$209 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 28, 2015 Check-out: Sep 29, 2015

The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

5 stars
View map of One North Kaniku Drive, Kohala Coast, HI 96743

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
123 reviews
Excellent location in the Big Island

Had a wonderful time at the luxurious Fairmont hotel. Very attentive staff. See full review

  • Alex
  • May 20, 2015
Private Vacation

Great hotel with a great location and one of the finest restaurants on the island. See full review

  • Steven T.
  • May 7, 2015

Melt into tropical bliss at the 32-acre beachfront Fairmont Orchid Hawaii, in the upscale South Kohala community of Waikoloa. Situated on an aquamarine lagoon traced in sugar-white sand and coconut trees, guests need not ever leave the property to find paradise. Ten tennis courts, a 36-hole championship golf course and outdoor massages by a waterfall or the ocean offer plenty of ways to unwind.

Location

The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii is less than an hour north of Kailua-Kona in the upscale community of Waikoloa. The hotel rests on a dreamy landscape of sugar-white sand, aquamarine water and rugged black lava rock, surrounded by championship golf courses.

Dining

Guests at The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii have several dining choices. The award-winning Brown's Beach House offers romantic dining. At Norio's Japanese Restaurant and Sushi Bar, enjoy some of the Big Island's best sushi by a serene koi pond. Hale Kai offers casual fare in an outdoor setting.

Rooms

The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii features 540 guest rooms and suites, each with a private balcony, tailored furnishings and a view of gardens or ocean. Executive suites include a separate bedroom with French doors. All accommodations sport air conditioning, high-speed Internet access (fees may apply), Fairmont bath amenities, bathrobes and 42-inch LCD flat-screen TV with media panel.

Highlights
  • Book a massage in a private cabana by a waterfall or the ocean, or book a private yoga or Pilates training session
  • Play at the 36-hole championship course, named one of the 75 Best Golf Resorts in North America by Golf Digest
  • Enjoy the white-sand beach, coconut-tree grove and glistening aquamarine lagoon, plus basking turtles
Nearby attractions
  • Kings' Shops/Queens' MarketPlace (5.2 mi/8.4 km)
  • Anaehoomalu Bay (5.9 mi/9.6 km)
  • Hapuna Beach (7.1 mi/11.4 km)
  • Lapakahi State Historical Park (20.8 mi/33.4 km)
  • Kailua-Kona (28.9 mi/46.5 km)
  • Puuhonua o Honaunau National Historical Park (48.6 mi/78.2 km)
  • Hawaii Volcanoes National Park (via Waimea) (102 mi/164 km)
Transportation
  • Kona International Airport (22.7 mi/36.6 km)
Recreation

The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii tempts with a 10,000-square-foot swimming pool, 10 tennis courts and a 36-hole golf course. A 24-hour fitness center and full-service Spa Without Walls round out the amenities. The Keiki Aloha Children's Program entertains kids while parents are enjoying their own leisure time.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii also booked these hotels.

★★★★
$157
4.1 / 5 417 reviews
★★★★
$280
3.9 / 5 436 reviews
★★★★
$220
4.6 / 5 78 reviews
★★★★
$199
4.1 / 5 211 reviews
★★★★
$209
4.3 / 5 236 reviews
★★★★★
$325
4.6 / 5 31 reviews
★★★★
$203
4.3 / 5 38 reviews
★★★★
$250
4.5 / 5 4 reviews
★★★★
$209
4.3 / 5 11 reviews

