$209 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2015 Check-out: Aug 27, 2015

The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

5 stars
View map of One North Kaniku Drive, Kohala Coast, HI 96743

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
123 out of 123
Amenities:
4.5
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MJPKMD
Business
Albany, NY
Oct 18, 2012

Great time at the Orchid during Kona Ironman

The atmosphere at the hotel was fantastic, romantic and mostly couples. Great cabanas overlooking the ocean if you don't mind paying the $60/day fee. Our booking included an "activity card" which made snorkeling, kayaking, paddle boards, etc. all free. This was a great thing to have if you like water sports. Free breakfast was a surprise... didn't mention it when we booked but it saved us a ton and the food was great. Our original room was a partial ocean view but was on the first floor and had NO VIEW at all unless you stood on a chair! The staff was accommodating and switched our room by the third day though and our room on the 6th floor was fantastic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Check out dinner on a Friday night at the Beach Tree restaurant at the Four Seasons... you won't be sorry. Reservations highly recommended and get there before sunset.

Review of The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Happy traveller 2012
Business
Toronto, Canada
Nov 16, 2012

The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Very nice and friendly staff. The ocean lagoon is a great place to snorkel and/or swim.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Don't forget to visit Kona

Review of The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tropictraveler
Business
Pennsylvania
Apr 29, 2013

Four star resort with a five star rating

Resort is beautiful and the food is very good. Service was good, but not what you expect from a five star resort. Everyone was very friendly, but it was rare for an employee to take the extra effort to meet your needs. Pricing was way out of line with the level and quality of service provided. Many four star resorts on the islands provide an equally enjoyable experience at a fairer price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JU LO
Business
San Antonio, TX
Jul 14, 2013

GREAT HOTEL NOT TOO FAR FROM ACTIVITIES

This was a first class hotel experience. The check-in was smooth although we wish the front desk clerk had told us there was a hotel luau the day we checked in. We did not know and would have gone had we known. The drive from KOA is misleading. You come out of the airport and it seems like a deserted planet strewn with lava. However, once you get to the drive to the hotel, the landscaping is first rate. Tips: join the President's Club and get free wi-fi. I would also self-park. It is cheaper and you get to your car quicker. We did not eat at the restaurants other than have an appetizer and drinks which ran about $80. The only thing that marred our trip was that we went out the morning of check-out and came back before check-out time. We were locked out of our room and we had to wait for security to let us in. No explanation as to why it happened.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Eat at Monstera which is a short drive from The Fairmont Orchid. Great Japanese food. Reservations are recommended because the food is so good and the prices very reasonable for Hawaii.

Review of The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Scientist mom
Business
New York, NY
Sep 1, 2009

Excellent and comfortable resort

Beautiful resort on a small but lovely beachfront, complete with Honu Hawaiian sea turtles. Restaurants are amazing, spa is heavenly (worth the $$$). Pleasant and helpful, but not overbearing, staff. Rooms are a little outdated yet comfortable and clean. My only complaint is that the hotel charges extra for everything, from cabana rental to snorkel use.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Definitely eat at Brown's Beach House restaurant on the beach and at the sushi restaurant -- both delicious!

Review of The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gas passer
Business
Duluth, MN
Dec 7, 2009

Paradise but with the price of paradise.

There on business conference. Explored Island, snorkeled, stayed on beach. Excellent location, service, and room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Go into Kona to rent your snorkel gear or to book your excursions and save yourself some money.

Review of The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denver, CO
Apr 27, 2010

Best snorkeling on resort!

The hotel was great. The location is still 20 minutes from Kona, otherwise nothing much else nearby. The staff was very friendly and accomodating. Went for wedding and we asked for upgrades or changes to 3 of 5 rooms and were not questioned or troubled whatsoever. The food is very good on the resort, but very pricey - even to Hawaii standards. Excellent snorkeling on site, can see a safe area for green sea turtles, beautiful golf course. Rooms were clean and had most everything to make the vacation comfortable. Would recommend highly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Interesting little town (Hawi)25 minutes north of resort with a good food, fun restaurant called Bamboo. Killer Tacos is another small,cheap must-see place in Kona just south of Target.

Review of The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
bakersfield ca
Jun 20, 2011

Beautiful wedding

The hotel was beautiful and the staff was really nice. My only complaint is that everything was really expensive while we were there. It is a super great place but bring lots of money, especially for food and drinks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to Foodland Farms for much cheaper lunches. Great sandwiches and poke

Review of The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
pgh.,pa.
Aug 31, 2009

nice trip

very nice. had a great time. everyone was very helpfull. could not ask for more. price was great also

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

go to the end of south point road and jump off the cliffs

Review of The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
wyoming
Apr 16, 2010

Great place to stay

Food was very expensive, even for Hawaii. Limited variety.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top