$405 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 14, 2014 Check-out: Aug 15, 2014

Mauna Kea Beach Hotel

5 stars
62-100 Mauna Kea Beach Drive, Big Island Of Hawaii, Kohala Coast, HI 96743
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.6
out of 5
49 reviews
8 nights in Kona

The Mauna Kea is fantastic. It's quiet and elegant. There is no nightlife there, no late night bar,... See full review

  • keyboarddoc
  • Jul 27, 2014
Mauna Kea Near Perfect

We spent a week at the Mauna Kea this January, 2014. This was our third trip over about a decade to... See full review

  • Annual vacation 2014
  • Jan 16, 2014
Magnificent Kohala Coast beach resort with award-winning golf course

Dreamed into reality by a Rockefeller and recently restored to its original glory, the Mauna Kea Beach Hotel is one of the Big Island's most legendary and spectacular destinations. Fronting a magnificent South Kohala crescent-sand beach, the multi-award-winning hotel melds amenities with its sister property, Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel, to offer 1,839 acres of resort paradise with golf, tennis, yoga classes, a full-service spa, swimming, an art tour, restaurants and much more. Luxury guest rooms include artful designer decor and cutting-edge amenities. 

Highlights

  • Explore the hotel's collection of Asian and Pacific art, with more than 1,600 works
  • Play at the Mauna Kea's award-winning, newly renovated 18-hole golf course, designed by Robert Trent Jones Sr.
  • Visit the hotel's Manta Ray Lookout, a popular evening destination for manta ray viewing along the shoreline 

Location

Located north of Kailua-Kona on the South Kohala Coast, the Mauna Kea Beach Hotel fronts the crescent-shaped Kaunaoa Beach, considered one of the Big Island's most beautiful. Kings' Shops and Queens' MarketPlace, less than 10 miles south, offer plentiful shopping and dining.

Rooms

Mauna Kea Beach Hotel's 258 recently renovated luxury guest rooms offer grace, comfort, spaciousness and cutting-edge style -- plus golf course/mountain or ocean views. Each includes a flat-screen TV, media hub, iPod dock, L'Occitane amenities, private balcony and high-speed Internet access (fees apply).

Dining

Mauna Kea Beach Hotel offers an incredible variety of onsite dining – all overlooking the sea. Cuisine ranges from a traditional Sunday Brunch, al fresco clambake and luau, to the award-winning fish and steak restaurant Monettes. Want privacy? Mauna Kea Beach Hotel offers in-room dining. 

Recreation

Enjoy a bevy of on-site recreation facilities here, from a golf course and spa to 11 tennis courts, a fitness center and swimming pool. Mauna Kea Golf Course, the Arnold Palmer/Ed Seay-designed 18-hole championship course, features spectacular views of the Kohala Coast and Pacific, and the snow-capped Mauna Kea volcano as a backdrop. Endless activities for adults and kids include fitness classes, hula dancing, t-shirt painting, movies and more (fees apply). The Mauna Kea Spa by Mandara offers a Balinese and Hawaiian-inspired therapies from massage and aromatherapy to skincare services. 

Transportation

  • Kona International Airport (27 mi/43.5 km)

Attractions

  • Kaunaoa Beach ("Mauna Kea Beach") (Adjacent)
  • Hapuna Beach (2.8 mi/4.6 km)
  • Kings' Shops/Queens' MarketPlace (9.9 mi/15.9 km)
  • Lapakahi State Historical Park (13.2 mi/21.3 km)
  • Kailua-Kona (33.5 mi/54 km)
  • Puuhonua o Honaunau National Historical Park (53.3 mi/85.7 km)

Hotel Map

20.01 -155.823
Area served
Kohala Coast
Nearby airports
Keahole-Kona International Airport (Koa)Drive time to the Mauna Kea Beach Hotel is 40 minutes and distance is 26 miles.
Area description
.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Mauna Kea Beach Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Mauna Kea Beach Hotel Rooms

Golf Vista
King or 2 beds View of the mountain and golf course. Features two private lanais balconies/ separate shower and tub/ 40 inc Hi-Definition television/ i-pod clock radio/ and upscale toiletries in an understated elegant decor.
Plumeria Beach Club
One king or two twin beds. Each room has a CD player, a VCR, and a rattan settee plus chairs. Beach view. Furnished lanai. Refrigerator. Robes, slippers. Welcome fruit bowl in room. Tile floor, teak furnishings
Ocean View
King or 2 beds. Panoramic view of the ocean. Features a private lanai balcony/ 40inch Hi-Definition television/ i-pod clock radio/ and upscale toiletries in an understated elegant decor.
Deluxe Ocean View
One king or two twin beds. Floors 5 through 7. Ocean view. CD player, double sinks, a VCR, and a rattan settee plus chairs. Furnished lanai. Refrigerator. Robes, slippers. Tile floor, teak furnishings
Mountain View
One king or two twin beds. Floors 5 through 8. Mountain and fairway views. Furnished lanai. Refrigerator. Robes, slippers. Welcome fruit bowl in room. Tile floor, teak furnishings.