The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii Rooms

Fairmont Room
Fairmont Rooms are spacious accommodations which offer a private lanai with a view of the gardens. Bed Type: one King, two Queen or two Double beds Size: 522 sq. ft.
Ocean View Room
Ocean View Rooms are spacious accommodations offering a private lanai. There is a partial angled ocean view from the room and the lanai. Bed Type: One King, two Queen or two Double beds Size: 522 sq. ft.
Partial Ocean View Room
Partial Ocean View rooms are spacious accommodations offering a private lanai. There is a partial angled ocean view from the lanai. Bed Type: One King or two Queen beds. 522 sq. ft.
Signature Ocean Front Room
Signature Ocean Front rooms are spacious rooms with a spectacular view of the ocean and a spacious private lanai. Bed Type: One King or two Queen beds. 522 sq. ft.
Executive Suite Garden View
The Executive Suite Garden View offer luxurious accommodation and a view of the gardens. The bedroom closes off from the living room with French doors and includes a full bathroom with separate shower and water closet. There are also two large closets, a television and private lanai with patio furniture. Located off the bedroom is an alcove with a writing desk. The living room offers a Queen sofabed, easy chairs, another writing desk and a full stereo system with a CD player (CDs not provided). There is a half bathroom off the living room, as well as a second private lanai with patio furniture. Bed Type: One King or two Queen beds. 1050 sq.ft.
Executive Suite Ocean View
The Executive Suite Ocean View offer luxurious accommodation and a view of the Pacific Ocean. The bedroom closes off from the living room with French doors. Also included is a full bathroom with separate shower and water closet, in addition to a bathtub with second shower. There are two large closets, a television and private lanai with patio furniture. Also, off the bedroom is an alcove with a writing desk. The living room offers a Queen sofabed, easy chairs, another writing desk and a full stereo system with CD player (CDs not provided). There is a half bathroom off the living room, as well as a second private lanai with patio furniture. Bed Type: One King or two Queen beds; Queen sofabed in living room. 1050 sq.ft.
Oceanfront Suite
One-bedroom Oceanfront Suites offer spectacular panoramic views of the Pacific Ocean from the bedroom, living room and both private lanais. This spacious, elegant suite includes a parlor that is separated from the bedroom by classic French doors. The sofa bed in the living room pulls out for extra sleeping space. Also in the living room is a separate powder room, and the bedroom includes a full master bathroom. Oceanfront Suites can connect to a spacious Oceanview Rooms to become a Two-Bedroom Oceanfront Suite. Bed Type: One King or two Queen beds; Queen sofabed in living room. 1,477 square feet or 2,144 square feet with the connecting Oceanview room

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Dining

The Orchid Court
Hours of Operation: Open Daily 6:30 a.m.-10:30 a.m. Dress Code: Resort attire. Cover ups and footwear required. The Orchid Court serves the best breakfast on the island, offering a sumptuous buffet daily and a tempting selection of la carte items from the menu, perfect for the dawn patrol or late risers alike. The Orchid Court offers both indoor and outdoor terrace seating.
Brown's Beach House
Hours of Operation: Dinner nightly 5:30 p.m.-8:30 p.m., on Tuesdays and Wednesdays until 9:00 pm Dress Code: Resort attire. Footwear required. Award-winning Brown's Beach House is the place for the quintessential island dining experience, located just steps from shore, featuring island-inspired cuisine with the best ingredients available locally. Clean, exciting flavors with an emphasis on super-fresh seafood prevail on the dinner menu. Reservations recommended.
Hale Kai Restaurant
Hours of Operation: Open daily from 10:00 a.m. to 10:00 p.m. Dress Code: Casual resort attire. In Hawai`i, eating is a time of pleasure and enjoying our `ohana rather than simply taking nourishment. Hale Kai is the perfect venue for a most refreshing afternoon, sunset or evening family dinner. The Hale Kai Restaurant is located near the entrance to Brown's Beach House.
Luana Lounge
Hours of Operation: Open Nightly from 5:00 p.m. - Midnight Dress Code: Resort attire. Footwear required. In Hawaiian, "Luana" may be explained as "to be at leisure, enjoy pleasant surroundings and associates, live in comfort and ease, enjoy oneself, relax . . . be content." Enjoy a leisurely afternoon or evening here with your favorite tropical libation, nibble from a delectable pupu (appetizer) menu and relax in comfortable furnishings surrounding by local Big Island art and the glorious Kohala Sunset near the main lobby.
Norio's Japanese Restaurant & Sushi Bar
Hours of Operation: Thursday - Monday 5:30 - 9:00 p.m. Dress Code: Resort attire. Footwear required. A favorite among guests, visitors and locals alike, Norio's Japanese Restaurant & Sushi Bar is located alongside a serene koi pond on the garden level. The 60-seat restaurant features a 14-seat sushi bar and an 18-seat private dining room. The new menu reflects contemporary Japanese cuisine with items such as Hamachi and Avocado Sashimi, Beef Tenderloin Carpaccio and A5 Wagyu Ribe Eye Steak plus tantalizing traditional items like Miso Marinated Black Cod and Pan Seared Hawaiian Abalone topped with Uni Emulsion on Truffle Mash.
Kahakai Bar
Hours of Operation: Seasonally Open Daily until dusk. Dress Code: Casual resort attire. Kahakai means 'beach' in Hawaiian and this new beachside bar features a Polynesian-style thatched roof, refreshing trade winds and billion dollar views of Mauna Kea and the blue Pacific. A variety of tropical libations and mouth-watering pupus (appetizers) are served.
Brown's Deli
Hours of Operation: Daily 6:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m. Find this get-it-to-go restaurant options at the center of everything -- behind Brown's Beach House Restaurant, steps from the pool and Hale Kai Restaurant. Brown's Deli offers breakfast and lunch items delicatessen style with an island flair plus your favorite beverages to enjoy at outdoor tables or wander down to the beach. They'll even pack meals to take on the plane for a healthy alternative. A great place to pick up food gifts to take home with every item made either on the Big Island or in the state of Hawaii, i.e., Volcano Honey, Chocolate, Taro Chips and more.
In-Room Dining
Hours of Operation: Available daily from 6:00 a.m. to Midnight. In-Room Dining at The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii is not just another meal - it is the ultimate experience in convenience and comfort. Perfect for early-risers, a romantic dinner for two, night-time munchies or small gatherings, you can chose from signature gourmet dishes or hearty 'just like home' selections without having to leave the comfort of your room. Available daily from 6:00 a.m. until Midnight. Hoku Lani, "Dining Under the Stars," is served oceanfront at our Pacific Terrace, complete with tiki torches and your own private servers. This lavish four-course dinner offers a truly beautiful and romantic dining experience.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
123 out of 123
Amenities:
4.5
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Notworthstaying
Family
San Diego
Jun 28, 2012

