$161 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 20, 2014 Check-out: Aug 23, 2014

Aston at Poipu Kai

3 stars
1775 Poipu Road, Koloa, HI 96756
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
80 reviews
Beautiful and perfect for our needs

The Aston Poipu Kai was perfect! Although it didn't have airconditioning we were quite comfortable... See full review

  • Chocoholic
  • May 13, 2014
Clean, adequate and centrally located

Staff was very accommodating. Great location. Decor is a bit dated and worn, but very adequate for... See full review

  • SimplyBret
  • Mar 31, 2014
Upscale beachfront condos offer space and privacy in lively Poipu
Spread across 70 acres of gardens and manicured lawns in the Poipu resort area, Aston at Poipu Kai is an enclave of luxury condominiums, townhouses, and private homes. Walkways wind past pools edged by graceful palms and down to two Poipu beaches. Aston vacation units are located in five upscale communities within Poipu Kai and include one- to three-bedroom condo suites and three-to four-bedroom private homes. While each community has its own recreation facilities -- pool, barbecues, and the like -- all enjoy easy beach access and upscale details.
Highlights
  • Luxury condominiums with ample room and all the bells and whistles
  • Walk-out access to two excellent beaches
  • Pools and tennis courts
  • Wi-Fi in lobby area
Location
Historic Koloa and the Poipu resort area lie on the south coast of Kauai, one of the island's most popular vacation destinations. There are a slew of gorgeous beaches, every waterfront activity, superb golf, historic and natural sites, and enough eclectic shops and restaurants to satisfy every taste. Aston at Poipu Kai is within steps of all of it, yet a tranquil retreat from the action, too.
Rooms
Suites and homes at Aston at Poipu Kai are individually furnished and decorated but most exude tropical warmth and offer a wealth of upscale touches. All include full kitchen, in-room washer and dryer, and complimentary Internet access.
Dining
Some individual communities within the resort have barbecue grills for guests to use. Poipu offers extensive options for eating out, from take-out Hawaiian plate lunches to upscale fine dining.
Recreation
While the various communities at Aston at Poipu Kai each have their own features, the entire community offers six pools, two whirlpools and nine tennis courts. The property fronts two of Poipu's favorite beaches, Brennecke's, popular with boogie boarders, and Shipwreck Beach, where adventure romance "Six Days/Seven Nights" was filmed. A winding trail lures walkers and runners for a workout.
Transportation
  • Lihue Airport (14.4 mi/23.2 km)
Attractions
  • Poipu Bay Golf Course (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Outfitters Kauai (1.7 mi/2.8 km)
  • Spouting Horn (3.5 mi/5.7 km)
  • Waimea Canyon State Park (25.3 mi/40.7 km)
Business
In-room high-speed Internet access and Wi-Fi in the lobby area keep working guests connected.
Policies and fees
  • All Aston Hotels & Resorts managed hotels and condominiums are non-smoking

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

21.8762 -159.4446
Area served
Koloa-Kauai, HI
Nearby airports
LIH - Lihue Municipal
Area description
Located adjacent to Brenneckes Beach and Shipwreck Beach. Nearby recreational and leisure activities include, golfing, luau's, putting green, snorkeling, windsurfing and more.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Aston at Poipu Kai also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Aston at Poipu Kai Rooms

One Bedroom Garden View Suite
One bedroom suite with one king or queen bed and sofabed or futon. Includes full bathroom, lanai, iron/board, kitchen, refrigerator, microwave, stove, dishes/cookware, coffee maker, hair dryer, ceiling fan and VCR.
Two Bedroom Garden View Suite
Two bedroom suite with one king or queen bed, 2 twin beds and sofabed or futon. Includes 2 full bathrooms, lanai, iron/board, kitchen, refrigerator, microwave, stove, dishes/cookware, coffee maker, hair dryer, ceiling fan, VCR and separate living area.
Two Bedroom Ocean View Suite
Two bedroom suite with one king or queen bed, 2 twin beds and sofabed or futon. Includes 2 full bathrooms, lanai, iron/board, kitchen, refrigerator, microwave, stove, dishes/cookware, coffee maker, hair dryer, ceiling fan, VCR and separate living area.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Kalapaki Joes
Cuisine American and Hawaii Regional, Casual Dress, Open weekdays from 11am-10pm and weekends from 7am-midnight, Availabe for Breakfast weekends only, Lunch and Dinner.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Conference room available for a fee.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (80)

