$239 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 10, 2015 Check-out: May 12, 2015

The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

5 stars
View map of One North Kaniku Drive, Kohala Coast, HI 96743

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
122 out of 122
Amenities:
4.5
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hawaii-lover
Business
Bay Area, CA
Nov 22, 2010

Top Choice

Our twelfth trip to the Orchid in 15 years and it just keeps getting better. We've checked out all the other resorts on the Kohala coast, but none match the Orchid for quiet luxury, privacy, Hawaiian culture and peace. We also really appreciate the diversity of the clientele. The staff is just incredible. If any hiccup does occur, they're always eager to make everything right. We love it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Yoga every morning on the beach.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MsLA
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Nov 10, 2010

Honeymoon

The hotel was very nice and we were able to upgrade from a garden view room to the gold floor. The gold floor was great they provide breakfast and coffee, water, soft drinks all day, free of charge. They also provide hor'dourves in the evening so we really didn't even buy dinner, we just ate a big lunch!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Have lunch at Merriman's Cafe and the Kona Brewery!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Big Island Travler
Business
Whittier, CA
Nov 9, 2010

Fairmont Orchard 2 star / 5 star locati

This is the 5 star location for the Kohala coast. The location and staff are winners for this destination. The rooms are 2 star due to cleanliness, ants, and need for renovation. We had blood on the sheets upon arrival in one bead and makeup on the pillow cases on the other. The room we were given was not the Deluxe Ocean View we paid for. The hotel promptly moved us to the proper room and the linens were clean. Unfortunately this was a late arrival for us and we could have done without the problems. We found the hallway carpets dirty, holes in the wallpaper in the entry areas and broken furniture in the common areas. Outside ropes holding the hammocks were questionable. The little coffee shop offered hot items that are microwaved. If you don't eat them in 30 seconds the food is chewy. For a highly rated hotel I expected much better. The staff rates a 4.9 out of 5. The valets were over the top helpful as was the front desk. The pool staff had their timing to a "T". Not invasive, but there when we needed something.The pool amenities were fine and the beach area was well taken care of. The grounds are very clean and well taken care of. The lack of uncontrolled screaming kids you find at the H.W. down the street was a big plus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to the Food Market about a mile away for incidentals and great Sushi for $9.00.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Contented Customer
Business
El Paso, Texas
Oct 4, 2010

The Fair Orchid

Quiet, out of the way, beautiful location. Near it all, but just far enough away to avoid the tourist crowds. Outstanding!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
friequent traveler
Business
CA
Sep 27, 2010

Terrible, terrible, really terrible

It was second worst trip ever and the worst trip to Big Island, HI. Management is not considered to their guests unless it is a large money-making group. We were ran out of the beach on three different occasions: 1. Two days a set for the party was being built to reward a travel agency group for bringing business to hotel. It was a noisy preparation on the quiet part of the beach. 2. Over 30 housekeeping employees came to the beach and were running wild for some time without any regard for the quests on the beach. 3. We were asked to leave the beach while we were sun-bathing because the hotel accepted a payment to do a wedding on the beach though the usual wedding place is on the grass on the other side of the hotel. When I asked the hotel organizer why the grass was not an option, I was told that wedding party want the beach and paid for it. But what about us, the guests who paid for a room there to enjoy the beach?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
U.S.A.
Sep 19, 2010

Beautiful, Relaxing Hotel!

This is a lovely hotel! We stayed for two nights after a very active several nights on the north shore of Kauai and in Kamuela. Staying here was the perfect way to unwind and rest before going home. The pool was wonderful--very quiet, great service, comfortable chairs, perfect water temperature, great ocean views. The service at the hotel was excellent. We ate at Brown's Beach House the night of our flight home and the sunset was gorgeous. I also loved that the hotel provides you with an empty refrigerator (instead of a mini bar) so that you can use it to store snacks and other groceries to have on hand. It's a great way to save money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jul 27, 2010

Quick Getaway

This is a great place to stay if you like playing tennis. Their tennis facilities are expansive and very nice. They also have an on-site pro for lessons and clinics. The rooms are comfortable and the sunsets are beautiful. The beach and pool are very family friendly, although couples might want more privacy. There is excellent snorkeling though on the reef right off the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orinda, CA
Jul 16, 2010

Elegant Simplicity

We did not take advantage of all that the Orchid offers: to do so you would not need to leave the grounds for your entire stay.(Ask the concierge for the calendar of activities provided for the time you are there.) Since we used the Orchid as home base we would snorkel early in the morning observing more fish view than on Snorkel Bob's fish-identification sheet as well as turtles swimming and basking everywhere. Then--after breakfast which is as good as we'd remembered from a previous stay--we would head out for hikes all over the island. The Orchid's location is perfect: it is easy to get to all parts of the island (Mauna Kea Summit Adventures took us to the top as rental car contract specifically forbids this drive--and the shocks on their vehicle are a necessity.)but the pick-up point was about eight minutes away. Though our children are grown, there were all sorts of families with children (the beach is sheltered and the water easy to play in) as well as honeymooners and couples of all ages. For those who might avoid larger resorts, the Orchid is so widespread and welcoming that your can walk the halls (many open to the wonderful views and soft winds) and not encounter other guests--though the housekeeping staff is often present. The grounds outside--and the arrangements inside-- could keep many appreciative gardeners happy-and you can walk for miles along the ocean or head in another direction to the petroglyphs. The best recommendation for the Orchid is its staff: interested, helpful, welcoming, and capable. There is a sense that those who work at the Orchid enjoy being there--and their sense of enjoyment permeates through the entire resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Should you be watching your pennies, if you plan to do a lot of snorkeling you can rent all the equipment you need for $9 a week per person (or, if your rental car booklet has coupons--two people can rent full equipment for the week for $9.) The hourly rate at the Orchid was--I think_-$15 per person. Another hint: the continental buffet breakfast is well worth it. A waitress gently suggested this our first morning as ordering off the menu for granola and coffee was just about the same price.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Triathalete Traveler
Business
Honolulu, HI
Jun 7, 2010

Race Day at Fairmont Orchid

Even with a full house staff worked to get us a room with a King size bed. The room was right across from a man made waterfall. Very relaxing. Proximity to race finish made this stay well worth it. The food was wonderful. (Cornflake crusted vanilla french toast! Carbo-load pre-race buffet!) Service fell short a couple of times (1.5 hour wait for room service when we ordered milk and was old) but they were willing to make up for it. I think more staff during this busy time in the hotel would have solved a few problems but overall we were very pleased.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

A small supermarket with a full deli and bakery is one mile from hotel for fast and cheap eats!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LS SF
Business
San Francisco
Jun 1, 2010

Hawaii Holiday

I really enjoyed the hotel. The rooms could use a little upgrade but they were tasteful, clean and spacious. Service was primarily good but they might want to make sure that the concierge is a little bit more knowledgeable. He lead us to a restaurant that had closed for good. The location is absolutely beautiful and its just lovely to walk along the beach at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top