$199 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 21, 2014 Check-out: Dec 22, 2014

Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel

4 stars
62 100 Kauna Oa Drive, Big Island Of Hawaii, Kohala Coast, HI 96743
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
245 reviews
Love the Big Island and Hapuna Beach

This was our 4th stay in the last 8 years and it was wonderful. We even got the same room that we... See full review

  • Donna Pete
  • Nov 13, 2014
Can't imagine a more wonderful place to be

Incredible view, perfectly hosted. Great swimming on the beach here, kind and calm place to relax See full review

  • traveler town
  • Sep 18, 2014
Grand Hapuna Beach hotel with ocean views from every room
With an ancient name Hapuna, or "Spring of Life," the award-winning Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel sits oceanfront upon South Kohala's remarkable Hapuna Beach. All 350 luxurious guest rooms offer ocean views from private balconies. The resort shares its oceanfront landscape with sister property Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, combining amenities for an extended resort with championship golf courses, tennis, spas, a fitness center, swimming pool, restaurants and more.
Highlights
  • Enjoy access and signing privileges at the neighboring Mauna Kea Beach Hotel
  • Hapuna Beach is frequently ranked among America's best beaches by Condé Nast Traveler
  • Stargaze at the hotel's high-powered telescope with professional astronomers several days each week
Location
Less than an hour north of Kailua-Kona on the South Kohala Coast, the Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel fronts the grand Hapuna Beach, one of the Big Island's most famed beaches. Kings' Shops and Queens' MarketPlace are less than 10 miles south, with plentiful shopping and dining.
Rooms
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel angles away from the beach, offering ocean views from its 350 oversized guest rooms. Each includes a private balcony, Japanese robes, high-speed Internet access (fees may apply), bathroom amenities and large bathroom with double vanity.
Features
Recreation
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel features an oceanfront swimming pool, fitness center, golf course and full-service spa (fees apply). Guests may use facilities at the neighboring Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, including Mauna Kea Spa by Mandara and Mauna Kea Golf Course (fees apply).
Dining
Guests choose from several dining experiences at Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel. The open-air Ocean Terrace does breakfast both a la carte and buffet. The poolside Beach Bar offers salads, fresh fish and sandwiches -- or guests can make their own salads at Café Hapuna. Coast Grill features fresh Island ingredients with an American bistro slant. Room service is available.
Attractions
  • Hapuna Beach (In front)
  • Kings' Shops/Queens' MarketPlace (8.1 mi/15 km)
  • Lapakahi State Historical Park (14 mi/22.6 km)
  • Kailua-Kona (31.7 mi/51 km)
  • Puuhonua o Honaunau National Historical Park (51.4 mi/82.7 km)
  • Hawaii Volcanoes National Park (via Waimea) (97 mi/156 km)
Policies and fees
Self parking: $15 USD + tax per day Valet Parking: $20 USD + tax per day

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel Rooms

Premium Oceanview
One King bed or two Double beds. Located on the 9th floor. 600 square feet. Private, furnished lanai with tropical landscape views. Island decor with light woods of wicker and rattan furnishings. Compact refrigerator,coffemaker,video games(surcharge), and in room safe. Complimentary premium channels and local calls.High speed internet access available for a nominal fee. Large bathroom showingcasing a granite vanity with double sinks. There is a separate glass shower stall and marble tub. Bathrobes and slippers are also available for your use.
Terrace
One King bed or two Double beds. Located on the 5th and 6th floors. 600 square feet. Private, furnished lanai with tropical landscape views. Island decor with light woods of wicker and rattan furnishings. Compact refrigerator,coffemaker,video games(surcharge), and in room safe. Complimentary premium channels,and local calls. High speed internet access available for a nominal fee. Large bathroom showingcasing a granite vanity with double sinks. There is a separate glass shower stall and marble tub. Bathrobes and slippers are also available for your use.
Partial Oceanview
One King bed or two Double beds. Located on the 5th,6th and 7th floors. 600 square feet. Private, furnished lanai with tropical landscape views. Island decor with light woods of wicker and rattan furnishings. Compact refrigerator,coffemaker,video games(surcharge), and in room safe. Complimentary premium channels and local calls.High speed internet access available for a nominal fee. Large bathroom showingcasing a granite vanity with double sinks. There is a separate glass shower stall and marble tub. Bathrobes and slippers are also available for your use.
Oceanfront
One King bed,two Doubles or two Queen beds. Located on all five floors of the Oceanfront building. 600 square feet. Private, furnished lanai with tropical landscape views. Island decor with light woods of wicker and rattan furnishings. Compact refrigerator,coffemaker,video games(surcharge), and in room safe. Complimentary premium channels and local calls.High speed internet access available for a nominal fee. Large bathroom showingcasing a granite vanity with double sinks. There is a separate glass shower stall and marble tub. Bathrobes and slippers are also available for your use.
Oceanview
One King bed or two Double beds. Located on the 6th, 7th and 8th floors. 600 square feet. Private, furnished lanai with tropical landscape views. Island decor with light woods of wicker and rattan furnishings. Compact refrigerator,coffemaker,video games(surcharge), and in room safe. Complimentary premium channels and local calls. High speed internet access available for a nominal fee. Large bathroom showingcasing a granite vanity with double sinks. There is a separate glass shower stall and marble tub. Bathrobes and slippers are also available for your use.
Oceanfront Suite
One King bed or two Queens in master bedroom, plus one Queen sofa bed in the living room. Located on all five floors of the Oceanfront building. 1,200 square feet. Private, furnished lanai with tropical landscape views. Island decor with light woods of wicker and rattan furnishings. Compact refrigerator,coffemaker,video games(surcharge), and in room safe. Complimentary premium channels and local calls.High speed internet access available for a nominal fee. Two bathrooms,including master bathroom showcasing granite vanity with double sinks. Separate glass shower stall and marble tub. Bathrobes and slippers available in room. Complimentary welcome basket with coffee,biscotti,and macadamia nuts.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Golf
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Service dogs allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Ramp access to buildings

