$263 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 1, 2015 Check-out: Jan 4, 2015

Aston at Poipu Kai

3 stars
1775 Poipu Road, Koloa, HI 96756
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
50 reviews
Beautiful and perfect for our needs

The Aston Poipu Kai was perfect! Although it didn't have airconditioning we were quite comfortable... See full review

  • Chocoholic
  • May 13, 2014
Clean, adequate and centrally located

Staff was very accommodating. Great location. Decor is a bit dated and worn, but very adequate for... See full review

  • SimplyBret
  • Mar 31, 2014
Upscale beachfront condos offer space and privacy in lively Poipu
Spread across 70 acres of gardens and manicured lawns in the Poipu resort area, Aston at Poipu Kai is an enclave of luxury condominiums, townhouses, and private homes. Walkways wind past pools edged by graceful palms and down to two Poipu beaches. Aston vacation units are located in five upscale communities within Poipu Kai and include one- to three-bedroom condo suites and three-to four-bedroom private homes. While each community has its own recreation facilities -- pool, barbecues, and the like -- all enjoy easy beach access and upscale details.
Highlights
  • Luxury condominiums with ample room and all the bells and whistles
  • Walk-out access to two excellent beaches
  • Pools and tennis courts
  • Wi-Fi in lobby area
Location
Historic Koloa and the Poipu resort area lie on the south coast of Kauai, one of the island's most popular vacation destinations. There are a slew of gorgeous beaches, every waterfront activity, superb golf, historic and natural sites, and enough eclectic shops and restaurants to satisfy every taste. Aston at Poipu Kai is within steps of all of it, yet a tranquil retreat from the action, too.
Rooms
Suites and homes at Aston at Poipu Kai are individually furnished and decorated but most exude tropical warmth and offer a wealth of upscale touches. All include full kitchen, in-room washer and dryer, and complimentary Internet access.
Dining
Some individual communities within the resort have barbecue grills for guests to use. Poipu offers extensive options for eating out, from take-out Hawaiian plate lunches to upscale fine dining.
Recreation
While the various communities at Aston at Poipu Kai each have their own features, the entire community offers six pools, two whirlpools and nine tennis courts. The property fronts two of Poipu's favorite beaches, Brennecke's, popular with boogie boarders, and Shipwreck Beach, where adventure romance "Six Days/Seven Nights" was filmed. A winding trail lures walkers and runners for a workout.
Transportation
  • Lihue Airport (14.4 mi/23.2 km)
Attractions
  • Poipu Bay Golf Course (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Outfitters Kauai (1.7 mi/2.8 km)
  • Spouting Horn (3.5 mi/5.7 km)
  • Waimea Canyon State Park (25.3 mi/40.7 km)
Business
In-room high-speed Internet access and Wi-Fi in the lobby area keep working guests connected.
Policies and fees
  • All Aston Hotels & Resorts managed hotels and condominiums are non-smoking

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Aston at Poipu Kai also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Aston at Poipu Kai Rooms

One Bedroom Garden View Suite
One bedroom suite with one king or queen bed and sofabed or futon. Includes full bathroom, lanai, iron/board, kitchen, refrigerator, microwave, stove, dishes/cookware, coffee maker, hair dryer, ceiling fan and VCR.
Two Bedroom Garden View Suite
Two bedroom suite with one king or queen bed, 2 twin beds and sofabed or futon. Includes 2 full bathrooms, lanai, iron/board, kitchen, refrigerator, microwave, stove, dishes/cookware, coffee maker, hair dryer, ceiling fan, VCR and separate living area.
Two Bedroom Ocean View Suite
Two bedroom suite with one king or queen bed, 2 twin beds and sofabed or futon. Includes 2 full bathrooms, lanai, iron/board, kitchen, refrigerator, microwave, stove, dishes/cookware, coffee maker, hair dryer, ceiling fan, VCR and separate living area.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Conference room available for a fee.

