$209 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2015 Check-out: Aug 27, 2015

The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

5 stars
View map of One North Kaniku Drive, Kohala Coast, HI 96743

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
122 out of 122
Amenities:
4.5
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kattglobal
Business
Newton, Ma
Jun 2, 2014

Excellent

This is a wonderful property. I would recommend that folks explore restaurants outside of the hotel for more variety and value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
PHDave
Business
Pleasant Hill, CA, USA
Aug 23, 2011

Excellent luxury

Even the garden view room was superb. The food was terrific, the area is beautiful. I couldn't think of any downside on this. Reasonable rate for the luxury.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
The Spony's
Business
Colorado
Aug 30, 2009

Reconnect in Paradise

We were looking for a romantic getaway in a beautiful location and couldn't have found a better place than the Orchid. The staff was attentive and friendly, the room was spotless. The grounds were gorgeous and our oceanside couple's massage was set up for sunset by the spa receptionist and will never be forgotten. We left the Orchid with our spirits renewed and an intimate connection reforged. This is the true meaning of the Aloha spirit!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
kanalani
Business
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Aug 29, 2011

You never have to leave the resort

The hotel is beautiful and is one of the few places on the big island with direct beach access. The hotel has a lagoon where you can snorkel, paddle boat, canoe. They rent all the gear at the hotel, so you never have leave the resort. The resort caters to luxury travelers but is also very kid-friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
The Pirate
Business
Rossendale, Lancashire, UK
Sep 15, 2011

Luxury in Paradise

Top class hotel with everything you could want for a luxury holiday in paradise. A car though is essential to access local amenities as well as to explore the delights of Hawaii (The Big Island). The hotel staff are extremely friendly and helpful. The hotel grounds are amazing. Don't miss the sea turtles that come ashore on the sea front of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Visit the Kings Shops and Queens Shops about 5 - 10 minutes drive.

Review of The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Liza and Stephen
Business
Athens, Georgia
Feb 18, 2011

Wedding Day

We got married at Fairmont Orchid Big Island, Hawaii on Valentines Day 2011. It was the BEST!!! Fairmont hotel and staff was wonderful. Fairmont hotel made our wedding a day to remember. It was humid and hot, but they made us cool. The private dinner and food was amazing. Our wedding coordinators made our day easy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Rent a car in advance

Review of The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Jose, CA
Sep 19, 2009

Paradise

Attentive, personal service. Wonderful food. We plan a return visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mafan
Business
Scranton, PA
Aug 21, 2011

A gorgeous resort with first-class service

I recently stayed at all three of the Hyatt Regency properties in Hawaii, and the Fairmont Orchid outshines all of them (though only by the slimmest of margins over the magnificent Grand Hyatt Kauai). The public areas at the Fairmont contain lush vegetation, elegant architecture, abundant waterfalls, and many lobby areas in which to sit and admire the beauty. My room was just a standard resort-view room, but it had a better ocean view than most "partial ocean view" rooms. It was also very spacious and accommodating, with a particularly impressive bathroom that contained lots of marble and two separate showers. The breakfast buffet at the Fairmont is excellent, and you can get the discounted price of $24.20 (including tax and gratuity) if you pay for it when you check in. I didn't eat lunch or dinner at the hotel, so I can't comment on the restaurants beyond the breakfast. I did look at the menus for other meals, and I noticed that some of the exact same dishes were offered at both the fancy restaurant and the more casual one, but at significantly different prices. The service at the hotel also merits praise. Everyone was very attendant and conscientious, without being overbearing. My stay at the Fairmont was wonderful in every way. Highly recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
May 15, 2009

Beautiful resort

Be sure to hike to the petroglyphs early in the morning, they were amazing. Snorkeling at the hotel was awesome, we saw many turtles.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to the nearby shops by the hotel, the staff will take you there. They have a nice grocery store and you can stock up on refreshments and snacks, it's a great way to save a ton of money.

Review of The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Andover, CT
Oct 25, 2009

Great Hotel

Fantastic hotel. We had a late flight back from Hawaii and the hotel granted late checkout (2PM) and full use of their facilities including a full service shower in their spa.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Happy hour at the Luana Lounge has 1/2 price drinks and apps from 5 until 6:30. Great value!

Back to menu Return to top