Amenities

  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities

Dining

The Terrace
Home to the famous Mauna Kea Beach Hotel's Sunday Brunch, the number one favorite choice of the local Big Island community. The menu features a sushi bar, extravagant chilled seafood bar, specialty carvery stations and decadent dessert selections. Dress: Casual Resort Attire.
The Pavilion
Indulge in the finest local ingredients used to create the spectacular dishes you will experience each evening. Also enjoy experiencing in the Exhibition Kitchen - all prepared with the freshest ingredients and created to perfection. Experience the creation of masterpiece dishes as our chefs perform in our exhibition kitchen. Or be wowed by the latest in wine technology -the enomatic system- featuring 48 top vintners with selections to tantalize the taste buds.
Hau Tree
Located on Kauna'oa Beach, voted one of the best beaches in the United States by Conde Nast, the Hau Tree is the perfect retreat to indulge with your favorite refreshing libation or a culinary creation.
The Copper Bar
The Copper Bar has long been the favorite gathering place for the Mauna Kea guest. Located a floor below the lobby the Copper Bar is the ideal place to enjoy the Mauna Kea signature drink or pupu.
19th Hole
The Mauna Kea Golf Course is a Golfers Hideaway by day and Family Retreat by night.
Clambake
Dive into the Best Seafood Buffet on the Kohala Coast with some of the freshest ingredients found in the Pacific Rim.
Luau
Luau feast on Hawaiian food and enjoy authentic Hawaiian entertainment - live.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (49)

Ratings and reviews for Mauna Kea Beach Hotel

Overall score

4.6 / 5
5.01.0
49 out of 49
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.8
Room comfort:
4.8
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Mauna Kea Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
J B M D
Ashland, Or
Jan 29, 2013

Beautiful Retreat

The architecture of this classic resort is unique and contains a marvelous collection of oriental art incorporated in the design. It sits above a beautiful semi-private beach with a stunning view out over the ocean. It is away from the main tourist areas and the quiet is lovely. The staff could not be nicer or more helpful and obviously work in a place they are very proud of. The food is also of the highest caliber.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Mauna Kea Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Imilala
California
Jun 3, 2012

I will go there again

This place is a hidden gem. There's a private beach and really amazing snorkeling. We've seen turtles both trips to the Mauna Kea. On this trip, we saw huge schools of fish and turtles 5 feet from the shore. We've also been able to see Manta rays in the evenings. The staff work really hard to keep the rooms clean. They clean your room and replenish your towels twice a day and have turn down service as standard service. It's the perfect place to mellow out, enjoy white sandy beaches, snorkel and relax. Water is not too rough so it's great for people who aren't great swimmers. This is our favorite place to stay on the Big Island. We will continue to stay at the Mauna Kea.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Mauna Kea Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Angler Pete
Dana Point, CA
May 5, 2011

The perfect resort hotel

The Mauna Kea Beach is the perfect resort hotel. Enjoy the Tuesday night luau. Snorkel both sides of the bay. In early morning, there are usually turtles on the south side, and I saw a manta on the north. Scuba dive with Kohala Divers four miles north in Kawaehei.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Kohala Divers

Review of Mauna Kea Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ScottSantaCruz
Santa Cruz, CA, USA
Oct 2, 2011

Great Beach Resort

This is the best beach resort that I have been to on any of the Hawaiian islands. The beach was fantastic. The snorkeling was fantastic. Food was great but on the expensive side which was expected. Rooms were large and elegant. Staff very attentive. Drinks potent and tasty. Orbitz was able to put a package together that no one else could touch which made the stay very affordable. Went late September when there were no crowds which was wonderful as well. Would stay longer and play golf (looked like a good course) the next time I come.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

If for some reason you get tired of the beach at Mauna Kea you can take the shore trail to Hapuna beach and the sister property the Hapuna Prince. (was more crowded but body surfing a bit better) 15-20 minute walk

Review of Mauna Kea Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
seattle
Mar 7, 2010

Great hotel

Great beach, great rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Mauna Kea Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ScottSantaCruz
Santa Cruz, CA, USA
Oct 2, 2011

Great Beach Resort

This is the best beach resort that I have been to on any of the Hawaiian islands. The beach was fantastic. The snorkeling was fantastic. Food was great but on the expensive side which was expected. Rooms were large and elegant. Staff very attentive. Drinks potent and tasty. Orbitz was able to put a package together that no one else could touch which made the stay very affordable. Went late September when there were no crowds which was wonderful as well. Would stay longer and play golf (looked like a good course) the next time I come.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

If for some reason you get tired of the beach at Mauna Kea you can take the shore trail to Hapuna beach and the sister property the Hapuna Prince. (was more crowded but body surfing a bit better) 15-20 minute walk

Review of Mauna Kea Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
California
Oct 1, 2010

Excellent

We started our Mauna Kea vacations in 1987. It's now 2010. I believe that says it all. Great quiet getaway. We were beach bums & used the fitness center daily. We met our daughter, son-in-law & grandchildren there. They are 15 mos & 4 years. Kids eat free!! We have expectations upon arrival & we are never disappointed. Great wedding venue also.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

Kids eat free May thru Sept. Saturday Clambake a MUST!!! food is out of this world delicious. Endless buffet---lots of fish & shellfish including Maine Lobster.

Review of Mauna Kea Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Fresno, ca
Jan 25, 2010

very relaxing time!!!

We have been going to this hotel for over 25 years. We always have a great time. The beach is the best on the island. A lot of the same staff has been there for as long as we have been going. It's always nice to be remembered when we return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Mauna Kea Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bekalulu
Burbank, California
May 24, 2010

Mauna Kea Beach Hotel

We loved our satay at the Mauna Kea Beach Hotel. The staff was friendly and helpful. The food was delicious. The setting couldn't be anymore perfect. The beach is the best one possible especially for little kids.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Mauna Kea Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
EB1KNB
Agoura CA
Sep 14, 2009

Great 2nd visit

Good golf,snorkeling, food and drink

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top