$239 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 10, 2015 Check-out: May 12, 2015

The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

5 stars
View map of One North Kaniku Drive, Kohala Coast, HI 96743

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
122 out of 122
Amenities:
4.5
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kansas City
Mar 24, 2010

Orchid

Wonderful hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, Illinois
Mar 22, 2010

Nice Property

First time ever in Hawaii for our 40th wedding anniversary. Disappointed in the fact that I was told something "special" would be done for the occasion and nothing at all was :( The property and room was beautiful, but the hotel was very empty. The prices at the restaurants were much higher than I expected (who pays six dollars for coffee?) Also the charges for parking your car in an empty hotel lot was also out of line. I can see if they were booked and space was at a premium, but I guess they have to make money somehow.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Medford, Oregon
Mar 4, 2010

Great Hotel!

We had to evacuate the hotel due to a tsunami warning. The staff was well organized, kind, gracious and calm. It could have been a horrible experience but ended up being great. This is one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The food was great!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Mateo
Feb 15, 2010

favorite getaway

many new fees, ie. self-serve parkiing;charge for lounge with covers were new.; discontinued coffee service in the morning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Idaho Falls, ID
Jan 31, 2010

Business/Pleasure Trip

This hotel is much larger than the Mauna Lani where we have stayed previously. It had a degree of elegance that was nice with beautiful grounds and decorating in the interior. The walk from the parking lot to our room was quite long.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

The market at the Queen's shops was very well stocked. They even had a sushi bar right there that had excellent food available pre-made, or made to order.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Monterey, Ca
Jan 24, 2010

Thoroughly Enjoyable

Elegant and restful. A great place for a conference.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Brown's restaurant: Delicious food in a gorgeous tropical setting.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gingergirl
Business
San Francisco, CA
Jan 20, 2010

Wonderful romantic vacation spot!

The Fairmont Orchid is a wonderful place to spend a romantic getaway! We were only there for 5 days, but it was the perfect place to unwind, relax, recharge and be pampered. The location was very nice. There are a couple other resorts you can walk to, along with a great little shopping center with a wonderful grocery store. The Fairmont had mini refrigerators in the rooms, so you could buy items and have them on hand. The staff at the hotel, from the check-in to the poolside staff to the restaurants ... they were all very helpful, professional and had a true "aloha" spirit. Our room was very large and comfortable with a good sized lanai with nice furniture. And, the bathroom was very large, with 2 showers and 2 sinks. It made getting ready at the same time very easy. We ate at all the restaurants on site, and they were all very good. Great food and excellent service. The pool and beach were lovely. And, lounge chairs were always available. Cocktail and food service poolside was prompt and delicious! The hot tubs were very nice. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Simi Valley, CA
Dec 13, 2009

Beautiful setting, better than average!

Great staff, very helpful and lots of smiles.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Amazing food at all the resturants. You get spoiled! The freshest of everything.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gas passer
Business
Duluth, MN
Dec 7, 2009

Paradise but with the price of paradise.

There on business conference. Explored Island, snorkeled, stayed on beach. Excellent location, service, and room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Go into Kona to rent your snorkel gear or to book your excursions and save yourself some money.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Sensible Traveler
Business
Los Angeles
Dec 7, 2009

Best Luxury Resort Value

I paid $199/night for 8 nights, and it was a great value. The resort is spotless and has an amazingly beautiful, calm and quiet lagoon with a sandy beach, which is unusual since most of the island has rocky lava shorelines. I jogged over to the hotels nearby the Orchid, and they pale in comparison. I would highly recommend the Orchid to anyone from families to couples. The only complaint is that they charge for EVERYTHING -- and, in fact, OVERCHARGE! $14.50/night for internet. $15/night for parking. 23% service charge on room service. $12 drinks by the pool/lagoon!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Don't order lunch service from the lagoon/pool staff. Take a quick jaunt over to Brown's Deli (between the hotel and lagoon) and pick up your lunch there -- they have a better selection at almost 1/2 the price.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top