Dining

Kalapaki Joes
Cuisine American and Hawaii Regional, Casual Dress, Open weekdays from 11am-10pm and weekends from 7am-midnight, Availabe for Breakfast weekends only, Lunch and Dinner.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (50)

Ratings and reviews for Aston at Poipu Kai

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
50 out of 50
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston at Poipu Kai

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chocoholic
Business
Santa Maria, CA, USA
May 13, 2014

Beautiful and perfect for our needs

The Aston Poipu Kai was perfect! Although it didn't have airconditioning we were quite comfortable (including our son-in-law who is always too hot!) We rented the 2 bedroom, 2 bath condo and will tell all our friends about it and the friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at Poipu Kai

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SimplyBret
Business
Boise, ID
Mar 31, 2014

Clean, adequate and centrally located

Staff was very accommodating. Great location. Decor is a bit dated and worn, but very adequate for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at Poipu Kai

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pumpkin14
Business
Petaluma, California
Jan 25, 2014

Amenities

Aston has a $15 daily non optional charge not included in the quoted price. This is the second Aston we've stayed at that has hidden charges. The one in Maui charged for parking. This one in Kauai charged for newpapers, videos, daily trash pick-up and clean towels. We don't mind, if told up front.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Smith's River Cruz to the Fern Grotto was inexpensive and well worth the trip.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at Poipu Kai

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
HTKM
Business
Princeton Junction, NJ
Jun 29, 2013

Would have been nice if there were a/c in room

The condo was very spacious and had good amenities for a long term stay. However I was disappointed that there was no a/c. We were forced to sleep with the windows open, and the birds and road traffic made it difficult to sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at Poipu Kai

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cindy J
Business
California
Jun 28, 2013

Beautiful Condo

The check in was fast with pleasant staff. The condo unit is in a great location in Poipu with a short walk to the beach. The grounds are beautifully tropical with a distant ocean view (even though we had only booked a garden view!) We were by a pool and there were bar-b-ques located close to our unit. The unit is beautiful, decorated in Polynesian and Hawaii furnishings, wall hangings and accents. The bed is one of the softest, most comfortable beds I have ever slept on. The unit is spacious with granite in the kitchen and all of the cooking utensils that we needed. There is a nice lanai where we enjoyed sitting drinking coffee and watching the tropical birds in the nearby plumeria trees. The housekeeping staff replenish daily and if we needed anything else we left a note and received items (towels, coffee, etc.) This is a very nice condo unit and we would stay again upon returning to Kauai!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

The Smith Family Luau is located on beautiful grounds where you can walk about the tropical trees and plants, then enjoy an authentic luau while listening to Hawaiian songs performed by entertainers. Then afterwards, there is a Hawaiian show for a true Hawaii experience. Very enjoyable!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at Poipu Kai

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Harry Leonard
Business
San Mateo CA
May 15, 2013

Perfect for beach lovers and families

The Aston at Poi Pu Kai is all about location. It is located just avove a great beac;h for boogie boarding and body surfing. A hundred yards to the right is a beach just made for families with small children. It has a shallow lagoon, a protective reef and a life guard. I saw turtles, monk seals and dolphins playing in the water. The condo was clean and well appointed and showed pride of ownership. This was our second time in the same room, we liked that well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at Poipu Kai

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Raydan
Business
Berkeley, ca
Feb 26, 2013

Great location a bit dated

Overall good but condo could use updating, carpet cleaning and new mattress

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at Poipu Kai

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Patricia Mae
Business
Salem, Or.
Jan 14, 2013

Comfortable and pleasant setting

The condo we rented was fairly large, clean and comfortable situated in well kept grounds with lush trees that made it feel very Hawaiian. We appreciated the kitchen which had everything you might need and the maid service which was limited to clean towels every day and clean sheets every few days. It was a short pleasant walk to the beach and to the gorgeous cliffs just past the Hilton. For such a reasonable price you couldn't ask for more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Check out happy hour savings on appetizers that are quite large and satisfying for an inexpensive dinner.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at Poipu Kai

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Patsy Taylor
Business
Redmond Oregon
Dec 15, 2012

Best vacation ever!

This was my 5th trip to Kauai & my husbands 2nd. The location was perfect. I cried when we got there and saw our view of the ocean from our condo. We would recomend this property to everyone:)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk along the "Greenbelt" to Brennecke's Beach Broiler for lunch or dinner.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at Poipu Kai

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
beachbums
Business
poipu kai
Oct 28, 2012

Aston at poipu kai

We loved our trip and love the island...traveled and used aston before...our only complaint was the furniture on our patio was broken so we couldn't lay out and enjoy our patio. Owners need to make sure their stuff is up to par!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Brennekes on the beach or Joe's

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top