$199 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 2, 2015 Check-out: Jun 5, 2015

Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel

4 stars
View map of 62 100 Kauna Oa Drive, Big Island Of Hawaii, Kohala Coast, HI 96743

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
259 reviews
Beautiful Hotel

My son and I stayed at the Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel and we had a wonderful stay. We were there in... See full review

  • Laney
  • Mar 4, 2015
Vacation 2015

First, the staff at the hotel were great! Everyone had a smile on their face and were extremely... See full review

  • David M.
  • Jan 26, 2015
Grand Hapuna Beach hotel with ocean views from every room
With an ancient name Hapuna, or "Spring of Life," the award-winning Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel sits oceanfront upon South Kohala's remarkable Hapuna Beach. All 350 luxurious guest rooms offer ocean views from private balconies. The resort shares its oceanfront landscape with sister property Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, combining amenities for an extended resort with championship golf courses, tennis, spas, a fitness center, swimming pool, restaurants and more.
Highlights
  • Enjoy access and signing privileges at the neighboring Mauna Kea Beach Hotel
  • Hapuna Beach is frequently ranked among America's best beaches by Condé Nast Traveler
  • Stargaze at the hotel's high-powered telescope with professional astronomers several days each week
Location
Less than an hour north of Kailua-Kona on the South Kohala Coast, the Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel fronts the grand Hapuna Beach, one of the Big Island's most famed beaches. Kings' Shops and Queens' MarketPlace are less than 10 miles south, with plentiful shopping and dining.
Rooms
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel angles away from the beach, offering ocean views from its 350 oversized guest rooms. Each includes a private balcony, Japanese robes, high-speed Internet access (fees may apply), bathroom amenities and large bathroom with double vanity.
Features
Recreation
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel features an oceanfront swimming pool, fitness center, golf course and full-service spa (fees apply). Guests may use facilities at the neighboring Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, including Mauna Kea Spa by Mandara and Mauna Kea Golf Course (fees apply).
Dining
Guests choose from several dining experiences at Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel. The open-air Ocean Terrace does breakfast both a la carte and buffet. The poolside Beach Bar offers salads, fresh fish and sandwiches -- or guests can make their own salads at Café Hapuna. Coast Grill features fresh Island ingredients with an American bistro slant. Room service is available.
Attractions
  • Hapuna Beach (In front)
  • Kings' Shops/Queens' MarketPlace (8.1 mi/15 km)
  • Lapakahi State Historical Park (14 mi/22.6 km)
  • Kailua-Kona (31.7 mi/51 km)
  • Puuhonua o Honaunau National Historical Park (51.4 mi/82.7 km)
  • Hawaii Volcanoes National Park (via Waimea) (97 mi/156 km)
Policies and fees
Self parking: $15 USD + tax per day Valet Parking: $20 USD + tax per day

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel Rooms

Oceanfront Suite
One King bed or two Queens in master bedroom, plus one Queen sofa bed in the living room. Located on all five floors of the Oceanfront building. 1,200 square feet. Private, furnished lanai with tropical landscape views. Island decor with light woods of wicker and rattan furnishings. Compact refrigerator,coffemaker,video games(surcharge), and in room safe. Complimentary premium channels and local calls.High speed internet access available for a nominal fee. Two bathrooms,including master bathroom showcasing granite vanity with double sinks. Separate glass shower stall and marble tub. Bathrobes and slippers available in room. Complimentary welcome basket with coffee,biscotti,and macadamia nuts.
Premium Oceanview
One King bed or two Double beds. Located on the 9th floor. 600 square feet. Private, furnished lanai with tropical landscape views. Island decor with light woods of wicker and rattan furnishings. Compact refrigerator,coffemaker,video games(surcharge), and in room safe. Complimentary premium channels and local calls.High speed internet access available for a nominal fee. Large bathroom showingcasing a granite vanity with double sinks. There is a separate glass shower stall and marble tub. Bathrobes and slippers are also available for your use.
Partial Oceanview
One King bed or two Double beds. Located on the 5th,6th and 7th floors. 600 square feet. Private, furnished lanai with tropical landscape views. Island decor with light woods of wicker and rattan furnishings. Compact refrigerator,coffemaker,video games(surcharge), and in room safe. Complimentary premium channels and local calls.High speed internet access available for a nominal fee. Large bathroom showingcasing a granite vanity with double sinks. There is a separate glass shower stall and marble tub. Bathrobes and slippers are also available for your use.
Oceanfront
One King bed,two Doubles or two Queen beds. Located on all five floors of the Oceanfront building. 600 square feet. Private, furnished lanai with tropical landscape views. Island decor with light woods of wicker and rattan furnishings. Compact refrigerator,coffemaker,video games(surcharge), and in room safe. Complimentary premium channels and local calls.High speed internet access available for a nominal fee. Large bathroom showingcasing a granite vanity with double sinks. There is a separate glass shower stall and marble tub. Bathrobes and slippers are also available for your use.
Oceanview
One King bed or two Double beds. Located on the 6th, 7th and 8th floors. 600 square feet. Private, furnished lanai with tropical landscape views. Island decor with light woods of wicker and rattan furnishings. Compact refrigerator,coffemaker,video games(surcharge), and in room safe. Complimentary premium channels and local calls. High speed internet access available for a nominal fee. Large bathroom showingcasing a granite vanity with double sinks. There is a separate glass shower stall and marble tub. Bathrobes and slippers are also available for your use.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Golf
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Service dogs allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Ramp access to buildings

