$263 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 1, 2015 Check-out: Jan 4, 2015

Aston at Poipu Kai

3 stars
1775 Poipu Road, Koloa, HI 96756
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
50 reviews
Beautiful and perfect for our needs

The Aston Poipu Kai was perfect! Although it didn't have airconditioning we were quite comfortable... See full review

  • Chocoholic
  • May 13, 2014
Clean, adequate and centrally located

Staff was very accommodating. Great location. Decor is a bit dated and worn, but very adequate for... See full review

  • SimplyBret
  • Mar 31, 2014
Upscale beachfront condos offer space and privacy in lively Poipu
Spread across 70 acres of gardens and manicured lawns in the Poipu resort area, Aston at Poipu Kai is an enclave of luxury condominiums, townhouses, and private homes. Walkways wind past pools edged by graceful palms and down to two Poipu beaches. Aston vacation units are located in five upscale communities within Poipu Kai and include one- to three-bedroom condo suites and three-to four-bedroom private homes. While each community has its own recreation facilities -- pool, barbecues, and the like -- all enjoy easy beach access and upscale details.
Highlights
  • Luxury condominiums with ample room and all the bells and whistles
  • Walk-out access to two excellent beaches
  • Pools and tennis courts
  • Wi-Fi in lobby area
Location
Historic Koloa and the Poipu resort area lie on the south coast of Kauai, one of the island's most popular vacation destinations. There are a slew of gorgeous beaches, every waterfront activity, superb golf, historic and natural sites, and enough eclectic shops and restaurants to satisfy every taste. Aston at Poipu Kai is within steps of all of it, yet a tranquil retreat from the action, too.
Rooms
Suites and homes at Aston at Poipu Kai are individually furnished and decorated but most exude tropical warmth and offer a wealth of upscale touches. All include full kitchen, in-room washer and dryer, and complimentary Internet access.
Dining
Some individual communities within the resort have barbecue grills for guests to use. Poipu offers extensive options for eating out, from take-out Hawaiian plate lunches to upscale fine dining.
Recreation
While the various communities at Aston at Poipu Kai each have their own features, the entire community offers six pools, two whirlpools and nine tennis courts. The property fronts two of Poipu's favorite beaches, Brennecke's, popular with boogie boarders, and Shipwreck Beach, where adventure romance "Six Days/Seven Nights" was filmed. A winding trail lures walkers and runners for a workout.
Transportation
  • Lihue Airport (14.4 mi/23.2 km)
Attractions
  • Poipu Bay Golf Course (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Outfitters Kauai (1.7 mi/2.8 km)
  • Spouting Horn (3.5 mi/5.7 km)
  • Waimea Canyon State Park (25.3 mi/40.7 km)
Business
In-room high-speed Internet access and Wi-Fi in the lobby area keep working guests connected.
Policies and fees
  • All Aston Hotels & Resorts managed hotels and condominiums are non-smoking

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Aston at Poipu Kai also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Aston at Poipu Kai Rooms

One Bedroom Garden View Suite
One bedroom suite with one king or queen bed and sofabed or futon. Includes full bathroom, lanai, iron/board, kitchen, refrigerator, microwave, stove, dishes/cookware, coffee maker, hair dryer, ceiling fan and VCR.
Two Bedroom Garden View Suite
Two bedroom suite with one king or queen bed, 2 twin beds and sofabed or futon. Includes 2 full bathrooms, lanai, iron/board, kitchen, refrigerator, microwave, stove, dishes/cookware, coffee maker, hair dryer, ceiling fan, VCR and separate living area.
Two Bedroom Ocean View Suite
Two bedroom suite with one king or queen bed, 2 twin beds and sofabed or futon. Includes 2 full bathrooms, lanai, iron/board, kitchen, refrigerator, microwave, stove, dishes/cookware, coffee maker, hair dryer, ceiling fan, VCR and separate living area.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Conference room available for a fee.

