$263 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 1, 2014 Check-out: Nov 4, 2014

The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

5 stars
One North Kaniku Drive, Kohala Coast, HI 96743
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
119 reviews
Stay in Paradise!

We stayed at the Fairmont Orchid for 3 nights during our visit to the Big Island of Hawaii and we... See full review

  • KO in NYC
  • Jun 2, 2014
Excellent

This is a wonderful property. I would recommend that folks explore restaurants outside of the hotel... See full review

  • Kattglobal
  • Jun 2, 2014
Deluxe Waikoloa hotel with championship golf and beachfront dreamscape

Melt into tropical bliss at the 32-acre beachfront Fairmont Orchid Hawaii, in the upscale South Kohala community of Waikoloa. Situated on an aquamarine lagoon traced in sugar-white sand and coconut trees, guests need not ever leave the property to find paradise. Ten tennis courts, a 36-hole championship golf course and outdoor massages by a waterfall or the ocean offer plenty of ways to unwind.

  • Book a massage in a private cabana by a waterfall or the ocean, or book a private yoga or Pilates training session
  • Play at the 36-hole championship course, named one of the 75 Best Golf Resorts in North America by Golf Digest
  • Enjoy the white-sand beach, coconut-tree grove and glistening aquamarine lagoon, plus basking turtles

The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii is less than an hour north of Kailua-Kona in the upscale community of Waikoloa. The hotel rests on a dreamy landscape of sugar-white sand, aquamarine water and rugged black lava rock, surrounded by championship golf courses.

The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii features 540 guest rooms and suites, each with a private balcony, tailored furnishings and a view of gardens or ocean. Executive suites include a separate bedroom with French doors. All accommodations sport air conditioning, high-speed Internet access (fees may apply), Fairmont bath amenities, bathrobes and 42-inch LCD flat-screen TV with media panel.

Guests at The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii have several dining choices. The award-winning Brown's Beach House offers romantic dining. At Norio's Japanese Restaurant and Sushi Bar, enjoy some of the Big Island's best sushi by a serene koi pond. Hale Kai offers casual fare in an outdoor setting.

The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii tempts with a 10,000-square-foot swimming pool, 10 tennis courts and a 36-hole golf course. A 24-hour fitness center and full-service Spa Without Walls round out the amenities. The Keiki Aloha Children's Program entertains kids while parents are enjoying their own leisure time.

  • Kona International Airport (22.7 mi/36.6 km)
  • Kings' Shops/Queens' MarketPlace (5.2 mi/8.4 km)
  • Anaehoomalu Bay (5.9 mi/9.6 km)
  • Hapuna Beach (7.1 mi/11.4 km)
  • Lapakahi State Historical Park (20.8 mi/33.4 km)
  • Kailua-Kona (28.9 mi/46.5 km)
  • Puuhonua o Honaunau National Historical Park (48.6 mi/78.2 km)
  • Hawaii Volcanoes National Park (via Waimea) (102 mi/164 km)

Hotel Map

19.9511 -155.8595
Area served
Kohala Coast Big Island, HI
Nearby airports
Kona/Keahole Airport
Area description
The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii is situated beachfront on the northwestern coast in Mauna Lani resort area of the "Big Island" of Hawaii. Located a 30-minute drive from the Kona/Keahole International Airport. Only 40 minutes to the quaint town of Kona where guests can find shopping and nightlife.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii Rooms

