not only did they manage to do so on a sold out weekend but gave me a room with a great view to boot. I recommend reserving a room with a garden view but asking to be placed on the 3rd floor, that way you get both garden view and a slight ocean view! Some bungalows are more up-to-date than others. And being that it is the island life beware of some small four legged critters...Mr. Geico man every now and then! Show them the way out or hotel security is great in assisting as well!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MelissaKen
Business
Los Angeles
May 3, 2013

Best honeymoon ever!

The location is amazing and the hotel was great! We ate breakfast on the patio each morning, had a delicious dinner at the hotel's restaurant and walked down to the beach to swim, watch the sunsets and drink Lava Flows from the Sheraton's bar next door. It's located in a great spot on the beach, with the spouting horn and some great snorkeling (sea turtles and all kinds of fish) just down the road.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Book the zipline safari with Outfitters Kauai just down the road

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
iamcanadian
Business
vancouver, bc
Apr 6, 2013

Very Family Friendly

We were during March break 2013 and the rate we paid was approx. 180.00 per night which included a car rental. We found that you would want to have a car in order to enjoy the many things to do and see on the island of Kauai. The grounds at the plantation are very well kept and beautiful. The beach area has a wonderful stretch of beach and the beach house offers rentals for boogie boards. I found a lot of families with younger children which I think is ideal as they had lots of grounds where they could freely run around. The only thing that was not ideal was that our unit was just off the main road so we did get the traffic noise, I asked for a alternate unit and I was advised that they were full and the cost we paid would not allow me into any of the other non-road units. (thus the good deal) The only other awkward thing was that the pool was located across the road and not on the grounds. It is also a lot smaller that what it looks like in pictures. This pool is great for smaller children, but small for older kids. I guess it was a inconvenience to pack up the car to go to the pool. Really enjoyed the Poipu area - tranquil and relaxed are the words I would use.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

gluten free bread fresh daily at Living Foods - Poipu gluten free taco - Island Tacos - Waimea gluten free dinner (spoil yourself) - Beach House Poipu gluten free chicken fajita - La Bamba - Lihue Mall

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Average canadian family
Business
Victoria bc
Mar 27, 2013

Love the plantation and Poipou

We love the Poipu beach it is fantastic- we love the garden grounds We enjoy NOT being in a hotel The unit was showing wear and tear. Carpet is not a good choice for the ground floor. Overall the place was clean. We kept the screens and doors shut and kept the shoes out, but housekeeping was very effective. We had requested a ground floor unit four months in advance no action The plantation is fantastic love the beach, saw turtles, and a spanish dancer nudibract.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Coffee roasting cafe kalaheo is amazing go the first morning and every morning after 2560 hwy 50. Aewsommmmmmmmmmmm buns and breakfast

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
KauaiKimJim
Business
AZ
Mar 14, 2013

Be Careful!

We have stayed at the Castle Kiahauna several times and have had mixed experiences. We booked a "Royal garden view" room but upon check-in we found our condo to be much less than royal. The carpet was beyond filthy and had too much furniture crowded into it. Upon complaining, they moved us (after 1 night) to a wonderful clean condo on the other side of the resort with laminate floors. I would think they would inspect these rentals more carefully and clean things up, or notify the owners before they rent them out. So getting a room can be risky...role the dice!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Keoki's across the street is great for a quick meal, or nighlty entertainment.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Snsn
Business
Atlanta
Mar 6, 2013

A nice place in a beautiful setting

We were unable to check in early(which we understood), but by the time we returned that evening we expected to have our 3 heavy bags taken to our room. There was no placement of our bags before check-in and NO offer of assistance to us. There was no mention of there not being an elevator as well. Parking by our bldg was full and we had to park 3 buildings from our site. Overall there were some lacking details for us. The plantings and winding sidewalks made it a beautiful place. l

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Chris and Nora
Business
Colorado
Jan 18, 2013

A bit disappointed

Location is not quite as described. No pool on property - half mile walk to community pool - so we didn't bother going. Appliances are old, our unit needs a good cleaning, shower/tub needs to be replaced. Though we didn't want to - We had to wear shoes to keep our feet clean, no AC - though the tradewinds are pleasant. Shutter style windows - so you can hear your neighbors. A bit of a walk to the beach from our unit. Some units are owned by Outrigger and some by Castle resorts. Roomy lanai. Beautiful cactus garden to walk through. Grill was a bonus and cleaned every day. Very nice staff!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Foodland and Safeway are best bets for groceries! Look up sales flyer online before going to plan purchases!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
thenion
Business
Carlsbad, CA
Nov 29, 2012

Great for the family

The grounds are pristine and laid out well for playing catch, frisbee or tag in between time in the ocean. Lots of children running around and a safe beach right out front for catching a first wave. Sunsets from the grass lawn or 4 steps down on the beach were fantastic with a Mai Tai in hand. It is close to a good mellow year round surf break Waiohai and rental equipment is right there to so save the 150 to 300 buck and hassle of bringing your own boards. The pool and water slide are best for small kids and hot tub was a bit cool but not a major concern. Plenty of eating options within a five minute walk and many more within a mile. We will return to Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows on our next trip to Kauai.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Rent a soft top board and push your little one into there first wave out front

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Steve in rainy Seattle
Business
Seattle, WA
Nov 11, 2012

Our home away from home at Poipu

The resort at the Kiahuna Plantation was a great way to take an economical vacation to the south shore of Kauai. We will be staying there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top