$209 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2015 Check-out: Aug 27, 2015

The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

5 stars
View map of One North Kaniku Drive, Kohala Coast, HI 96743

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
123 out of 123
Amenities:
4.5
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Marianske
Paris, France
Nov 26, 2012

The Fairmont Orchid Hotal, Hawai

A very good experience!!Highly recommended!!! First time on this island and we really enjoyed the stay and we might come again!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Andover, CT
Oct 25, 2009

Great Hotel

Fantastic hotel. We had a late flight back from Hawaii and the hotel granted late checkout (2PM) and full use of their facilities including a full service shower in their spa.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Happy hour at the Luana Lounge has 1/2 price drinks and apps from 5 until 6:30. Great value!

Review of The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Olympia Vacationers
Business
Olympia Washington
Jun 18, 2009

June 7th to 17th 2009 Primo Vacation

We wanted a high end Island resort experience and taht is what we got. Great resytaurants & staff. Due to economy and off season -- we had the resort to ourselves -- very low ocupancy the first five days -- expolre the island from our base at the hotel -- yet had several on th beach or by the pool days to relax. We had several high quality spa experiences.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Browns Beach restaruant at the Hotel was one of the best on the island. About thirty miles north was a great zip line adventure my daughter and I went on -- eight zip l;ines included and a great staff.

Review of The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orinda, CA
Jul 16, 2010

Elegant Simplicity

We did not take advantage of all that the Orchid offers: to do so you would not need to leave the grounds for your entire stay.(Ask the concierge for the calendar of activities provided for the time you are there.) Since we used the Orchid as home base we would snorkel early in the morning observing more fish view than on Snorkel Bob's fish-identification sheet as well as turtles swimming and basking everywhere. Then--after breakfast which is as good as we'd remembered from a previous stay--we would head out for hikes all over the island. The Orchid's location is perfect: it is easy to get to all parts of the island (Mauna Kea Summit Adventures took us to the top as rental car contract specifically forbids this drive--and the shocks on their vehicle are a necessity.)but the pick-up point was about eight minutes away. Though our children are grown, there were all sorts of families with children (the beach is sheltered and the water easy to play in) as well as honeymooners and couples of all ages. For those who might avoid larger resorts, the Orchid is so widespread and welcoming that your can walk the halls (many open to the wonderful views and soft winds) and not encounter other guests--though the housekeeping staff is often present. The grounds outside--and the arrangements inside-- could keep many appreciative gardeners happy-and you can walk for miles along the ocean or head in another direction to the petroglyphs. The best recommendation for the Orchid is its staff: interested, helpful, welcoming, and capable. There is a sense that those who work at the Orchid enjoy being there--and their sense of enjoyment permeates through the entire resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Should you be watching your pennies, if you plan to do a lot of snorkeling you can rent all the equipment you need for $9 a week per person (or, if your rental car booklet has coupons--two people can rent full equipment for the week for $9.) The hourly rate at the Orchid was--I think_-$15 per person. Another hint: the continental buffet breakfast is well worth it. A waitress gently suggested this our first morning as ordering off the menu for granola and coffee was just about the same price.

Review of The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Current Travels
Business
Pasadena
Aug 14, 2011

Perfect week in Paradise

We booked a Gold Floor room and it was well worth the additional expense. The incredible level of service started when we arrived at the valet they asked our name and immediately knew who we were and that we were staying on the Gold Floor. We bypassed the regular registration desk and were brought right up to the 6th floor Gold Floor for a private check-in with the Gold Floor concierge. Whatever we needed it was a simple request and it was taken care of. The moring breakfast and afternoon canapes and drinks were perfect. The only thing that would make the Orchid better would be to improve the Spa faclities. The massage huts near the water falls are amazing and very relaxing, but the "locker room" facilities of the spa need to be upgraded to make it a truely world class Spa. We will be going back to the Orchid, and hopefully soon!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Dining at Cafe Pesto was one of the best meals we had while on the Big Island. It seems more like a local place, although obviously tourist do go there. The food is very good and prices are very reasonable.

Review of The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kansas City
Mar 24, 2010

Orchid

Wonderful hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Portland
Apr 4, 2010

Wow! Wish we could have stayed longer...

Unmatched service - truly - thoughout our stay. And the Japanese restaurant was fantastic. I had to ask for it, but the extended wine list was exceptional.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cape Cod/Maui
Mar 27, 2010

Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Very nice pool areas. Browns' Beach House Restaurant very good with pleasant outdoor dining (unless the tradewinds are strong, which was the case when we were there. Not as much going on or convenient access to shopping as at Hilton Waikola, but quieter atmostphere. Rooms were on the large size with very spacious bath. Long drive to major island attractions, but that's the nature of the Big Island. This is THE area for the top resorts.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Kilauea Volcano a must, and the Kilauea Iki hike through rain forest and across crater floor was great. Drive the northern route from resorts to Volcanoes National Park for the best sights. Akaka Falls near Hilo and Rainbow Falls in Hilo are spectacular! Including hike - a 10 1/2 hour day of driving and hiking.

Review of The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
orange county, ca
Dec 12, 2010

Orchid great for kids

great hotel. Views from oceanfront are great. Lagoon amazing for kids.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Hit the Sonsei restaurant. About 15 min drive but great sushi!

Review of The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hawaii-lover
Business
Bay Area, CA
Nov 22, 2010

Top Choice

Our twelfth trip to the Orchid in 15 years and it just keeps getting better. We've checked out all the other resorts on the Kohala coast, but none match the Orchid for quiet luxury, privacy, Hawaiian culture and peace. We also really appreciate the diversity of the clientele. The staff is just incredible. If any hiccup does occur, they're always eager to make everything right. We love it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Yoga every morning on the beach.

Review of The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kelly Hawaii Lover
Business
Venice, CA
Nov 29, 2009

I am not a fan of resorts and I LOVED it

We usually rent a house in Hawaii and do not like anything Disneylandish or big Vegas hotel. We were nervous that a big hotel was going to be a massive nightmare of kids screaming and would look like a Tommy Bahamas ad. To our surprise it was enchanted, cozy and perfect. We could be anonymous and still not feel lost. The food was great and the beach is magical. We swam with turtles and loved the beach set up. There were two things that needed improvement. The hotel has not so nice rooms so it is worth the upgrade and the king bed rooms do not face the ocean in the "ocean view" rooms. The other thing is that they charge so much money for the beach cabanas and the snorkels so you are better off buying snorkles there or bringing them. Oh also you MUST bring those ugly reefshoes. The big island is all about lava rocks and reefs and the sea life is amazing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top