$263 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 13, 2015 Check-out: Jun 16, 2015

The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

5 stars
View map of One North Kaniku Drive, Kohala Coast, HI 96743

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
123 out of 123
Amenities:
4.5
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rivermanb
Massachusetts
Nov 7, 2012

Great Stay

Just what you want in a resort stay. Great food, good snorkeling off the beach, luxury at every turn, and an A+ staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nancy from Denver
Business
Denver, Co
May 13, 2012

Wonderful!

This hotel has it all! The beach and snorkeling was great. The pool and hot tub wonderful. Every staff person was friendly and very helpful. Dinner on the beach at sunset is hard to top. The room and the ocean view was perfect. The bed and pillows were yummy-and the best I have found. The grounds are spectacular-orchids and waterfalls everywhere. I would recommend this to everyone & happily plan another visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Lots of options - good food, friendly staff.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
momof03
Business
Glendora
Jun 18, 2012

Beautiful quiet retreat

We loved this hotel! Our room was on the 'garden view' but on the bottom floor, so was a quick walk to the beach/bay. Our 3 kids were in the room 2 rooms over. We had no one in the room in-between, so it worked well. We sat on our porch every nite & relaxed after daily kayaking,snorkeling & hiking. We loved the local turtles in the bay. Staff was friendly & helpful. Food/drinks too expensive though. But It was a wonderful stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Shop for groceries & pre-made food at Foodland Farms. Gas/groceries also at Costco.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tourist
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Aug 10, 2012

Family Vacation

Quintessential luxurious Hawaiian resort. Stunning. Beachfront pool and restaurants from which to admire the view and watch the sunset. White sand beach steps away from pool with calm waters to laze, snorkel, and stare out onto the turquoise blue Pacific waters, Sea Turtles, and Maui in the distance. Pool attendants take your drink and food orders so you don't have to lift a finger. Paved walking path along the ocean for a leisurely stroll. State Park directly adjacent to resort also has a walking path. Convenient to grocery store and lovely shops. Room (2 queens), 2 sinks in bath, bathtub shower and standing shower, garden view, was quiet, immaculate, and lovely. Shops within resort were not overly pricey which was a nice surprise. Highly recommend this property for honeymoon or family getaway. A real treasure. Negatives: Charges for self-parking, WiFi, and beach/pool Cabana rental. Birds flocking around tables at breakfast buffet made the meal unappetizing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Poolside delicatessen at resort was nifty and yummy.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lanigirl
Business
Mililani, HI, USA
Aug 30, 2012

great anniversary stay

Loved every minute of our stay! We were pleasantly surprised to find out our room came with daily breakfast buffet which was delicious. Great variety. Will definitely return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dominika and Angel
Business
California
Sep 18, 2012

Aloha!!!

Awsome! We really enjoyed our stay. Fantastic location. A hui hou! Everything was just perfect except the parking prices!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

You've got to see the Green Sand Beach. Accessible only with a 4 by 4! Don't let the path discourage you. The view is worth it. You can do it! (Good luck ! :I ). Ah, and the helicopter trip to see the volcano/island is a MUST!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rivermanb
Business
Massachusetts
Nov 7, 2012

Great Stay

Just what you want in a resort stay. Great food, good snorkeling off the beach, luxury at every turn, and an A+ staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Marianske
Business
Paris, France
Nov 26, 2012

The Fairmont Orchid Hotal, Hawai

A very good experience!!Highly recommended!!! First time on this island and we really enjoyed the stay and we might come again!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
30 Years BFFs
Business
Bay Area, California
May 21, 2013

Highly recommend without hesitation

This is a great hotel resort and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this to anyone. We were told that the rooms had been recently renovated and ours was in perfect condition with a lovely view of the ocean and a waterfall just outside our linai. The beds are extremely comfortable. The staff was absolutely great, very friendly with the special Hawaiian touch. I stay at a lot of hotels, traveling often for business and I can honestly say that this is by far one of the best hotels that I have ever stayed at. The Spa Without Walls is a great experience - getting your massage right in front of the ocean with the sounds of the waves crashing against the rocks, the breeze against the palm trees and the birds singing is the one of the great things that this hotel has to offer. We loved the fact that the hotel has a very large pool (it never felt crowded) and direct beach access with a lagoon and nice sandy beach. The lagoon beach is not very large but it was not at all crowded during our stay so we always had our own space. Off to the left of the lagoon beach, there is a more private beach (some sand & somewhat rocky) where you really feel off of your own. The hotel offers free shuttle service to restaurants and shops within the resort area. Nice if you want to pick up some groceries or have dinner and drinks without taking your own car. If you are looking for a place where you can get some serious R&R then this is it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The hotel is located within the Mauna Lani resort area. They provide a free shuttle within the resort area which has several restaurants, shops and a small food market.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Garcia3
Business
San Gabriel, California
Aug 12, 2013

Great family vacation resort

This was a great resort with very friendly and helpful staff. The room was excellent as we're all of the facilities. The environment was family oriented. Great heated pool with plenty of lounge shares. Overall, great place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jeanmatt
Business
san francisco
Aug 30, 2013

The Fairmont Orchid HI - stayed in August

The Best Resort we have ever stayed and we plan to visit every year here.. The place is huge and Awesome!! The easy relaxing Beach & Lagoon ....the sea turtles and fish were amazing! No need really to leave the resort except to eat out as dining is expensive there. All in all we Highly recommend!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

The Lagoon filled with Sea Turtles & fish...not too far from the beach shore.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top