$149 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 20, 2015 Check-out: Jul 23, 2015

Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows

3 stars
View map of 2253-B Poipu Road, East Entrance, Koloa, HI 96756

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
132 reviews
Fabulous

Great accommodations. The staff was courteous. The place was very clean and beautiful. See full review

  • Maya8Zephyr
  • May 26, 2014
Nice place for great price.

We only stayed at the Kiahuana Plantation Hotel for one night at the end of our vacation but it was... See full review

  • Shescomeundone9
  • Oct 27, 2014
Beachfront on the sunniest sandy swimming beach in Poipu!

Castle Kiahuna Plantation is situated on 35 acres of landscaped lawns and gardens filled with tropical flowers. Great for families, golfers and tennis buffs. Castle Kaihuna exclusively features a custom-designed pool with slide, a and several championship tennis courts, located at the adjacent Poipu Beach Athlectic Club, as well as an on property beach activity center,

Resort features 2 restaurants, Plantation Gardens, activity desk, gas barbeques for family gatherings and movie rentals.

Relax in the seclusion of your suite, uniquely designed, individually furnished, and always with nature right out the window. One and two-bedroom garden view Kauai condo rentals look out to a variety of tropical trees and shrubs. Partial Ocean View suites are mere steps from the ocean. Ocean view Kauai condos mesmerize with blue sea, green lawns and either an all ocean view or one that includes a lagoon. All one and two-bedroom suites provide daily maid service, private lanais or garden terraces, full kitchens, cable TV, VCRs and complimentary in room High Speed Internet access. Special touches like robes, slippers, and upgraded service come with all premier accommodations.

These Kauai condo rentals have it all, including the Kiahuna Golf Club nearby and shopping and dining options across the street at the Poipu Shopping Village.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows Rooms

1 Bedroom/ 1 Bath Garden View
View of tropical trees and shrubs; 1 king or 1 queen, and 1 sofa bed; each suite has been individually furnished and designed to create a unique setting.
1 Bedroom/1 Bath Garden View Deluxe
View of tropical flowers, fruit trees, and shrubs; fronting green lawns and cactus gardens; 1 king or 1 queen, and 1 sofa bed; each suite has been individually furnished and designed to create a unique setting.
1 Bedroom/1 Bath Garden View Paradise
Surrounded by plumeria trees, hibiscus shrubs, and bougainvillea vines; located in the middle of 35 acres of landscaped lawns; 1 king or 1 queen, and 1 sofa bed; each suite has been individually furnished and designed to create a unique setting.
1 Bedroom /1 Bath Partial Ocean View
Anywhere from 100 to 200 yards from the ocean; on the top floors with a partial ocean view; 1 king or 1 queen, and 1 sofa bed; each suite has been individually furnished and designed to create a unique setting.
1 Bedroom/1 Bath Ocean View
Horizon ocean views overlooking landscaped lawns or the lagoon; 1 king or 1 queen, and 1 sofa bed; each suite has been individually furnished and designed to create a unique setting.
1 Bedroom/1 Bath Beachfront
White-sand beach right outside your door; 1 king or 1 queen, and 1 sofa bed; each suite has been individually furnished and designed to create a unique setting.
2 Bedroom/2 Bath Garden View Deluxe
View of tropical flowers, fruit trees, and shrubs, fronting green lawns and cactus gardens; split-level with bedrooms and bathrooms on the bottom level, and fully-equipped kitchen, dining area, and living room on top level; 1 king or 1 queen in master bedroom, 2 twins in second bedroom, plus 1 queen sofa bed in living room; each suite has been individually furnished and designed to create a unique setting.
2 Bedroom/2 Bath Garden View Paradise
Surrounded by plumeria trees, hibiscus shrubs, and bougainvillea vines; located in the middle of the property featuring a wide expanse of lawn; split-level with bedrooms and bathrooms on the bottom level, and fully-equipped kitchen, dining area, and living room on top level;1 king or 1 queen in master bedroom, 2 twins in second bedroom, plus 1 queen sofa bed in living room; each suite has been individually furnished and designed to create a unique setting.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Pool
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Restaurant
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking

Dining

Plantation Garden Restaurant
Located within the resort - Open for Dinner/Cocktails.
Casa Blanca Restaurant
Across the street at the Kiahuna Swim & Tennis Club - Open for Lunch and Dinner.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
132 out of 132
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.9

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Olmsted
Camarillo, California
Jan 21, 2012

Excellent Experience

Had a great time at this hotel, close to ocean. Snorkeling was terrific. Watched whales all day long from the beach at the hotel. Facilities and accommodations were excellent and if I return, I will definitely stay at this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
TnMK
Business
ukiah
Feb 22, 2015

tired but beautiful

We had stayed here before as have several of our friends. Our condo was very clean and comfortable BUT it was tired and dated. The furniture was in poor shape and the bed was too soft and uncomfortable. The hotel staff was eager too please but the other condos they showed us were not in that much better condition They placed a piece of plywood between the mattress and that solved the problem The grounds are beautiful and we had our best meal of the trip at the Plantation restaurant. Management needs to inspect the condos and bring them up to standard.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Shescomeundone9
Business
Mountain View, california
Oct 27, 2014

Nice place for great price.

