$209 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2015 Check-out: Aug 27, 2015

The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

5 stars
View map of One North Kaniku Drive, Kohala Coast, HI 96743

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
122 out of 122
Amenities:
4.5
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Empty-nester
Business
Bay area, CA
Mar 24, 2010

Beautiful grounds and friendly staff

Loved the grounds and facilities. Nice to have a beach on the property as some of the hotels in the area do not. It would have been nice to have a less expensive dining option in the area but there is a nice grocery store nearby and we had a refrigerator in our room. Nice size room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

Not a lot of shopping and dining options in the area. High parking fees at all the hotels.

Review of The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MsLA
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Nov 10, 2010

Honeymoon

The hotel was very nice and we were able to upgrade from a garden view room to the gold floor. The gold floor was great they provide breakfast and coffee, water, soft drinks all day, free of charge. They also provide hor'dourves in the evening so we really didn't even buy dinner, we just ate a big lunch!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Have lunch at Merriman's Cafe and the Kona Brewery!

Review of The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Sensible Traveler
Business
Los Angeles
Dec 7, 2009

Best Luxury Resort Value

I paid $199/night for 8 nights, and it was a great value. The resort is spotless and has an amazingly beautiful, calm and quiet lagoon with a sandy beach, which is unusual since most of the island has rocky lava shorelines. I jogged over to the hotels nearby the Orchid, and they pale in comparison. I would highly recommend the Orchid to anyone from families to couples. The only complaint is that they charge for EVERYTHING -- and, in fact, OVERCHARGE! $14.50/night for internet. $15/night for parking. 23% service charge on room service. $12 drinks by the pool/lagoon!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Don't order lunch service from the lagoon/pool staff. Take a quick jaunt over to Brown's Deli (between the hotel and lagoon) and pick up your lunch there -- they have a better selection at almost 1/2 the price.

Review of The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Big Island Travler
Business
Whittier, CA
Nov 9, 2010

Fairmont Orchard 2 star / 5 star locati

This is the 5 star location for the Kohala coast. The location and staff are winners for this destination. The rooms are 2 star due to cleanliness, ants, and need for renovation. We had blood on the sheets upon arrival in one bead and makeup on the pillow cases on the other. The room we were given was not the Deluxe Ocean View we paid for. The hotel promptly moved us to the proper room and the linens were clean. Unfortunately this was a late arrival for us and we could have done without the problems. We found the hallway carpets dirty, holes in the wallpaper in the entry areas and broken furniture in the common areas. Outside ropes holding the hammocks were questionable. The little coffee shop offered hot items that are microwaved. If you don't eat them in 30 seconds the food is chewy. For a highly rated hotel I expected much better. The staff rates a 4.9 out of 5. The valets were over the top helpful as was the front desk. The pool staff had their timing to a "T". Not invasive, but there when we needed something.The pool amenities were fine and the beach area was well taken care of. The grounds are very clean and well taken care of. The lack of uncontrolled screaming kids you find at the H.W. down the street was a big plus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to the Food Market about a mile away for incidentals and great Sushi for $9.00.

Review of The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Double Nickel
Business
Vista, CA
May 17, 2010

great weather and a great location

stay was great. hotel needs some updating carpets in rooms pool etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hermosa Beach, CA
Apr 29, 2009

Kohala Trip

Staff was great but we got placed in a room between too very noisy parties - one adults only that smoked heavily on the lanai and one with children that insisted on crawling over the balcony side of the lanai. we always like to sit out at our destinations. otherwise the hotel is fab - we always enjoy it

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Tommy Bahamas - great happy hour, great live entertainment, great service

Review of The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Freehold, NJ
Feb 1, 2011

The Big Island

This hotel was clean and the service was very good. The staff was friendly and helpful at all times. Although my services were great at the Spa, I was disappointed to see that they did not have an indoor hot tub or pool. The facility itself could be a little larger. The outdorr massage was fantastic! The hotel grounds have a small man made beach that sits on a lagoon that you can snorkel in, that was great. If you want to enjoy a larger beach area, Hapuna beach is not far from the hotel. I recommend buying the breakfast package when you arrive. The buffet is incredible and it is worth the price! I would recommend this hotel and I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Santa Barbara, CA
Feb 6, 2011

Fairmont Orchid

They were excellent. Staff very helpful and nice. My only suggestion is that the spa could have been better. It's a beautiful place. I would go again easily.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

You can buy a golfhawaii.com card, and save a lot of money on green fees.

Review of The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Mateo
Feb 15, 2010

favorite getaway

many new fees, ie. self-serve parkiing;charge for lounge with covers were new.; discontinued coffee service in the morning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
U.S.A.
Sep 19, 2010

Beautiful, Relaxing Hotel!

This is a lovely hotel! We stayed for two nights after a very active several nights on the north shore of Kauai and in Kamuela. Staying here was the perfect way to unwind and rest before going home. The pool was wonderful--very quiet, great service, comfortable chairs, perfect water temperature, great ocean views. The service at the hotel was excellent. We ate at Brown's Beach House the night of our flight home and the sunset was gorgeous. I also loved that the hotel provides you with an empty refrigerator (instead of a mini bar) so that you can use it to store snacks and other groceries to have on hand. It's a great way to save money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top