$399 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 16, 2015 Check-out: Apr 18, 2015

Mauna Kea Beach Hotel

5 stars
View map of 62-100 Mauna Kea Beach Drive, Big Island Of Hawaii, Kohala Coast, HI 96743

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Mauna Kea Beach Hotel

Overall score

4.6 / 5
5.01.0
33 out of 33
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.8
Comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Mauna Kea Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Newport Beach, CA
Nov 2, 2010

Mauna Kea Perfection

Best beach in all of Hawaii! Make sure to snorkel the northern side of the cove.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Head to Waimea for great restaurants (Merriman's)!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mauna Kea Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
California
Oct 1, 2010

Excellent

We started our Mauna Kea vacations in 1987. It's now 2010. I believe that says it all. Great quiet getaway. We were beach bums & used the fitness center daily. We met our daughter, son-in-law & grandchildren there. They are 15 mos & 4 years. Kids eat free!! We have expectations upon arrival & we are never disappointed. Great wedding venue also.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Kids eat free May thru Sept. Saturday Clambake a MUST!!! food is out of this world delicious. Endless buffet---lots of fish & shellfish including Maine Lobster.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mauna Kea Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seal Beach, CA
Aug 3, 2010

Which one, Mauna Kea or Mauna Lani Bay?

I couldn't decide between the Mauna Lani Bay or the Mauna Kea so we spend a few days at both. The Mauna Lani Bay is huge. It has a separate spa/fitness center and two beach's. There is a lot of coral on the beaches so it's good for snorkeling and the water is very calm since it's a bay. Snorkel gear is included in your stay. The Mauna Kea grounds are huge, but it doesn't have a spa, though the gym was nice. The beach is simply AMAZING- there's a reason it's voted best beach in Hawaii. There are lounge chairs on the beach, and they set up an umbrellas for you once you find a place to settle- you have to find your own place to set-up, where they'll help you set up at the Mauna Lani. The Mauna Kea pool is pretty weak and we didn't notice any pool service for food or drinks, where as the food was very reasonable and good at the Mauna Lani pool- which is also much nicer, but not an infinity pool. It also has nicely padded round double loungers with a cover you can use. There are a lot more places to eat a the Mauna Lani Bay and you can choose a cold (cereal/fruit) or hot breakfast (full works) that is cheaper and better than at the Mauna Kea. There's also a small shopping center with a grocery store just outside the Mauna Lani bay. Both places give you an empty small refrigerator to use, which was very nice. We had a Plumera room at the Mauna Kea, which would not be worth it if it wasn't for the $100/night credit. The lounge is just a room with some cookies or brownies and some drinks. It's nothing like a Club Room at a Ritz. You do get a nice beach view room and the rooms are updated with a very nice bed and excellent bedding, though there was no carpeting in the room, which the wife didn't like. The room at the Mauna Lani Bay was a little dated, particularly the bathroom faucet and tub. The bed/bedding wasn't bad, but it was not as nice as the Mauna Kea. It's still a nice room, but the Mauna Kea was recently refinished. The Mauna Kea also had a lot more channels, including HBO, Food, HGTV that the wife liked. The service is more polished at the Mauna Lani Bay. The food server's interact better and know your name because they ask for your room number when you get a table. The pool and beach service is also better. It's not bad at the Mauna Kea, but we did notice a distinct improvement at the Mauna Lani. Internet and parking are also included at the Manua Lani Bay, as are a shuttle to the shopping center/fitness center/second beach, and other services listed on their website. The Mauna Kea charges a $15/night self parking or $20/night valet parking fee- very cheesy IMO. Both are nice places, but different. The Mauna Kea had a LOT more families and kids, where the Mauna Lani Bay was much quieter and seemed to have more couples there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mauna Kea Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, Tx
Jun 14, 2010

One Great Week

Especially enjoyed the beach and pool areas. Could use a couple of drawers in bathroom make up area. Could use better lighting in comode and bath area and perhaps a ledge to hold reading material.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mauna Kea Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bekalulu
Business
Burbank, California
May 24, 2010

Mauna Kea Beach Hotel

We loved our satay at the Mauna Kea Beach Hotel. The staff was friendly and helpful. The food was delicious. The setting couldn't be anymore perfect. The beach is the best one possible especially for little kids.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mauna Kea Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
May 4, 2010

isolated but lovely

A heavenly way to escape the world. We really enjoyed walking the grounds and found something new each day. Laughed when greeted by the wild Turkey outside our room, woke every morning but the beautiful singing birds, and spotted a sea turtle. Finally saw a Manta Ray the last night... really exciting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Monettes was really great food, friendly professional service and great view.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mauna Kea Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego
Apr 2, 2010

Mauna Kea Beach Hotel

Great beach. Outstanding, personalized service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mauna Kea Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lake Tahoe, CA
Mar 30, 2010

Old Hawaiian Ambiance

We chose to spend four nights at the Mauna Kea because it had recently been remodeled and it sits on one of the most beautiful beaches in the world. How True. We had a great stay, ate lots of yummy food (try the fish tacos at the third tee, golf course restaurant), and enjoyed the convenience of golf right out the front door.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Try Cafe Pesto down the road and also Merriman's in Waimea.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mauna Kea Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
seattle
Mar 7, 2010

Great hotel

Great beach, great rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mauna Kea Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
san francisco
Feb 3, 2010

great hawaiin vacation

The Mauna Kea is an excellent hotel and we expect to return in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top