$179 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 27, 2014 Check-out: Jul 30, 2014

Aston at Poipu Kai

3 stars
1775 Poipu Road, Koloa, HI 96756
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
80 reviews
Beautiful and perfect for our needs

The Aston Poipu Kai was perfect! Although it didn't have airconditioning we were quite comfortable... See full review

  • Chocoholic
  • May 13, 2014
Clean, adequate and centrally located

Staff was very accommodating. Great location. Decor is a bit dated and worn, but very adequate for... See full review

  • SimplyBret
  • Mar 31, 2014
Upscale beachfront condos offer space and privacy in lively Poipu
Spread across 70 acres of gardens and manicured lawns in the Poipu resort area, Aston at Poipu Kai is an enclave of luxury condominiums, townhouses, and private homes. Walkways wind past pools edged by graceful palms and down to two Poipu beaches. Aston vacation units are located in five upscale communities within Poipu Kai and include one- to three-bedroom condo suites and three-to four-bedroom private homes. While each community has its own recreation facilities -- pool, barbecues, and the like -- all enjoy easy beach access and upscale details.
Highlights
  • Luxury condominiums with ample room and all the bells and whistles
  • Walk-out access to two excellent beaches
  • Pools and tennis courts
  • Wi-Fi in lobby area
Location
Historic Koloa and the Poipu resort area lie on the south coast of Kauai, one of the island's most popular vacation destinations. There are a slew of gorgeous beaches, every waterfront activity, superb golf, historic and natural sites, and enough eclectic shops and restaurants to satisfy every taste. Aston at Poipu Kai is within steps of all of it, yet a tranquil retreat from the action, too.
Rooms
Suites and homes at Aston at Poipu Kai are individually furnished and decorated but most exude tropical warmth and offer a wealth of upscale touches. All include full kitchen, in-room washer and dryer, and complimentary Internet access.
Dining
Some individual communities within the resort have barbecue grills for guests to use. Poipu offers extensive options for eating out, from take-out Hawaiian plate lunches to upscale fine dining.
Recreation
While the various communities at Aston at Poipu Kai each have their own features, the entire community offers six pools, two whirlpools and nine tennis courts. The property fronts two of Poipu's favorite beaches, Brennecke's, popular with boogie boarders, and Shipwreck Beach, where adventure romance "Six Days/Seven Nights" was filmed. A winding trail lures walkers and runners for a workout.
Transportation
  • Lihue Airport (14.4 mi/23.2 km)
Attractions
  • Poipu Bay Golf Course (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Outfitters Kauai (1.7 mi/2.8 km)
  • Spouting Horn (3.5 mi/5.7 km)
  • Waimea Canyon State Park (25.3 mi/40.7 km)
Business
In-room high-speed Internet access and Wi-Fi in the lobby area keep working guests connected.
Policies and fees
  • All Aston Hotels & Resorts managed hotels and condominiums are non-smoking

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Aston at Poipu Kai Rooms

One Bedroom Garden View Suite
One bedroom suite with one king or queen bed and sofabed or futon. Includes full bathroom, lanai, iron/board, kitchen, refrigerator, microwave, stove, dishes/cookware, coffee maker, hair dryer, ceiling fan and VCR.
Two Bedroom Garden View Suite
Two bedroom suite with one king or queen bed, 2 twin beds and sofabed or futon. Includes 2 full bathrooms, lanai, iron/board, kitchen, refrigerator, microwave, stove, dishes/cookware, coffee maker, hair dryer, ceiling fan, VCR and separate living area.
Two Bedroom Ocean View Suite
Two bedroom suite with one king or queen bed, 2 twin beds and sofabed or futon. Includes 2 full bathrooms, lanai, iron/board, kitchen, refrigerator, microwave, stove, dishes/cookware, coffee maker, hair dryer, ceiling fan, VCR and separate living area.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Aston at Poipu Kai also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

21.8762 -159.4446
Area served
Koloa-Kauai, HI
Nearby airports
LIH - Lihue Municipal
Area description
Located adjacent to Brenneckes Beach and Shipwreck Beach. Nearby recreational and leisure activities include, golfing, luau's, putting green, snorkeling, windsurfing and more.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Conference room available for a fee.

Dining

Kalapaki Joes
Cuisine American and Hawaii Regional, Casual Dress, Open weekdays from 11am-10pm and weekends from 7am-midnight, Availabe for Breakfast weekends only, Lunch and Dinner.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (80)

Ratings and reviews for Aston at Poipu Kai

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
35 out of 80
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.4
Value:
4

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston at Poipu Kai

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
HTKM
Princeton Junction, NJ
Jun 29, 2013

Would have been nice if there were a/c in room

The condo was very spacious and had good amenities for a long term stay. However I was disappointed that there was no a/c. We were forced to sleep with the windows open, and the birds and road traffic made it difficult to sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Aston at Poipu Kai

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cindy J
California
Jun 28, 2013

