$325 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 25, 2015 Check-out: Sep 28, 2015

Mauna Kea Beach Hotel

5 stars
View map of 62-100 Mauna Kea Beach Drive, Big Island Of Hawaii, Kohala Coast, HI 96743

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Mauna Kea Beach Hotel

Overall score

4.6 / 5
5.01.0
31 out of 31
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Mauna Kea Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Imilala
Couples
California
Jun 3, 2012

I will go there again

This place is a hidden gem. There's a private beach and really amazing snorkeling. We've seen turtles both trips to the Mauna Kea. On this trip, we saw huge schools of fish and turtles 5 feet from the shore. We've also been able to see Manta rays in the evenings. The staff work really hard to keep the rooms clean. They clean your room and replenish your towels twice a day and have turn down service as standard service. It's the perfect place to mellow out, enjoy white sandy beaches, snorkel and relax. Water is not too rough so it's great for people who aren't great swimmers. This is our favorite place to stay on the Big Island. We will continue to stay at the Mauna Kea.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Mauna Kea Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BillyD
Couples
Santa Barbara, Ca.
Dec 18, 2011

Paradise

Beautiful beach, warm staff, nice rooms, good fitness center. Complimentary yoga classes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

great happy hour, 5-7pm, Ruth Chris.

Review of Mauna Kea Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ray on the Beach
Couples
Nothern California
Nov 8, 2011

Life in Heaven!

The Mauna Kea is a wonderful, quiet, location for a Hawaiian getaway!! The grounds and Beach are the best kept in all the Islands! They wait on you as if you were the only ones there! The meals and rooms are wonderful. Food is expensive, but well worth the cost. The morning buffets and the Monetes Dining was out of this world. I would recommend the hotel to everyone, looking for a romantic getaway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

Get the morning Buffet package to avoid shock for the cost of the meal!

Review of Mauna Kea Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Call
Family
Saratoga, CA, USA
Oct 18, 2011

Family Vacation

We love the Mauna Kea Beach Hotel and have been returning to this wonderful location for over 40yrs. While the resort has made some lovely updates, we were disappointed in two important areas: 1- there is no longer shuttle service available between the two resort properties 2- wireless internet service is VERY expensive ($15/day per device)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Mauna Kea Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ScottSantaCruz
Couples
Santa Cruz, CA, USA
Oct 2, 2011

Great Beach Resort

This is the best beach resort that I have been to on any of the Hawaiian islands. The beach was fantastic. The snorkeling was fantastic. Food was great but on the expensive side which was expected. Rooms were large and elegant. Staff very attentive. Drinks potent and tasty. Orbitz was able to put a package together that no one else could touch which made the stay very affordable. Went late September when there were no crowds which was wonderful as well. Would stay longer and play golf (looked like a good course) the next time I come.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

If for some reason you get tired of the beach at Mauna Kea you can take the shore trail to Hapuna beach and the sister property the Hapuna Prince. (was more crowded but body surfing a bit better) 15-20 minute walk

Review of Mauna Kea Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Angler Pete
Couples
Dana Point, CA
May 5, 2011

The perfect resort hotel

The Mauna Kea Beach is the perfect resort hotel. Enjoy the Tuesday night luau. Snorkel both sides of the bay. In early morning, there are usually turtles on the south side, and I saw a manta on the north. Scuba dive with Kohala Divers four miles north in Kawaehei.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Kohala Divers

Review of Mauna Kea Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jl888
Couples
san francisco, ca
Mar 13, 2011

Worth the $$$

this hotel is mostly worth the money bc of the incredible beach right outside. eating at the hotel was pricey, but we rented a car and ate out most of the time. the rooms were gorgeous and the beds very very comfy. the service was incredible as well. can't wait to go back (although i hope by then wifi is free....)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

rent a car and save cash by eating off-resort

Review of Mauna Kea Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Orange County, CA
Feb 21, 2011

Another pleasant visit to the Mauna Kea

Staff still friendly. Still one of the greatest beaches anywhere. Some small touches that made it special in the past now missing - e.g., complimentary pastries at early a.m. bkfast.; $15/day charge for self-parking = an annoyance, given already-high room rates. Renovated rooms a big improvement. Ocean view worth the difference!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Still enjoy dining at Cafe Pesto - @ 2 miles.

Review of Mauna Kea Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Wanted R and R
Couples
Santa Barbara, CA
Nov 4, 2010

Relaxing Stay

The room was large and very comfortable. Loved the not inclosed shower and the shelf in the walk in closet. We just wanted R and R, and got it. Enjoyed the Foxen wine dinner with good pairings of wine with delicious food. Trade winds a little much, and the resort could have some kind of beach umbrellas that could be used when the trade winds are strong.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Mauna Kea Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Newport Beach, CA
Nov 2, 2010

Mauna Kea Perfection

Best beach in all of Hawaii! Make sure to snorkel the northern side of the cove.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Head to Waimea for great restaurants (Merriman's)!!

Back to menu Return to top