$161 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 3, 2014 Check-out: Sep 5, 2014

Aston at Poipu Kai

3 stars
1775 Poipu Road, Koloa, HI 96756
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
50 reviews
Beautiful and perfect for our needs

The Aston Poipu Kai was perfect! Although it didn't have airconditioning we were quite comfortable... See full review

  • Chocoholic
  • May 13, 2014
Clean, adequate and centrally located

Staff was very accommodating. Great location. Decor is a bit dated and worn, but very adequate for... See full review

  • SimplyBret
  • Mar 31, 2014
Upscale beachfront condos offer space and privacy in lively Poipu
Spread across 70 acres of gardens and manicured lawns in the Poipu resort area, Aston at Poipu Kai is an enclave of luxury condominiums, townhouses, and private homes. Walkways wind past pools edged by graceful palms and down to two Poipu beaches. Aston vacation units are located in five upscale communities within Poipu Kai and include one- to three-bedroom condo suites and three-to four-bedroom private homes. While each community has its own recreation facilities -- pool, barbecues, and the like -- all enjoy easy beach access and upscale details.
Highlights
  • Luxury condominiums with ample room and all the bells and whistles
  • Walk-out access to two excellent beaches
  • Pools and tennis courts
  • Wi-Fi in lobby area
Location
Historic Koloa and the Poipu resort area lie on the south coast of Kauai, one of the island's most popular vacation destinations. There are a slew of gorgeous beaches, every waterfront activity, superb golf, historic and natural sites, and enough eclectic shops and restaurants to satisfy every taste. Aston at Poipu Kai is within steps of all of it, yet a tranquil retreat from the action, too.
Rooms
Suites and homes at Aston at Poipu Kai are individually furnished and decorated but most exude tropical warmth and offer a wealth of upscale touches. All include full kitchen, in-room washer and dryer, and complimentary Internet access.
Dining
Some individual communities within the resort have barbecue grills for guests to use. Poipu offers extensive options for eating out, from take-out Hawaiian plate lunches to upscale fine dining.
Recreation
While the various communities at Aston at Poipu Kai each have their own features, the entire community offers six pools, two whirlpools and nine tennis courts. The property fronts two of Poipu's favorite beaches, Brennecke's, popular with boogie boarders, and Shipwreck Beach, where adventure romance "Six Days/Seven Nights" was filmed. A winding trail lures walkers and runners for a workout.
Transportation
  • Lihue Airport (14.4 mi/23.2 km)
Attractions
  • Poipu Bay Golf Course (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Outfitters Kauai (1.7 mi/2.8 km)
  • Spouting Horn (3.5 mi/5.7 km)
  • Waimea Canyon State Park (25.3 mi/40.7 km)
Business
In-room high-speed Internet access and Wi-Fi in the lobby area keep working guests connected.
Policies and fees
  • All Aston Hotels & Resorts managed hotels and condominiums are non-smoking

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

21.8762 -159.4446
Area served
Koloa-Kauai, HI
Nearby airports
LIH - Lihue Municipal
Area description
Located adjacent to Brenneckes Beach and Shipwreck Beach. Nearby recreational and leisure activities include, golfing, luau's, putting green, snorkeling, windsurfing and more.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Aston at Poipu Kai also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Aston at Poipu Kai Rooms

One Bedroom Garden View Suite
One bedroom suite with one king or queen bed and sofabed or futon. Includes full bathroom, lanai, iron/board, kitchen, refrigerator, microwave, stove, dishes/cookware, coffee maker, hair dryer, ceiling fan and VCR.
Two Bedroom Garden View Suite
Two bedroom suite with one king or queen bed, 2 twin beds and sofabed or futon. Includes 2 full bathrooms, lanai, iron/board, kitchen, refrigerator, microwave, stove, dishes/cookware, coffee maker, hair dryer, ceiling fan, VCR and separate living area.
Two Bedroom Ocean View Suite
Two bedroom suite with one king or queen bed, 2 twin beds and sofabed or futon. Includes 2 full bathrooms, lanai, iron/board, kitchen, refrigerator, microwave, stove, dishes/cookware, coffee maker, hair dryer, ceiling fan, VCR and separate living area.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Conference room available for a fee.

Dining

Kalapaki Joes
Cuisine American and Hawaii Regional, Casual Dress, Open weekdays from 11am-10pm and weekends from 7am-midnight, Availabe for Breakfast weekends only, Lunch and Dinner.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (50)

Ratings and reviews for Aston at Poipu Kai

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
50 out of 50
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston at Poipu Kai

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
No More Weddings!
Richland, Washington
Apr 3, 2010

Relaxing family wedding week

The grounds are immaculate and colorful. The unit (Kahala 413) is rather tired, but clean. Another unit (Kahala 414) had much nicer upgrades for the same price we paid. Lots of touch-up & spruce-up would help. Lovely stroll down to Poipu Beach. Conveniently located on Poipu Road. Confusing check-in (8pm is "after hours"?). Very polite housekeepers. Overall, a pleasant, relaxing time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

When they say, "Eat at Joes"...do it.