Fairmont Room
Fairmont Rooms are spacious accommodations which offer a private lanai with a view of the gardens. Bed Type: one King, two Queen or two Double beds Size: 522 sq. ft.
Ocean View Room
Ocean View Rooms are spacious accommodations offering a private lanai. There is a partial angled ocean view from the room and the lanai. Bed Type: One King, two Queen or two Double beds Size: 522 sq. ft.
Partial Ocean View Room
Partial Ocean View rooms are spacious accommodations offering a private lanai. There is a partial angled ocean view from the lanai. Bed Type: One King or two Queen beds. 522 sq. ft.
Signature Ocean Front Room
Signature Ocean Front rooms are spacious rooms with a spectacular view of the ocean and a spacious private lanai. Bed Type: One King or two Queen beds. 522 sq. ft.
Executive Suite Garden View
The Executive Suite Garden View offer luxurious accommodation and a view of the gardens. The bedroom closes off from the living room with French doors and includes a full bathroom with separate shower and water closet. There are also two large closets, a television and private lanai with patio furniture. Located off the bedroom is an alcove with a writing desk. The living room offers a Queen sofabed, easy chairs, another writing desk and a full stereo system with a CD player (CDs not provided). There is a half bathroom off the living room, as well as a second private lanai with patio furniture. Bed Type: One King or two Queen beds. 1050 sq.ft.
Executive Suite Ocean View
The Executive Suite Ocean View offer luxurious accommodation and a view of the Pacific Ocean. The bedroom closes off from the living room with French doors. Also included is a full bathroom with separate shower and water closet, in addition to a bathtub with second shower. There are two large closets, a television and private lanai with patio furniture. Also, off the bedroom is an alcove with a writing desk. The living room offers a Queen sofabed, easy chairs, another writing desk and a full stereo system with CD player (CDs not provided). There is a half bathroom off the living room, as well as a second private lanai with patio furniture. Bed Type: One King or two Queen beds; Queen sofabed in living room. 1050 sq.ft.
Oceanfront Suite
One-bedroom Oceanfront Suites offer spectacular panoramic views of the Pacific Ocean from the bedroom, living room and both private lanais. This spacious, elegant suite includes a parlor that is separated from the bedroom by classic French doors. The sofa bed in the living room pulls out for extra sleeping space. Also in the living room is a separate powder room, and the bedroom includes a full master bathroom. Oceanfront Suites can connect to a spacious Oceanview Rooms to become a Two-Bedroom Oceanfront Suite. Bed Type: One King or two Queen beds; Queen sofabed in living room. 1,477 square feet or 2,144 square feet with the connecting Oceanview room

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

The Orchid Court
Hours of Operation: Open Daily 6:30 a.m.-10:30 a.m. Dress Code: Resort attire. Cover ups and footwear required. The Orchid Court serves the best breakfast on the island, offering a sumptuous buffet daily and a tempting selection of la carte items from the menu, perfect for the dawn patrol or late risers alike. The Orchid Court offers both indoor and outdoor terrace seating.
Brown's Beach House
Hours of Operation: Dinner nightly 5:30 p.m.-8:30 p.m., on Tuesdays and Wednesdays until 9:00 pm Dress Code: Resort attire. Footwear required. Award-winning Brown's Beach House is the place for the quintessential island dining experience, located just steps from shore, featuring island-inspired cuisine with the best ingredients available locally. Clean, exciting flavors with an emphasis on super-fresh seafood prevail on the dinner menu. Reservations recommended.
Hale Kai Restaurant
Hours of Operation: Open daily from 10:00 a.m. to 10:00 p.m. Dress Code: Casual resort attire. In Hawai`i, eating is a time of pleasure and enjoying our `ohana rather than simply taking nourishment. Hale Kai is the perfect venue for a most refreshing afternoon, sunset or evening family dinner. The Hale Kai Restaurant is located near the entrance to Brown's Beach House.
Luana Lounge
Hours of Operation: Open Nightly from 5:00 p.m. - Midnight Dress Code: Resort attire. Footwear required. In Hawaiian, "Luana" may be explained as "to be at leisure, enjoy pleasant surroundings and associates, live in comfort and ease, enjoy oneself, relax . . . be content." Enjoy a leisurely afternoon or evening here with your favorite tropical libation, nibble from a delectable pupu (appetizer) menu and relax in comfortable furnishings surrounding by local Big Island art and the glorious Kohala Sunset near the main lobby.
Norio's Japanese Restaurant & Sushi Bar
Hours of Operation: Thursday - Monday 5:30 - 9:00 p.m. Dress Code: Resort attire. Footwear required. A favorite among guests, visitors and locals alike, Norio's Japanese Restaurant & Sushi Bar is located alongside a serene koi pond on the garden level. The 60-seat restaurant features a 14-seat sushi bar and an 18-seat private dining room. The new menu reflects contemporary Japanese cuisine with items such as Hamachi and Avocado Sashimi, Beef Tenderloin Carpaccio and A5 Wagyu Ribe Eye Steak plus tantalizing traditional items like Miso Marinated Black Cod and Pan Seared Hawaiian Abalone topped with Uni Emulsion on Truffle Mash.
Kahakai Bar
Hours of Operation: Seasonally Open Daily until dusk. Dress Code: Casual resort attire. Kahakai means 'beach' in Hawaiian and this new beachside bar features a Polynesian-style thatched roof, refreshing trade winds and billion dollar views of Mauna Kea and the blue Pacific. A variety of tropical libations and mouth-watering pupus (appetizers) are served.
Brown's Deli
Hours of Operation: Daily 6:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m. Find this get-it-to-go restaurant options at the center of everything -- behind Brown's Beach House Restaurant, steps from the pool and Hale Kai Restaurant. Brown's Deli offers breakfast and lunch items delicatessen style with an island flair plus your favorite beverages to enjoy at outdoor tables or wander down to the beach. They'll even pack meals to take on the plane for a healthy alternative. A great place to pick up food gifts to take home with every item made either on the Big Island or in the state of Hawaii, i.e., Volcano Honey, Chocolate, Taro Chips and more.
In-Room Dining
Hours of Operation: Available daily from 6:00 a.m. to Midnight. In-Room Dining at The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii is not just another meal - it is the ultimate experience in convenience and comfort. Perfect for early-risers, a romantic dinner for two, night-time munchies or small gatherings, you can chose from signature gourmet dishes or hearty 'just like home' selections without having to leave the comfort of your room. Available daily from 6:00 a.m. until Midnight. Hoku Lani, "Dining Under the Stars," is served oceanfront at our Pacific Terrace, complete with tiki torches and your own private servers. This lavish four-course dinner offers a truly beautiful and romantic dining experience.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (119)

