$299 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 15, 2015 Check-out: Jan 18, 2015

Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows

3 stars
2253-B Poipu Road, East Entrance, Koloa, HI 96756
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
121 reviews
Fabulous

Great accommodations. The staff was courteous. The place was very clean and beautiful. See full review

  • Maya8Zephyr
  • May 26, 2014
Kiahuna is our family's favorite vacation condo

Our family has been staying at the Kiahuna Plantation for over 20 years. This year we opted to buy... See full review

  • Steve in rainy Seattle
  • Oct 13, 2013
Poipu condominiums cater to golfers and beach lovers
The 35-acre Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows embraces its sugar plantation heritage while adding contemporary touches. Gardens and koi ponds surround a historic home, now the resort's restaurant. Low-rise buildings house one- and two-bedroom condominiums among acres of manicured lawn splashed with vivid hues of plumeria and bougainvillea. Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows is relaxed and breezy with quiet spots for doing nothing at all, but when it is time for fun, Poipu Beach is just steps away.

Castle guests can also have fun at Poipu Beach Athletic Club. Visitors can take a dip in the 82,000 gallon resort-style pool with slide, play lawn tennis at 10 tennis courts, work out at the fitness center with separate weight and cardio rooms, and enjoy relaxing treatments at the 1,600 gallon spa with hydrotherapy jets.

Highlights
  • Beach Activity Center
  • Kiahuna Golf Club
  • On-site restaurant
  • Free high-speed Internet access
Location
Poipu Beach is a Hawaii vacation dream beach.  Within a one-mile stretch you can swim, boogie board, snorkel, scuba and learn to surf, and Poipu Beach Park is the ideal spot for young families. Exploring the west and east coasts of Kauai is easy from here.
Rooms
The Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows resort has 333 one- and two-bedroom condominiums in three-story walk-up buildings. The individually furnished condominiums have Hawaiian-themed decor, and all include a fully equipped kitchen, private lanai, sleep sofa in the living room and daily housekeeping service. Units range from 880 to 1,770 square feet.
Features
This is an excellent resort for families, golfers and beach lovers. Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows has its own Beach Activity Center where guests can rent snorkels, fins and boogie boards by the day or week. Rather not take time away from beach lounging to shop? The Grocery Guys will shop for guests and deliver the goods to their condominium while guests are out having fun. And if the mood strikes to have a family barbecue, fire up the community grills.
Dining
Plantation Gardens restaurant, surrounded by flowering gardens and 60-year-old koi ponds, is on-site at Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows, and open for dinner and cocktails. Set in a former plantation home, the restaurant serves up authentic plantation ambiance with its Pacific Rim and Hawaiian cuisine.
Recreation
  • Resort golf course just down the road
Transportation
  • Lihue Airport (15 mi/24.1 km)
  • Taxis and other transportation services available
Attractions
  • Kiahuna Golf Club (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • Spouting Horn Beach Park (2.6 mi/4.2 km)
  • Kauai Coffee Company Plantation Visitor Center (6.9 mi/11.1 km)
  • Wailua River State Park (19.5 mi/31.3 km)
  • Waimea Canyon (24.7 mi/40 km)
Policies and Fees

  • Poipu Beach Athletic Club is open daily except Mondays from 9 AM to 6 PM.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows Rooms

1 Bedroom/ 1 Bath Garden View
View of tropical trees and shrubs; 1 king or 1 queen, and 1 sofa bed; each suite has been individually furnished and designed to create a unique setting.
1 Bedroom/1 Bath Garden View Deluxe
View of tropical flowers, fruit trees, and shrubs; fronting green lawns and cactus gardens; 1 king or 1 queen, and 1 sofa bed; each suite has been individually furnished and designed to create a unique setting.
1 Bedroom/1 Bath Garden View Paradise
Surrounded by plumeria trees, hibiscus shrubs, and bougainvillea vines; located in the middle of 35 acres of landscaped lawns; 1 king or 1 queen, and 1 sofa bed; each suite has been individually furnished and designed to create a unique setting.
1 Bedroom /1 Bath Partial Ocean View
Anywhere from 100 to 200 yards from the ocean; on the top floors with a partial ocean view; 1 king or 1 queen, and 1 sofa bed; each suite has been individually furnished and designed to create a unique setting.
1 Bedroom/1 Bath Ocean View
Horizon ocean views overlooking landscaped lawns or the lagoon; 1 king or 1 queen, and 1 sofa bed; each suite has been individually furnished and designed to create a unique setting.
1 Bedroom/1 Bath Beachfront
White-sand beach right outside your door; 1 king or 1 queen, and 1 sofa bed; each suite has been individually furnished and designed to create a unique setting.
2 Bedroom/2 Bath Garden View Deluxe
View of tropical flowers, fruit trees, and shrubs, fronting green lawns and cactus gardens; split-level with bedrooms and bathrooms on the bottom level, and fully-equipped kitchen, dining area, and living room on top level; 1 king or 1 queen in master bedroom, 2 twins in second bedroom, plus 1 queen sofa bed in living room; each suite has been individually furnished and designed to create a unique setting.
2 Bedroom/2 Bath Garden View Paradise
Surrounded by plumeria trees, hibiscus shrubs, and bougainvillea vines; located in the middle of the property featuring a wide expanse of lawn; split-level with bedrooms and bathrooms on the bottom level, and fully-equipped kitchen, dining area, and living room on top level;1 king or 1 queen in master bedroom, 2 twins in second bedroom, plus 1 queen sofa bed in living room; each suite has been individually furnished and designed to create a unique setting.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Pool
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Restaurant
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking