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
One of the most sophisticated, full-service meeting facilities in the world, Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel offers unmatched options for meetings, incentives and conferences of all sizes. You'll find over 85,000 square feet of meeting space, including an 8,400 square-foot ballroom, six conference rooms, numerous breakout areas and a complete Business Center with computers, printers and facsimile machines.

Dining

Coast Grille & Oyster Bar
Resort Executive Chef Piet Wigmans shares his love of Hawaii through his food - Hawaii Regional Cuisine. Blending the rich flavors of the island's ethnic dishes with the Big Island's distinctive ingredients, the unique cuisine offers fresh, flavorful and inspired dishes that showcase our island's bounty. The hotel's signature restaurant features an oyster bar and the freshest Pacific Rim cuisine in an indoor or outdoor setting. A specialty is the New England lobster, raised in cold pure deep-ocean waters at an aquaculture facility just down the road. Evening Dining, 6:00pm - 9:00pm, Call for Days Resort Attire
Beach Bar
Located poolside, the Beach Bar features lunch and early afternoon fare with salads, sandwiches, fresh island fish and full bar. At sunset, enjoy your favorite cocktail and watch the sun slip into the horizon. During the summer months, enjoy "Dive-In" movies on Saturday nights for free. Open Daily, 11:30am - 4:00pm Beach/Casual Attire
Ocean Terrace
Overlooking Hapuna Beach and the blue Pacific, this casual open-air breakfast restaurant offers a thoughtful mix of healthy, creative items along with familiar favorites. Featuring a daily breakfast buffet and an extensive a la carte menu. Open Daily for Breakfast, 6:30am - 11:00am Resort Attire
Reef Lounge
Just beneath the lobby, the open-air Reef Lounge provides spectacular ocean views of Hapuna Beach and the Kohala coastline from its central location. Another great spot to watch the sunset, enjoy tropical drinks to the island sounds of live Hawaiian guitar and hula nightly. Open Nightly, 5:30pm - 11:00pm Casual Resort Attire

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
182 out of 259
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
rumpelstielzchen
Business
Beverly Crest ,California
Jan 5, 2013

shabby and expensive

Ain't what it used to be. We went there once or twice a year. This was the last time. Needs new management. Mahalo and Aloha

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Waikaloa or Waimea

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Disappointed couple....
Business
Dallas, TX
Mar 22, 2011

Would reconsider staying here...

Hotel hospitality was lacking in a big way... The rooms are left to be desired, very old and dated. The showers were dirty with mildew stains. Hotel nickels and dimes you for everything, not to mention way overpriced at the restaurants. Very small swimming pool, the one that they did have. Only one restaurant opened per night and they pretty much charge you the same prices with very similar menus... I would not recommend staying at this place for a couple. The view is pretty and that is about it, not worth the price that you pay for staying here... plus the fact we requested a king bed and got doubles, the staff kept saying they were overbooked yet the hotel was dead... I would say it was at 25-30% capacity at most... they tried to get us to upgrade for $100 more a night to the ocean view in order to get the king bed. Was not friendly or helpful at all!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
warning friends
Business
Honolulu, HI
Jul 2, 2011

Open the book

People were nice. but the valet person, when we got there was not very happy when my husband forgot to tip. On the tag where they write down the date. One of them wrote F U. I thought wow dont they pay this people enough. Is not like we didnt tip at all. Just saying, One bad apple does leave a bad taste in your mouth. we love the person who clean our room. We didnt tell her that the pillow on the bed some of them smell. We had two queen beds we had to pick the pillows that didnt smell. I though that is because the A.C. in the room smelled. Also the small fridge stop working on the first day. Then the next day when we got back to the room at 10pm the TV was broken the picture was crazy. My husband said, never mind we dont have time to watch anyway. But I thought it would be nice to watch after a long day of siteseing. Over all to compare to a previous trip to vegas. Where we stayed at MGM it is really no comparison MGM was so much better. The TV and the pillow and the AC did not smells at all. The beach and the hotel outside our room looks beautiful. But, you really cant read a book by its cover.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

The island is bigger than the other island and although the island is beautiful the drive everywhere to get to the places is long and its part of the charm of the place.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Dave of Perth
Business
Honolulu
Oct 16, 2014

