$239 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 17, 2014 Check-out: Dec 18, 2014

The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

5 stars
One North Kaniku Drive, Kohala Coast, HI 96743
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
119 reviews
Stay in Paradise!

We stayed at the Fairmont Orchid for 3 nights during our visit to the Big Island of Hawaii and we... See full review

  • KO in NYC
  • Jun 2, 2014
Excellent

This is a wonderful property. I would recommend that folks explore restaurants outside of the hotel... See full review

  • Kattglobal
  • Jun 2, 2014
Deluxe Waikoloa hotel with championship golf and beachfront dreamscape

Melt into tropical bliss at the 32-acre beachfront Fairmont Orchid Hawaii, in the upscale South Kohala community of Waikoloa. Situated on an aquamarine lagoon traced in sugar-white sand and coconut trees, guests need not ever leave the property to find paradise. Ten tennis courts, a 36-hole championship golf course and outdoor massages by a waterfall or the ocean offer plenty of ways to unwind.

  • Book a massage in a private cabana by a waterfall or the ocean, or book a private yoga or Pilates training session
  • Play at the 36-hole championship course, named one of the 75 Best Golf Resorts in North America by Golf Digest
  • Enjoy the white-sand beach, coconut-tree grove and glistening aquamarine lagoon, plus basking turtles

The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii is less than an hour north of Kailua-Kona in the upscale community of Waikoloa. The hotel rests on a dreamy landscape of sugar-white sand, aquamarine water and rugged black lava rock, surrounded by championship golf courses.

The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii features 540 guest rooms and suites, each with a private balcony, tailored furnishings and a view of gardens or ocean. Executive suites include a separate bedroom with French doors. All accommodations sport air conditioning, high-speed Internet access (fees may apply), Fairmont bath amenities, bathrobes and 42-inch LCD flat-screen TV with media panel.

Guests at The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii have several dining choices. The award-winning Brown's Beach House offers romantic dining. At Norio's Japanese Restaurant and Sushi Bar, enjoy some of the Big Island's best sushi by a serene koi pond. Hale Kai offers casual fare in an outdoor setting.

The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii tempts with a 10,000-square-foot swimming pool, 10 tennis courts and a 36-hole golf course. A 24-hour fitness center and full-service Spa Without Walls round out the amenities. The Keiki Aloha Children's Program entertains kids while parents are enjoying their own leisure time.

  • Kona International Airport (22.7 mi/36.6 km)
  • Kings' Shops/Queens' MarketPlace (5.2 mi/8.4 km)
  • Anaehoomalu Bay (5.9 mi/9.6 km)
  • Hapuna Beach (7.1 mi/11.4 km)
  • Lapakahi State Historical Park (20.8 mi/33.4 km)
  • Kailua-Kona (28.9 mi/46.5 km)
  • Puuhonua o Honaunau National Historical Park (48.6 mi/78.2 km)
  • Hawaii Volcanoes National Park (via Waimea) (102 mi/164 km)

Hotel Map

19.9511 -155.8595
Area served
Kohala Coast Big Island, HI
Nearby airports
Kona/Keahole Airport
Area description
The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii is situated beachfront on the northwestern coast in Mauna Lani resort area of the "Big Island" of Hawaii. Located a 30-minute drive from the Kona/Keahole International Airport. Only 40 minutes to the quaint town of Kona where guests can find shopping and nightlife.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii Rooms