Dining

Plantation Garden Restaurant
Located within the resort - Open for Dinner/Cocktails.
Casa Blanca Restaurant
Across the street at the Kiahuna Swim & Tennis Club - Open for Lunch and Dinner.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (121)

Ratings and reviews for Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
121 out of 121
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.9

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
michigan
Apr 22, 2009

kuaui

the hotel needs updating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Riverside,Ca
Mar 9, 2009

Kiahuna Plantation Poipu Kauai

We Love Kauai and Kiahuna plantation this was are 3rd stay there.Althrough I prefer the outrigger over the Castle, it's the same property just 2 different property managers.The grounds are awesome and your room is steps away from the best snorkling beach in the world! we went on the Capt.Andys sunset cruise to whale watch,we seen several.I will always return to Kiahuna and have referred family and friends!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

luau next store at the Sheraton,you can watch the dancers frm the beach for free,they also have a live band every night

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pleasanton,CA
Mar 3, 2009

OMG

Twentieth wedding anniversary, went back to Kiahuna Plantation where we spent our honeymoon and were able to upgrade to an ocean view room. The staff was great, the room was perfact, the view was incredible.This was better than the first time we stayed there.Watched whales from the beach where we stayed it was amazing.Can't wait to go back and it won't be twenty years.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Toronto
Dec 16, 2008

Bigger Than My Apartment

Although Kauaii was exploding in flash floods and torrential downpours, we had a very comfortable stay at Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows. I am a vegan and eating out can often be difficult; therefore, the fully stocked kitchen was a lifesaver (once we found a grocery store). If the weather had been better, I am sure this would have been a great place to swim and enjoy the beach. There is no pool on sight, but I think guests of this property can access a pool across the street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

If you leave the property from the west gate you will be right across the street from a small shopping mall. We did not discover this until our last day.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Coquitlam
Nov 17, 2008

A reasonable place for a reasonable price

I was not happy when I first arrived. It was not at all what I had expected. I expected much smaller buildings in a quiet location near the beach. My mistake. How satisfied you will be with this hotel will in part depend on your expectations and where you are located within the complex. It is a large property with accommodations ranging from a condo in a three story building about 50 yards from a busy quite noisy road to small three unit buildings with an ocean view and the background lull of the ocean. I personally was very disappointed to find myself in a large building near the road. The interior units were very clean, quite well appointed, and reasonable for the price. I hope they acted on our siting of a little mouse in the first unit. The only restaurant in the resort was quite expensive and we did not eat there, but there were some less expensive restaurants in the small shopping center across the road. Mostly we cooked at home so I can't comment much on the restaurants in the area. The beach was good, and reasonable snorkelling was available just a few minutes walk down to the next beach. The grounds of the complex were quite nice and well kept. The staff were helpful and accommodating. If a pool is important to you this might not be the place to go. The only pool available was located in the tennis club across the busy road. I can't comment on the facility because we did not bother to go to it. I usually do use the pool a couple of times in a resort, but this would have been quite inconvenient. If you are looking for serenity, and quiet this is not the location for you, but it was central and quite close to local shopping - a rental car is a must.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a small shopping center across the road from the resort with an assortment of shops. Mostly fairly expensive. Whaler's general store offered prices comparible and sometimes cheaper on their souvenirs etc. You have to go further afield for groceries.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Martinez
Oct 15, 2008

Great Location

Our resort was beautifully situated near the beach and our room was a short walk away. The grounds were nicely maintained. Our room was nicely decorated and very comfortable, however it was close to the main road and we could hear the local traffic very early in the morning. We also discovered on our 2nd day the unit next door was being renovated and it was very noisy. We asked to be moved, and management wouldn't give us another room at our price, but offered another room at a higher rate. So we took it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Our dinner at the Plantation Gardens Restaurant at our resort was great. The menu is very unique and everything is fresh. Our waiters were very attentive. Make sure you walk around the gardens and koi pond on your visit too.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Albany
Aug 20, 2008

Great for relaxing

This was a very pleasant place to stay- we stayed here for our honeymoon. The staff was very friendly and the location (right on the beach) was AMAZING. There's not much to do in the area, but if you're looking for a place to just kind of relax, you can't do much better than this! There are a few nice restaurants within walking distance and several more within a few minutes' drive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The Big Save supermarket in Koloa Town is great for getting food for cooking meals in-unit. There's a full kitchen and the meals you cook yourself can save lots of money.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles
Jul 17, 2008

very family friendly

Nicely appointed kitchen, bathroom with separate vanity area, 2 sinks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

very nice beaches for swimming and snorkeling, surfing as well

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Apr 11, 2008

Quiet and relaxing visit

The Castle Kiahuna Plantation was a beautiful resort with tropical gardens surrounding our condominium. It was nice to have a full kitchen for our breakfast and lunch needs and was nicely located to the Poipu Village for going out for amazing dinners.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Across the main street from the resort.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Mar 3, 2008

Good Value for the Money

There are two negatives to this resort: (1) some of the buildings back up to the main road and you can hear the traffic at night and in the morning when you are trying to sleep; and (2) the maid service is non-existent. They only provide clean towels and make the bed. They do NOT clean your room for the price. Otherwise, the grounds are very well kept and the rooms are very spacious.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Casablanca restaurant has a great happy hour, there's a SBUX across the street (walking distance) and a great little restaurant (I can't remember the name/across from Roy's) with great food and prices!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top