Ratings and reviews for The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
119 out of 119
Amenities:
4.5
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Olympia Vacationers
Business
Olympia Washington
Jun 18, 2009

June 7th to 17th 2009 Primo Vacation

We wanted a high end Island resort experience and taht is what we got. Great resytaurants & staff. Due to economy and off season -- we had the resort to ourselves -- very low ocupancy the first five days -- expolre the island from our base at the hotel -- yet had several on th beach or by the pool days to relax. We had several high quality spa experiences.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Browns Beach restaruant at the Hotel was one of the best on the island. About thirty miles north was a great zip line adventure my daughter and I went on -- eight zip l;ines included and a great staff.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orinda, CA
Jul 16, 2010

Elegant Simplicity

We did not take advantage of all that the Orchid offers: to do so you would not need to leave the grounds for your entire stay.(Ask the concierge for the calendar of activities provided for the time you are there.) Since we used the Orchid as home base we would snorkel early in the morning observing more fish view than on Snorkel Bob's fish-identification sheet as well as turtles swimming and basking everywhere. Then--after breakfast which is as good as we'd remembered from a previous stay--we would head out for hikes all over the island. The Orchid's location is perfect: it is easy to get to all parts of the island (Mauna Kea Summit Adventures took us to the top as rental car contract specifically forbids this drive--and the shocks on their vehicle are a necessity.)but the pick-up point was about eight minutes away. Though our children are grown, there were all sorts of families with children (the beach is sheltered and the water easy to play in) as well as honeymooners and couples of all ages. For those who might avoid larger resorts, the Orchid is so widespread and welcoming that your can walk the halls (many open to the wonderful views and soft winds) and not encounter other guests--though the housekeeping staff is often present. The grounds outside--and the arrangements inside-- could keep many appreciative gardeners happy-and you can walk for miles along the ocean or head in another direction to the petroglyphs. The best recommendation for the Orchid is its staff: interested, helpful, welcoming, and capable. There is a sense that those who work at the Orchid enjoy being there--and their sense of enjoyment permeates through the entire resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Should you be watching your pennies, if you plan to do a lot of snorkeling you can rent all the equipment you need for $9 a week per person (or, if your rental car booklet has coupons--two people can rent full equipment for the week for $9.) The hourly rate at the Orchid was--I think_-$15 per person. Another hint: the continental buffet breakfast is well worth it. A waitress gently suggested this our first morning as ordering off the menu for granola and coffee was just about the same price.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Current Travels
Business
Pasadena
Aug 14, 2011

