$161 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 18, 2014 Check-out: Aug 19, 2014

Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows

3 stars
2253-B Poipu Road, East Entrance, Koloa, HI 96756
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
190 reviews
Fabulous

Great accommodations. The staff was courteous. The place was very clean and beautiful. See full review

  • Maya8Zephyr
  • May 26, 2014
Kiahuna is our family's favorite vacation condo

Our family has been staying at the Kiahuna Plantation for over 20 years. This year we opted to buy... See full review

  • Steve in rainy Seattle
  • Oct 13, 2013
Poipu condominiums cater to golfers and beach lovers
The 35-acre Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows embraces its sugar plantation heritage while adding contemporary touches. Gardens and koi ponds surround a historic home, now the resort's restaurant. Low-rise buildings house one- and two-bedroom condominiums among acres of manicured lawn splashed with vivid hues of plumeria and bougainvillea. Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows is relaxed and breezy with quiet spots for doing nothing at all, but when it is time for fun, Poipu Beach is just steps away.

Castle guests can also have fun at Poipu Beach Athletic Club. Visitors can take a dip in the 82,000 gallon resort-style pool with slide, play lawn tennis at 10 tennis courts, work out at the fitness center with separate weight and cardio rooms, and enjoy relaxing treatments at the 1,600 gallon spa with hydrotherapy jets.

Highlights
  • Beach Activity Center
  • Kiahuna Golf Club
  • On-site restaurant
  • Free high-speed Internet access
Location
Poipu Beach is a Hawaii vacation dream beach.  Within a one-mile stretch you can swim, boogie board, snorkel, scuba and learn to surf, and Poipu Beach Park is the ideal spot for young families. Exploring the west and east coasts of Kauai is easy from here.
Rooms
The Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows resort has 333 one- and two-bedroom condominiums in three-story walk-up buildings. The individually furnished condominiums have Hawaiian-themed decor, and all include a fully equipped kitchen, private lanai, sleep sofa in the living room and daily housekeeping service. Units range from 880 to 1,770 square feet.
Features
This is an excellent resort for families, golfers and beach lovers. Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows has its own Beach Activity Center where guests can rent snorkels, fins and boogie boards by the day or week. Rather not take time away from beach lounging to shop? The Grocery Guys will shop for guests and deliver the goods to their condominium while guests are out having fun. And if the mood strikes to have a family barbecue, fire up the community grills.
Dining
Plantation Gardens restaurant, surrounded by flowering gardens and 60-year-old koi ponds, is on-site at Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows, and open for dinner and cocktails. Set in a former plantation home, the restaurant serves up authentic plantation ambiance with its Pacific Rim and Hawaiian cuisine.
Recreation
  • Resort golf course just down the road
Transportation
  • Lihue Airport (15 mi/24.1 km)
  • Taxis and other transportation services available
Attractions
  • Kiahuna Golf Club (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • Spouting Horn Beach Park (2.6 mi/4.2 km)
  • Kauai Coffee Company Plantation Visitor Center (6.9 mi/11.1 km)
  • Wailua River State Park (19.5 mi/31.3 km)
  • Waimea Canyon (24.7 mi/40 km)
Policies and Fees

  • Poipu Beach Athletic Club is open daily except Mondays from 9 AM to 6 PM.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows Rooms