We only stayed at the Kiahuana Plantation Hotel for one night at the end of our vacation but it was a comfortable and cute place to stay. The room would've been a great place to stay for a few more days with all of the amenities of an apartment (fridge, stove, patio). The room was very clean and had nice updates - beautiful shower!! The grounds are very nice and the location is great. Would recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Travel up to Kapaa for cheaper (and delicious) food options. Kilauea Fish Market is a must!

Review of Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NEAL22
Business
Moreno Valley, Ca
Oct 5, 2014

Great Stay in Kauai

This resort met all my requirements and more. The condo was larger than expected, provided beach toys, cooler and the kitchen was well stocked. King Bed was comfortable. NOTE: NO AIR CONDITIONING IN ANY UNITS. Fans are in the room to help circulate air and make the room cooler. Temperature was tolerable since we weren't in the room much. Be ready to live with a few bugs. Units were sprayed for bugs while we were there and that helped. Otherwise great value for the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Trever B.
Business
Idaho Falls, Idaho
Aug 16, 2014

Incredible Place

We were here for our anniversary. We loved all the room we had in the condo. It felt like our own little home with beautiful views of gardens and huge trees. Hotel is kept clean inside and the grounds our perfectly landscaped. It was nice having a full kitchen and BBQ to cook on. Can't beat the beach access to Poipu, water is perfect and snorkeling is so fun. This place doesn't make you feel like your in a hotel room because of all the space in the condo and outside. Perfect beaches for kids too. Awesome value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Buy some food at the local grocery, Big Save in Koloa. You can eat in and save a lot of money during your trip. Don't forget bottled water.

Review of Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Dissatisfied customer1
Business
San Francisco, California
Jun 17, 2014

Nice property, bad accommodations

The hotel is located in a good area - close to town, shopping areas, and the beach. It is situated on a nicely manicured property with good landscaping and plentiful outdoor areas to enjoy. However, the room was dilapidated and dirty, making our stay uncomfortable and stressful. The room was infested with bugs. We encountered many cockroaches and other large insects that scurried under the cracks between the floor boards and crowning of the walls. There were bugs crawling out of our hand bags and other personal belongings when left anywhere in the room (on chairs, coffee tables, dining table etc.). We found many cockroaches in our bathtub, as the person at the front desk mentioned how they come out to drink water. She explained that cockroaches in Kauai are very common and the siting of these creatures should be compared to seeing lizards and birds. The cleaning crew did the very minimal - only replaced towels. Many times they failed to even make our beds, take out our garbage, or even provide any additional trash bags when we threw out the trash on our own. Overall, I would not recommend this place or stay here ever again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Maya8Zephyr
Business
Glendale, California
May 26, 2014

Fabulous

Great accommodations. The staff was courteous. The place was very clean and beautiful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
candislc16
Business
salt lake city
May 20, 2014

great for families, long walk to the beach

It was great to have a kitchen, too far from the beach. Asked about upgrading and nothing was offered or available. Could use some updating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

keeokes

Review of Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
travelling4decades
Business
Miss. Canada
May 15, 2014

owner vs. renter

As the renter, we were not as welcome as the owners who own units in this resort. the staff was off-handish. the room was unoccupied when we arrived at 8.30 am and yet we had to wait till check-in time... no regard to the fact that we had been on the road for a while !! similarly, on checkout, they didnt offer a courtesy room to refresh or change into and we needed it as we spent time on the beach and then had to take a flight. carefull about the cleaning charges....no clean up was required (or done) during our 3-day stay, and still charges on per day basis were charged. be aware that there are 2 properties, castle and outrigger...... so make sure that you specify which one you would like to be in, to be picked up at when going on tours, etc. location was good, surroundings were definitely plantation style and very pleasing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

definitely do the movie tour, very entertaining.

Review of Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Whyly
Business
Nantucket MA
Feb 18, 2014

First Time to Hawaii

Arrived about 4 pm waited in line to check in for quite awhile only to find we had no reservation, so more waiting. I had my itinerary with the reservation on it and they did find us a room, they said they upgraded us but I seriously doubt it.. we were as far from the beach as you could get and next to the road, which could get noisy. The bed was comfortable but the sheets were a strange nylon fabric with plastic covered pillows. The kitchen area was functional but hurting. The location was great and if I were to go back I would find some place else in the area to stay with a view!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
B an C from Wa
Business
Arlington, Wa
Oct 19, 2013

It was alright

The Condo was located in a great spot in Poipu. However no access to a pool was a negative. Also the kitchen could have been stocked a little better with utensils, and the room description would be nice if it included what beach equipment was included like boogie boards, masks and snorkels etc. Boogie boards weren't included, but our friends condo down the street has 3 , and two surf boards for the same price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are a lot of great little places to eat that are fairly reasonable and only a short walk away.

Back to menu Return to top