Perfect week in Paradise

We booked a Gold Floor room and it was well worth the additional expense. The incredible level of service started when we arrived at the valet they asked our name and immediately knew who we were and that we were staying on the Gold Floor. We bypassed the regular registration desk and were brought right up to the 6th floor Gold Floor for a private check-in with the Gold Floor concierge. Whatever we needed it was a simple request and it was taken care of. The moring breakfast and afternoon canapes and drinks were perfect. The only thing that would make the Orchid better would be to improve the Spa faclities. The massage huts near the water falls are amazing and very relaxing, but the "locker room" facilities of the spa need to be upgraded to make it a truely world class Spa. We will be going back to the Orchid, and hopefully soon!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Dining at Cafe Pesto was one of the best meals we had while on the Big Island. It seems more like a local place, although obviously tourist do go there. The food is very good and prices are very reasonable.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kansas City
Mar 24, 2010

Orchid

Wonderful hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Portland
Apr 4, 2010

Wow! Wish we could have stayed longer...

Unmatched service - truly - thoughout our stay. And the Japanese restaurant was fantastic. I had to ask for it, but the extended wine list was exceptional.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cape Cod/Maui
Mar 27, 2010

Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Very nice pool areas. Browns' Beach House Restaurant very good with pleasant outdoor dining (unless the tradewinds are strong, which was the case when we were there. Not as much going on or convenient access to shopping as at Hilton Waikola, but quieter atmostphere. Rooms were on the large size with very spacious bath. Long drive to major island attractions, but that's the nature of the Big Island. This is THE area for the top resorts.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Kilauea Volcano a must, and the Kilauea Iki hike through rain forest and across crater floor was great. Drive the northern route from resorts to Volcanoes National Park for the best sights. Akaka Falls near Hilo and Rainbow Falls in Hilo are spectacular! Including hike - a 10 1/2 hour day of driving and hiking.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
orange county, ca
Dec 12, 2010

Orchid great for kids

great hotel. Views from oceanfront are great. Lagoon amazing for kids.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Hit the Sonsei restaurant. About 15 min drive but great sushi!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hawaii-lover
Business
Bay Area, CA
Nov 22, 2010

Top Choice

Our twelfth trip to the Orchid in 15 years and it just keeps getting better. We've checked out all the other resorts on the Kohala coast, but none match the Orchid for quiet luxury, privacy, Hawaiian culture and peace. We also really appreciate the diversity of the clientele. The staff is just incredible. If any hiccup does occur, they're always eager to make everything right. We love it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Yoga every morning on the beach.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kelly Hawaii Lover
Business
Venice, CA
Nov 29, 2009

I am not a fan of resorts and I LOVED it

We usually rent a house in Hawaii and do not like anything Disneylandish or big Vegas hotel. We were nervous that a big hotel was going to be a massive nightmare of kids screaming and would look like a Tommy Bahamas ad. To our surprise it was enchanted, cozy and perfect. We could be anonymous and still not feel lost. The food was great and the beach is magical. We swam with turtles and loved the beach set up. There were two things that needed improvement. The hotel has not so nice rooms so it is worth the upgrade and the king bed rooms do not face the ocean in the "ocean view" rooms. The other thing is that they charge so much money for the beach cabanas and the snorkels so you are better off buying snorkles there or bringing them. Oh also you MUST bring those ugly reefshoes. The big island is all about lava rocks and reefs and the sea life is amazing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston
Apr 20, 2010

Fairmont Orchid - Kona

The hotel is directly on the water. The view is amazing, drinks on the beach and by the pool, very relaxing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

If you are at the hotel for a short time go food shopping at the near by market.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top