$161 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 3, 2014 Check-out: Sep 5, 2014

Aston at Poipu Kai

3 stars
1775 Poipu Road, Koloa, HI 96756
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
50 reviews
Beautiful and perfect for our needs

The Aston Poipu Kai was perfect! Although it didn't have airconditioning we were quite comfortable... See full review

  • Chocoholic
  • May 13, 2014
Clean, adequate and centrally located

Staff was very accommodating. Great location. Decor is a bit dated and worn, but very adequate for... See full review

  • SimplyBret
  • Mar 31, 2014
Upscale beachfront condos offer space and privacy in lively Poipu
Spread across 70 acres of gardens and manicured lawns in the Poipu resort area, Aston at Poipu Kai is an enclave of luxury condominiums, townhouses, and private homes. Walkways wind past pools edged by graceful palms and down to two Poipu beaches. Aston vacation units are located in five upscale communities within Poipu Kai and include one- to three-bedroom condo suites and three-to four-bedroom private homes. While each community has its own recreation facilities -- pool, barbecues, and the like -- all enjoy easy beach access and upscale details.
Highlights
  • Luxury condominiums with ample room and all the bells and whistles
  • Walk-out access to two excellent beaches
  • Pools and tennis courts
  • Wi-Fi in lobby area
Location
Historic Koloa and the Poipu resort area lie on the south coast of Kauai, one of the island's most popular vacation destinations. There are a slew of gorgeous beaches, every waterfront activity, superb golf, historic and natural sites, and enough eclectic shops and restaurants to satisfy every taste. Aston at Poipu Kai is within steps of all of it, yet a tranquil retreat from the action, too.
Rooms
Suites and homes at Aston at Poipu Kai are individually furnished and decorated but most exude tropical warmth and offer a wealth of upscale touches. All include full kitchen, in-room washer and dryer, and complimentary Internet access.
Dining
Some individual communities within the resort have barbecue grills for guests to use. Poipu offers extensive options for eating out, from take-out Hawaiian plate lunches to upscale fine dining.
Recreation
While the various communities at Aston at Poipu Kai each have their own features, the entire community offers six pools, two whirlpools and nine tennis courts. The property fronts two of Poipu's favorite beaches, Brennecke's, popular with boogie boarders, and Shipwreck Beach, where adventure romance "Six Days/Seven Nights" was filmed. A winding trail lures walkers and runners for a workout.
Transportation
  • Lihue Airport (14.4 mi/23.2 km)
Attractions
  • Poipu Bay Golf Course (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Outfitters Kauai (1.7 mi/2.8 km)
  • Spouting Horn (3.5 mi/5.7 km)
  • Waimea Canyon State Park (25.3 mi/40.7 km)
Business
In-room high-speed Internet access and Wi-Fi in the lobby area keep working guests connected.
Policies and fees
  • All Aston Hotels & Resorts managed hotels and condominiums are non-smoking

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

21.8762 -159.4446
Area served
Koloa-Kauai, HI
Nearby airports
LIH - Lihue Municipal
Area description
Located adjacent to Brenneckes Beach and Shipwreck Beach. Nearby recreational and leisure activities include, golfing, luau's, putting green, snorkeling, windsurfing and more.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Aston at Poipu Kai also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Aston at Poipu Kai Rooms

One Bedroom Garden View Suite
One bedroom suite with one king or queen bed and sofabed or futon. Includes full bathroom, lanai, iron/board, kitchen, refrigerator, microwave, stove, dishes/cookware, coffee maker, hair dryer, ceiling fan and VCR.
Two Bedroom Garden View Suite
Two bedroom suite with one king or queen bed, 2 twin beds and sofabed or futon. Includes 2 full bathrooms, lanai, iron/board, kitchen, refrigerator, microwave, stove, dishes/cookware, coffee maker, hair dryer, ceiling fan, VCR and separate living area.
Two Bedroom Ocean View Suite
Two bedroom suite with one king or queen bed, 2 twin beds and sofabed or futon. Includes 2 full bathrooms, lanai, iron/board, kitchen, refrigerator, microwave, stove, dishes/cookware, coffee maker, hair dryer, ceiling fan, VCR and separate living area.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Kalapaki Joes
Cuisine American and Hawaii Regional, Casual Dress, Open weekdays from 11am-10pm and weekends from 7am-midnight, Availabe for Breakfast weekends only, Lunch and Dinner.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Conference room available for a fee.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (50)

Ratings and reviews for Aston at Poipu Kai

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
50 out of 50
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston at Poipu Kai

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ben Shah
New Hampshire
Sep 19, 2012

Good for the money

This is a good place to stay for the amount you pay, especially for a family of four. The stay would have been more pleasant if the unit had airconditioning. Also, the front desk staff is available only between 7:00am to 8:00pm. The hotel is a bit away from the beach, having a rental car helps. Over all, we did not mind the shortcoming since we were out sightseeing most of the time and only came back to the unit at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Verdes is a nice Mexican restaurant, worth driving to the place if you have a car

Review of Aston at Poipu Kai

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
trfinn
Great Falls, MT
Jul 29, 2012

Upscale Ordinary

The staff were great. The grounds were nicely kept. The room could use an update. Great walking paths. The pools were very clean. The only real complaint I have is ants in the kitchen.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

You have to take a helicopter ride of the island. Best time on the trip.