Not luxury. Event/wedding hotel. Very poor customer service.

Either a corporate event or wedding (sometimes two a day) happened at the hotel - which meant music all night, part of the pool closed off or decking around the pool. Most of the staff was just not unfriendly but actually mean. Location was fine but there are hotels nicer to choose from with better beaches right next door - Mauna Lani or Mauna Kea. Absolutely not worth the price - we stayed at the Marriot in Waikoloa a few years ago and the service, rooms, beach and services was way superior = huge disappointment. Also very few rooms have a direct ocean view...partial means if you sit on your balcony and look at a angle.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ed and Kris
Couples
Lake Forest, CA
May 26, 2014

Will never book Fairmont again.

Go to Kauai and stay at the Grand Hyatt, much better place and island. Fairmont Orchid stay: 1) wifi is $13.50 per day. Needless to say, I went to the local Starbucks for wifi. 2) Bathroom not clean, looked like mold on the shower head and some on the walls. 3) tried to book a bungalow on the beach for the next day. I had a total miscommunication with the staff. The next day, they showed me two lounge chairs with a cover. I told the staff, this is not what I wanted. So, I tried to resolve the issue with a manager. I was told nothing could be done. I'm so sorry. Later..., a call to the room, the manager said she could fix the problem. I went to the beach house, the staff there were not informed, I was done. Horrible experience. Unprofessional. Not on the spot to resolve issues. 4) My bath towel had holes in it! Wow not 5 star to me... 5) air conditioning broke for the evening and night. Hawaii is very humid. They offered complementary snowcones as comphensation . Can you believe snow cones! Wow, it blows my mind! Did I say snow cones... 6) The breakfast buffet had covers on the Italian cold cuts, the covers didn't keep the flies out. very disgusting! I would not recommend this place to anybody. I would have been better off at a motel 6.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

For breakfast drive about 17 miles north east to the Hawaiian Style Cafe. Awesome place, better food and half price. Nothing better is closer.

Review of The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
pwtsd
Family
San Diego, CA
Aug 1, 2011

Fairmont Orchid

Stayed for one night and found the beachside, lounge and concierge services far below adequate. All services (except bell and front desk) were exceptionally slow. I was shocked to find the concierge downright rude and not sharp. When the general manager, [...], stepped in to arrange golf clubs, he forgot to do it (even after I confirmed with him twice). Fortunately the golf course provided clubs which I believe the Fairmont ultimately paid for but still, what a hassle that caused a late tee time. The property is gorgeous and well situated. The weather was fabulous all week with no bugs. Fantastic snorkeling. I believe though when you're staying in a $1200 per night room, services should come with it. I've never had these problems with 4Seasons or Grand Hyatt.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Get away from the resort. A few sandwiches and non-alcoholic drinks can get you into the $75 range easily on property. Instead, stop by a local small market and make sandwiches... picnics on the beach away from everyone is the way to go. Much more economical and enjoyable.