Dining

Coast Grille & Oyster Bar
Resort Executive Chef Piet Wigmans shares his love of Hawaii through his food – Hawaii Regional Cuisine. Blending the rich flavors of the island's ethnic dishes with the Big Island's distinctive ingredients, the unique cuisine offers fresh, flavorful and inspired dishes that showcase our island's bounty. The hotel's signature restaurant features an oyster bar and the freshest Pacific Rim cuisine in an indoor or outdoor setting. A specialty is the New England lobster, raised in cold pure deep-ocean waters at an aquaculture facility just down the road. Evening Dining, 6:00pm - 9:00pm, Call for Days Resort Attire
Beach Bar
Located poolside, the Beach Bar features lunch and early afternoon fare with salads, sandwiches, fresh island fish and full bar. At sunset, enjoy your favorite cocktail and watch the sun slip into the horizon. During the summer months, enjoy "Dive-In" movies on Saturday nights for free. Open Daily, 11:30am - 4:00pm Beach/Casual Attire
Ocean Terrace
Overlooking Hapuna Beach and the blue Pacific, this casual open-air breakfast restaurant offers a thoughtful mix of healthy, creative items along with familiar favorites. Featuring a daily breakfast buffet and an extensive a la carte menu. Open Daily for Breakfast, 6:30am - 11:00am Resort Attire
Reef Lounge
Just beneath the lobby, the open-air Reef Lounge provides spectacular ocean views of Hapuna Beach and the Kohala coastline from its central location. Another great spot to watch the sunset, enjoy tropical drinks to the island sounds of live Hawaiian guitar and hula nightly. Open Nightly, 5:30pm – 11:00pm Casual Resort Attire

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
One of the most sophisticated, full-service meeting facilities in the world, Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel offers unmatched options for meetings, incentives and conferences of all sizes. You'll find over 85,000 square feet of meeting space, including an 8,400 square-foot ballroom, six conference rooms, numerous breakout areas and a complete Business Center with computers, printers and facsimile machines.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (245)

Ratings and reviews for Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
245 out of 245
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mamaduck
Business
Corvallis, OR
Jun 19, 2009

Hapuna Beach Prince

This was our 6th stay at the Hapuna Beach Prince, and was as good as all the others. The hotel isn't as ornate or flashy as some of the other Kohala hotels, but it suits our style. The staff are friendly and helpful and the beach is one of the best in the world. The restaurants all have good food. We missed being able to eat at Hakone; the Japanese restaurant has closed due to current economic conditions. The hotel is located in the midst of the Kohala district, so going to other resorts for meals or to swim is an easy drive. We walked to the luau at the neighboring Mauna Kea.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
love the beach
Business
phoenix, az
Jul 31, 2009

Beautiful Beach Location

Beautiful location, great white sand beach on HI Big Island.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
two51
Business
Highland, MI
Jun 5, 2010

Wonderful grounds and amenities

Just a gorgeous location, white sand beach and beautiful views from our beachview room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Just a short drive to some less expensive dining, as opposed to resort.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
S and S
Business
Portland, OR
Mar 2, 2011

Great hotel!

