$161 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 23, 2014 Check-out: Aug 26, 2014

Aston at Poipu Kai

3 stars
1775 Poipu Road, Koloa, HI 96756
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
50 reviews
Beautiful and perfect for our needs

The Aston Poipu Kai was perfect! Although it didn't have airconditioning we were quite comfortable... See full review

  • Chocoholic
  • May 13, 2014
Clean, adequate and centrally located

Staff was very accommodating. Great location. Decor is a bit dated and worn, but very adequate for... See full review

  • SimplyBret
  • Mar 31, 2014
Upscale beachfront condos offer space and privacy in lively Poipu
Spread across 70 acres of gardens and manicured lawns in the Poipu resort area, Aston at Poipu Kai is an enclave of luxury condominiums, townhouses, and private homes. Walkways wind past pools edged by graceful palms and down to two Poipu beaches. Aston vacation units are located in five upscale communities within Poipu Kai and include one- to three-bedroom condo suites and three-to four-bedroom private homes. While each community has its own recreation facilities -- pool, barbecues, and the like -- all enjoy easy beach access and upscale details.
Highlights
  • Luxury condominiums with ample room and all the bells and whistles
  • Walk-out access to two excellent beaches
  • Pools and tennis courts
  • Wi-Fi in lobby area
Location
Historic Koloa and the Poipu resort area lie on the south coast of Kauai, one of the island's most popular vacation destinations. There are a slew of gorgeous beaches, every waterfront activity, superb golf, historic and natural sites, and enough eclectic shops and restaurants to satisfy every taste. Aston at Poipu Kai is within steps of all of it, yet a tranquil retreat from the action, too.
Rooms
Suites and homes at Aston at Poipu Kai are individually furnished and decorated but most exude tropical warmth and offer a wealth of upscale touches. All include full kitchen, in-room washer and dryer, and complimentary Internet access.
Dining
Some individual communities within the resort have barbecue grills for guests to use. Poipu offers extensive options for eating out, from take-out Hawaiian plate lunches to upscale fine dining.
Recreation
While the various communities at Aston at Poipu Kai each have their own features, the entire community offers six pools, two whirlpools and nine tennis courts. The property fronts two of Poipu's favorite beaches, Brennecke's, popular with boogie boarders, and Shipwreck Beach, where adventure romance "Six Days/Seven Nights" was filmed. A winding trail lures walkers and runners for a workout.
Transportation
  • Lihue Airport (14.4 mi/23.2 km)
Attractions
  • Poipu Bay Golf Course (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Outfitters Kauai (1.7 mi/2.8 km)
  • Spouting Horn (3.5 mi/5.7 km)
  • Waimea Canyon State Park (25.3 mi/40.7 km)
Business
In-room high-speed Internet access and Wi-Fi in the lobby area keep working guests connected.
Policies and fees
  • All Aston Hotels & Resorts managed hotels and condominiums are non-smoking

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

21.8762 -159.4446
Area served
Koloa-Kauai, HI
Nearby airports
LIH - Lihue Municipal
Area description
Located adjacent to Brenneckes Beach and Shipwreck Beach. Nearby recreational and leisure activities include, golfing, luau's, putting green, snorkeling, windsurfing and more.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Aston at Poipu Kai also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Aston at Poipu Kai Rooms

One Bedroom Garden View Suite
One bedroom suite with one king or queen bed and sofabed or futon. Includes full bathroom, lanai, iron/board, kitchen, refrigerator, microwave, stove, dishes/cookware, coffee maker, hair dryer, ceiling fan and VCR.
Two Bedroom Garden View Suite
Two bedroom suite with one king or queen bed, 2 twin beds and sofabed or futon. Includes 2 full bathrooms, lanai, iron/board, kitchen, refrigerator, microwave, stove, dishes/cookware, coffee maker, hair dryer, ceiling fan, VCR and separate living area.
Two Bedroom Ocean View Suite
Two bedroom suite with one king or queen bed, 2 twin beds and sofabed or futon. Includes 2 full bathrooms, lanai, iron/board, kitchen, refrigerator, microwave, stove, dishes/cookware, coffee maker, hair dryer, ceiling fan, VCR and separate living area.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Kalapaki Joes
Cuisine American and Hawaii Regional, Casual Dress, Open weekdays from 11am-10pm and weekends from 7am-midnight, Availabe for Breakfast weekends only, Lunch and Dinner.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Conference room available for a fee.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (50)

Ratings and reviews for Aston at Poipu Kai

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
22 out of 50
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston at Poipu Kai