Review of Aston at Poipu Kai

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Baton Rouge,LA
May 31, 2009

Unbeatable location for the price.

Had an excellent experience! The rooms are very large, and equipped with everything to make you feel at home!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Do not take the cabs, they are very expensive!

Review of Aston at Poipu Kai

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Pleasanton, CA
Oct 10, 2009

Goood Times

After changing rooms due to noise, had a wonderful experience here. Very quiet and very beautiful grounds.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Aston at Poipu Kai

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Patricia Mae
Salem, Or.
Jan 14, 2013

Comfortable and pleasant setting

The condo we rented was fairly large, clean and comfortable situated in well kept grounds with lush trees that made it feel very Hawaiian. We appreciated the kitchen which had everything you might need and the maid service which was limited to clean towels every day and clean sheets every few days. It was a short pleasant walk to the beach and to the gorgeous cliffs just past the Hilton. For such a reasonable price you couldn't ask for more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Check out happy hour savings on appetizers that are quite large and satisfying for an inexpensive dinner.

Review of Aston at Poipu Kai

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Los Angeles, CA
Aug 11, 2007

Very beautiful condo

The condo was very beautiful, comfortable and well decorated. It had bamboo furniture, bedroom, livingroom, dining room and kitchen fully equipped. Our balcony was large and we could see the ocean at a distance. They were about 15 minutes walking distance from the beach and if you have towels, snorkeling gear and beach chairs it's hard, but only 5 minutes drive from the best Poipu beach. One thing I did not like is that the carpet was not clean and the carpet on the stairs up to the condo was not clean either. Tiles would be better because they can be cleaned every day. Also we had to call for toilet paper and soap because they didn't leave some every day. The location is great overall, close to a shopping center, and it was sunny every day. We loved going on a kayak up the river and swim under the waterfalls, we really enjoyed our cruise and snorkeling at Napali Coast and sightseeing at Waimea Canyon and Wailua River. Also other resorts provide you with beach towels every day. Here we were given only one white towel per person and we were told to wash them in the washer at our condo. So we decided to buy some more beach towels. There was no nightlife there. This allowed us to enjoy the starry nights unobstructed by lights or torches.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Aston at Poipu Kai

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mel and Friends
New York, NY
Oct 26, 2009

Solid Value Hotel

The Aston at Poipu Kai is a good value hotel, perfect for families or small/large groups. The rooms are very dated, but reasonably clean and are a good base camp for exploring Kauai. It's right in the Poipu beach area, but not close enough to the beach to walk, which is a downside. On the other hand, our room had a fully equipped kitchen, laundry facilities (in-unit), and beach stuff for us to use (boogie boards, mats, books). One of our showers didn't work and when we complained, no one was sent to help and the staff at the desk said they couldn't do anything about it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Check out the historic downtown of hanepepe- it's full of small boutiques and art galleries, mostly run by the artists themselves. Friday evenings the downtown has an arts festival with music and more vendors. It's also down the street from Lappert's, the local ice cream that is too good to miss!

Review of Aston at Poipu Kai

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Hawaii
Oct 12, 2009

Daddy's birthday night

We justhung out at the room, had some family & friends over and ate a lot. Nice and spacious so we didn't feel cramped. And there was a gas grill near our room and the pool was near by.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Aston at Poipu Kai

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
airease
West Michigan
Mar 27, 2010

Great Location

Poipu is the least rainy area on the island. The grounds at the Aston Poipu Kai are beautiful and well maintained. Walking distance to great beaches. Nice swimming pools. Excellent and friendly tennis club. The location of our particular condo unit this time was disappointing, however. The bedroom faced a busy road and was very noisy. This was our third vacation at this complex, and each year the accomodations have been a little worse. The housekeeping staff do a good job and are friendly (with us they didn't have much to do), but the unit we had this year was in need of an upgrade, and the bed really needs a new mattress.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Aston at Poipu Kai

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Phoenix, Arizona
Mar 3, 2011

The good and the bad

Location near beach was very good. The grounds were immaculate. The room we had was next to a busy street and you heard cars all night long. The rooms all had levered windows that when closed did not provide any sound barrier. We did a lot of things during the day but because of noise did not get the needed rest at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The beach was beautiful, especially at sunset.

Review of Aston at Poipu Kai

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
50 Year Old
Thousand Oaks, CA
Nov 11, 2010

50th Birthday getaway

Unit 922 was nice and clean inside, but to close to the street. Close walk to the beach, immaculate grounds, conveniently close to shopping and snorkeling.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Grocery store 5 minute drive from condo. Shopping also 1-5 minutes away. Recommend Beach House for dinner, Brick Oven Pizza for lunch, Bubbas for burgers, and Joes on the Green for breakfast. All within 3-20 minutes of driving.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search