Review of Aston at Poipu Kai

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
fire11chic
san francisco
Jun 5, 2012

one day stay

I only booked this hotel because I saved 30 dollars booking a car and hotel together. I feel because I was only there for one night I was given the least rentable room. There were fans but they were uneffective. The room was right on the road way so it wasn't until I was almost roasted that I was able to open the window to cool off. The pool was not anything to speak of but to there credit the check in staff was very good. I would make sure I wan't in room #424 or #414.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Aston at Poipu Kai

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hawaii 6
Gettysburg, PA
Nov 18, 2011

Great place to stay, close to everything!

Staff was very helpful, we checked in late. Gave us lots of information and answered all of our questions. We had plumbing problems and they were right there to take care of the problem.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Aston at Poipu Kai

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dale in Atlanta
Atlanta, GA, USA
Nov 18, 2011

Hawaii vacation

Our favorite island - the Aston was great in a great location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Aston at Poipu Kai

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Salinas, ca
Nov 7, 2011

Almost Perfect

Enjoyed a beautiful ocean view room, however when you read, beach within short walking distance, it is that. When you get to the beach it is a very small crescent rocky beach, off to your right another short walk is Poipu beach, which is larger and nicer. Now if your walking from the resort and carrying chairs and coolers it is best to take the short drive up Poipu rd to the beach, plenty of parking, life guard station, shower stations to clean off the sand after a nice time of sunbathing or snorkeling. We stayed at the Kahala units just down the road from the Aston office.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

EAT AT JOE'S, where have you heard that before? The afore mentioned restaurant is at the Kiahuna Golf Club, beautiful ocean veiw and golf setting, fresh seafood and burgers etc., an added bonus beautiful sunsets while you dine.

Review of Aston at Poipu Kai

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
chaokoh
San Francisco, CA, USA
Oct 28, 2011

Aston at Poi Pu

We spent a week on Kauai and stayed at the Aston at Poi Pu the entire time. Because you pretty much have to drive everywhere on the island, being roughly in the middle of it was very convenient. The neighborhood was quiet (mostly retirees) and it was about a 10 minute walk to the beach (our unit was on the north end of the property). We had a full kitchen, so we saved a lot of money by not eating out. It's also near Koloa town, which has everything you'll need to stock up. It was nice to see that the staff was constantly busy maintaining the property, and although the decor in our unit was a bit dated (it will depend on the unit you get) it was very clean and had more space than we needed. We were there in mid-October, and for the $120 or so a night it cost us I can't think of a better value (we had a package so I'm not certain of the cost). Highly recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Gluten Free people: Check out Kukuiula Store on PoiPu road near the yellow submarine. They've got gluten free beer and breads at regular prices. They've also got local grass fed beef in the fridge!

Review of Aston at Poipu Kai

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
markk57
las vegas, nv.
Oct 21, 2011

Great condo

Our condo was grreat!!! Very large one bedroom with king size bed. Large living room, comfortable furniture,full size kitchen with breakfast bar and dinning area. Also has extra half bath!! Large patio on greenbelt. About a hundred yards to the beach. Wonderful place!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Beach house resteraunt was fantastic!!

Review of Aston at Poipu Kai

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Oahu
Jul 17, 2011

The Perfect Vacation!

From the caring staff upon your arrival to the upkeep of the grounds ,we were thoroughly impressed. Everything was just as it had been described on the internet, the breeze through the windows captures the island feel and being from Oahu in Mid July you will never miss air conditioning! The condo is equipped with everything you need to prepare meals of all types and a family of 5 could stay here comfortably. The peacefulness of this location and the friendliness of this staff made this the best vacation ever!! We can't wait to book our next Kauai vacation at Aston Poipu!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Captain Andy's Southern Star DInner Cruise - Positively the best!! Top of the line Service. Summer is the best time!! Blue Hawaiian Helicopter for air sightseeing!!

Review of Aston at Poipu Kai

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Portland, OR
Apr 5, 2011

great family getaway

explore the island

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top

Change search