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dale in Atlanta
Atlanta, GA, USA
Nov 18, 2011

Hawaii vacation

Our favorite island - the Aston was great in a great location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Aston at Poipu Kai

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chocoholic
Santa Maria, CA, USA
May 13, 2014

Beautiful and perfect for our needs

The Aston Poipu Kai was perfect! Although it didn't have airconditioning we were quite comfortable (including our son-in-law who is always too hot!) We rented the 2 bedroom, 2 bath condo and will tell all our friends about it and the friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Aston at Poipu Kai

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
utah
May 2, 2009

great trip & great place for a wedding

wonderful

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Aston at Poipu Kai

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
beamann
Wesst Vancouver
Feb 27, 2011

A real pleasure

Exceeded our expectations. Golfing was a 3 minute drive. SCUBA diving shop was just a 5 minute drive away. Two gated pools on the site. Sandy ocean beach an average of a 5 minute stroll from the middle of the various units on a paved pathway: perfectly fine for any group without fussy children under 8. A variety of places to eat within a 5 minute drive and two within a five minute walk. Ditto for surfing gear. The units were clean and spacious with LCD TV in both living room and bedroom. Both sofas were foldout and main bedroom was a queen with box springs and thick matress. Bathroom and hallway in marble and shower was 3 by 5 feet (very generous). Everything one needed in the kitchen was supplied. Very comfortable. A pleasure to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The first beach was just a 2 minute walk along a private path past the on-site swimming pool. The other two beaches were adjacent to the first adding 2 or 3 more minutes walking in the cut grass along the shoreline.

Review of Aston at Poipu Kai

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Charlotte, NC
Apr 13, 2007

very comfortable

We could not have been more pleased with our accomodations. The rooms were nicely decorated and very spacious. The huge Lanai overlooking the garden and ocean was just perfect to relax and have dinner on after a long day of sight seeing. There was no airconditioning but we never needed it. We kept the windows open and enjoyed a constant breeze. The location was perfect for us as we enjoyed the poipu beach area and found sufficient dining when we did not want to cook. We would definately return and recommend Resort Quest to our friends and family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

If you are on a budget take your chances and ask for a garden view room. Many of these rooms still have excellent ocean views.

Review of Aston at Poipu Kai

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Dec 3, 2008

Perfect for our family

The ResortQuest at Poipu Kai was very comfortable, clean and perfect for our family of 4. The kids had their own bedroom and bathroom downstairs with the balcony right off the living room and kitchen with a beautiful view of the ocean and swimming pool. The master bedroom was upstairs with a very comfortable king sized bed and bathroom area, again with a balcony overlooking the ocean and pool area. It was spotless, which is the most important thing to me. We would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

The Poipu Kai shopping center was very close. That's where they sell the famous Puka Dog and also two very good restaraunts.

Review of Aston at Poipu Kai

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pumpkin14
Petaluma, California
Jan 25, 2014

Amenities

Aston has a $15 daily non optional charge not included in the quoted price. This is the second Aston we've stayed at that has hidden charges. The one in Maui charged for parking. This one in Kauai charged for newpapers, videos, daily trash pick-up and clean towels. We don't mind, if told up front.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Smith's River Cruz to the Fern Grotto was inexpensive and well worth the trip.

Review of Aston at Poipu Kai

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SimplyBret
Boise, ID
Mar 31, 2014

Clean, adequate and centrally located

Staff was very accommodating. Great location. Decor is a bit dated and worn, but very adequate for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Aston at Poipu Kai

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Patricia Mae
Salem, Or.
Jan 14, 2013

Comfortable and pleasant setting

The condo we rented was fairly large, clean and comfortable situated in well kept grounds with lush trees that made it feel very Hawaiian. We appreciated the kitchen which had everything you might need and the maid service which was limited to clean towels every day and clean sheets every few days. It was a short pleasant walk to the beach and to the gorgeous cliffs just past the Hilton. For such a reasonable price you couldn't ask for more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Check out happy hour savings on appetizers that are quite large and satisfying for an inexpensive dinner.

Review of Aston at Poipu Kai

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
BC, Canada
Aug 30, 2009

Aston Poipu Kai in Kauai

Overall it was a wonderful experience. Good location, a short walk to the beach. Very quiet. Could not find any reasonable priced restaurant. A long drive to Lihue to find supermarkets.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Not too many choices with restaurants. Restaurants very pricey. Dined at Brennecke's. Food was sub-par (vegetables overcooked, rice soggy), and priced on the high side. Better to cook your own except supermarkets were a long drive away. This is in Poipu area.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search