Beautiful Condo

The check in was fast with pleasant staff. The condo unit is in a great location in Poipu with a short walk to the beach. The grounds are beautifully tropical with a distant ocean view (even though we had only booked a garden view!) We were by a pool and there were bar-b-ques located close to our unit. The unit is beautiful, decorated in Polynesian and Hawaii furnishings, wall hangings and accents. The bed is one of the softest, most comfortable beds I have ever slept on. The unit is spacious with granite in the kitchen and all of the cooking utensils that we needed. There is a nice lanai where we enjoyed sitting drinking coffee and watching the tropical birds in the nearby plumeria trees. The housekeeping staff replenish daily and if we needed anything else we left a note and received items (towels, coffee, etc.) This is a very nice condo unit and we would stay again upon returning to Kauai!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Not Applicable

The Smith Family Luau is located on beautiful grounds where you can walk about the tropical trees and plants, then enjoy an authentic luau while listening to Hawaiian songs performed by entertainers. Then afterwards, there is a Hawaiian show for a true Hawaii experience. Very enjoyable!

Review of Aston at Poipu Kai

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Harry Leonard
San Mateo CA
May 15, 2013

Perfect for beach lovers and families

The Aston at Poi Pu Kai is all about location. It is located just avove a great beac;h for boogie boarding and body surfing. A hundred yards to the right is a beach just made for families with small children. It has a shallow lagoon, a protective reef and a life guard. I saw turtles, monk seals and dolphins playing in the water. The condo was clean and well appointed and showed pride of ownership. This was our second time in the same room, we liked that well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Aston at Poipu Kai

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Raydan
Berkeley, ca
Feb 26, 2013

Great location a bit dated

Overall good but condo could use updating, carpet cleaning and new mattress

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Aston at Poipu Kai

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Patsy Taylor
Redmond Oregon
Dec 15, 2012

Best vacation ever!

This was my 5th trip to Kauai & my husbands 2nd. The location was perfect. I cried when we got there and saw our view of the ocean from our condo. We would recomend this property to everyone:)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk along the "Greenbelt" to Brennecke's Beach Broiler for lunch or dinner.

Review of Aston at Poipu Kai

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
beachbums
poipu kai
Oct 28, 2012

Aston at poipu kai

We loved our trip and love the island...traveled and used aston before...our only complaint was the furniture on our patio was broken so we couldn't lay out and enjoy our patio. Owners need to make sure their stuff is up to par!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Brennekes on the beach or Joe's

Review of Aston at Poipu Kai

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Salinas, ca
Nov 7, 2011

Almost Perfect

Enjoyed a beautiful ocean view room, however when you read, beach within short walking distance, it is that. When you get to the beach it is a very small crescent rocky beach, off to your right another short walk is Poipu beach, which is larger and nicer. Now if your walking from the resort and carrying chairs and coolers it is best to take the short drive up Poipu rd to the beach, plenty of parking, life guard station, shower stations to clean off the sand after a nice time of sunbathing or snorkeling. We stayed at the Kahala units just down the road from the Aston office.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

EAT AT JOE'S, where have you heard that before? The afore mentioned restaurant is at the Kiahuna Golf Club, beautiful ocean veiw and golf setting, fresh seafood and burgers etc., an added bonus beautiful sunsets while you dine.

Review of Aston at Poipu Kai

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
chaokoh
San Francisco, CA, USA
Oct 28, 2011

Aston at Poi Pu

We spent a week on Kauai and stayed at the Aston at Poi Pu the entire time. Because you pretty much have to drive everywhere on the island, being roughly in the middle of it was very convenient. The neighborhood was quiet (mostly retirees) and it was about a 10 minute walk to the beach (our unit was on the north end of the property). We had a full kitchen, so we saved a lot of money by not eating out. It's also near Koloa town, which has everything you'll need to stock up. It was nice to see that the staff was constantly busy maintaining the property, and although the decor in our unit was a bit dated (it will depend on the unit you get) it was very clean and had more space than we needed. We were there in mid-October, and for the $120 or so a night it cost us I can't think of a better value (we had a package so I'm not certain of the cost). Highly recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Gluten Free people: Check out Kukuiula Store on PoiPu road near the yellow submarine. They've got gluten free beer and breads at regular prices. They've also got local grass fed beef in the fridge!

Review of Aston at Poipu Kai

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
markk57
las vegas, nv.
Oct 21, 2011

Great condo

Our condo was grreat!!! Very large one bedroom with king size bed. Large living room, comfortable furniture,full size kitchen with breakfast bar and dinning area. Also has extra half bath!! Large patio on greenbelt. About a hundred yards to the beach. Wonderful place!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Beach house resteraunt was fantastic!!

Review of Aston at Poipu Kai

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Oahu
Jul 17, 2011

The Perfect Vacation!

From the caring staff upon your arrival to the upkeep of the grounds ,we were thoroughly impressed. Everything was just as it had been described on the internet, the breeze through the windows captures the island feel and being from Oahu in Mid July you will never miss air conditioning! The condo is equipped with everything you need to prepare meals of all types and a family of 5 could stay here comfortably. The peacefulness of this location and the friendliness of this staff made this the best vacation ever!! We can't wait to book our next Kauai vacation at Aston Poipu!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Captain Andy's Southern Star DInner Cruise - Positively the best!! Top of the line Service. Summer is the best time!! Blue Hawaiian Helicopter for air sightseeing!!

Back to menu Return to top