Weird place to holiday

This resort and it's neighbour, Mauna Kea resort, both owned by the same Japanese company, are striking cavernous but charmless concrete edifices resembling hospital buildings or (inside) airports, with endless empty corridors scattered with pointless chairs and lined with numbered cell doors. The rooms are cramped (for a married couple, 2 double beds and nowhere to sit) and uncomfortable, have noisy air conditioning and contain few facilities apart from a coffee maker and a small poorly functioning fridge. The gym is well equipped but the beach can be dangerous with dumping waves and rips when it gets windy, although the setting is impressive and sea is a perfect temperature. The place is also overrun by stray cats! Ask the officious desk staff anything and they will inform you about another inventive fee they can charge for your stay. Valet parking, wifi and a utilities fee special package will cost you an extra $25/day whereas the compulsory utilities with wifi but without valet parking is the same price. There is a $4 "delivery" fee for extra crockery or cutlery for your room. The restaurants are horrifically expensive and mostly ordinary and there are few alternatives nearby. The Manta restaurant in Mauna Kea Resort was very good but entrees average almost $20 and mains $46.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

I don't recommend staying here but if you do, try Pueo's Osteria Restaurant in nearby Waikoloa for exceptional Italian food and service.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
blitzer
Business
Seattle, WA
Dec 8, 2012

Hotel worn out but great location

If this was your first trip to a Prince Hotel you would be disappointed. It needs a good power wash and new beach chairs and some paint and vanish. It seems like they are just milking the property until they can sell it based on location next to one of Hawaii's best beaches. Great bargain for those who do not concern themselves with upkeep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Village Burger in Waimae. Great burgers with wonderful fresh ingredients. Well worth the trip to the Parker Ranch center

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
shekasoo
Business
Vancouver
Jan 4, 2013

Beautiful Facility, Room fixtures average

The Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel is situated on beautiful grounds with private beach access, perfect for any paradise seeker. The landscape of the hotel is exquisite with awe amazing achitecture. Room furniture and fixtures are outdated (tube television, old bathroom faucets, and etc.), but their outdoor pool is a must haven for splash and relaxation. To get around Kona and from this hotel, a car is required.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Manta Ray Snorkeling, a must see!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Flamenca
Business
Zurich, Switzerland
Jan 18, 2013

nice but expensive with extras not included

at nearly 500 USD per night we enjoyed our room premium oceanview room with beautful view - BUT no glasses, no mini-bar, no knive&no fork&no bottle opener, and wifi at extra-charge same as parking AND no restaurant or bar open after 9.30pm..... Some staff very friendly and helpful but quite a few staff not so nice and friendly as expected in a place like this...... so on the whole we were not 100% happy- especially if we compare with same class of hotels in Europe or Asia...... but that's not Hawaii we know....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Humus
Business
California
Aug 15, 2013

Try harder please

Receptionist lady made me feel inferior since I made my reservations thru O- - - - z. Pool needs to be cleaned more often. Spa was very dirty and not working properly. Hapuna Cafe was good and open all the time. Lunch servers by the pool were efficient. Coast Grille was over-priced and servers were over-selling and pushy. Linens were clean but over-used. There are no activities in this hotel, but they have the best beaches in the whole Island. If you want quiet time, with great beaches this hotel is for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to Roy's for dinners. For more activity go to Waikoloa Beach.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Modesto, CA
Jun 11, 2010

The good, the bad and the ugly

My husband and I took our first "alone" vacation in 10 years. We arrived on a Sun. 10:15 am to the Hotel, they told us to come back at 3 pm. They offered to hold luggage but no offer for us to change or use the pool or grab lunch. We were told to come back. Can you imagine winter clothes for 4 1/2 hours driving around passing time. You'd think with 35% capacity they could have offered something. If not a room at lease a changing room. The beach was awesome and the staff fantastic (except check in). Due to the economy, the two resteraunts were open only three days each. Ate once at each and food was good and fairly decent price. We had room service one night and it was fantastic. We only ate breakfast at the hotel once, and it was the worst breakfast we have ever had and really expensive. The hotel was only 35% capacity and seemed deserted for the most part. There were no upbeat activities, so really seemed odd. We drove around the island and totally enjoyed it. We ate at some fantastic resteraunts on the Island and we can't figure out why some think expensive we thought the prices were totally reasonable and in fact less than eating out in San Francisco,. We enjoyed a day in Kona and a drive to the North end to site see. It was a totally relaxing vacation. We were very disappointed however when my husband was told at check in he couldnt smoke his cigars. [...]We later found three areas on site where he could which was upsetting. I guess you can say the first day had us worried, frustrated and upset but the next day brought a totally differant view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Want a great dinner for a romantic nite out, go to the Fairmont - Browns Beach House. Unbelievable! Want a good lunch try Pesto Cafe or if Kona go to the Brewery you will really enjoy.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
kikorio
Business
Sarasota Florida
May 15, 2014

Anniversary Getaway

Location awesome on one of few beaches on island. Pool good but expected better as well as rooms. Large resort You do a lot of walking. Food very expensive, Overall good but my expectations were a little higher

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Rooms have mini frig would pick up some drinks and snacks too minimize food costs

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top