Dining

Kalapaki Joes
Cuisine American and Hawaii Regional, Casual Dress, Open weekdays from 11am-10pm and weekends from 7am-midnight, Availabe for Breakfast weekends only, Lunch and Dinner.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (50)

Ratings and reviews for Aston at Poipu Kai

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
50 out of 50
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston at Poipu Kai

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
taafarms
Business
nebraska
Mar 13, 2011

Loved this island

The reviews for this condo varied so we were nervous about what to expect. We had 4 adults and 1 child. Overall we were pleased with the room and location. The condo was older but well maintained. Our flight was delayed so our check in was late but was able to check in with the night security. Nice place to stay for the money. Would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at Poipu Kai

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dreaming of Hawaii
Business
Yakima, WA
Apr 23, 2009

Beautiful spot

We stayed at the Poipu Sands complex at this resort. We were on the second level. Our unit had an upstairs and a downstairs, each having separate balconies from which we had magnificent views of Shipwreck Beach and the ocean. Spacious rooms. Great master bedroom and bath located upstairs. Nicest condominium we have ever stayed in and we have stayed in some nice ones.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Check out the National Tropical Botanical Garden. Call and make a reservation. Also, do the Smith Family Luau a short drive away in Wailua. Really beautiful grounds, nice people, great food, wonderful show.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at Poipu Kai

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Baton Rouge,LA
May 31, 2009

Unbeatable location for the price.

Had an excellent experience! The rooms are very large, and equipped with everything to make you feel at home!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Do not take the cabs, they are very expensive!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at Poipu Kai

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Aug 11, 2007

Very beautiful condo

The condo was very beautiful, comfortable and well decorated. It had bamboo furniture, bedroom, livingroom, dining room and kitchen fully equipped. Our balcony was large and we could see the ocean at a distance. They were about 15 minutes walking distance from the beach and if you have towels, snorkeling gear and beach chairs it's hard, but only 5 minutes drive from the best Poipu beach. One thing I did not like is that the carpet was not clean and the carpet on the stairs up to the condo was not clean either. Tiles would be better because they can be cleaned every day. Also we had to call for toilet paper and soap because they didn't leave some every day. The location is great overall, close to a shopping center, and it was sunny every day. We loved going on a kayak up the river and swim under the waterfalls, we really enjoyed our cruise and snorkeling at Napali Coast and sightseeing at Waimea Canyon and Wailua River. Also other resorts provide you with beach towels every day. Here we were given only one white towel per person and we were told to wash them in the washer at our condo. So we decided to buy some more beach towels. There was no nightlife there. This allowed us to enjoy the starry nights unobstructed by lights or torches.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at Poipu Kai

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Mar 16, 2008

great location

this is not a hotel but a condo. It set close to great activities. There was no airconditioning but March it was not necessary.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Great beach

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at Poipu Kai

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Mar 2, 2010

Aston at Poipu Kai

We were at this place only one night; we arrived late and were greeted by a security person who was most helpful and courteous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Poipu Shopping Village has a variety of places to eat and shop on a low0key basis.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at Poipu Kai

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
fire11chic
Business
san francisco
Jun 5, 2012

one day stay

I only booked this hotel because I saved 30 dollars booking a car and hotel together. I feel because I was only there for one night I was given the least rentable room. There were fans but they were uneffective. The room was right on the road way so it wasn't until I was almost roasted that I was able to open the window to cool off. The pool was not anything to speak of but to there credit the check in staff was very good. I would make sure I wan't in room #424 or #414.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at Poipu Kai

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
trfinn
Business
Great Falls, MT
Jul 29, 2012

Upscale Ordinary

The staff were great. The grounds were nicely kept. The room could use an update. Great walking paths. The pools were very clean. The only real complaint I have is ants in the kitchen.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

You have to take a helicopter ride of the island. Best time on the trip.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at Poipu Kai

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ben Shah
Business
New Hampshire
Sep 19, 2012

Good for the money

This is a good place to stay for the amount you pay, especially for a family of four. The stay would have been more pleasant if the unit had airconditioning. Also, the front desk staff is available only between 7:00am to 8:00pm. The hotel is a bit away from the beach, having a rental car helps. Over all, we did not mind the shortcoming since we were out sightseeing most of the time and only came back to the unit at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Verdes is a nice Mexican restaurant, worth driving to the place if you have a car

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at Poipu Kai

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Raydan
Business
Berkeley, ca
Feb 26, 2013

Great location a bit dated

Overall good but condo could use updating, carpet cleaning and new mattress

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top