1 Bedroom/ 1 Bath Garden View
View of tropical trees and shrubs; 1 king or 1 queen, and 1 sofa bed; each suite has been individually furnished and designed to create a unique setting.
1 Bedroom/1 Bath Garden View Deluxe
View of tropical flowers, fruit trees, and shrubs; fronting green lawns and cactus gardens; 1 king or 1 queen, and 1 sofa bed; each suite has been individually furnished and designed to create a unique setting.
1 Bedroom/1 Bath Garden View Paradise
Surrounded by plumeria trees, hibiscus shrubs, and bougainvillea vines; located in the middle of 35 acres of landscaped lawns; 1 king or 1 queen, and 1 sofa bed; each suite has been individually furnished and designed to create a unique setting.
1 Bedroom /1 Bath Partial Ocean View
Anywhere from 100 to 200 yards from the ocean; on the top floors with a partial ocean view; 1 king or 1 queen, and 1 sofa bed; each suite has been individually furnished and designed to create a unique setting.
1 Bedroom/1 Bath Ocean View
Horizon ocean views overlooking landscaped lawns or the lagoon; 1 king or 1 queen, and 1 sofa bed; each suite has been individually furnished and designed to create a unique setting.
1 Bedroom/1 Bath Beachfront
White-sand beach right outside your door; 1 king or 1 queen, and 1 sofa bed; each suite has been individually furnished and designed to create a unique setting.
2 Bedroom/2 Bath Garden View Deluxe
View of tropical flowers, fruit trees, and shrubs, fronting green lawns and cactus gardens; split-level with bedrooms and bathrooms on the bottom level, and fully-equipped kitchen, dining area, and living room on top level; 1 king or 1 queen in master bedroom, 2 twins in second bedroom, plus 1 queen sofa bed in living room; each suite has been individually furnished and designed to create a unique setting.
2 Bedroom/2 Bath Garden View Paradise
Surrounded by plumeria trees, hibiscus shrubs, and bougainvillea vines; located in the middle of the property featuring a wide expanse of lawn; split-level with bedrooms and bathrooms on the bottom level, and fully-equipped kitchen, dining area, and living room on top level;1 king or 1 queen in master bedroom, 2 twins in second bedroom, plus 1 queen sofa bed in living room; each suite has been individually furnished and designed to create a unique setting.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Pool
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Restaurant
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

21.8792 -159.4628
Area served
Koloa, Poipu Beach, Hawaii
Nearby airports
Lihue International Airport - LIH
Area description
Located in the Poipu Resort area on a beautiful sandy swimming beach. Kiahuna Plantation is situated on 35 acres of landscaped lawns and gardens filled with tropical flowers. Great for families, golfers, and tennis buffs. This condominium resort features a "Super Pool" with water slide and several championship tennis courts. It is across the street from the Poipu Shopping Village which features a variety of restaurants and shops. Poipu Beach was named in the "Top 10 Most Romantic Getaways" from USA Today.

Dining

Plantation Garden Restaurant
Located within the resort - Open for Dinner/Cocktails.
Casa Blanca Restaurant
Across the street at the Kiahuna Swim & Tennis Club - Open for Lunch and Dinner.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (190)

Ratings and reviews for Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
190 out of 190
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Dissatisfied customer1
San Francisco, California
Jun 17, 2014

Nice property, bad accommodations

The hotel is located in a good area - close to town, shopping areas, and the beach. It is situated on a nicely manicured property with good landscaping and plentiful outdoor areas to enjoy. However, the room was dilapidated and dirty, making our stay uncomfortable and stressful. The room was infested with bugs. We encountered many cockroaches and other large insects that scurried under the cracks between the floor boards and crowning of the walls. There were bugs crawling out of our hand bags and other personal belongings when left anywhere in the room (on chairs, coffee tables, dining table etc.). We found many cockroaches in our bathtub, as the person at the front desk mentioned how they come out to drink water. She explained that cockroaches in Kauai are very common and the siting of these creatures should be compared to seeing lizards and birds. The cleaning crew did the very minimal - only replaced towels. Many times they failed to even make our beds, take out our garbage, or even provide any additional trash bags when we threw out the trash on our own. Overall, I would not recommend this place or stay here ever again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Maya8Zephyr
Glendale, California
May 26, 2014