Fairmont Room
Fairmont Rooms are spacious accommodations which offer a private lanai with a view of the gardens. Bed Type: one King, two Queen or two Double beds Size: 522 sq. ft.
Ocean View Room
Ocean View Rooms are spacious accommodations offering a private lanai. There is a partial angled ocean view from the room and the lanai. Bed Type: One King, two Queen or two Double beds Size: 522 sq. ft.
Partial Ocean View Room
Partial Ocean View rooms are spacious accommodations offering a private lanai. There is a partial angled ocean view from the lanai. Bed Type: One King or two Queen beds. 522 sq. ft.
Signature Ocean Front Room
Signature Ocean Front rooms are spacious rooms with a spectacular view of the ocean and a spacious private lanai. Bed Type: One King or two Queen beds. 522 sq. ft.
Executive Suite Garden View
The Executive Suite Garden View offer luxurious accommodation and a view of the gardens. The bedroom closes off from the living room with French doors and includes a full bathroom with separate shower and water closet. There are also two large closets, a television and private lanai with patio furniture. Located off the bedroom is an alcove with a writing desk. The living room offers a Queen sofabed, easy chairs, another writing desk and a full stereo system with a CD player (CDs not provided). There is a half bathroom off the living room, as well as a second private lanai with patio furniture. Bed Type: One King or two Queen beds. 1050 sq.ft.
Executive Suite Ocean View
The Executive Suite Ocean View offer luxurious accommodation and a view of the Pacific Ocean. The bedroom closes off from the living room with French doors. Also included is a full bathroom with separate shower and water closet, in addition to a bathtub with second shower. There are two large closets, a television and private lanai with patio furniture. Also, off the bedroom is an alcove with a writing desk. The living room offers a Queen sofabed, easy chairs, another writing desk and a full stereo system with CD player (CDs not provided). There is a half bathroom off the living room, as well as a second private lanai with patio furniture. Bed Type: One King or two Queen beds; Queen sofabed in living room. 1050 sq.ft.
Oceanfront Suite
One-bedroom Oceanfront Suites offer spectacular panoramic views of the Pacific Ocean from the bedroom, living room and both private lanais. This spacious, elegant suite includes a parlor that is separated from the bedroom by classic French doors. The sofa bed in the living room pulls out for extra sleeping space. Also in the living room is a separate powder room, and the bedroom includes a full master bathroom. Oceanfront Suites can connect to a spacious Oceanview Rooms to become a Two-Bedroom Oceanfront Suite. Bed Type: One King or two Queen beds; Queen sofabed in living room. 1,477 square feet or 2,144 square feet with the connecting Oceanview room

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

The Orchid Court
Hours of Operation: Open Daily 6:30 a.m.-10:30 a.m. Dress Code: Resort attire. Cover ups and footwear required. The Orchid Court serves the best breakfast on the island, offering a sumptuous buffet daily and a tempting selection of la carte items from the menu, perfect for the dawn patrol or late risers alike. The Orchid Court offers both indoor and outdoor terrace seating.
Brown's Beach House
Hours of Operation: Dinner nightly 5:30 p.m.-8:30 p.m., on Tuesdays and Wednesdays until 9:00 pm Dress Code: Resort attire. Footwear required. Award-winning Brown's Beach House is the place for the quintessential island dining experience, located just steps from shore, featuring island-inspired cuisine with the best ingredients available locally. Clean, exciting flavors with an emphasis on super-fresh seafood prevail on the dinner menu. Reservations recommended.
Hale Kai Restaurant
Hours of Operation: Open daily from 10:00 a.m. to 10:00 p.m. Dress Code: Casual resort attire. In Hawai`i, eating is a time of pleasure and enjoying our `ohana rather than simply taking nourishment. Hale Kai is the perfect venue for a most refreshing afternoon, sunset or evening family dinner. The Hale Kai Restaurant is located near the entrance to Brown's Beach House.
Luana Lounge
Hours of Operation: Open Nightly from 5:00 p.m. - Midnight Dress Code: Resort attire. Footwear required. In Hawaiian, "Luana" may be explained as "to be at leisure, enjoy pleasant surroundings and associates, live in comfort and ease, enjoy oneself, relax . . . be content." Enjoy a leisurely afternoon or evening here with your favorite tropical libation, nibble from a delectable pupu (appetizer) menu and relax in comfortable furnishings surrounding by local Big Island art and the glorious Kohala Sunset near the main lobby.
Norio's Japanese Restaurant & Sushi Bar
Hours of Operation: Thursday - Monday 5:30 - 9:00 p.m. Dress Code: Resort attire. Footwear required. A favorite among guests, visitors and locals alike, Norio's Japanese Restaurant & Sushi Bar is located alongside a serene koi pond on the garden level. The 60-seat restaurant features a 14-seat sushi bar and an 18-seat private dining room. The new menu reflects contemporary Japanese cuisine with items such as Hamachi and Avocado Sashimi, Beef Tenderloin Carpaccio and A5 Wagyu Ribe Eye Steak plus tantalizing traditional items like Miso Marinated Black Cod and Pan Seared Hawaiian Abalone topped with Uni Emulsion on Truffle Mash.
Kahakai Bar
Hours of Operation: Seasonally Open Daily until dusk. Dress Code: Casual resort attire. Kahakai means 'beach' in Hawaiian and this new beachside bar features a Polynesian-style thatched roof, refreshing trade winds and billion dollar views of Mauna Kea and the blue Pacific. A variety of tropical libations and mouth-watering pupus (appetizers) are served.
Brown's Deli
Hours of Operation: Daily 6:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m. Find this get-it-to-go restaurant options at the center of everything -- behind Brown's Beach House Restaurant, steps from the pool and Hale Kai Restaurant. Brown's Deli offers breakfast and lunch items delicatessen style with an island flair plus your favorite beverages to enjoy at outdoor tables or wander down to the beach. They'll even pack meals to take on the plane for a healthy alternative. A great place to pick up food gifts to take home with every item made either on the Big Island or in the state of Hawaii, i.e., Volcano Honey, Chocolate, Taro Chips and more.
In-Room Dining
Hours of Operation: Available daily from 6:00 a.m. to Midnight. In-Room Dining at The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii is not just another meal - it is the ultimate experience in convenience and comfort. Perfect for early-risers, a romantic dinner for two, night-time munchies or small gatherings, you can chose from signature gourmet dishes or hearty 'just like home' selections without having to leave the comfort of your room. Available daily from 6:00 a.m. until Midnight. Hoku Lani, "Dining Under the Stars," is served oceanfront at our Pacific Terrace, complete with tiki torches and your own private servers. This lavish four-course dinner offers a truly beautiful and romantic dining experience.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (119)

