$203 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 8, 2015 Check-out: May 10, 2015

Aston at Poipu Kai

3 stars
View map of 1775 Poipu Road, Koloa, HI 96756

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Aston at Poipu Kai

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
51 out of 51
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.4
Value:
4

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston at Poipu Kai

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Vandivier
Business
Antioch,Ca
May 31, 2010

Fantastic family getaway"

We were on our honeymoon and tried to do as much as possible

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at Poipu Kai

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
No More Weddings!
Business
Richland, Washington
Apr 3, 2010

Relaxing family wedding week

The grounds are immaculate and colorful. The unit (Kahala 413) is rather tired, but clean. Another unit (Kahala 414) had much nicer upgrades for the same price we paid. Lots of touch-up & spruce-up would help. Lovely stroll down to Poipu Beach. Conveniently located on Poipu Road. Confusing check-in (8pm is "after hours"?). Very polite housekeepers. Overall, a pleasant, relaxing time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

When they say, "Eat at Joes"...do it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at Poipu Kai

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
airease
Business
West Michigan
Mar 27, 2010

Great Location

Poipu is the least rainy area on the island. The grounds at the Aston Poipu Kai are beautiful and well maintained. Walking distance to great beaches. Nice swimming pools. Excellent and friendly tennis club. The location of our particular condo unit this time was disappointing, however. The bedroom faced a busy road and was very noisy. This was our third vacation at this complex, and each year the accomodations have been a little worse. The housekeeping staff do a good job and are friendly (with us they didn't have much to do), but the unit we had this year was in need of an upgrade, and the bed really needs a new mattress.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at Poipu Kai

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Mar 2, 2010

Aston at Poipu Kai

We were at this place only one night; we arrived late and were greeted by a security person who was most helpful and courteous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Poipu Shopping Village has a variety of places to eat and shop on a low0key basis.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at Poipu Kai

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
ridgefield, ct
Nov 10, 2009

good and not so good

good location unit needs updating no a/c if it matters to you cheap with supplies

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

air & sea tour of island

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at Poipu Kai

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Palm Bay Fl
Nov 10, 2009

resort quest at poipu kai

condo was last decorated 20 years ago. An upgrade was needed Blow dryer blew up in my hand and at check out clerk was not cordial Outside facilities were beautiful, however our bedroom faced directly onto main street and with no air conditioning very diffult to sleep with street noise

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at Poipu Kai

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mel and Friends
Business
New York, NY
Oct 26, 2009

Solid Value Hotel

The Aston at Poipu Kai is a good value hotel, perfect for families or small/large groups. The rooms are very dated, but reasonably clean and are a good base camp for exploring Kauai. It's right in the Poipu beach area, but not close enough to the beach to walk, which is a downside. On the other hand, our room had a fully equipped kitchen, laundry facilities (in-unit), and beach stuff for us to use (boogie boards, mats, books). One of our showers didn't work and when we complained, no one was sent to help and the staff at the desk said they couldn't do anything about it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Check out the historic downtown of hanepepe- it's full of small boutiques and art galleries, mostly run by the artists themselves. Friday evenings the downtown has an arts festival with music and more vendors. It's also down the street from Lappert's, the local ice cream that is too good to miss!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at Poipu Kai

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hawaii
Oct 12, 2009

Daddy's birthday night

We justhung out at the room, had some family & friends over and ate a lot. Nice and spacious so we didn't feel cramped. And there was a gas grill near our room and the pool was near by.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at Poipu Kai

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pleasanton, CA
Oct 10, 2009

Goood Times

After changing rooms due to noise, had a wonderful experience here. Very quiet and very beautiful grounds.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at Poipu Kai

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
BC, Canada
Aug 30, 2009

Aston Poipu Kai in Kauai

Overall it was a wonderful experience. Good location, a short walk to the beach. Very quiet. Could not find any reasonable priced restaurant. A long drive to Lihue to find supermarkets.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Not too many choices with restaurants. Restaurants very pricey. Dined at Brennecke's. Food was sub-par (vegetables overcooked, rice soggy), and priced on the high side. Better to cook your own except supermarkets were a long drive away. This is in Poipu area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top