$209 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2015 Check-out: Aug 27, 2015

The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

5 stars
View map of One North Kaniku Drive, Kohala Coast, HI 96743

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
122 out of 122
Amenities:
4.5
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego, CA
Dec 1, 2009

Great hotel and great location

We were upgraded to a fantastic suite and it was absolutely amazing. The staff were all wonderful and we really enjoyed our time at the hotel. Food at Browns Beach House and Deli was wonderful. The breakfast buffet is not recommended due to many screaming kids and parents that are deaf to the insanity. Pick up something from the deli and go out to the beach for an amazing picnic away from it all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Merrimans is the best restaurant on the island. We ate there three times and the food was the best we have ever had.

Review of The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kelly Hawaii Lover
Business
Venice, CA
Nov 29, 2009

I am not a fan of resorts and I LOVED it

We usually rent a house in Hawaii and do not like anything Disneylandish or big Vegas hotel. We were nervous that a big hotel was going to be a massive nightmare of kids screaming and would look like a Tommy Bahamas ad. To our surprise it was enchanted, cozy and perfect. We could be anonymous and still not feel lost. The food was great and the beach is magical. We swam with turtles and loved the beach set up. There were two things that needed improvement. The hotel has not so nice rooms so it is worth the upgrade and the king bed rooms do not face the ocean in the "ocean view" rooms. The other thing is that they charge so much money for the beach cabanas and the snorkels so you are better off buying snorkles there or bringing them. Oh also you MUST bring those ugly reefshoes. The big island is all about lava rocks and reefs and the sea life is amazing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Nov 16, 2009

The Fabulous Fairmont Orchid

The Fairmont Orchid was a fabulous resort. As one of the Staff said, it is a destination, not a stop. Facilities were top notch and the service was superior. The Orchid's lagoon offers great snorkling and other watersports right on property. Restaurant offerings on the grounds were high end, but the food was good. Our favorite was the Luana Lounge during happy hour, everything is 1/2 price. Please be advised that anything done off-preperty will require a drive. There really is nothing else within walking distance. All in, a tremendous location to get away and relax.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

All shopping and off-preperty dining will require a drive. I did see a few taxi's, but most guests appear to rent a car.

Review of The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Satisfied mid-twenties traveler
Business
Rochester, MN
Nov 11, 2009

Great Vacation

The resort had a lot of fun activities at the beach including snorkeling, kayaking, paddleboarding, fishing, and surfing. I recommend getting an activity pass there if you plan to stay at the beach for a couple of days. Make sure you snorkel so you can see the fish and endangered green sea turtles. The pool was refreshing and the service was excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

If you are looking at minimizing dinning cost, ask to share an entre. The portions were plentiful and the quality was outstanding.

Review of The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Andover, CT
Oct 25, 2009

Great Hotel

Fantastic hotel. We had a late flight back from Hawaii and the hotel granted late checkout (2PM) and full use of their facilities including a full service shower in their spa.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Happy hour at the Luana Lounge has 1/2 price drinks and apps from 5 until 6:30. Great value!

Review of The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St.Louis
Oct 12, 2009

Amazing resort stay

Amazing location with a fabulous staff. From here we traveled all over this incredible island. We stayed here on our honeymoon and had a great experience on the big island.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to the town of Hawi and eat at Sushi Rock both to sushi and the town are extraordinary.

Review of The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Portland Oregon
Oct 5, 2009

It was a trip of a lifetime

It was the best time as allways!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

It was perfect.

Review of The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Westlake Village, CA
Sep 22, 2009

Fairmont Orchid hotel

Fairmont Orchid was the most beautiful hotel resort that we have ever stayed. Everything was first-class at this hotel - has it all as far as we were concerned. We enjoyed the small, beautiful, calm water bay for relaxed swimming - if you want riding a surf board, this is not the place. The kiddy pond by the large pool is perfect for the little ones. Sunset views were spectacular from outside restaurants and bar on the beach. On the downside, Brown's restaurant dinner was too pricey for what you got, although the sunset view from the outside tables and great service made up for most of the this.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Try Merriman's in Waimea for a fabulous, first-class dinner.

Review of The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chanel115
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Sep 21, 2009

The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Very nice hotel in a great location along the Kohala Coast. You can definitely tell that it used to be a Ritz. A little old feeling in places, but overall impeccably maintained. Nice pool area, right on the beach, great fitness facilities. Lots of beach bars and good food - a bit on the expensive side but they have a deli by the pool where you can get sandwiches, pizzas, breakfast and that is a good deal. Make Kona an annual trip for our anniversary and will definitely return to the Fairmont Orchid!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Huggos in downtown Kona - right on the water, great seafood, delicious Kona Coffee Ice Cream Cake. Great for a special occasion.

Review of The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Corvallis, OR
Sep 20, 2009

Great place to stay on the Big Island

This was the best hotel I've stayed at on a vacation. It was pricey, but first class all the way. The staff is friendly, helpful and makes you feel welcome.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top