Ratings and reviews for The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
119 out of 119
Amenities:
4.5
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Chris and Kathy
Business
Seattle
Apr 9, 2011

Not Quite a Five Star Experience

When we booked, it was a special trip so we looked for a 5 Star Hotel. The Fairmont and Four Seasons were the two that jumped out at us and we went with the Fairmont, had stayed at several nice Fairmonts and the price was considerably lower. The property is very nice, nice first impression. We had paid a significant upgrade to an Ocean view room and when we got there, it was not as expected. The room faced the pool and the ocean was not really visible from the room, but could be seen from the lanai. There is a man made waterfall which was right outside our room, drowning out any sound of the ocean. Artificial waterfalls are nice, but they are not what I want to hear in Hawaii. Most of the interior of the room was nice enough, definitely not 5 star, but nice enough, with the exception of a broken lamp with a burnt lampshade that took hours to be replaced. Our first major disappointment. The bath area was adequate, full tub/shower combo, shower stall, 2 sinks, not luxuriously roomy, but nice enough. Fixtures were fine. Once again, why did I see a 5 star rating on this property? Our in room coffee pot was broken so we called to have it replaced, a guy shows up without a coffee pot acting like we were idiots who didn't know how to use a coffee pot. After we had to "prove" it was truly broken, he went to get us another. We didn't need coffee that much anyway, right? I decided to look at the tea selection which came with one of the islands non-native fauna, the german cockroach. After slaying the beast, I called the manager and explained that between a broen burned lamp, broken coffeepot with dismissive treatment, a few small ants(no worries there, we're in the islands) and a roach, that my vacation was not off to a good start. She promised more attentive housekeeping and an exterminator, who came two and a half days later. The rest of the trip was nice enough, our replacement lamp was also slightly marked up on the shade, but worked OK and we turned the marks to the wall. Pool area seems small, nice small beach with good snorkeling and good activities service. Food and Bev service on the beach was so-so at best, slow, expensive, weak $14 drinks. The spa is wonderful, resort prices for sure, but very qualified masseuses, great personal service, may have saved the hotel from a worse review. Golf courses are beautiful and reasonably priced for guests, location is fantastic. We had a very nice time despite our start and would give our last half of the trip four stars, but the start of this trip drops the overall rating to 3 at best. I've stayed at 5 star places and this is definitely not one of them.note: staff only received 3 stars but [...] were excellent concierges and the bell/valet staff were very good, so I'll kick 'em 4 stars on that. Did not feel satisfied by the response to my early issues, which is why 3 is as good as the overall staff gets.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Blue Hawaiian Helicopters, Big Island Eco Adventure, Hapuna Golf Resort Twilight($75 after 1, very nice course)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
50thVenture
Business
Pa
Nov 8, 2011

