$287 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 13, 2015 Check-out: Jul 15, 2015

The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

5 stars
View map of One North Kaniku Drive, Kohala Coast, HI 96743

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
124 out of 124
Amenities:
4.5
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Triathalete Traveler
Business
Honolulu, HI
Jun 7, 2010

Race Day at Fairmont Orchid

Even with a full house staff worked to get us a room with a King size bed. The room was right across from a man made waterfall. Very relaxing. Proximity to race finish made this stay well worth it. The food was wonderful. (Cornflake crusted vanilla french toast! Carbo-load pre-race buffet!) Service fell short a couple of times (1.5 hour wait for room service when we ordered milk and was old) but they were willing to make up for it. I think more staff during this busy time in the hotel would have solved a few problems but overall we were very pleased.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

A small supermarket with a full deli and bakery is one mile from hotel for fast and cheap eats!

Review of The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LS SF
Business
San Francisco
Jun 1, 2010

Hawaii Holiday

I really enjoyed the hotel. The rooms could use a little upgrade but they were tasteful, clean and spacious. Service was primarily good but they might want to make sure that the concierge is a little bit more knowledgeable. He lead us to a restaurant that had closed for good. The location is absolutely beautiful and its just lovely to walk along the beach at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Double Nickel
Business
Vista, CA
May 17, 2010

great weather and a great location

stay was great. hotel needs some updating carpets in rooms pool etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
gothlampy
Business
San Francisco
May 15, 2010

Hotel good [...]

This was my second trip to the hotel. We went back because we liked it so much. The hotel staff fall over themselves to help you and nothing seems to be too much trouble. The pool is open 24 hours as well, which is great. Views are amazing[...]The Hotel is fantastic, you will have a great time here, but check out the room descriptions on the hotel website itself first, just so you aren't misled the way we were.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

If you feel like getting out onto the Ocean for a bit without being on a tour, and you have some boating experience, Kona Boat Rentals have boats for hire by the day or half day, it's pretty cheap and a great time. They are about 3 miles south of the airport in Kona. A guy called [...] runs the place.

Review of The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Camden, Me.
Apr 29, 2010

Wonderful

A great resort. Very friendly staff. Not inexpensive but worth it. Our 5th visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denver, CO
Apr 27, 2010

Best snorkeling on resort!

The hotel was great. The location is still 20 minutes from Kona, otherwise nothing much else nearby. The staff was very friendly and accomodating. Went for wedding and we asked for upgrades or changes to 3 of 5 rooms and were not questioned or troubled whatsoever. The food is very good on the resort, but very pricey - even to Hawaii standards. Excellent snorkeling on site, can see a safe area for green sea turtles, beautiful golf course. Rooms were clean and had most everything to make the vacation comfortable. Would recommend highly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Interesting little town (Hawi)25 minutes north of resort with a good food, fun restaurant called Bamboo. Killer Tacos is another small,cheap must-see place in Kona just south of Target.

Review of The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston
Apr 20, 2010

Fairmont Orchid - Kona

The hotel is directly on the water. The view is amazing, drinks on the beach and by the pool, very relaxing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

If you are at the hotel for a short time go food shopping at the near by market.

Review of The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
wyoming
Apr 16, 2010

Great place to stay

Food was very expensive, even for Hawaii. Limited variety.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Honolulu, HI
Apr 5, 2010

Not for a couples getaway

We stayed over the long Easter weekend. Check in was a breeze the staff during our stay was very accomodating and hospitable. I thought it was odd that there was no rug in our room anywhere just the tile floors. It made the room feel a little sparse and that you had to wear your slippers all the time. The bathroom was great with the double sinks and two showers, and the seperate toilet area. The only drawback to our stay was that there were children everywhere. I guess we chose our vacation time during Spring Break. I didn't like the fact that your couldn't even get away from the kids even in the lounge area. The hotel should not allow children in the bar/lounge area. Other than that hotel is beautiful, staff outstanding!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Portland
Apr 4, 2010

Wow! Wish we could have stayed longer...

Unmatched service - truly - thoughout our stay. And the Japanese restaurant was fantastic. I had to ask for it, but the extended wine list was exceptional.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top