There aren't many fine sandy beaches on the Big Island, but the Hapuna Beach and Mauna Kea beach really are the nicest beaches we saw. There was public access to the beaches, but people were pretty good at staying away from the resort part of the beach. We went to the Mauna Kea beach/resort, and to be honest, I actually liked the Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel better even though it's the cheaper one. The maintenance and customer service was exceptional. Sheets actually were changed daily and everyone was very nice and helpful. When we went to print out our boarding tickets, there were some problems with our flights, but the guy at the business center was understanding and let us use the computer as long as we needed (and come back to print it out after all the issues were resolved). The only negative was that the food was so overpriced and the selection was pretty limited (even including the Mauna Kea). But we took advantage of exploring other parts of the island and cities to find some really great places to eat. We were definitely pleased with our choice in hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveler with no children
Business
Tucson, AZ
Mar 21, 2011

"Birthday trip with husband"

The Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel was the perfect place for us to stay on the big island! The building, rooms and white sand beaches are beautiful. We stayed in a "partial ocean view" room where we could see the ocean through the palm trees. There were a few families - most with older children and for the most part the guests were couples. There were a lot of guests, but the hotel seemed quiet and peaceful most of the time. The bar closed at 9:30, which is early so we went to a local store to be able to have our late night drinks! You can snorkel right from the beach (soft sand - not lava rock)to great spots north and south. If you're going to dive or rent snorkel gear the Kohala dive shop is only 15 min north of the hotel. It's only a 30 minute drive south to all of the action in Kona. We rented a jeep to get on the back roads to see the whole island. We've stayed in a lot of nice places and this was one of the best.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Good luck saving money in Hawaii! You can save a little on food, drinks and snorkeling gear by heading out and finding where the locals go.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
C and D
Business
Madison, WI
Sep 2, 2011

Honeymoon

Had a great experience at the Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel. The rooms were nice and the beach is one of the best on the island, if not the best. You do have to pay for parking by the day ($15/day), which we were prepared for from another review we read about the hotel. The restaurants at the hotel are expensive (for example the full breakfast buffet is $25/person - it was very good but not sure it was worth that much) but gorgeous views of the ocean and beach, especially at sunset. Most of the time we were out sightseeing and ate at local restaurants around the island which can be reasonable. Overall we would definitely return to this hotel. It is a great location and close to many of the sights to see on the island (the one exception is Volcanoes Nat'l Park, which is about 1.5-2hr drive, depending on how you get there).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

If you are planning on going to see the sights around the island (i.e. will be away from the hotel for most of the day) bring a good guidebook with you. The one we had (from Lonely Planet) contained descriptions of the main attractions plus gave listings of places to eat in all of the main cities, which was helpful as we were usually 15-60min away from the hotel. All of the places we tried were good. Also buy a map of the island when you get there if you don't have one already. It is a great help for navigating to the sights, many of which tend to be marked with small signs right where you need to turn. From Hapuna, it is about a 15min drive to Waimea, which has a variety of restaurants that range in cost from about $15-$50 per entree (for a great value, try breakfast at Hawaiian Style Cafe in Waimea - huge portions and tasty). Kawaihae, which is only a 10min drive has a couple good places too. If shopping is what you're after, head to Kailua-Kona (30-40min drive from Hapuna Beach).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Edinburg, TX, USA
Oct 24, 2011

big island hawaii

Second time in Hawaii first visit was to Maui but The Big Island blew us away the Hapuna Beach Hotel is an amazing resort, very friendly staff, breathtaking beach. Wish we could have been able to afford an ocean view room but it was still fine. Loved all the cats and turkeys at the resort that was fun and even something that looked like a mongoose came over to our balcony area, too funny. Thanks for all the wonderful memories.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Enjoyed the manta ray tour, even if I got sea sick but it was a once in lifetime experience. Akaka falls was great, so was the drive passing thru what they call the Hamuka coast very scenic beach's along the way. Do not go to Rainbow falls unless it has been raining otherwise it is dry.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Loves the Big Island
Business
Chatsworth, Los Angeles, CA, USA
Nov 16, 2011

Perfect for relaxation

Love this hotel and the employees are the best. This is a true hawaiian experience. We have stayed at other hotels in Hawaii and they are fine if you want "Corporate America". Jennifer and Virgil at he front desk, Mike at the belldesk, Yuki at the Ocean Breeze breakfast buffet, and Maka, Andrew, Lindo and Jerry at the pool and ocean activity centers -Mahalo and Aloha. They make this hotel the best. We can't wait until next year to come back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The King and Queen shops are a few miles drive, but they have good and reasonable places to eat.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
valya
Business
Sunnyvale, CA, USA
Dec 7, 2011

Quiet hospitable environment

Perfect location, I could walk from my balcony to the beach; extremely friendly stuff; very clean room, very quiet. The only things that disappointed me were uncomfortable acrylic blanket and some synthetic comforter. It ruined the whole otherwise satisfying impression of my stay at the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
neon
Business
Fremont, CA, USA
Dec 29, 2011

Perfect family vacation

This is a very big resort hotel with lot of open space where you can sit and enjoy looking at the nature. They have a nice lobby overlooking the beach/ocean and a perfect swimming pool near the beach. We stayed here during the Christmas week and it wasn't crowded. The Hapuna beach is the most beautiful beach I have ever seen. It is very clean and shallow.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

There is a place called Mauna Lani about 15 min drive from Hapuna towards the airport. There are several shops and a grocery store here where you can get snacks and fruits. If you drive down for another 5 min you'll arrive at Queen's Marketplace which has a food court with Subway and several other fast food restaurants. There is also a decent Thai restaurant in this place.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top