Volcano Adventure

warm welcome, comfortable beds, K-cup coffee maker with Kona coffee, and unbeatable sunsets made for a wonderful stay. Simple drive from airport. Food was good, especially Halekei dinner with feet in the sand watching the sunset. Would highly recommend and can't wait to go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
EEE4
Business
Bay Area
Nov 14, 2011

Staff was great

Staff was friendly and helpful. Pool was well maintained.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
girltravel
Business
Cary, NC, USA
Nov 25, 2011

Beautiful but pricey

A great hotel with a beautiful view , beautiful grounds, and luxurious rooms. The downsides are the short and small coastline as well as the cost. Hawaii is known to be expensive but you would think that amenities such as snorkeling gear etc.. could be included with the amount of money each room costs. If you are willing to spend the money a great place to stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tony P00
Business
San Diego, CA, USA
Dec 2, 2011

Fairmont Orchid Stay

My wife and I loved our stay here. They were very accommodating to us for our requests and the staff was generally pleasant and friendly. The grounds are beautiful, well manicured and feel comfortably classy. Everything felt well done and not at all about being gaudy and resort-esque. As an added bonus, green sea turtles often cruise their little rocky bay/beach. Great for a quick snorkeling trip- especially for kids. Our only complaints were that our shower never quite got hot, and that Kohala and Waikoloa are a 45 minute drive from activities based in Kailua-Kona. Our complaints were pretty minor and our 6 day stay felt way too short. We already miss it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hula Traveler
Business
Pine, Colorado
Nov 28, 2011

Aloha Lux

The Fairmont Orchid is absolutley beautiful in the perfect location. You can have a fantastic vacation without ever leaving the resort. The beach is beautiful and the shoreline snorkeling is great. There are many activities to hold the interest of every guest. The staff was friendly and offered outstanding service. The resort is fairly isolated so you must drive roughly 15 minutes to the closest dinning options outside the hotel. The area is pricey, but the Fairmont is extremely high. The lack of more reasonable dining options at the hotel is my only mild complaint, especially for breakfast. The breakfast buffet at the hotel was $30 per person. Overall we felt as though we spent a week in paradise while at the Fairmont Orchid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Macaroni Grill at Wiakoloa serves a great breakfast for a third of the price of the Fairmont. The Island Groumet grocery store in Wiakoloa is a great place to pick up food and drinks. The Fairmont runs a shuttle to the FoodLand grocery store that also offers great options and is open until 11:00pm..

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
hwtraveler
Business
Southern California
Feb 27, 2012

Family Trip with Teens

Hotel was nice and clean. The rooms were modern and spacious. The bell staff was great. The property is in a nice location. We traveled here when the kids were younger and really enjoyed the lagoon but the kids are teens now and wanted more of a water sports beach. Snorkeling was good. No surfing or boogie boarding. Sports rentals (paddle boards and kayaks) were limited to use in the small lagoon area. Pool is very nice. We were moved around on the beach and at the pool a number of times due to corporate events. You might want to check the corporate event schedule before you book. The pool deck got quite crowded.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

You can walk to the Canoe House at the Mana Lani. Great food and views to enjoy.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Husband and Lover
Business
Ohio
May 3, 2012

Great time!

My wife and I really enjoyed our time at this resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bay Area Travelers
Business
San Francisco, California
Jul 3, 2012

Near Perfect

First, the good stuff -- the hotel property is postcard perfect, thestaff are friendly and helpful, the mango margaritas are addictive, the spa services are top-notch and the small, beach is a rarity on the Big Island. But, there's room for improvement. Unless you plan never to leave the hotel, you'll need a car. Parking at the Fairmont is not cheap (or free like other hotels on the island) -- $17 for self-parking and $22 for valet parking per day. Food, drinks and just about any service that you would want also come with a big price tag. Lastly, walking in the hallways is like stepping into a freezer. Walk fast!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
pong family
Business
diamond bar, ca
Sep 6, 2012

fantastic family getaway

This was the best hotel we've ever stayed at in in Hawaii. The whole family snorkeling everyday. We saw a variety of fish including turtles, eels, and my favorite puffer fish.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

snorkeling

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top