Fabulous

Great accommodations. The staff was courteous. The place was very clean and beautiful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
candislc16
salt lake city
May 20, 2014

great for families, long walk to the beach

It was great to have a kitchen, too far from the beach. Asked about upgrading and nothing was offered or available. Could use some updating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

keeokes

Review of Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
travelling4decades
Miss. Canada
May 15, 2014

owner vs. renter

As the renter, we were not as welcome as the owners who own units in this resort. the staff was off-handish. the room was unoccupied when we arrived at 8.30 am and yet we had to wait till check-in time... no regard to the fact that we had been on the road for a while !! similarly, on checkout, they didnt offer a courtesy room to refresh or change into and we needed it as we spent time on the beach and then had to take a flight. carefull about the cleaning charges....no clean up was required (or done) during our 3-day stay, and still charges on per day basis were charged. be aware that there are 2 properties, castle and outrigger...... so make sure that you specify which one you would like to be in, to be picked up at when going on tours, etc. location was good, surroundings were definitely plantation style and very pleasing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

definitely do the movie tour, very entertaining.

Review of Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Whyly
Nantucket MA
Feb 18, 2014

First Time to Hawaii

Arrived about 4 pm waited in line to check in for quite awhile only to find we had no reservation, so more waiting. I had my itinerary with the reservation on it and they did find us a room, they said they upgraded us but I seriously doubt it.. we were as far from the beach as you could get and next to the road, which could get noisy. The bed was comfortable but the sheets were a strange nylon fabric with plastic covered pillows. The kitchen area was functional but hurting. The location was great and if I were to go back I would find some place else in the area to stay with a view!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
B an C from Wa
Arlington, Wa
Oct 19, 2013

It was alright

The Condo was located in a great spot in Poipu. However no access to a pool was a negative. Also the kitchen could have been stocked a little better with utensils, and the room description would be nice if it included what beach equipment was included like boogie boards, masks and snorkels etc. Boogie boards weren't included, but our friends condo down the street has 3 , and two surf boards for the same price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are a lot of great little places to eat that are fairly reasonable and only a short walk away.

Review of Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Steve in rainy Seattle
Seattle, WA
Oct 13, 2013

Kiahuna is our family's favorite vacation condo

Our family has been staying at the Kiahuna Plantation for over 20 years. This year we opted to buy up to an oceanfront condo in building 2. I have never seen anything like the sunset views from the back lanai anywhere else in the world.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

The Koloa farmer's market is every Monday at noon, a short drive from the condo. Since the condos in the Kiahuna Plantation include full kitchens with pots/pans/etc., as well as gas BBQ grills located all around the property, you can save a lot of money by preparing your own meals for your family instead of paying for fine dining service along Po'ipu beach.

Review of Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Arellano5
Montrose, Ca
Aug 1, 2013

Awesome Family Vacation

We had a wonderful time while at the Castel Kiahuna Plantation. All of our needs were met and we would definately return!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cali Girl to Island Girl
San Diego, California
Jun 25, 2013

Dream Island Wedding Getaway

My stay at the bungalows was overall fantastic! I came to the island for a friend's wedding and what a getaway it was. The staff at the front desk were very accommodating. I simply requested to be moved to a closer room in order to be next to friends staying on the property not expecting them to comply and not only did they manage to do so on a sold out weekend but gave me a room with a great view to boot. I recommend reserving a room with a garden view but asking to be placed on the 3rd floor, that way you get both garden view and a slight ocean view! Some bungalows are more up-to-date than others. And being that it is the island life beware of some small four legged critters...Mr. Geico man every now and then! Show them the way out or hotel security is great in assisting as well!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Castle Kiahuna Plantation & The Beach Bungalows

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MelissaKen
Los Angeles
May 3, 2013

Best honeymoon ever!

The location is amazing and the hotel was great! We ate breakfast on the patio each morning, had a delicious dinner at the hotel's restaurant and walked down to the beach to swim, watch the sunsets and drink Lava Flows from the Sheraton's bar next door. It's located in a great spot on the beach, with the spouting horn and some great snorkeling (sea turtles and all kinds of fish) just down the road.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Book the zipline safari with Outfitters Kauai just down the road

Back to menu Return to top