$263 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 1, 2015 Check-out: Jan 4, 2015

Aston at Poipu Kai

3 stars
1775 Poipu Road, Koloa, HI 96756
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
50 reviews
Beautiful and perfect for our needs

The Aston Poipu Kai was perfect! Although it didn't have airconditioning we were quite comfortable... See full review

  • Chocoholic
  • May 13, 2014
Clean, adequate and centrally located

Staff was very accommodating. Great location. Decor is a bit dated and worn, but very adequate for... See full review

  • SimplyBret
  • Mar 31, 2014
Upscale beachfront condos offer space and privacy in lively Poipu
Spread across 70 acres of gardens and manicured lawns in the Poipu resort area, Aston at Poipu Kai is an enclave of luxury condominiums, townhouses, and private homes. Walkways wind past pools edged by graceful palms and down to two Poipu beaches. Aston vacation units are located in five upscale communities within Poipu Kai and include one- to three-bedroom condo suites and three-to four-bedroom private homes. While each community has its own recreation facilities -- pool, barbecues, and the like -- all enjoy easy beach access and upscale details.
Highlights
  • Luxury condominiums with ample room and all the bells and whistles
  • Walk-out access to two excellent beaches
  • Pools and tennis courts
  • Wi-Fi in lobby area
Location
Historic Koloa and the Poipu resort area lie on the south coast of Kauai, one of the island's most popular vacation destinations. There are a slew of gorgeous beaches, every waterfront activity, superb golf, historic and natural sites, and enough eclectic shops and restaurants to satisfy every taste. Aston at Poipu Kai is within steps of all of it, yet a tranquil retreat from the action, too.
Rooms
Suites and homes at Aston at Poipu Kai are individually furnished and decorated but most exude tropical warmth and offer a wealth of upscale touches. All include full kitchen, in-room washer and dryer, and complimentary Internet access.
Dining
Some individual communities within the resort have barbecue grills for guests to use. Poipu offers extensive options for eating out, from take-out Hawaiian plate lunches to upscale fine dining.
Recreation
While the various communities at Aston at Poipu Kai each have their own features, the entire community offers six pools, two whirlpools and nine tennis courts. The property fronts two of Poipu's favorite beaches, Brennecke's, popular with boogie boarders, and Shipwreck Beach, where adventure romance "Six Days/Seven Nights" was filmed. A winding trail lures walkers and runners for a workout.
Transportation
  • Lihue Airport (14.4 mi/23.2 km)
Attractions
  • Poipu Bay Golf Course (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Outfitters Kauai (1.7 mi/2.8 km)
  • Spouting Horn (3.5 mi/5.7 km)
  • Waimea Canyon State Park (25.3 mi/40.7 km)
Business
In-room high-speed Internet access and Wi-Fi in the lobby area keep working guests connected.
Policies and fees
  • All Aston Hotels & Resorts managed hotels and condominiums are non-smoking

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Aston at Poipu Kai also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Aston at Poipu Kai Rooms

One Bedroom Garden View Suite
One bedroom suite with one king or queen bed and sofabed or futon. Includes full bathroom, lanai, iron/board, kitchen, refrigerator, microwave, stove, dishes/cookware, coffee maker, hair dryer, ceiling fan and VCR.
Two Bedroom Garden View Suite
Two bedroom suite with one king or queen bed, 2 twin beds and sofabed or futon. Includes 2 full bathrooms, lanai, iron/board, kitchen, refrigerator, microwave, stove, dishes/cookware, coffee maker, hair dryer, ceiling fan, VCR and separate living area.
Two Bedroom Ocean View Suite
Two bedroom suite with one king or queen bed, 2 twin beds and sofabed or futon. Includes 2 full bathrooms, lanai, iron/board, kitchen, refrigerator, microwave, stove, dishes/cookware, coffee maker, hair dryer, ceiling fan, VCR and separate living area.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Conference room available for a fee.

Dining

Kalapaki Joes
Cuisine American and Hawaii Regional, Casual Dress, Open weekdays from 11am-10pm and weekends from 7am-midnight, Availabe for Breakfast weekends only, Lunch and Dinner.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (50)

Ratings and reviews for Aston at Poipu Kai

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
50 out of 50
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston at Poipu Kai

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Patsy Taylor
Redmond Oregon
Dec 15, 2012

Best vacation ever!

