$209 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 28, 2015 Check-out: Sep 29, 2015

The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

5 stars
View map of One North Kaniku Drive, Kohala Coast, HI 96743

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
123 out of 123
Amenities:
4.5
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Honolulu, HI
Apr 5, 2010

Not for a couples getaway

We stayed over the long Easter weekend. Check in was a breeze the staff during our stay was very accomodating and hospitable. I thought it was odd that there was no rug in our room anywhere just the tile floors. It made the room feel a little sparse and that you had to wear your slippers all the time. The bathroom was great with the double sinks and two showers, and the seperate toilet area. The only drawback to our stay was that there were children everywhere. I guess we chose our vacation time during Spring Break. I didn't like the fact that your couldn't even get away from the kids even in the lounge area. The hotel should not allow children in the bar/lounge area. Other than that hotel is beautiful, staff outstanding!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Los Angeles, CA
Jul 27, 2010

Quick Getaway

This is a great place to stay if you like playing tennis. Their tennis facilities are expansive and very nice. They also have an on-site pro for lessons and clinics. The rooms are comfortable and the sunsets are beautiful. The beach and pool are very family friendly, although couples might want more privacy. There is excellent snorkeling though on the reef right off the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Idaho Falls, ID
Jan 31, 2010

Business/Pleasure Trip

This hotel is much larger than the Mauna Lani where we have stayed previously. It had a degree of elegance that was nice with beautiful grounds and decorating in the interior. The walk from the parking lot to our room was quite long.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

The market at the Queen's shops was very well stocked. They even had a sushi bar right there that had excellent food available pre-made, or made to order.

Review of The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kinalina
Couples
Washington, DC
May 25, 2011

Lovely "resort"

It was gorgeous, private, on the beach - everything we wanted! It was a good end to our vacation - a good "relax in luxury" kind of spot. The pool was amazing! The only done fall, and it is a resort, everything you bought (food, activities, beach chair rentals, spa...) was outrageously expensive. A small sushi meal cost us $90, a facial at the spa was $160 on the low end, and to rent a beach chair was $60 per chair per day. It is a resort and it is secluded - so it's just a matter of what's important to you. The staff was great, atmosphere was great! If you had kids they had multiple activities for them separate from adults.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There was a shopping complex with a grocery store less than 1 mile from the resort if you were looking on ways to save. Right across from the grocery store is a juice/coffee place with the best ice-blended banana mocha ever!

Review of The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Triathalete Traveler
Couples
Honolulu, HI
Jun 7, 2010

Race Day at Fairmont Orchid

Even with a full house staff worked to get us a room with a King size bed. The room was right across from a man made waterfall. Very relaxing. Proximity to race finish made this stay well worth it. The food was wonderful. (Cornflake crusted vanilla french toast! Carbo-load pre-race buffet!) Service fell short a couple of times (1.5 hour wait for room service when we ordered milk and was old) but they were willing to make up for it. I think more staff during this busy time in the hotel would have solved a few problems but overall we were very pleased.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

A small supermarket with a full deli and bakery is one mile from hotel for fast and cheap eats!

Review of The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Nor Cal
May 22, 2011

I expected more

The staff is friendly and courteous. The setting is lovely. The room smelled of mold and it was most evident when the air conditioner was on. There was black mold around the moldings in the bathroom. Unlike the luxury hotels on Oahu, they charged for everything. Few umbrellas by the pools- none at the beach- to encourage $45 shaded lounge rentals I guess. The hot dishes were lukewarm to cold at the breakfast buffet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

The Japanese restaurant, Monstera, in the shopping center charges half what the Fairmont venue does. Silver Oak Alexander cabernet was $68 vrs $136. The food was quite well prepared.

Review of The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
San Diego, CA
Dec 1, 2009

Great hotel and great location

We were upgraded to a fantastic suite and it was absolutely amazing. The staff were all wonderful and we really enjoyed our time at the hotel. Food at Browns Beach House and Deli was wonderful. The breakfast buffet is not recommended due to many screaming kids and parents that are deaf to the insanity. Pick up something from the deli and go out to the beach for an amazing picnic away from it all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Merrimans is the best restaurant on the island. We ate there three times and the food was the best we have ever had.

Review of The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Portland Oregon
Oct 5, 2009

It was a trip of a lifetime

It was the best time as allways!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

It was perfect.

Review of The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Current Travels
Family
Pasadena
Aug 30, 2011

Great place to forget about work and destress

Our family spent a week at the Orchid and everyone had a great time. The Gold Floor was really worth the upcharge. You have a separate private check-in, drinks throughout the day, food morning and evening and your own concierge for the floor. Plus free valet parking and wireless access. Taking all these benefits into account it makes staying on the Gold Floor a great value. We all really enjoyed the Spa Without Walls and having a massage in a private cabana near one of the resorts waterfalls. Was not very impressed by the spa locker room amenities, but the massage itself was excellent. Overall we had a wonderful time and would go back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Cafe Pesto was good food and reasonably priced...for Hawaii.

Review of The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
laguna beach, ca
Dec 13, 2010

Great hotel on the beach

Great service, great room, great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Dahana horseback ride - great for kids.

Back to menu Return to top