$209 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2015 Check-out: Aug 27, 2015

The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

5 stars
View map of One North Kaniku Drive, Kohala Coast, HI 96743

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
122 out of 122
Amenities:
4.5
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
yzhuge
Business
Miami, FL, USA
Dec 18, 2011

Lovely escape!

Located in Waikoala, which is about an hour north of Kona, it's located at a nice area between Kohala (north Big Island with mountains), and Kona. The hotel is beautiful, and there are numerous activities, like canoing, snorkeling with turtles, and luaus. The food is also very good. Located very close to Waikoala Beach Drive, where there are other shops and food options. Rooms are very comfortable. The compound is open and breezy and the staff is helpful. A perfect place to get away from it all!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Mauna Kea Summit Adventures picks up 10 minutes away from the hotel, and is a great tour to see an amazing sunset, stars, and an old volcano.

Review of The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
PPPS
Business
Medford, OR
Dec 14, 2011

Love this hotel and property

From the moment we walked into the lobby, our vacation was perfect! The staff, hotel and grounds are wonderful. Every one of the hotel employees was friendly and helpful. The rooms were updated, clean, and had very comfortable beds. I would definitely come back for another vacation. I highly recommend this property for a relaxing get away. You don't even have to leave the grounds for anything...it's all right there. We went to the King's Gathering Luau, and were blown away by the delicious food, and excellent entertainment. It was the best luau we've been to in the islands (and we've been to lots of them). And again, you don't have to leave the resort to see it. Wonderful place!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The breakfast buffet in the Orchid Court is fabulous! They have a wonderful selection of fresh fruits, island cuisine, and omelete station, not to mention the freshly baked pastries. It was a delight to get up in the morning and walk to such a wonderful breakfast!

Review of The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tony P00
Business
San Diego, CA, USA
Dec 2, 2011

Fairmont Orchid Stay

My wife and I loved our stay here. They were very accommodating to us for our requests and the staff was generally pleasant and friendly. The grounds are beautiful, well manicured and feel comfortably classy. Everything felt well done and not at all about being gaudy and resort-esque. As an added bonus, green sea turtles often cruise their little rocky bay/beach. Great for a quick snorkeling trip- especially for kids. Our only complaints were that our shower never quite got hot, and that Kohala and Waikoloa are a 45 minute drive from activities based in Kailua-Kona. Our complaints were pretty minor and our 6 day stay felt way too short. We already miss it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hula Traveler
Business
Pine, Colorado
Nov 28, 2011

Aloha Lux

The Fairmont Orchid is absolutley beautiful in the perfect location. You can have a fantastic vacation without ever leaving the resort. The beach is beautiful and the shoreline snorkeling is great. There are many activities to hold the interest of every guest. The staff was friendly and offered outstanding service. The resort is fairly isolated so you must drive roughly 15 minutes to the closest dinning options outside the hotel. The area is pricey, but the Fairmont is extremely high. The lack of more reasonable dining options at the hotel is my only mild complaint, especially for breakfast. The breakfast buffet at the hotel was $30 per person. Overall we felt as though we spent a week in paradise while at the Fairmont Orchid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Macaroni Grill at Wiakoloa serves a great breakfast for a third of the price of the Fairmont. The Island Groumet grocery store in Wiakoloa is a great place to pick up food and drinks. The Fairmont runs a shuttle to the FoodLand grocery store that also offers great options and is open until 11:00pm..

Review of The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
girltravel
Business
Cary, NC, USA
Nov 25, 2011

Beautiful but pricey

A great hotel with a beautiful view , beautiful grounds, and luxurious rooms. The downsides are the short and small coastline as well as the cost. Hawaii is known to be expensive but you would think that amenities such as snorkeling gear etc.. could be included with the amount of money each room costs. If you are willing to spend the money a great place to stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
EEE4
Business
Bay Area
Nov 14, 2011

Staff was great

Staff was friendly and helpful. Pool was well maintained.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
50thVenture
Business
Pa
Nov 8, 2011

Volcano Adventure

warm welcome, comfortable beds, K-cup coffee maker with Kona coffee, and unbeatable sunsets made for a wonderful stay. Simple drive from airport. Food was good, especially Halekei dinner with feet in the sand watching the sunset. Would highly recommend and can't wait to go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
VMC50
Business
Honolulu, HI, USA
Oct 27, 2011

Turtles! Turtles! Turtles!

The hotel grounds are gorgeous, the rooms were very spacious, and the staff were all wonderful. The hotel pool was large and nice, but the highlight is definitely the beach area! The hotel beach is a perfect little cove with calm crystal clear waters. The coral wasn't spectacular but the marine life was still teeming and vibrant and made for a great snorkeling site. On top of the many varieties of fish, there are lots of turtles that feed and rest there, it was amazing to see so many up close!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Rent your snorkeling gear from Snorkel Bob's in the shopping center down the road! Much better gear selection and price

Review of The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ndler
Business
ny
Oct 26, 2011

Gold level was superb

if you want an extra special stay spring for the gold level.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mark F.
Business
New Orleans, LA, USA
Oct 20, 2011

Great hotel

Terrific beach and grounds, good food. You will need a car to sight see and visit the small towns to the north and east.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top