Review of The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
friequent traveler
Couples
CA
Sep 27, 2010

Terrible, terrible, really terrible

It was second worst trip ever and the worst trip to Big Island, HI. Management is not considered to their guests unless it is a large money-making group. We were ran out of the beach on three different occasions: 1. Two days a set for the party was being built to reward a travel agency group for bringing business to hotel. It was a noisy preparation on the quiet part of the beach. 2. Over 30 housekeeping employees came to the beach and were running wild for some time without any regard for the quests on the beach. 3. We were asked to leave the beach while we were sun-bathing because the hotel accepted a payment to do a wedding on the beach though the usual wedding place is on the grass on the other side of the hotel. When I asked the hotel organizer why the grass was not an option, I was told that wedding party want the beach and paid for it. But what about us, the guests who paid for a room there to enjoy the beach?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Misson Viejo CA
Jul 9, 2009

The Fairmont

My first impression was not favorable, this hotel is not impeccable as I would expect. Dirty carpets, damaged hallway walls, lightbulbs out, damaged wood work etc. In my room the furniture was dusty, drink rings on the bedstand, bird droppings all over patio & patio furniture, the robes provided were torn with holes in them. There was mold around the sinks & shower. However, the hotel staff was very friendly & when I brought up my concerns they buffed me out with a substantial room upgrade which made it tolerable. I only ate at the hotel twice & both times the service was horible & the food worse. It is unfortunate, because with better attention to the small details this could be a fabulous place.It is in a great location with killer views.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mixed
Family
Bay Area
Aug 20, 2013

Overrated

Too expensive and they treat a package reservation with little or no appreciation. They also nickel and dime you for everything including $17 to self-park with very expensive food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Chicago, Illinois
Mar 22, 2010

Nice Property

First time ever in Hawaii for our 40th wedding anniversary. Disappointed in the fact that I was told something "special" would be done for the occasion and nothing at all was :( The property and room was beautiful, but the hotel was very empty. The prices at the restaurants were much higher than I expected (who pays six dollars for coffee?) Also the charges for parking your car in an empty hotel lot was also out of line. I can see if they were booked and space was at a premium, but I guess they have to make money somehow.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Las Vegas,NV
Feb 18, 2011

Last Time on the Big Island

Nice hotel, clean and comfortable. Unless you plan to "Staycation" on the premises you need to rent a car. All the tourist attractions are many miles away. You will also need to plan your dinner in advance. We could not get reservations at the hotels main restaurant any evening of our stay. There are no other full service restaurants within walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

You can view most of the area attractions by car. The tourist guides steer you to the tour companies by saying this or that is "difficult" to get to. The car rental agencies do not want you to travel the Saddle Road to Hilo because it can be dangerous to drive in bad weather. The road is very windy but not difficult to drive if you take your time. There is construction on the Hilo side but it still saves you time if you want to go to Hilo or volcanoes.

Review of The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tamaryk
Couples
Tel Aviv, Israel
Sep 10, 2009

Very nice resort, disapointing rooms

Resort is beautiful, but the rooms are very plain & a bit cheap looking. Not even close to what you would expect from a 5 star resort. Food at the restaurants is good but very expensive. Very good service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Canoe House at the Mauni Lani is excellent.

Review of The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
blondiscal777
Friends
Los Angeles, CA
Jul 6, 2009

Great beach/cove

Best thing about the hotel was the beach and protected cove for snorkeling. Buy fruit, etc. at the nearby grocery to skip the pricey breakfast and dine on your lanai instead. Parking and internet are way over-priced but that's typical. Oh yeah, and I was expecting a lot of orchids everywhere, given the name of the hotel. Not so much. Weird.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

$60 beach cabana was well worth the money. Bring your own lunch (bought at the local grocery) and stay for the sunset. Amazing. Very private.

Back to menu Return to top