This was my 5th trip to Kauai & my husbands 2nd. The location was perfect. I cried when we got there and saw our view of the ocean from our condo. We would recomend this property to everyone:)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk along the "Greenbelt" to Brennecke's Beach Broiler for lunch or dinner.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at Poipu Kai

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
taafarms
Business
nebraska
Mar 13, 2011

Loved this island

The reviews for this condo varied so we were nervous about what to expect. We had 4 adults and 1 child. Overall we were pleased with the room and location. The condo was older but well maintained. Our flight was delayed so our check in was late but was able to check in with the night security. Nice place to stay for the money. Would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at Poipu Kai

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Phoenix, Arizona
Mar 3, 2011

The good and the bad

Location near beach was very good. The grounds were immaculate. The room we had was next to a busy street and you heard cars all night long. The rooms all had levered windows that when closed did not provide any sound barrier. We did a lot of things during the day but because of noise did not get the needed rest at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The beach was beautiful, especially at sunset.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at Poipu Kai

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
beamann
Business
Wesst Vancouver
Feb 27, 2011

A real pleasure

Exceeded our expectations. Golfing was a 3 minute drive. SCUBA diving shop was just a 5 minute drive away. Two gated pools on the site. Sandy ocean beach an average of a 5 minute stroll from the middle of the various units on a paved pathway: perfectly fine for any group without fussy children under 8. A variety of places to eat within a 5 minute drive and two within a five minute walk. Ditto for surfing gear. The units were clean and spacious with LCD TV in both living room and bedroom. Both sofas were foldout and main bedroom was a queen with box springs and thick matress. Bathroom and hallway in marble and shower was 3 by 5 feet (very generous). Everything one needed in the kitchen was supplied. Very comfortable. A pleasure to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The first beach was just a 2 minute walk along a private path past the on-site swimming pool. The other two beaches were adjacent to the first adding 2 or 3 more minutes walking in the cut grass along the shoreline.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at Poipu Kai

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Anchorage, AK
Feb 15, 2011

Garden Condo with quiet area

We did enjoy our quiet (except for the early roosters) condo. We were concerned when previous reviewers missed the air conditioning. We had a condo without direct sun, so we enjoyed not having the loud squeal of the usual air conditioning units. We were able to enjoy the quiet with the sounds of the surf and birds. The unit was updated and well maintained. Would stay there in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at Poipu Kai

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
prettyinpinky
Business
New York, NY
Dec 12, 2010

Paradise

Beautiful resort. We initially had an issue when we checked in, but the manager Eric Napoleon went above and beyond to fix the issue and accommodate us. We would recommend to all!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at Poipu Kai

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Helena, MT
Nov 30, 2010

Great Condo, love Kauai

Hellocopter ride is a must and was great! Love all the beaches especially Poipu near the Sheraton and near the Beach House. Love the Beach House, excellent food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at Poipu Kai

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
50 Year Old
Business
Thousand Oaks, CA
Nov 11, 2010

50th Birthday getaway

Unit 922 was nice and clean inside, but to close to the street. Close walk to the beach, immaculate grounds, conveniently close to shopping and snorkeling.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Grocery store 5 minute drive from condo. Shopping also 1-5 minutes away. Recommend Beach House for dinner, Brick Oven Pizza for lunch, Bubbas for burgers, and Joes on the Green for breakfast. All within 3-20 minutes of driving.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at Poipu Kai

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
denver
Oct 9, 2010

relaxing family vacation

Condo while not fancy was very functional for our family of 4. Kitchen was fully stocked with everything we needed. Close to snorkeling beach and shops. Fresh towels every day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Kimo's rentals gave us a great deal on snorkeling equipment. Big Save in Koloa best grocery prices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at Poipu Kai

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Des Plaines, IL
Jul 2, 2010

Great location for the price

After reading online reviews of the Aston at Poipu Kai, we were apprehensive about our stay. However, we were very happy with our condo. The unit was older but very clean. There was a pool and hot tub right below our lanai and we were five minutes from the beach. Although there is no air conditioning, there were ceiling fans everywhere which helped with the ventilation since it did become quite warm in the afternoon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

There were several nice eating places within a short drive of Aston. We enjoyed both lunch and dinner at Keoki's Paradise - great fish and steak! Had a wonderful breakfast at Poipu Tropical Burger. Both places are located at the shopping center nearby.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at Poipu Kai

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Vandivier
Business
Antioch,Ca
May 31, 2010

Fantastic family getaway"

We were on our honeymoon and tried to do as much as possible

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top