$209 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2015 Check-out: Aug 27, 2015

The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

5 stars
View map of One North Kaniku Drive, Kohala Coast, HI 96743

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
123 out of 123
Amenities:
4.5
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
xnoreasterner
Business
San Francisco
Apr 27, 2011

Beautiful property

Though a large property, the setting was breathtaking and what Hawaii was probably like before the honky tonk set into Maui and Oahu. Have 3 children, and all were thrilled with the stay. Also, unlike many resorts, there are plenty of dining options off property.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Merriman has great burgers. Not cheap, but fantastic. Down the road about one mile.

Review of The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Apr 10, 2011

The Orchid

Second time to stay at the Orchid. In particular I love the little lagoon for safe snorkeling and renting a cabana to watch the waves. Very peaceful. Wonderful staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

We really enjoyed watching the sunset while having a light dinner at the hale beach bar and restaurant.

Review of The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Chris and Kathy
Business
Seattle
Apr 9, 2011

Not Quite a Five Star Experience

When we booked, it was a special trip so we looked for a 5 Star Hotel. The Fairmont and Four Seasons were the two that jumped out at us and we went with the Fairmont, had stayed at several nice Fairmonts and the price was considerably lower. The property is very nice, nice first impression. We had paid a significant upgrade to an Ocean view room and when we got there, it was not as expected. The room faced the pool and the ocean was not really visible from the room, but could be seen from the lanai. There is a man made waterfall which was right outside our room, drowning out any sound of the ocean. Artificial waterfalls are nice, but they are not what I want to hear in Hawaii. Most of the interior of the room was nice enough, definitely not 5 star, but nice enough, with the exception of a broken lamp with a burnt lampshade that took hours to be replaced. Our first major disappointment. The bath area was adequate, full tub/shower combo, shower stall, 2 sinks, not luxuriously roomy, but nice enough. Fixtures were fine. Once again, why did I see a 5 star rating on this property? Our in room coffee pot was broken so we called to have it replaced, a guy shows up without a coffee pot acting like we were idiots who didn't know how to use a coffee pot. After we had to "prove" it was truly broken, he went to get us another. We didn't need coffee that much anyway, right? I decided to look at the tea selection which came with one of the islands non-native fauna, the german cockroach. After slaying the beast, I called the manager and explained that between a broen burned lamp, broken coffeepot with dismissive treatment, a few small ants(no worries there, we're in the islands) and a roach, that my vacation was not off to a good start. She promised more attentive housekeeping and an exterminator, who came two and a half days later. The rest of the trip was nice enough, our replacement lamp was also slightly marked up on the shade, but worked OK and we turned the marks to the wall. Pool area seems small, nice small beach with good snorkeling and good activities service. Food and Bev service on the beach was so-so at best, slow, expensive, weak $14 drinks. The spa is wonderful, resort prices for sure, but very qualified masseuses, great personal service, may have saved the hotel from a worse review. Golf courses are beautiful and reasonably priced for guests, location is fantastic. We had a very nice time despite our start and would give our last half of the trip four stars, but the start of this trip drops the overall rating to 3 at best. I've stayed at 5 star places and this is definitely not one of them.note: staff only received 3 stars but [...] were excellent concierges and the bell/valet staff were very good, so I'll kick 'em 4 stars on that. Did not feel satisfied by the response to my early issues, which is why 3 is as good as the overall staff gets.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Blue Hawaiian Helicopters, Big Island Eco Adventure, Hapuna Golf Resort Twilight($75 after 1, very nice course)

Review of The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Las Vegas,NV
Feb 18, 2011

Last Time on the Big Island

Nice hotel, clean and comfortable. Unless you plan to "Staycation" on the premises you need to rent a car. All the tourist attractions are many miles away. You will also need to plan your dinner in advance. We could not get reservations at the hotels main restaurant any evening of our stay. There are no other full service restaurants within walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

You can view most of the area attractions by car. The tourist guides steer you to the tour companies by saying this or that is "difficult" to get to. The car rental agencies do not want you to travel the Saddle Road to Hilo because it can be dangerous to drive in bad weather. The road is very windy but not difficult to drive if you take your time. There is construction on the Hilo side but it still saves you time if you want to go to Hilo or volcanoes.

Review of The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Liza and Stephen
Business
Athens, Georgia
Feb 18, 2011

Wedding Day

We got married at Fairmont Orchid Big Island, Hawaii on Valentines Day 2011. It was the BEST!!! Fairmont hotel and staff was wonderful. Fairmont hotel made our wedding a day to remember. It was humid and hot, but they made us cool. The private dinner and food was amazing. Our wedding coordinators made our day easy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Rent a car in advance

Review of The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Santa Barbara, CA
Feb 6, 2011

Fairmont Orchid

They were excellent. Staff very helpful and nice. My only suggestion is that the spa could have been better. It's a beautiful place. I would go again easily.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

You can buy a golfhawaii.com card, and save a lot of money on green fees.

Review of The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Freehold, NJ
Feb 1, 2011

The Big Island

This hotel was clean and the service was very good. The staff was friendly and helpful at all times. Although my services were great at the Spa, I was disappointed to see that they did not have an indoor hot tub or pool. The facility itself could be a little larger. The outdorr massage was fantastic! The hotel grounds have a small man made beach that sits on a lagoon that you can snorkel in, that was great. If you want to enjoy a larger beach area, Hapuna beach is not far from the hotel. I recommend buying the breakfast package when you arrive. The buffet is incredible and it is worth the price! I would recommend this hotel and I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Waikoloa, HI
Jan 30, 2011

Awesome Place To Stay!

We were married at Coconut Grove at the Fairmont Orchid and stayed in a suite on our wedding night. It was absolutely beautiful and the room was amazing! Everyone that worked there was very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Salt Lake City, Utah
Dec 28, 2010

Wonderful Experience

We loved this Hotel. The staff is friendly and professional. From the beach activity center to the gardeners all staff was sensitive to the special needs and patience required for the enthusiasm and energy of small children. The food is fabulous. The setting cannot be any nicer. We will return to the Fairmont Orchid again next year!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Great little grocery market for kid friendly snacks is close to the resort!

Review of The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
laguna beach, ca
Dec 13, 2010

Great hotel on the beach

Great service, great room, great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Dahana horseback ride - great for kids.

Back to menu Return to top