Ratings and reviews for Aston at Poipu Kai

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
80 out of 80
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston at Poipu Kai

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
beachbums
poipu kai
Oct 28, 2012

Aston at poipu kai

We loved our trip and love the island...traveled and used aston before...our only complaint was the furniture on our patio was broken so we couldn't lay out and enjoy our patio. Owners need to make sure their stuff is up to par!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Brennekes on the beach or Joe's

Review of Aston at Poipu Kai

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
BC, Canada
Aug 30, 2009

Aston Poipu Kai in Kauai

Overall it was a wonderful experience. Good location, a short walk to the beach. Very quiet. Could not find any reasonable priced restaurant. A long drive to Lihue to find supermarkets.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Not too many choices with restaurants. Restaurants very pricey. Dined at Brennecke's. Food was sub-par (vegetables overcooked, rice soggy), and priced on the high side. Better to cook your own except supermarkets were a long drive away. This is in Poipu area.

Review of Aston at Poipu Kai

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Helena, MT
Nov 30, 2010

Great Condo, love Kauai

Hellocopter ride is a must and was great! Love all the beaches especially Poipu near the Sheraton and near the Beach House. Love the Beach House, excellent food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Aston at Poipu Kai

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Los Angeles, CA
Mar 16, 2008

great location

this is not a hotel but a condo. It set close to great activities. There was no airconditioning but March it was not necessary.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Great beach

Review of Aston at Poipu Kai

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dreaming of Hawaii
Yakima, WA
Apr 23, 2009

Beautiful spot

We stayed at the Poipu Sands complex at this resort. We were on the second level. Our unit had an upstairs and a downstairs, each having separate balconies from which we had magnificent views of Shipwreck Beach and the ocean. Spacious rooms. Great master bedroom and bath located upstairs. Nicest condominium we have ever stayed in and we have stayed in some nice ones.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Check out the National Tropical Botanical Garden. Call and make a reservation. Also, do the Smith Family Luau a short drive away in Wailua. Really beautiful grounds, nice people, great food, wonderful show.

Review of Aston at Poipu Kai

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
taafarms
nebraska
Mar 13, 2011

Loved this island

The reviews for this condo varied so we were nervous about what to expect. We had 4 adults and 1 child. Overall we were pleased with the room and location. The condo was older but well maintained. Our flight was delayed so our check in was late but was able to check in with the night security. Nice place to stay for the money. Would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Aston at Poipu Kai

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SimplyBret
Boise, ID
Mar 31, 2014

Clean, adequate and centrally located

Staff was very accommodating. Great location. Decor is a bit dated and worn, but very adequate for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Aston at Poipu Kai

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dreaming of Hawaii
Yakima, WA
Apr 23, 2009

Beautiful spot

We stayed at the Poipu Sands complex at this resort. We were on the second level. Our unit had an upstairs and a downstairs, each having separate balconies from which we had magnificent views of Shipwreck Beach and the ocean. Spacious rooms. Great master bedroom and bath located upstairs. Nicest condominium we have ever stayed in and we have stayed in some nice ones.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Check out the National Tropical Botanical Garden. Call and make a reservation. Also, do the Smith Family Luau a short drive away in Wailua. Really beautiful grounds, nice people, great food, wonderful show.

Review of Aston at Poipu Kai

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
denver
Oct 9, 2010

relaxing family vacation

Condo while not fancy was very functional for our family of 4. Kitchen was fully stocked with everything we needed. Close to snorkeling beach and shops. Fresh towels every day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Kimo's rentals gave us a great deal on snorkeling equipment. Big Save in Koloa best grocery prices.

Review of Aston at Poipu Kai

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Los Angeles, CA
Mar 16, 2008

great location

this is not a hotel but a condo. It set close to great activities. There was no airconditioning but March it was not necessary.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Great beach

Back to menu Return to top